If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Eat, Sleep, ̶R̶a̶v̶e̶, Run, Repeat for a sub 3 in Amsterdam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Massive PB for you - congrats on the sub 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Super result Viperlogic, well done and congratulations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Congrats on a great run, a super PB and a very nice Sub 3 to boot.

Enjoy the rest of the trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,859 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Great job. What a PB! Congrats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭viperlogic

Thank you all

2:58:29, I've joined the club, wuhooooo. Interesting start and stitch management at the end but still got there. Was emotional. Full report to come but celebrations to come first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

viperlogic wrote: »
    Thank you all

2:58:29, I've joined the club, wuhooooo. Interesting start and stitch management at the end but still got there. Was emotional. Full report to come but celebrations to come first.

Class run K,

Well done and enjoy the celebratory pints.

Unfortunately I've now to head back to Dublin tonight, but I'm sure you'll do enough damage yourself :)

TbL

Class run K,

Well done and enjoy the celebratory pints.

Unfortunately I've now to head back to Dublin tonight, but I'm sure you'll do enough damage yourself :)

TbL

Cheers C, and well done yourself. Wasnt the best conditions out there, esp the start. Pitty you can't stay around for a "few"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Thank you all

Congrats. Delighted for ya! Enjoy the celebrations!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Cracking result, enjoy the beers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

well done sum achievement

Day|Session|Distance|Pace K|Pace M|Time|HR bpm|HR %|Cadence|Osc (cm)|GTC (ms)|Stride (m)
    Monday|rest||||||||||
    Tuesday|recovery|11K|4:54|7:53|53:48|138|75%|159|9.7|282|1.28
    Wednesday|rehearsal|11K|4:48|7:43|52:57|141|77%|159|9.7|278|1.31
    Thursday|recovery|8K|5:11|8:20|41:36|130|71%|156|9.6|284|1.23
    Friday|rest||||||||||
    Saturday|recovery|4.5K|5:14|8:25|23:40|125|68%|156|9.9|285|1.22
    Sunday|Race!|42.2K|4:14|6:49|2:58:30|163|89%|161|10.3|279|1.48

OK, here it goes.... it was the best of times, it was the worst of times.....always wanted to say that!

Saturday, 4am start as flight at 6am so not too much sleep was had. Flight was OK, then bus to hotel to drop off the bags and then tram down to the expo. It was very windy. This wind could be an issue tomorrow as its very strong. Number collection was very quick and then over to collect t-shirt which also was a quick process. Just to make sure the t-shirt fitted, I went to the side of the hall to try it on and perfect fit so off I went to walk around the expo and see the stands. While walking out the registration hall you can scan your bib just to make sure its working etc so I said what harm......oh sh!t, where my number gone, panic and sweats kicked in as I frantically tried to think where could it be. Then I taught I must of put it down when trying on the t-shirt, so I barged through the crowds and luckily my number was there where I tried on the t-shirt. Phew, panic over! Had a walk around the two expo halls, nothing of interest other than I wanted to see the Garmin 920XT and see what it looked like on my hand, I've very small hands/wrists. In my personal opinion it looks cheap and very like an old Casio but still I'm going to get one! Picked up some Mizuno slippers that look like clogs also and then got the tram back towards the hotel. Got some food and then went for a sleep as was seriously lacking it and probably wasn't going to sleep tonight also. After the power nap went for a 4.5K jog down and around Vondelpark. Was very humid but legs felt great and I was all relaxed thou that could of been due to the huge amount of passive hash smoke in the park! As what always happens when away outside of Ireland you bump into a neighbor, well not a neighbor this time but one of the girls from our Tag team who was over for a long weekend. Had a nice early meal of lasagne and half of her selves pizza and to bed to stare at the ceiling for the night! When I did finally manage to fall asleep I had a reoccurring dream that I took a wrong turn on the course. Had this over and over until 7am when the alarm went off.

Up and straight down to breakfast so that I've two hours to digest before start of race. Kitted out, double and triple checked I had everything and said goodbye to herself and see her at the finish line and maybe somewhere on the course. That wind was still there while walking to the tram, darn. 90% of people on the tram were runners and it was a huge mix of emotions you could see and feel, from excitement to nerves. It's all coming down to this! Tram stopped a few stops up from the Stadium so we had a small walk, about a K or so. I noticed time was getting a bit tight if I wanted to do a good warm up and stretches and get into the stadium as someone's blog from last year said even 30mins before the start of the race it was impossible to get in due to massive crowds. So I started jogging to the stadium and once got there started my stretching regime. About 40mins to go I started to queue up to get into the stadium. Yikes, the crowds, will I get in on time. Small panic set in again as hadn't completed all my stretches and the crowd was barely moving. After some standing on my tip toes I saw a certain section was moving faster than others so made for that and after about 10mins was into the stadium. Headed for my pen (2:40 to 3:00) and did another jog as had cooled down with all the queuing and did some last few stretches and then assumed my position in the pen which was about 2/3rd from the front which I taught was a respectable enough position seeing as people at the front are aiming 2:40 or so. We were somewhat sheltered in the stadium from the wind but we could feel the heat and humidity rise. Watched the elites line up on the big screen and then the gun went off.

