Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tom Gilmartin's son on LLS - "You people make the mafia look like monks"

• 03-05-2014 1:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭

Jesus I nearly had to restrain myself with the cutting rage I felt watching that poor man's son on the Late Late Show tonight. Anyone who saw it will know what I mean.

What a bunch of criminal, gurrier, thugs were running this country in the 90's. Probably still today.

Point is here was an emigrant who thought he would help Ireland as well as make some money for himself - and who is the first screwball he meets? - Liam Lawlor and well the rest is history. It actually is mafia like.

If you did not watch it you need to watch it to understand the type of country this is.

The quote in the title is what Gilmartin said to Ray Burke upon him demanding money.

They are/were absolute criminals and not one person behind bars. Any other country (except Italy...)...rabble, rabble

Personally I think Mr Gilmartin should have something in his honor given he did us a huge favor in this country in trying to expose these gangsters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I'm only replying cause no one else will

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

How did the Ryan Fianna Fail Crime Family Tubirty react to that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

I'd say nearly every country is ****ed up, when it comes to justice. There's just a sliding scale of it. Ireland probably wouldn't be doing too well on that scale. The world is an extremely unfair place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

He made an interesting point about a lad who steals a pair of trainers or is caught with a few euro's worth of drugs on him gets the book thrown at him, yet the elite among us have a sort of immunity when it comes to fraud and the likes. It'd make you think.*

*Not that I condone theft or drug use :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

whirlpool wrote: »
    I'd say nearly every country is ****ed up, when it comes to justice. There's just a sliding scale of it. Ireland probably wouldn't be doing too well on that scale. The world is an extremely unfair place.

Take P Flynn who stole €50,000 of TG's money (intended for the FF party to try to extradite himself from the crooks) and put it in his own bank account.

He is off in to the sunset and his daughter has been elected and lives in a castle like home up in Mayo.

Then the locals seem to support them. What can we do?

131spanner wrote: »
    He made an interesting point about a lad who steals a pair of trainers or is caught with a few euro's worth of drugs on him gets the book thrown at him, yet the elite among us have a sort of immunity when it comes to fraud and the likes. It'd make you think.*

His father went to the Gardai in desperation about Burke, Flynn, Lawlor and the rest and told them everything as well.

A few weeks later a "Garda Burns" (they are not sure if it was an actual garda) rang the family up and told them to back off and "fcuk off back to England".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Heard him on the radio one morning recently,pretty shocking stuff.
    It's embarrassing to have these crooks and idiots running the country but nobody gets prosecuted and the game goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,828 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Whereabouts was this in the LLS? Towards the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Blay wrote: »

Walkinstown roundabout

21/25

Blay wrote: »

It was around the middle I think. Christy Moore was there for some bizarre reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Just watched it there. Makes Ireland sound like the worst kind of Banana republic you can imagine.

Gilmartin arrived and wants to build a shopping center, providing much needed employment while also making a few quid for himself the honest way. Lawlor first of all won't even let him know who owns the land before he gets a bribe plus a cut of the money made from the development, he then manages to somehow get Gilmartin's backers in London to set him up with a consultancy gig, earning him more money.

Then a section of FFers demand another cut of the profits also threatening that Gilmartin would 'end up in the Liffey' if he didn't comply. Gilmartin doesn't cooperate initially but the people looking for the money disrupt his business until he 'makes a donation to the party' so he eventually relents and giver Pee Flynn 50 grand, supposedly for the party. Of course Flynn pockets this and the hassle from the Ffers continues. Gilmartin attempts to go to the Gards about it and is essentially told to 'fvuk off back to England'.

Then somehow, AIB manages to gain influence in Gilmartin's company back in England, reducing his stake and influence and a false tip off from Someone in Dublin to the Inland Revenue leads to the man being bankrupted.

The sad thing is that I don't even feel surprised that this managed to happen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

The country was and still is run by gangsters.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Worth watching again. 2:30 onwards especially.

Try it sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Dont forget to vote FF in the upcoming locals/Europeans!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

Probably not the best forum for a topic like this, but as much as people will joke, the same corrupt ex TD's and high ranking civil/public servants are still receiving enormous annual pension payments, at a cost to every citizen in the State. Thomas Gilmartin was right about there being immunity at the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

The judiciary, and legal system in general, is part of the elite in this country. The corruption is deep in this little island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭kerosene

Turbidy was amateurish in the extreme. At least twice he got names incorrect and stumbled and spluttered along, he interrupted Gilmartin when he was talking to get Christy Moores opinion. All in all an a regular day at the office. How anyone could vote FF after that is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Well actually there are lads who have stolen trainers, caught in possession etc with 100+ convictions roaming the steets so that's not really accurate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Luft Ballon

Augmerson wrote: »

Worth watching again. 2:30 onwards especially.

