If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Eat, Sleep, ̶R̶a̶v̶e̶, Run, Repeat for a sub 3 in Amsterdam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭viperlogic

physiopad wrote: »
    Congrats on Amsterdam! Brilliant stuff and well deserved after your great training block

You mention now focusing on shorter races. So is that you done with the Marathon for a few years?

Will be very interested to see the improvements in your times for 5 and 10k.

Thanks. Will do London or Boston in 2016 as have a GFA time but otherwise yes, that is probably the end of my marathon career. Sub 3 was a bucket list item.

Plan now is to concentrate on 5/10K times. May join Leevale AC to help with that. Next bucket list item for me is competitive swimming. It going to be interesting as I have a fear of water but I do like a challenge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

viperlogic wrote: »
    that is probably the end of my marathon career.

Wash your mouth out with soap! :D

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Wash your mouth out with soap! :D

Veni, vidi, vici

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭physiopad

Thanks. Will do London or Boston in 2016 as have a GFA time but otherwise yes, that is probably the end of my marathon career. Sub 3 was a bucket list item.

Plan now is to concentrate on 5/10K times. May join Leevale AC to help with that. Next bucket list item for me is competitive swimming. It going to be interesting as I have a fear of water but I do like a challenge!

Interesting! Fair play.. the odd ironman might further down the line so? ;)

Im in a predicament as to whether I should concentrate on faster 5/10k first or go all out on for fast marathon first. I want to do it all :D

physiopad wrote: »
    Interesting! Fair play.. the odd ironman might further down the line so? ;)

Im in a predicament as to whether I should concentrate on faster 5/10k first or go all out on for fast marathon first. I want to do it all :D

TBH, the training is near same bar the higher volume. Both have tempo, strides, intervals, easy, MLR/LSR's. Your 5K/10K time will improve doing the marathon training as you are getting fitter

Day|Session|Distance|Pace K|Pace M|Time|HR bpm|HR %|Cadence|Osc (cm)|GTC (ms)|Stride (m)
    Monday|rest||||||||||
    Tuesday|easy|8.25K|4:45|7:38|39:13|151|83%|160|10.3|283|1.32
    Wednesday|||||||||||
    Thursday|||||||||||
    Friday|||||||||||
    Saturday|||||||||||
    Sunday|||||||||||

Tuesday - 8K easy
    Cold one out there tonight so put on the skins, thermal run top, hat and gloves. Really feeling the cold past few weeks, thou its not that cold yet! Must of lost alot of body fat during the marathon training block. Did a nice easy 8K around the streets. HR data messed up due to massive spikes which is prob due to thermal run top. Will have to wet a bit of it next time to try stop the static.

Day|Session|Distance|Pace K|Pace M|Time|HR bpm|HR %|Cadence|Osc (cm)|GTC (ms)|Stride (m)
    Monday|rest||||||||||
    Wednesday|rest||||||||||
    Thursday|easy|5.25K|4:46|7:40|25:05|150|82%|158|10.3|287|1.32
    Friday|||||||||||
    Saturday|||||||||||
    Sunday|||||||||||

Thursday - 5K easy
    Manky evening but had to head out otherwise would of felt guilty. Nice easy 5K around the streets. Intake of cake/junk on the down now but you can really see why people get hooked on sugar!

Monday|rest||||||||||
    Wednesday|rest||||||||||
    Thursday|easy|5.25K|4:46|7:40|25:05|150|82%|158|10.3|287|1.32
    Friday|rest||||||||||
    Saturday|bike|17K|||||||||
    Sunday|rest||||||||||

Saturday - 17K bike
    Went out for a leisurely cycle with herself as she got a new bike. Forgot the full finger gloves so they nearly dropped off with the cold. Also as I wasn't going
    at my usual solo pace ~32KPH but rather about ~18KPH I wasn't generating much heat and so body began to get cold also. Got home and had the best cup of tea ever!

Sunday
    Was planning a 10 miler but picked up a chest injury moving furniture over weekend so even breathing is sore at times :(

Monday|Fartlek|5.25K|4:36|7:24|24:10|150|82%|159|9.4|285|1.37
    Tuesday|||||||||||
    Wednesday|||||||||||
    Thursday|||||||||||
    Friday|||||||||||
    Saturday|||||||||||
    Sunday|||||||||||

Monday - 5K Fartlek
    This was a bit of a tester to see if I can run with a chest and shoulder injury from moving furniture over the weekend. Luckily I was able to without issue other than slight niggle with left shoulder. Did a 5K and where possible did a few ~5K pace intervals to put some speed back into the legs as has been awhile. Legs were OK only concern was chest didn't like the cold air, it seems so much heavier/thicker if that makes sense.

