Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ultra Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,627 ✭✭✭Enduro

thanks for watching. I'll do a relatively (by my standards) quick blog on the race soon. Great event, great race out there. The dynamics of the race were absulley fasciniationg, with so many factors involved. Feel I got a lot more out of it than the rather paltry DNF result.

Ya got love the trackers. Turns a relatively difficult to follow (even in the middle of it) sport into one that is avidely followed for days by thousands of people globally.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 briankitson@yah

Didn't get a tap done last week following it, looking forward to reading the report. well played

Spine Race report finally written and published here. As ever, not short!

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Jakey Rolling

Thanks another enthralling read, great to get some insight into the mental aspect and tactics of the race.

Tough how it finished for you - communications are everything, if only...!

100412.2526@compuserve.com

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭ger664

Some Eejit from these parts got into Berkely

https://eoinkeith.wordpress.com/2018/03/16/the-big-target-for-2018/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

ger664 wrote: »

Finally - a PROPER challenge for Enduro!

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Ultraman100

Belfast to Dublin on at moment
    https://www.racedrone.net/event/belfast-to-dublin

and spartans way 100k on on Sunday
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1647739868804234/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

There's a few names signed up for both races! :eek:
    Seriously?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Don on his way out of Ballycastle.

https://eur-share.inreach.garmin.com/RunningDonor

Don still banging out 50 mile days...u can leave him a message on the garmin tracker or locate him and meet up...

An interesting race in South Africa this weekend just gone. I'm just going to quote Marcus Mueller's post on it, as it's quite interesting :
    Some people say, that if just some top Marathon runners would enter a 100
    mile or a 24 hour race records would start to come down.
    So this weekend a couple of top Comrades runners in South Africa lined up
    for a 100mile/24 hour track race at the Peter Mokaba Stadium, Polokwane,
    Limpopo, RSA organized by the Pietersburg road runners.

This race was an effort to reignite the 100 mile track race history from
    the 1960's to the late 80's. Derek Kay was the first who broke the 12 hour
    barrier 10/7/1972 with 11:56:56h. Only 6 athletes have surpassed this mark
    and it is still one of the oldest track records for South Africa.
    The female SA record is from Yvonne Sumner 16:06:56 (1986)

The cash price for improving the 100 mile national record was ZAR 100
    0000.00 ($82860)

The runner lineup was quite impressive.
    Oleg Kharitonov, current record holder over 100 miles in 11:28:03 (2002),
    Comrades best of 5:29:16
    Johan vd Merwe 258.063k in 24 hours (2013)
    Rufus Photo,38 6:58:39 over 100k Comrades best of 5:35:30h (Derek Kay
    ran a 6:01h in 1973)
    Timothy Munzhelele, 30 marathon best time of 2:24 and ran 05:58:43 17th at
    Comrades 2017
    Bethuel Net****enzhe, 46 Marathon best of 2:11:44, Two Oceans Marathon
    winner of 2007
    Calvin Malatji, 29 Marathon best of 2:35, Comrades best of 6:20:31
    Lutendo Mapoto, 29 Marathon best of 2:18:55, Comrades best of 6:00:42
    Lucas Nonyana, 38 Marathon best of 2:21:56, Comrades best of 5:39:29
    Peter Muthubi, 36 Marathon best of 2:19:04, Comrades best of 5:49:10
    Ivan Penalba Lopez, 26 (Spain) 240.00k over 24h

So how did the race go?
    Rufus Photo was out already after 28 miles, Bethuel Net****enzhe after 34,
    Timothy Munzhelele after 35, Peter Muthubi made it to 68 miles.
    Lucas Nonyana was long in the lead if I remember that right but dropped
    after 83 miles. Which made way for Oleg Kharitonov the current record
    holder. 16 years after his record run, he still managed a 13:27:26, good
    for first place in the 100 mile category.
    The young Spaniard Ivan Penalba Lopez won the 24 hour race with
    154.864miles (249.2k)
    Cornel Metcalfe, 40 won the female race with 108.119 miles (174.0k)

Results here:
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/15cSs4D6Pk5r3L9w_tOmTrid8_
    3Zy8EVPLWqUnO4-1U4/edit#gid=329133288

This was a great example, that if you let 2:11 to 2:20 Marathoners run a
    100 mile race the outcome is not what you might expect.