It was a slow shuffle until we got to a point where the track narrowed, about 25meters before the start line, and from there we were off, passed the start line and started my watches, yes, two watches, my 620 and a friends 610. I work in IT so it's all about redundancy! Running the 200m or so in the stadium was fine but when we got outside the madness started. Outside the stadium was away too narrow and twisty, at several points we were down to a shuffle pace. Everyone trying to find a faster route yet there wasn't one and it was getting very dangerous with all the crossing etc. This went on for over the first K and to add to my frustration was that there were people going at a jogging pace, what were they doing up in this pen and even some had sub 2:40 bibs. Ahhhhhhhhhh. First K beeped in at 4:42. My planned pace was 4:11. This is not good, I'm down 30 seconds already. And yet again a slight panic sets in. OK, time to up the pace to start getting some time back. This was very hard work as the crowds were still very thick. At least the route was somewhat wide through Vondelpark so I made my way through the crowds. But in doing so I began to feel the heat. How am I going to get this time back without burning up. We exited the park and headed for Rijksmuseum which you run under, again another major bottle neck as we were down to a shuffle again. Ahhhhhhh. This is not going well at all, I'm away beind time, I'm roasting and now my Garmin 1K lap beeps on both watches are away short of the K course markers. The twists and turns and tree cover must of done it. Luckily I made a pace band. Coming up to 5K I see there was a water station so I moved over to the side and grabbed the water successfully without spilling any, then I tried to drink it with it only going all up my nose and little to none in my mouth. Really, can things get any worse!

First 5K in 21:13 (4:15 min/km)

After the water station at 5K the crowd began to thin out a little bit to the point you could push on without too much crossing etc and there wasn't people around who shouldn't of been there. This put me at some ease and I recomposed myself and began to plan how I'm going to proceed. Firstly, water stations, these are going to have to be walked, can't risk dehydration in this heat/humidity. Secondly getting back the lost time. Gave myself the goal to have it all back by 8K. These few K were still in the city and we headed back towards the stadium. Lots of tram lines around here so had to be careful with your footing. Was also on the lookout for the GF as she said she would be in this area but didn't see her. The crowds were quite a plenty around here but as I find out later that was the most we were going to see until the end. Hit 8K exactly on target of 33:28. OK, I can slightly relax now but I'm still finding this heat an issue as in I can manage it at present but not for the length of a marathon. 10K marker came up and I was on target, pace band said 41:50 and I hit it in 41:46.

Hit 10K in 41:46 (4:11 min/km)

Just after the 10K marker (I think) came the next water station, coming up to it I made a little push so I won't loose too much time, picked up a water cup and a sports drink cup, carefully moved to the side, stopped, drank both, then off again and picked up a sponge for under the hat. Perfect, all fluids in without spilling and only lost about 10 or seconds. Well worth it. This was the method for every water station going forward. We were now heading out towards the Amstel river and that wind I was worried about was nearly a blessing as was very cooling. With the cooling of the wind and some fluids on board I felt very comfortable and in control. Alot different to 5K ago! But then, yes more drama, something got stuck in my left eye, a bit of dirt or dust or something but I could see it in the corner of my vision. While running I tried to wipe it out but couldn't. I wear contacts and I've learnt before that do not rub your eyes as sometimes the contact can fall out. Last thing I needed was only one eye working as I'm half blind! I decided to live with it, wasn't worth the risk of loosing a contact. There were a few singlets around me for the last few K so it seemed we were all for around the same time. At 14K we started to head south along the Amstel river and into the headwind. Time to start drafting!

Hit 15K in 1:02:35 (4:10 min/km)

Water station came up around 16K and again I pushed ahead, grabbed, stopped, drank, sponge and off again and catch up with the group. I don't remember anything particular along this piece of the course other than some very nice houses and the helicopter follow the leaders on the other side of the river. Think I was just in auto pilot mode! What I do remember was that the pack I was drafting off were slowing up and there was hardly anyone ahead, but in knowing that we would be doing a U turn in a K and have the wind behind us I pushed on. As they say, the race starts at mile 20 and I can't afford to loose any time. Just before the 20K marker we went over the river and now had the wind behind.

Hit 20K in 1:23:52 (4:12 min/km)

Again, another water station after the 20K marker in which I did my routine and when I started back running the pack I had left earlier just passed albeit a bit smaller now. So I dropped back in with them. Next major marker was the half way point and again I hit this bang on time. Paceband had 1:28:16 and I hit it in 1:28:20! To reward myself I had a gel!