Try it sometime.

Can someone explain how he hasn't been jailed? He was found corrupt by the Mahon Tribunal and that he took £50,000 for himself, but nothing happened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jellyboy

Can someone explain how he hasn't been jailed? He was found corrupt by the Mahon Tribunal and that he took £50,000 for himself, but nothing happened?

The "Boys" that way >>>>>>

(pick any major figure in ireland for explanation ,bring wellys ,rain gear and a massive anchor,then your prepared for the amount of bull****e that you would get)

And industrial ear plugs….

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

The apathy towards fraud and white collar corruption in this country is unreal.

'Sure everyone else is doing it, what's the problem, you begrudger? You can jail someone of that 'standing''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I'm probably the most clueless person I know when it comes to politics. I just happened to catch this while in the mammy's house last night and it sounded despicable. I wasn't quick to judge as there's always 2 sides of every story and even thought "I wonder what boards will say about this, will there be arguments against what is being said here in defence of the people being spoken of"....

20+ posts in already and nothing, seems this guys dad was dealing with outright dishonest criminals, who just happened to be running the country. What a joke.

cormie wrote: »
    I'm probably the most clueless person I know when it comes to politics. I just happened to catch this while in the mammy's house last night and it sounded despicable. I wasn't quick to judge as there's always 2 sides of every story and even thought "I wonder what boards will say about this, will there be arguments against what is being said here in defence of the people being spoken of"....

20+ posts in already and nothing, seems this guys dad was dealing with outright dishonest criminals, who just happened to be running the country. What a joke.

He came from Britain where business is conducted properly and assumed it would work similarly here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Take P Flynn who stole €50,000 of TG's money (intended for the FF party to try to extradite himself from the crooks) and put it in his own bank account.

He is off in to the sunset and his daughter has been elected and lives in a castle like home up in Mayo.

Does her castle like home have a moat?

Asked for a contribution?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭That_Girl_ Is_ A_Cowboy

He's a dirty tinker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

kerosene wrote: »
    Turbidy was amateurish in the extreme. At least twice he got names incorrect and stumbled and spluttered along, he interrupted Gilmartin when he was talking to get Christy Moores opinion. All in all an a regular day at the office. How anyone could vote FF after that is beyond me.
    Oh but people will.. A lot of voters have either short memories or are just idiots. The FG/LAB coalition proved too ineffective to cure the corrupt disease that is FFs legacy, the Green Party are still suffering from whoring themselves into the last coalition and the Socialist Party are (unfortunately) just an irrelevance.

SF looked set to sweep up the ashes of what was Irish politics until Gerry Adams got arrested (politically motivated or not, he has a lot to answer for). Regardless, SF need to get rid of Adams. His connections with the IRA and the troubles make the party as a whole seem dangerous, for want of a better word, and they will remain in opposition as a result.

Which leaves us with Independents, a lot of whom are just cast offs from partys who looked to be in trouble. (I honestly have more respect for Fíanna Fáilers who stayed with the party rather than dessert them like rats from a sinking ship). Independents, by their nature, are impossible to analyse so I won't bother.

Now I know this is just one lads opinion but if I'm even nearly correct on these points then Ireland is in a pretty bad place regarding who to have in government next. Do we keep FG in power and see barely any change or vote SF in and see definite change (for better or worse)?. One for the philosophers...

Anyway that's my attempt at a rant over. The tay went cold but I fell better to get that off my chest:-)

TL:DR We're bollíxed regardless who we have in power so enjoy the simpler things in life, leave politics alone for the long weekend and enjoy the good weather. Slán...

I watched this last night on the late late, as well. I felt so sorry for that young man and his family. His poor mam and dad, pretty much tortured by some members of the government with outings and lies to revenue. All covert abuse towards that man. All down to greed from the top.

The government of the day were a bunch of greedy scumbags. They behaved like scum in the background and yet when it came to the media and looking for votes - they were as sweet as pie.

Psychopaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

I am just putting this on, LLS wouldn't normally be the 1st option on a Friday night anymore.

