Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*** Leaving Cert Geography 2014 ***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

jazz101 wrote: »
    Just realised looking through the exam papers that I forgot to do a question from those in 10-12. ****. My. Life.
    Did you do one from 7-9?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Isitthough?

much did people write for the biome? I did well overall but I didnt know My biomes only read over essays night before and characteristic didn't come up :( so I Did humans changing the biome and talked about deforestation and cultivation in sahal desert(was that ok?) but only got like 2 and half pages. How many marks do you think id get for only 2.5 pages?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Hotale.com

Well (and I stress I'm no geographer), it's a very general question on the impact of dams on river processes, so the main part of the marks will presumably be for getting those processes right / describing them.

Obviously giving examples of where it happens would be a plus, but I doubt if the dams on the Rhine impact any differently on the river than anywhere else, unless they're a very different style of dam which isn't used elsewhere. Even if so, provided students describe the usual processes properly, they should get the bulk of the marks.

Edit: Yeah, kinda what Aaron said, though I don't know where he got the "2 marks" from.

I don't think the effects of damming vary much around the world anyway, so I'd imagine I'd get the marks for using an example to illustrate the impacts it has. Our teacher always said we could do that anyway. :p

I was just thinking that the people who use the Rhine wouldn't be able to say anything about damming specifically, so they'd be hard pushed to get many SRPs out of their answer.

Hotale.com wrote: »
    ... so I'd imagine I'd get the marks for using an example to illustrate the impacts it has. Our teacher always said we could do that anyway. :p
    Oh, being able to point to specific examples would always be a good thing, no doubt about that, and if people went on about the Rhine without having studied it specifically they might indeed have got a bit waffley and vague and not maximised their potential marks. Provided they got the actual processes right though, they should have got most of the marks available.

Yeah, kinda what Aaron said, though I don't know where he got the "2 marks" from.

They usually designate 1 SRP for a named example i.e 2 marks.
    Hotale.com wrote: »
    I was just thinking that the people who use the Rhine wouldn't be able to say anything about damming specifically, so they'd be hard pushed to get many SRPs out of their answer.

Exactly. I don't think there are enough SRPs in 'general' damming information. Some exploration of the named example would be need to get enough SRPs in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

much did people write for the biome? I did well overall but I didnt know My biomes only read over essays night before and characteristic didn't come up :( so I Did humans changing the biome and talked about deforestation and cultivation in sahal desert(was that ok?) but only got like 2 and half pages. How many marks do you think id get for only 2.5 pages?

I only wrote 2.5 pages aswell , it was kind of educated bluff. Id say Ill get about 50/80 Im sure they dont expect too high a standard considering how long the essay is :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭jazz101

Did you do one from 7-9?

Yeah, I did question 7.

Then you didn't need to do one from 10-12. You only do 1 elective.

Yeah, I did question 7.
    SECTION 2 – ELECTIVES
    Questions 7 to 12
    You MUST attempt ONE question from:

Patterns and Processes in Economic Activities

OR

Patterns and Processes in the Human Environment
    OR!!!! :p

(Or am I missing something? :o)

Look at you with your sexy authoritative mod bold font ;)

Then you didn't need to do one from 10-12. You only do 1 elective.

http://examinations.ie/archive/exampapers/2014/LC005ALP000EV.pdf

Oh my God that sigh of relief almost took my lungs with it. Thanks lads.

Look at you with your sexy authoritative mod bold font ;)
    Actually, I was just reproducing the way it was on the paper as closely as possible! :D

But always nice to know you still find me sexy, bbz! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭onethreefive

Did anyone else run out of time? I completely rushed part B and C of human environment.

Oh my God that sigh of relief almost took my lungs with it. Thanks lads.
    Lug! :D:D

I'm on the Cap Morgans, Aaron will probably have a pint. ;)

bb1234567 wrote: »
    I only wrote 2.5 pages aswell , it was kind of educated bluff. Id say Ill get about 50/80 Im sure they dont expect too high a standard considering how long the essay is :)
    Hopefully My was just educated guess too xD Suppose even if I did know It id only have time for another page anyways..

In the mocks i accidentally Did a question from both the 1st and 2nd elective but didnt run out of time and came out with a C1 :confused: I dont know how I managed that but I barely even finished in time today just doing one elective today :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭RAnderson1995

My year is going ballistic saying it was so hard and they could barely answer any questions!
    I honestly thought it was grand, the short questions were a bit tricky but other than that!
    I did;
    The first physical question about igneous rocks and river processes
    Q5 in the regional
    Q9 in the Human Elective and
    Geoecology - biome question about human activities .. it was worded terribly but i wrote a very decent 3 1/2 page answer and had 10 minutes left at the end to read over everything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 forevergold22

Does anyone know how much marks would be lost of you wrote a page and a half about the formation of levees and waterfalls but drew no diagrams? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Guys, I did my LC last year. Got my only A1 in Geography. :o This is my post from this time last year. :o
    Did anyone else think the short questions were difficult? One of the questions with 4 pictures? I couldn't make them out at all.