I'm planning on doing the Run in the Dark on Wednesday. If it's dry I will do the 10K but if it's horrible and wet I will just do the 5K. Certainly wont be a full out race effort due to the twist, turns, footpaths, obstacles and walkers.

Tuesday|rest||||||||||
    Wednesday|race|10K|4:11|6:43|40:20|174|95%|161|10.5|264|1.49
    Thursday|||||||||||
    Friday|||||||||||
    Saturday|||||||||||
    Sunday|||||||||||

Wednesday - 10K Run in the Dark race
    Wasn't sure I was going to make this one as had NCT before it but luckily they did the test early as I arrived early. It passed, wuhoo. Not much to report on this race, thou wasn't really a race. 10K was 4 laps of which first one was fast as there was no crowds but a few hundred meters into the second lap I started catching up with the walkers and had to back off on the pace as it was too dangerous weaving around and also the ground was slippy due to recent shower of rain. No point risking injury. Took it easy for the remainder and just enjoyed it.

Chip time of 40:17 for 9th place out of 939.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

Well done on your efforts, great achievement. Except for the stitch, you seems to be fairly comfortable to get it under 3 hrs.
    Plan now is to concentrate on 5/10K times.

I'm thinking along the same line as you, concentrate on the shorter stuff for the next few months. Do you mind me asking what times you have in mind, or do you know!?

Tuesday|rest||||||||||
    Thursday|rest||||||||||
    Friday|easy|8K|4:59|8:00|39:53|146|80%|157|9.9|285|1.28
    Saturday|||||||||||
    Sunday|||||||||||

Friday - 8K easy/recovery
    Nice easy/recovery pace 8K. HR bit up for an easy/recovery session and noticed same of late, must be the extra layers and new loop with more pulls. Otherwise not much to report re the session other than I bought a Garmin 920XT. Got a mail from Wiggle saying they got it in stock and I just couldn't resist. Would of got it €100 cheaper in US if waited to end of year but couldn't wait! So my Garmin 620 with HRM-RUN is for sale if anyone is interested

Well done on your efforts, great achievement. Except for the stitch, you seems to be fairly comfortable to get it under 3 hrs.

Thank you. Looking back, it was actually one of the easiest marathons, as in not easy (of course) but easiest compared to the previous ones.

I'm thinking along the same line as you, concentrate on the shorter stuff for the next few months. Do you mind me asking what times you have in mind, or do you know!?

Currently 5K and 10K times are somewhat poor of 18:30 and 38:22. Believe/hope I can get a sub 18 5K and low/mid 37 10K before year end

Tuesday|rest||||||||||
    Thursday|rest||||||||||
    Friday|easy|8K|4:59|8:00|39:53|146|80%|157|9.9|285|1.28
    Saturday|rest||||||||||
    Sunday|race|6K|3:44|6:00|22:32|178|96%|161|10.3|242|1.66

Sunday - BHAA Mahers Sports 6K race
    First proper race since Amsterdam marathon as couldn't really race in the Run in the Dark 10K on Wednesday this week. Very cold this morn so put the skins top and under shorts on thou after warm up took the skins top off and wore just the team singlet. Was talking to friends a bit too long so didn't complete my full warm up routine and cut the stretches a bit short. Start was delayed by 10mins so started to feel the cold again. Finally we were off. Start was down hill which is great for a start but you know you have to come back up it for the finish! After few hundred meters settled into my pace. This was a new race of which the first 1.5K was new but after that we joined the usual BHAA 4 mile Little Island course. From 1K to 2.7K it was a gentle pull of which there was a pack of 4 of us, one of which (blue singlet) I was determined to beat as we have had some friendly battles for the line in other races. Pace was dropping slowly from the continuous pull but that would come back in favor on the way back. After we reached the top of the pull there was a short fast down hill section where I was able to get my breath back but it didn't last long as we had another pull to deal with plus a headwind. I tucked in behind to gain some shelter. Once we finished that pull we turned for home and the headwind wasn't an issue. The pack weren't going as fast as I would of liked but maybe there were saving themselves for the final pull to the finish. I contemplated pushing on but there was no one ahead and we had another headwind section to go. At ~4.5K I moved towards the front of group and pushed a bit. Then rounded another corner to get away from headwind and hit the 5K marker. The pack was now stringed out as people began to push for home thou nothing crazy as there was that hill to finish. Had a quick look back and couldn't see the blue singlet close by thou knew he will be close. We hit the pull and I just went for it. In doing so passed a few runners. Got to the top and just wanted to puke but had another 150 meters to go. I kicked for the line thou not full out as from quick glance over the shoulder there was no one there. BUT about 50 meters to the line I heard a shout out "Go on EMC" and knew he (blue singlet) was reeling me in. Gave a little burst to keep him off and beat him to the line. Crossed the line in 22min 32 seconds for 36th place out of 404.