I notice that Ryan Tubridy did not mention this when listing who was going to be on at the start of the programme.

dixiefly wrote: »
    I am just putting this on, LLS wouldn't normally be the 1st option on a Friday night anymore.

I notice that Ryan Tubridy did not mention this when listing who was going to be on at the start of the programme.

He mention Christy Moore and Christy is a great man when it comes to politics and speaking his mind and truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

I would say since he gave him a blank cheque - a very basic error for a successful businessman to be fair - there was no proof it wasn't a gift. Even so he should have been done for not declaring it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Pappacharlie

I was in a public building recently in Castlebar. The place was very busy and various people were chatting and joking while waiting to be served. Suddenly the "Messiah" PEE Flynn walked in and the place fell totally silent. You could feel the contempt in the air for the man.
    By the way the daughter as far as i know is now living in Spain. Her developer partner has fell on hard times not sure what the status of the Castle is?

By the way I have read the Tom Gilmartin book and I recommend it to everyone. Sad thing is I don't think all that much has changed in the mean time.

Does anyone really think this couldn't / isn't happening still?

I was in a public building recently in Castlebar. The place was very busy and various people were chatting and joking while waiting to be served. Suddenly the "Messiah" PEE Flynn walked in and the place fell totally silent. You could feel the contempt in the air for the man.
    By the way the daughter as far as i know is now living in Spain. Her developer partner has fell on hard times not sure what the status of the Castle is?

By the way I have read the Tom Gilmartin book and I recommend it to everyone. Sad thing is I don't think all that much has changed in the mean time.

Maybe it was reverential respect and awe? Look at Lowry topping the poll in Tipperary.

He mention Christy Moore and Christy is a great man when it comes to politics and speaking his mind and truth.

I agree.

I was just thinking that he should have mentioned that Gilmartin would be on and that a dark era in Irish life would be revisited.

Must have been floating around or nabbed in the carpark or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Dont forget to vote FF in the upcoming locals/Europeans!!!

If Nelson Mandela (if he was alive), was running for Fianna Fail, I wouldn't vote for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Careful now, you'll have people screaming "pinko lefty liberal" at you on here for highlighting such a sensible point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Tubridy looked very uncomfortable during the interview.

BMJD wrote: »
    Tubridy looked very uncomfortable during the interview.
    Yes, definitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Just popping in to say, if anyone reading this thinks that corruption is or was exclusive to FF, just do a quick Google search for Fine Gael, Denis O'Brien and Siteserv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Didn't Liam Lawler "handle" the sale of our offshore gas to the Statoil group back in the day too?
    I wonder how much of a backhander he got for that?

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Just popping in to say, if anyone reading this thinks that corruption is or was exclusive to FF, just do a quick Google search for Fine Gael, Denis O'Brien and Siteserv.

I agree last night was a reminder of what FF was. FG were just as bad and it's only a matter of time before more dirty muck comes out in relation to FG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

kneemos wrote: »
    He came from Britain where business is conducted properly and assumed it would work similarly here.

Wish I could thank this twice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

Oh the horrible smugness of Flynn in that clip. What a despicable person!

Tubridy was a disaster during this interview. He stumbled over words, making some questions indecipherable and even interrupted to correct at one stage, but he was wrong. I presume that given his FF connections, he knows that all eyes are on him when something of this nature is on the show, causing him to be even more foolish than he normally is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

No doubt the government were and are gangsters but this guy was a developer who whatever way to look at it was paying a td 3.5k per month to facilitate his development and paid pee flynn 50k. Is he whiter than white?
    Also how did a tip off from Dublin to the UK revenue manage to bankrupt him if he was clean?
    No doubt, flynn and his cronies should be locked for life though.

sadie06 wrote: »
    Oh the horrible smugness of Flynn in that clip. What a despicable person!

He has some neck. I hope his balls catch fire.

robbiezero wrote: »
    If Nelson Mandela (if he was alive), was running for Fianna Fail, I wouldn't vote for him.

Nor would I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

kneemos wrote: »

That's not exactly true, the perception is that business is ethical in Britain, but not the reality, its a nice myth though. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

mickdw wrote: »
    No doubt the government were and are gangsters but this guy was a developer who whatever way to look at it was paying a td 3.5k per month to facilitate his development and paid pee flynn 50k. Is he whiter than white?
    Also how did a tip off from Dublin to the UK revenue manage to bankrupt him if he was clean?
    No doubt, flynn and his cronies should be locked for life though.

Yeah he wasn't clean. But neither was he elected. These guys were.