Very disappointed with how I performed. Would be lucky to get a B, and I was aiming for an A.

So, if you under preformed, move on. I got on a lot better than I thought. They usually mark easy, because it's answered poorly.

Does anyone know how much marks would be lost of you wrote a page and a half about the formation of levees and waterfalls but drew no diagrams? :(

I didn't think diagrams were necessary they just count as a srp so if you have 15 srps your grand

Really :o even though it said "with the aid of a labelled diagram"? :) happy out now so!

2-4 max!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭FHB

It didn't say that though. No diagrams necessary. :)

You dont need diagrams unless stated

FHB wrote: »
    It didn't say that though. No diagrams necessary. :)

Ok thank you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Rainydays212

hey guys,
    I did my geoecology question on the human activities affecting biomes, and discussed acid rain and deforestation, in total around 5 pages. Was this ok? Thank you :)

hey guys,
    I did my geoecology question on the human activities affecting biomes, and discussed acid rain and deforestation, in total around 5 pages. Was this ok? Thank you :)

Acid rain? How did you link that with human?

hey guys,

did you link acid rain to humans? it was human activity and acid rain may be caused by humans but it's not a human activity!
    Deforestation however is grand!

Acid rain? How did you link that with human?
    Industrial activity by humans causes acid rain , burning of fossil fuels etc...:/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 scareyc

Industrial activity by humans causes acid rain , burning of fossil fuels etc...:/

I did that, made sure I kept repeating that the acid rain was caused by industrial activity and therefore human activity

scareyc wrote: »
    I did that, made sure I kept repeating that the acid rain was caused by industrial activity and therefore human activity

yeah I learnt my essay from the book that has all the sample answers, it was '' human influence on biomes'' I think we are safe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭11Charlie11

Did you have to refer to more than one biome? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 scareyc

Did you have to refer to more than one biome? :)

I didn't but most of my year did, I hope you could do both the question was phrased weird..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 pa95

For the biome question, my headings were 1: how natives have been altered
    2: how soils have been altered
    3: how climate has been altered
    4: how flora/ fauna has been altered
    I linked human activities into each heading, but everyone else I've talked to seemed to have the actual activities as the headings...I suppose it's ambiguous enough, but also I only spoke about 1 biome. The geog teachers in my school were saying that it was so general, so I should be ok...any thoughts on this?

pa95 wrote: »
    I linked human activities into each heading, but everyone else I've talked to seemed to have the actual activities as the headings...I suppose it's ambiguous enough, but also I only spoke about 1 biome. The geog teachers in my school were saying that it was so general, so I should be ok...any thoughts on this?

That's like exactly what i did, some of my headings were more human based but i talked about the same stuff and i only talked about one Biome also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Johnjoeboy

I choose ranching/agriculture,logging of trees,expoloiting minerals and HEP

You only lose 4 marks. That's the maximum

Did any do question on the MNCs and the impact of EU policy in irish economy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 geneskinner

did anyone do the human activity on a biome question on the sahel? if so what headings did you use

wait wait we have to put headings in it? really? I didnt see that in any of the samples...Omg my geog teacher..such a..:eek: Much marks i lose for no headings?

I did the "impact of EU enlargement" question in almost entirely economic terms. That's alright isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 123corby

did anyone do the human activity on a biome question on the sahel? if so what headings did you use

overgrazing, over cropping and deforestation!

You dont lose marks for not drawing diagrams unless they say 'with aid of a diagram' right..?

Right. You maybe missed out on a handy few SRPs for drawing a couple of easy diagrams, but you will not be docked marks.

123corby wrote: »
    overgrazing, over cropping and deforestation!
    what did you use for overgrazing? I was going to do Conemara but I didnt think it was a Biome right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Alannahokl

I did the Sahel too but I'm panicking! Are u definitely able to use the Sahel on a biome cos when I went bak to my notes the Sahel was an example of people n soils?:( help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Kyro

Alannahokl wrote: »
    I did the Sahel too but I'm panicking! Are u definitely able to use the Sahel on a biome cos when I went bak to my notes the Sahel was an example of people n soils?:( help!

Yes. I did the Sahel and did overgrazing, deforestation, and over-cultivation.

I actually thought my answer was great - I was delighted with it. Crammed it at 7AM before the exam :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 123corby

what did you use for overgrazing? I was going to do Conemara but I didnt think it was a Biome right?

I used the hot desert biome in the sahel for all the 3 headings. Well I never heard Connemara being mentioned before as a biome haha! did ye not study a biome in class?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Alannahokl

Kyro wrote: »
    Yes. I did the Sahel and did overgrazing, deforestation, and over-cultivation.

I actually thought my answer was great - I was delighted with it. Crammed it at 7AM before the exam :)

Great because everyone did the Mojave desert as a biome n I was the only one who did the Sahel! So glad it's right thank god:O ya i did the same but i didnt mention much animals tho:/