Looking back at it I could of gone a bit faster but I think I just wanted to keep the blue singlet in sight and also use the pack for shelter. Happy out thou with result. Really missed the buzz of racing. Have another race next week :)

HR Max from other short races was 183 but that hill pushed it to 185 today, hence wanting to puke at the top!

Monday|rest||||||||||
    Tuesday|easy|11.2K|5:11|8:20|58:06|137|74%|158|9.8|293|1.22
    Wednesday|rest||||||||||
    Thursday|race|5K|4:02|6:29|18:53|173|94%|161|10.1|251|1.54
    Thursday|easy|10.5K|5:13|8:23|54:28|147|79%|157|9.3|289|1.22
    Friday|rest||||||||||
    Saturday|||||||||||
    Sunday|||||||||||

Tuesday - 11K easy
    Nice easy 11K of which 4K was with a buddy looking to get back running

Thursday - 5K race & 10.5K easy
    It was wellness week at work and they organized a 5K (think it was short!) for employees down in the gun power mills in Ballincollig. Nothing serious, just a bit of fun. Ran with a buddy who does BHAA racing with me. We weren't going full clip as were able to talk most of the way around, also the bridges and paths were slippy in some sections. One fella with GAA shorts took off but we both knew we would see him later! About 2K we caught up with him and passed him out. About 200m to go I pushed on and won. My first win, wuhooo. There were no prizes thou, just a raffle for a hamper.

When got home was about to head out for a short warm down when buddy text to join him for a run. Ended doing just over 10K of which 4K with him.

In other news I sold my Garmin 620 to a fellow Boardsie and got the 920XT. Love every bit of the watch except that it looks cheap and like a kids toy!

Monday|rest||||||||||
    Tuesday|easy|11.2K|5:11|8:20|58:06|137|74%|158|9.8|293|1.22
    Wednesday|rest||||||||||
    Thursday|race|5K|4:02|6:29|18:53|173|94%|161|10.1|251|1.54
    Thursday|easy|10.5K|5:13|8:23|54:28|147|79%|157|9.3|289|1.22
    Friday|rest||||||||||
    Saturday|rest||||||||||
    Sunday|walk|7K|11:50||||||||

Sunday - 7K walk!
    Was planning a 10 mile LSR but a late night on Saturday night put an end to that. Nice easy 7K walk down to Blackrock village for a hot chocolate! Lack of a plan is making me lazy. I've ordered Pete Pfitzinger's latest book "Faster Road Racing" which covers 5K to Half Marathon and from that I will build out a plan and get back on track.

Monday|easy|11.7K|4:45|7:38|55:36|151|82%|158|10.3|294|1.33
    Tuesday|rest||||||||||
    Wednesday|easy|8.3K|4:39|7:29|38:35|148|80%|160|10.1|289|1.35
    Thursday|||||||||||
    Friday|||||||||||
    Saturday|||||||||||
    Sunday|||||||||||

Monday - 11.7K easy/progressive
    easy/progressive 11.7K with hills.

Wednesday - 8.3K easy with strides
    Nice easy run with 6 strides towards the end.

Really missing the daylight and to be able to do my long flat routes. Not liking this constant up and down on paths at all and stopping at every junction.

Book Depository let me down regards the Faster Road Racing book I ordered to get my ass back in gear but thanks to beepbeep for sending on the 10mile plan from it.

I now have a plan and already excited and looking forward to the training. It will also make the training log bit interesting again, really has gone down hill since the Amsterdam Marathon!

