Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euromillions winner gives €50,000,000 to charity.

• 30-05-2014 11:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭

man who scooped more than €72m on the EuroMillions lottery has decided to give €50m of his jackpot to charity.
    The unidentified winner from the Haute-Garonne area of southwestern France said he will share his win between around ten NGOs working on behalf of the disadvantaged.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0530/620623-french-euro-millions/

Fair play to him, kind of restores my faith in human nature.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Well done to him. Hopefully it will be well spent and help those who it was intended for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Fair play to him.

Hopefully the majority of it actually goes to the disadvantaged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

How incredibly generous of him. So nice to see, hopefully it will do a lot of good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I've always said this is what I'd do - nobody needs that kind of money. I don't think I'd sleep with the guilt of sitting that pile of cash, I'd only want enough that I never had to work again.

It's all well and good saying I'd be that noble though, great to see someone actually do it. Fair play that man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

That is awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Amazing generosity tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

...on behalf of the disadvantaged? So he gave it to Hollande's party through some indirect route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Snakeweasel

What a waste! The lotto was made for greedy, lazy, materialistic kn0bs like me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Does he really need €22M??

Greedy guy should have gave more!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Fair play to him. I wish I was in a similar position. I always said if I won a lot of money in the likes of the Euromillions I'd give a big chunk to charity but would also employ someone to ensure that the money was properly spent and those on need benefitted most and not fat car CEOs and Executives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

How incredibly generous of him. So nice to see, hopefully it will do a lot of good.

^^^^^
    That +100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'd draw up a list of about 30 local NGOs/registered charities and they'd get a monthly payment, that way they couldn't go mad on "administration" expenses (read cars).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭danwhite88

CJC999 wrote: »
    Fair play to him. I wish I was in a similar position. I always said if I won a lot of money in the likes of the Euromillions I'd give a big chunk to charity but would also employ someone to ensure that the money was properly spent and those on need benefitted most and not fat car CEOs and Executives.

My problem these days is that you dont know were the money is going once you donate it. I would like to do "Secret Millionaire" type thing an go and meet the people in need and give me help that way. Without the cameras and recognition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

The selfish prick probably only did it to feel good about himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

that's a good guy right there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Don't suppose he would see me as a charity case?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Well done to the person for the grand gesture. In unrelated news, Angela Kerins ex-Rehab director heads to France to start up a new NGO.

Beyond pathetic!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭fearrua

Well he's a considerably better person than I am. If I won that kinda money I'd keep it all in cash in a specially built vault so I could roll around in it and laugh maniacally.

Fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

man who scooped more than €72m on the EuroMillions lottery has decided to give €50m of his jackpot to charity.
    The unidentified winner from the Haute-Garonne area of southwestern France said he will share his win between around ten NGOs working on behalf of the disadvantaged.

Most impressive of all he has remained anonymous rather than try to use it to promote himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Give that man the nobel peace prize for services to mankind now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I'd say the charity bosses are licking their chops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭A Greedy Algorithm

I would set up a charity for myself and give all the money to that charity and then feel content knowing that i gave my entire winnings to charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭leo2a6

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Give that man the nobel peace prize for services to mankind now!!

hard to get nobel prize if u dont drone bomb civilians...

i hope so also but how long till Consultants Fees pray on that charity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Not a chance I'd give all that away if I won that money. I'm a greedy prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Ya he is definition of a cnnt alright

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Angela kerins on the first flight available to the south of France!

I'd say the charity bosses are licking their chops.
    i hope so also but how long till Consultants Fees pray on that charity
    Angela kerins on the first flight available to the south of France!

Jebus lads, could not be positive for a change!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

If that was me, I'd buy 50 million scratch cards :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Wonder what the charities will go with the windfall? Bonuses and parties all around I'd say.

If that was me, I'd buy 50 million scratch cards :pac:

And you'd probably end up winning only about half of it back. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Jebus lads, could not be positive for a change!

No. I'm Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I've always said this is what I'd do - nobody needs that kind of money. I don't think I'd sleep with the guilt of sitting that pile of cash, I'd only want enough that I never had to work again.

It's all well and good saying I'd be that noble though, great to see someone actually do it. Fair play that man.

Pretty much sums up how I feel about it also. I always say I'd keep enough to keep me real comfortable for life. But to actually see someone do it is fantastic. Good news story of the day by far. Makes you wonder though about the wealthiest 1% on this planet and how they continue to add billions to their bloated wallets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

Corvo wrote: »
    Don't suppose he would see me as a charity case?

Do you speak French? Perhaps we could write a joint letter on behalf of the poor in Ireland us! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

And you'd probably end up winning only about half of it back. :pac:

I'd have a great time scratching them though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Skeleton XIII

I find it hard to believe a cent of that will reach the people who actually need it. I'd love to be wrong and some of it probably will, but only a tiny amount of what was given.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭neamhspleachi

Bonne chance à lui, ce geste humain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

danwhite88 wrote: »
    My problem these days is that you dont know were the money is going once you donate it. I would like to do "Secret Millionaire" type thing an go and meet the people in need and give me help that way. Without the cameras and recognition.

+1 Just a box of tissues :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

danwhite88 wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Im a charity case, do I get €50,000,000?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Sell your fat Garthy tickets and you will be fine .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

Get in the queue

Does anyone have a contact address. I want to congratulate him on his generosity :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

well jealous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

They've discovered his identity.

It's Alaine Chateraux.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I wish I was in a position to give away 50m!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I've always said this is what I'd do -
    I'd like to think I'd be able to do it too or at least spread it out amongst family and even though 22 million is more than enough for any person, it must be so hard to have that sitting in your bank account and hand the largest chunk of it away. Fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭galwayredgirl

Someone has to pay the salaries of the charity CEOs I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

He would be doing a far better thing to have setup his own charity and used the money to directly target those areas he cares about.

Just giving the money away to charity only server to make himself feel good about himself, its not taking any real direct action.

He would be doing a far better thing to have setup his own charity and used the money to directly target those areas he cares about.

Just giving the money away to charity only server to make himself feel good about himself, its not taking any real direct action.

He's taking ~€50,000,000 more action than any of us here, no matter how you slice it.