Nothing unexpected to anyone with actual knowledge and experience, but very interesting to see the theory in practice, with plenty of money on the line.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

In fairness, the 2:11 guy ran that 18 years ago

The debate won't be 'settled' unless a bunch of runners, who are still at the top of the marathon ranks, decide to go run an ultra. And that's not going to happen - whether they would be competitive or not, if they are top marathon runners they are obviously going to focus on the marathon. So people can keep arguing about what would happen if it happened, since it's not going to happen.

Interestingly, Don Ritchie's track record of 11:30 lasted 25 years - Kharitonov (and his compatriot) only broke it when a £5000 cash prize was offered for a special 25th anniversary race at the same venue.

I'd imagine if there was money in it that some of the east Africans would be capable of lowering the 50k - 100mile records significantly.

RayCun wrote: »
    In fairness, the 2:11 guy ran that 18 years ago

I understand why you're pointing that out, but that just brings me back to the understanding and experience bit. And using my own personal experience: I set my marathon PB about 16 years ago. I set my 24 hour PB last year. I doubt I could get near my marathon PB any more. It's also a poor guideline to 24 hour ability.

Interestingly, Don Ritchie's track record of 11:30 lasted 25 years - Kharitonov (and his compatriot) only broke it when a £5000 cash prize was offered for a special 25th anniversary race at the same venue.

I'd imagine if there was money in it that some of the east Africans would be capable of lowering the 50k - 100mile records significantly.

Read the article again. There was lots of money in it. That's one of the things that made that particular race interesting, and probably why so many of the Comrades speedsters (Its a sprint compared to 100 miles) decided to have a go.

EDIT : I'd agree with you on 50km, by the way... that effectively just a metric marathon. 100 miles is 3x the distance and more like 5x the time.... big big difference.

RayCun wrote: »
    The debate won't be 'settled' unless a bunch of runners, who are still at the top of the marathon ranks, decide to go run an ultra. And that's not going to happen - whether they would be competitive or not, if they are top marathon runners they are obviously going to focus on the marathon. So people can keep arguing about what would happen if it happened, since it's not going to happen.

Oh I agree that the reality of a top marathon runner breaking an endurance ultra record is unlikely to be seen. and agree that your reasons are part of the picture of why it won't happen. The other big one is that they are top marathoners.

Enduro wrote: »
    Oh I agree that the reality of a top marathon runner breaking an endurance ultra record is unlikely to be seen. and agree that your reasons are part of the picture of why it won't happen. The other big one is that they are top marathoners.

Lol :)

You can keep arguing that, and Chivito can keep arguing the other side, both safe in the knowledge that the proposition is never going to be put to the test.

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭summit2summit

Hi all, this may interest the dot following lovers, among us!

https://www.boards.ie/b/thread/2057126954/2?

"Hi all, some big news in regards to the Round. Joe McConaughy AKA Stringbean, from Boston, USA is taking on the Round this weekend. Joe holds the fastest known time (FKT) for the 2,190-mile Appalachian Trail (45 days, 12 hours, and 15 minutes) which is mighty impressive!!

Here is Joe's notice for the attempt: https://www.imra.ie/forum/topic/id/4853

And here is the tracker link which will go live a bit closer to the time: http://live.primaltracking.com/wicklowround18

Joe, we wish you the best of luck!

S2S"

Surprised to flick on the wireless just now to hear the dulcet tones of Enduro on the Marian Finucane show. Good job, flying the flag for Irish ultrarunning!

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭ultrawoman

Surprised to flick on the wireless just now to hear the dulcet tones of Enduro on the Marian Finucane show. Good job, flying the flag for Irish ultrarunning!

Great interview. Really enjoying it!

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭ultrawoman

http://my3.raceresult.com/98907/#0_32DBB4

Tracker to follow the European 24 Hour Champs taking place tomorrow in Timisoara, Romania. Good luck to Enduro, and the rest of the Irish Team!!

well done lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭iamjenko

Enjoyed that!

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭summit2summit

Rory Campbell has a nice little lead in today’s Wicklow Way Race. Can he hold on though? He has Adrian Hennessy chasing him down not too far behind.

http://live.primaltracking.com/wicklowwayrace18/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Rory Campbell has a nice little lead in today’s Wicklow Way Race. Can he hold on though? He has Adrian Hennessy chasing him down not too far behind.

http://live.primaltracking.com/wicklowwayrace18/

Neady from these parts was 3rd female :)