Monday|easy|11.7K|4:45|7:38|55:36|151|82%|158|10.3|294|1.33
    Tuesday|rest||||||||||
    Wednesday|easy|8.3K|4:39|7:29|38:35|148|80%|160|10.1|289|1.35
    Thursday|rest||||||||||
    Friday|rest||||||||||
    Saturday|race|5K|3:44|6:02|18:45|177|96%|160|10.2|248|1.61
    Sunday|hungover!!||||||||||

Saturday - 5K race
    Another week, another race! This time is was a charity 5K around the Blarney Castle grounds. For a chariety race it was very well organized, I would put it up there with some of the top BHAA and AC organized ones. Was at Blarney Castle as a kid but don't really remember it, let alone what the grounds were like. Got there early, registered, meet a few friends, did warm up, and then few minutes after 11 we were off. As per usual, their were a few who took off as if it was a 1K race, very soon we saw them again! First 700m were flat and fast and then we hit the first sharp pull up to the castle. My fellow work colleague who I ran with during last weeks 5K was then beside me. A few quick words and then the course began to drop for about 800meters. Even thou we were descending you couldn't go flat out as paths were covered in leaves and a bit slippy. Also with the long decent we both knew what that meant, there will be some serious pulls to come and at the end of the decent we turned off the path to go up a steep bank. Course turned x-country all of a sudden and was very slippy as the shoes lost grip due to muck in the grips. We were in a wooded area for about 500m before we popped out on a path again but the path was v mucky especially the corners where you had to slow right down. I was still with my colleague, I don't recall passing anyone or anyone passing us. We turned off the mucky path and on to a road that led back up to the castle. By now one guy had passed us. Got up to the castle and then it was 1K to the finish of which most was a descent. We both pushed on for a fast finish but he pushed that bit harder to beat me by about 2 seconds. Came home in around 18:45 and 15th I think, still waiting on the results. Really enjoyed the race thou it was nearly a x-country race! Back to the GAA club for a feast of sambos and buns and warm down run. My sub 18 attempt will have to wait....

Was due a run on Sunday but had some head on me after a few pints on Saturday night. I'm some serious cheap date now since the marathon training block!

Came home in around 18:45 and 15th I think, still waiting on the results.

Wasn't far off, gun time of 18:45 and 14th place. They only recorded the first 422 runners thou up to 32mins

Monday|easy|13.6K|4:56|7:56|1:07:01|141|76%|157|9.6|288|1.29
    Tuesday|rest||||||||||
    Wednesday|||||||||||
    Thursday|||||||||||
    Friday|||||||||||
    Saturday|||||||||||
    Sunday|||||||||||

Monday - 13.6K easy/progressive with hills
    As was too hungover on Sunday to even function I did my longish run on Monday. After getting home from work it was lashing and I started making excuses for not heading out. About 7:30pm it finally cleared up and so I headed out. Decided to do a different route and hit the hills of Douglas, Donnybrook, Grange and Frankfield. After a K or so I got warmed up and began to enjoy it. There was a very slight niggle in my right knee that I haven't experienced before. Noticed it also after the 5K race on Sunday but didn't think much of it. After about 4K I hit the 2K climb up to Frankfield. As was going easy pace it was fine. As set out late I was beginning to get hungry now, v hungry and so began to pick up the pace slightly. There was a lovely homemade lasagne herself made waiting for me. Once showered and fed I began to feel the slight discomfort in the knee again. A bit of googling and it appears to be the classic runners knee. I've never experienced this before luckily enough. I have the Clonakilty Waterfront Marathon 10K on Saturday so will just rest it and see how it is on the day. Any other exercises recommended for runners knee?

In other news I won a consultation with Matt Lovell, the England Rugby nutrition coach, in a Kinetica competition. Wuhoo.

Knee better thou not 100%. Will give the 10K in Clon tomorrow a lash. Hopefully can beat my current PB of 38:22 thou the course inst that fast but then again that PB was before the marathon training block where I have had big gains

Monday|easy|13.6K|4:56|7:56|1:07:01|141|76%|157|9.6|288|1.29
    Tuesday|rest||||||||||
    Wednesday|rest||||||||||
    Thursday|rest||||||||||
    Friday|rest||||||||||
    Saturday|race|10K|3:49|6:08|38:48|176|95%|160|10.2|258|1.63
    Sunday|rest||||||||||