Hit half in 1:28:20 (4:11 min/km)

Again don't remember anything particular for the next few K other than myself and a light blue singlet began to work our way through the field. We were holding same pace yet gaining many positions. No niggles also other than I could feel the start of a blister on my left big toe.

Hit 25K in 1:44:28 (4:11 min/km)

At 25K we had finished our journey along the Amstel river. Also until now the course was flat but from what I remember we now had a few ever so slight pulls. This was in an industrial park area. I don't know why but I cannot remember anything from this other than the water station before it!!

Hit 30K in 2:05:34 (4:11 min/km)

At 30K we were back in more residential area again with some supporters. It was about now I started getting waves of feeling good and then not so good. I even had some bad taughts enter my mind of "just pull to the side, can always try again another time" etc. This is where TIT came in (trust in training). I kept saying this to myself over and over. It was a real mental battle here. The pulls, even thou ever so slight began to drain me. It really feeled like I had slowed down but surprisingly enough was still hitting the splits. I slightly missed the 35K split as there was a water station before it and hence the stopping to drink lost me some time.

Hit 35K in 2:27:05 (4:12 min/km)

We were now following the main canal all the way to Vondelpark. Its around now I believe I got the stitch that wouldn't leave until I crossed the line. Each time I tried to push on the stitch came back so I had to back off ever so slightly to manage it. The 4K along the canal were a bit of a blur, the only thing I remember was constantly doing the maths over and over to make sure that at this pace I would still make sub 3. Unbeknownst to me at the time, I was severely dehydrated. Just after 38K and past Rijksmuseum we entered Vondelpark again. From here onwards I remember everything again. I think it was that as I had ran through here earlier I know how close to the finish I was. I was running at about 4:25 min/km pace and the maths said I can doing anything to up to around 5min/km.

Hit 40K in 2:48:54 (4:13 min/km)

Nearly home! Only 2K and a bit to go. I had over 11 minutes to do 2.1K, I'm surly going to make it now. The stitch was still there so I couldn't push on for a fast finish but also didn't want to risk getting shot by a sniper as they say! I think I spent the rest of the time to the stadium thinking I can't believe I've done it. I would of loved to push on as it was in the legs but the stitch kept saying no. All was going well until I had a speed wobble from my foot getting nearly stuck in a tram line. Told myself to cop on, your not home yet, there's work still to be done and to concentrate. Entered the stadium and upped the pace ever so slightly, nothing as close to my usual kick as I came here to do a job and that was to get a sub 3 nothing better so enjoyed the moment on the track and waved the arms high into the air for the last 50 meters to cross the line in 2:58:30. I moved over to the side and had a little cry for myself!

Chip: 2:58:30
    Gun: 2:59:36
    Place: 333/12,201

split|time|pace|split time|split pace
    5|00:21:13|4:15|21:13|4:15
    10|00:41:46|4:11|20:33|4:07
    15|01:02:35|4:10|20:49|4:10
    20|01:23:52|4:12|21:17|4:15
    half|01:28:20|4:11
    25|01:44:28|4:11|20:36|4:07
    30|02:05:34|4:11|21:06|4:13
    35|02:27:05|4:12|21:31|4:18
    40|02:48:54|4:13|21:49|4:22
    F|02:58:30|4:14

Thank you all for your support and kind messages over the past few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Nice account of how the race went. Well done again.
    Sub 3 never looked in any doubt going by the updates from the lads doing the tracking on Sunday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

nice work, amazingly consistent splits - the negative thoughts and the stitch show you gave it everything.
    Congrats again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Congrats! You had your few problems along the route but overall it seemed like a fairly routine sub 3!! Fair dues. Wouldn't mind a bit of that next Monday!

Oh forgot to add, that dirt in my eye was a tiny fly! Only managed to get it out hours afterwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭likestosmile

Well done, Great run and report, your account is strangely familiar to my experience. The congestion outside the stadium, the loss of memory in certain sections and most importantly the little cry at the end. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,859 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Outstanding. Great report. Well done. Just one thing - why did you feel you were severely dehydrated at one point, despite your walk-through water station strategy? It sounds like you got plenty of fluids in.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Outstanding. Great report. Well done. Just one thing - why did you feel you were severely dehydrated at one point, despite your walk-through water station strategy? It sounds like you got plenty of fluids in.

Didn't get enough in at all looking back at it and also looking at the data I can see cardiac drift coming into affect at around 35K onwards. The cups were very small and only about 2/3rd's filled so I'm guessing at each water station I was lucky to get 200 to 250ml into me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Didn't get enough in at all looking back at it and also looking at the data I can see cardiac drift coming into affect at around 35K onwards. The cups were very small and only about 2/3rd's filled so I'm guessing at each water station I was lucky to get 200 to 250ml into me.