Saturday - Clonakilty Waterfront Marathon 10K
    Another weekend, another race continues! Was going to be down this direction so signed up for the 10K, otherwise would of headed to Waterford for the half. Headed in to pick up my number and top on Friday eve to find that my bib wasn't personalized even thou I intentionally registered early to get that option! I see from Facebook I wasn't the only one also. I always put down medium when registering for the tech tops as they tend to be always on the large size. Not this time, the medium was like a compression top! Asked could I change it to a large and they said no. Can change it after the race if any left which is a fair enough point as is always a pain point for many races that size ordered is never available. While there, others were collecting their numbers also to be told their numbers hadn't arrived yet! WTF. I asked also where shall we park tomorrow and they said in the show grounds. A few alarm bells went off here, the car park is enclosed by the course so how are people going to leave eg those doing the 10K while the other races are still going on. Also, the shows ground is just a big field.... cars, field, winter don't go well together! Headed off down home for a savage dinner and a jebuz special of a cheesecake! Hey, it works for him each time!

Up early in the morning for breakfast and headed off to Clon. Got there for 8, race was at 9, well was ment to be! Parked in the field and as expected saw cars already stuck! Headed over to the hotel on the off chance I can swap my tech top for a large. No problem this time! While there I was trying to work out where were we all going to start as there was no signage other than the finish gantry. Headed back to my car to drop off tech top and start my warm up routine. While doing my warm up the MC over the PA started providing updates that the marathon will start first, then the half and then at 9:15 the 10K. Hmmm there is going to be traffic ahead. Finish warm up and dropped clothes back to the car. Decided against wearing my run gloves and hat as was all nicely warmed up. Headed over to start area and the MC kept repeating where for everyone to go if in the full, half or 10K but left and right means nothing to a crowd, sure left or right when facing what direction!! If they had signage there wouldn't of been the chaos. After awhile the MC started to use a reference of two green balloons! Had a chat with a few friends and did some more stretching. Started to wish I kept the gloves and hat on. It was freezing. Rather than queuing up behind the half runners as we were ment to I headed down the road to cheer the full runners on at the start. The full went off. Gary O'Hanlon looks like he is floating on air and makes it look effortless. He could do with a few hang sandwiches thou. Spotted a few other usuals. Next up was the half. Their start was down at the end of the road so they were walked down to that. We still all gave them a clap. Next up was us in the 10K. Like the half we were to be walked down the road. I was v cold by now so went off for a jog. It was around 9:15 and there was no sign we will be starting any time soon as once we got to the end of the road where the half started we found out we are starting further down the main road and they have to move the start gantry to there! After awhile it was set up and the runners made their way to the start. I was already down there as was doing a light jog up and down the road to try stay warm.

At 9:25 we were off. After a few hundred meters I had settled, 3 lads had headed off and I was in a group of 6. The first slight pull started, nothing major at all. At 1K we reached the top of that and then the decent started which was 1K long. Down this we started picking up the tail of the marathon and half runners but nothing major at all that interfered with our group and pace. Only slight annoyance was the low winter sun direct into our eyes and knowing we have to come back up that!! We passed Gary coming the other way, again flying/floating up the hill. At the bottom of the decent we then had 2K of flat before the next sharp pull. I stayed to the back of the group as they worked their way through the traffic which must of been hard with both the on coming runners and low sunlight into the eyes. At 4.2K we hit the sharp pull up to Inchdonny hotel. This knocked the wind out of me and I fell off the back of the group. I didn't worry too much as told myself I will get back to them on the return down the pull. Got to the turn around point and saw they had already made some considerable ground. Darn. Also, the turn around point was very confusing for those doing the full. No signage just a person shouting out where to go, that being full runners had to continue on....I think! Right, game on, need to real back in the group. Sun behind me so dont have that to deal with. But what I had to deal with was the traffic, ahhhh, I couldn't go full whack back down the sharp pull due to the traffic on both sides. I tried to run down the middle but several times had to side step or put on the brakes. It was like this for the remaining 5K :(. Battled through the crowds along the flat 2K. Got to the bottom of the hill I was dreading and just started pumping the arms to work my way up the hill. There was still traffic but not as much coming in the opposite direction so effectively ran on the wrong side all the way up the hill. Gary came flying down again and also saw Sergiu doing same, thou Sergiu was doing the half. Got to the top and just pushed on for the 1.5K to the finish. I was hoping to see some of the singlets from the group I started with but no luck. On the home straight had a quick look around to see if anyone was closing me in. Didnt see anyone thou was hard as was amongst a field of half and full runners also. Rounded the last corner to see the finish line and crossed the line comfortably in 38:48 and 9th place to see the guy in front of me was also doing the 10K. Ahhhh could of easily taken 8th. Oh well. Collect my medal, and had a chat with the lads from the group, they had all stringed out on the return. Had some black pudding also as was starving. Realized trying to leave now out of the car park would be crazy as the number of runners crossing the entrance so headed into the hotel for a massage. No niggles or cramps but no harm when its free! Watched a few runners come in and then headed to car to try and leave, which in fairness wasn't too bad, didn't have to wait too long for a gap in the runners to get out.

Overall happy enough with the run, wasn't a PB or a sub 38min which I would like to achieve before year end but it wasn't a PB course for me with the hill.

When I got home I saw on various social media outlets that Gary, Sergiu and others were sent the wrong way and hence did an extra mile! Gary missed out on an official PB because of this. What will RunClon say other than sorry which is not acceptable! My experience of this event as you can see is not great and I wont be returning, besides, the entry fee is crazy, €30 for a 10K and this is a for profit company, not an AC or charity. People say why enter if so poor and expensive, as above I entered as was in the area that weekend. But that I came 9th out of 750 with a 38:48 shows the standard of the field, there was v few club runners and more social runners. And don't get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with that but they will not get the mass of club runners the way it is being ran esp now sending some of Ireland's top distance runners the wrong way. Plus, the marathon course was out and back 8 times on the same stretch of road! Anyways, I've ranted enough.

Oh, big congrats to Jerry on completing his 300th marathon that day. What a legend

Monday|easy|10.4K|4:44|7:37|49:06|149|81%|158|10.2|292|1.33
    Tuesday|rest||||||||||
    Wednesday|easy|11.7K|4:53|7:51|56:57|147|79%|156|10|290|1.32
    Thursday|rest||||||||||
    Friday|||||||||||
    Saturday|||||||||||
    Sunday|||||||||||

Monday - 18K easy cycle and 10K easy run
    Had the day off work so did a nice leisurely 18K cycle with the missus and then went for a 10K run. Ran my old flat route out and around Blackrock castle as it was during the day time. Haven't ran this route in so long as its too dark at night. Really missed running this route as its flat and no Tolberone footpaths to deal with. Started at about 5 min/km pace and finished at 4:25 min/km. Legs felt great and no side effects from Saturdays 10K race thou that wasn't an all out effort.

Wednesday - 11.7K easy
    Nice easy progressive run with some pulls. Started out at around 5:15 pace and finished up at 4:40 pace. HR data a bit off at start due to a spike I always get with a certain top I wear but its warm!

Its nearly two months now since the Marathon and I've kept running since albeit much less volume, 100K a week down to ~30K, and I'm surprised how much fitness I have lost in that time. My HR is about 10bpm up for same paces. Have others experienced same or is the cold weather and wearing more clothes/layers a part of the reason why HR is also up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Its nearly two months now since the Marathon and I've kept running since albeit much less volume, 100K a week down to ~30K, and I'm surprised how much fitness I have lost in that time. My HR is about 10bpm up for same paces. Have others experienced same or is the cold weather and wearing more clothes/layers a part of the reason why HR is also up?

I didn't do an awful lot between Berlin and Dublin, and have done even less since then. I'm averaging around 9:00min/mile at 132bpm at the moment, whereas I was hitting around 8:30min/mile at 125bpm back in July. So you're not the only one. But we deserve a break after all that training right? :)

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I didn't do an awful lot between Berlin and Dublin, and have done even less since then. I'm averaging around 9:00min/mile at 132bpm at the moment, whereas I was hitting around 8:30min/mile at 125bpm back in July. So you're not the only one. But we deserve a break after all that training right? :)

Just looking at my Garmin Running Dynamic VO2Max numbers and the weeks prior to the marathon it was 61, now its 57 which were I was back in May :eek:

331439.PNG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

Really missed running this route as its flat and no Tolberone footpaths to deal with.