Why do you attribute the cardiac drift to dehydration?

RayCun wrote: »
    Why do you attribute the cardiac drift to dehydration?

It was my understanding that they are linked, can't remember which one of the books I have it was in thou where I read it. Dehydration isn't the sole reason for cardiac drift but does have an impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Maybe you were just getting tired :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Congrats again. You had a great training block and topped it off with an excellent performance, result and report. Interesting to read about your walk strategy at the water stations. Something I would definitely consider in the future in hot and humid conditions.

Got a post race rub down this eve. Physio was v surprised in the condition of my legs considering just after doing a marathon. Thou there was still a few oh Jesus moments!

Researching now what tourist marathon to do in 2015/2016

Just watching the marathon now on Eurosport and I'm in it at the start!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Great report Viperlogic - enjoyed reading the log in the months leading up to this and its great to see hard work and dedication adding up to a result like that, well done

Day|Session|Distance|Pace K|Pace M|Time|HR bpm|HR %|Cadence|Osc (cm)|GTC (ms)|Stride (m)
    Monday|eat/drink||||||||||
    Tuesday|eat/drink||||||||||
    Wednesday|eat/drink||||||||||
    Thursday|physio||||||||||
    Friday|eat/drink||||||||||
    Saturday|eat/drink||||||||||
    Sunday|eat/drink||||||||||

Post race week

Not much to report other than walking like I was interfered with, lots of eating bold food, and drinking lots of wine and stout. Had physio rub down on Thursday that fixed the legs and I'm walking normally now and can manage stairs!

Monday|rest||||||||||
    Tuesday|easy|5.25K|4:53|7:51|25:42|142|78%|158|10|287|1.3
    Wednesday|||||||||||
    Thursday|||||||||||
    Friday|||||||||||
    Saturday|||||||||||
    Sunday|||||||||||

Tuesday - 5K easy
    First run since marathon on 19th. So much has changed in the past two weeks with the change of weather, clocks changed, and it now dark before 6. Had to dig out the long sleeve top, full length tights, and hi-vis jacket. Did a nice easy 5K on the streets as can't do my usual loop as there's no lighting on it. Although pace was nice and easy it was hard work watching my step with all the up and down on the footpaths etc. Will have to find some new loops now as have moved house since my last bout of winter training. Also will have to move tempo/interval sessions to the mornings when there is light so I can do them on my routes I used during the summer as they be away too dangerous to do on the streets.

At present I'm lining up some races for the winter, there is a BHAA 4 mile race this weekend though I would love to do it, its too soon I think for the body. Next race will be the Run in the Dark 10K in 2 weeks. Body should have recovered fully by then. After that I'm not sure. Probably will do a 5K Park Run to get a good 5K time under the belt for the year.

Anyone recommend a good plan to keep fitness over the winter months that contains about 3 or 4 days running a week and nothing too long as will only compete now in 5K, 4 mile, 10K, and 10 mile races going forward.

Monday|rest||||||||||
    Tuesday|easy|5.25K|4:53|7:51|25:42|142|78%|158|10|287|1.3
    Wednesday|rest||||||||||
    Thursday|rest||||||||||
    Friday|rest||||||||||
    Saturday|rest||||||||||
    Sunday|MLR|16K|4:39|7:29|1:14:32|150|82%|156|10.4|277|1.37

Sunday - 16K MLR progressive
    More indulging during the week and weekend, have cake coming out of my ears now! Guilt set in this morning so went out for a 16K. Stunning clear sky morning thou did get caught in a shower at one stage. Took it nice and easy and did it in a progressive style. Was easy running but did question myself how the heck did I do 42K the other week! HR a bit up due to over dressed.

6K - 4:51 min/km (7:48 min/miles) - 145bpm - 79%
    6K - 4:40 min/km (7:30 min/miles) - 149bpm - 81%
    4K - 4:21 min/km (7:00 min/miles) - 158bpm - 86%

Evening of watching the NYC Marathon and then some F1 and trying to resist more cake!

I see yaboya threw up a few stats, so said I would do same!

Distance|2013 PB|Current PB|Improvement
    5K|19:22|18:30|0:52
    10K|41:01|38:22|2:39
    10M|-|1:02:13|-
    HM|1:33:24|1:23:33|9:51
    Marathon|3:26:29|2:58:30|27:59

Think I can still take 30 seconds off my 5K to get into sub 18min and a minute off my 10K before year end as my current PB's this year were before I put in a serious training block.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭physiopad

Congrats on Amsterdam! Brilliant stuff and well deserved after your great training block

You mention now focusing on shorter races. So is that you done with the Marathon for a few years?

Will be very interested to see the improvements in your times for 5 and 10k.