Hey! - Nothing wrong with my footpaths! :-)

Monday|easy|10.4K|4:44|7:37|49:06|149|81%|158|10.2|292|1.33
    Tuesday|rest||||||||||
    Wednesday|easy|11.7K|4:53|7:51|56:57|147|79%|156|10|290|1.32
    Thursday|rest||||||||||
    Friday|easy|15K|5:11|8:20|1:17:56|138|75%|158|9.4|294|1.22
    Saturday|rest||||||||||
    Sunday|race|5K|3:39|5:52|18:21|175|95%|162|9.9|253|1.69

Friday - 15K easy
    As per previous update, my HR is up for same paces since marathon so time to get HR and alas pace down for the easy runs, target between 70-80% of Max HR. Plan was to run to buddies house, do 4K with him, and then run long way home. Kept Garmin 920 on HR screen the whole time and kept HR at around 75%. There were a few pulls where of course HR went above this but then dropped below 75% on the down. Looking back at the data, I was averaging 5min/km except when running with my buddy which was 5:45. Very enjoyable run albeit v v cold even with full length skins top and bottom!

Sunday - Kinsale 5K Santa Dash race
    Continuing with my another weekend another race. Was a toss up between this and the BHAA 4 mile. Opted for the 5K as really want to PB and possibly break sub 18 before end of the year. Headed down to Kinsale early as hadn't pre-registered. Got parking right beside the start line! Registered and then went off to find a Santa hat. Finally found one in Spar. Cold misty rain had started now. I knew this race had a pull so I went off to see how bad it was.....yikes its sharp thou on the plus side it rises fast and falls slowly. Headed back to car to drop off clothes and do warm up routine. Huge crowds had gathered now, great to see for the first running of a new event. Warm up done and headed back to the main gathering area where a few words were said and then we were asked to assemble down the road at the start line. Bit of confusion here as there was no signage of exactly where the start line was so it was the usual of the crowd backing up very slowly. It didn't help they didn't have any portable PA to ask the crowd to move back. I heard John Quigley of AAI say to one of the organizers that we were a few meters short but organizers were OK with going ahead as the crowd weren't moving back anymore.

We had the count down and about 2-3 seconds to go a few kids headed off! 1, 0 and we are off. After 300m or so had settled into my pace and position. There were about 10 runners ahead of me. At 500m there was a double right up a small pull and then a straight for 700m. Next was that sharp pull that lasts for about 500m. Told myself I need to attack this otherwise will loose too much time. Picked up two runners up this. Finally reached the top and my heart was ready to
    explode out of my chest. As I said earlier, even thou it was a sharp pull, it was a long decline but where the heck this wind come from. The hill must of shelter the town. By now there was 3 groups, a group of 3 away ahead, then group of 2 about 100m ahead, and then myself and two others. One of which I grouped with last weekend in the Clonakilty 10K. The wind was quite strong, would of been a disaster only for the decline. I drafted in behind the two guys in our group. This was all good until I began to feel I could go a bit faster. I pulled out to the side to push on and felt the full force of the wind,
    back in behind I went! Even thou we could of been going faster we were still reeling in the two ahead slowly. We rounded a corner at about 3K to head back homeward and wow, the wind was even stronger. I stuck behind the two for a bit but said to myself less than halfway to go, just go for it. I pushed on and don't think they followed. I started reeling in the two ahead. A bit of work as had to deal with the wind but reeled them in and passed them out. One of them came with me. At about 3.6K we rounded a corner to finally have the wind on our backs, thank f**k. My head at this stage was roasting due to the Santa Hat, I took it off briefly to cool down. I made a few surges to see if I could shake this guy on my heels but he was glued to them. I didn't even have to look behind, he was really heavy footed. Meanwhile the 3 ahead were motoring on, doubt we were going to reel them in unless they blew up. There was a small pull coming up and the guy behind me made a move, we were about 600m from home. He gained a few meters on me but I got him back going up the small pull and I just kept going as was about 400m to the finish line. I probably pushed a bit too hard up the small pull as got the empty reaching sensation. That passed and so I kicked for the last 200m to the line for 18:21 (TBC) and which I taught was 4th! As I caught my breath and made my way to the water area there were two fells ahead receiving their prizes, one of which in a full elf suit, WTF, he must of cooked! I don't remember them ahead! They must of been really motoring so alas that puts me in 6th (TBC) which didn't really bother me as I was here to PB and I did! Previous PB was 18:30 and now its 18:21, wuhoo. Down'd several cups of water, congratulated and chatted to the other runners. After awhile I started getting cold so did a short run and then headed home. Really enjoyed the race. Big congrats to Kinsale Tri club on the organization. Everything was spot on bar the start line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Cona

Hi viper
    What you think of the faster road racing 10 mile plan?
    I'm actually looking for a good 10 mile plan but can't find much about...