Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

YbFocus wrote: »
    Jesus all ye feckin hures stay up so late every night!!
    Alternatively there are some, (myself included) that post early in the morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

Lads, can I get your views / opinions on the 2006-2007 Toyota Rav4 1.8 petrol for it's reliability, mpg and boot space?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

advertsfox wrote: »
    Lads, can I get your views / opinions on the 2006-2007 Toyota Rav4 1.8 petrol for it's reliability, mpg and boot space?

Calling KKV.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

No, I think my issue is a broken heater 'flap'. There are two 'flaps' that twist around inside the dashboard. One (grey) controls air direction, the other (blue) controls the temperature (hot/cold).

Here's a video (not mine) of what my issue is:

It's, at the minimum, a €450 fix, by a chap on the opposite side of the country, so as you can imagine, I'm gonna more than likely try a DIY attempt first! :o
    Has the exact same issue in the C5, it's so common. Although my car was only blowing air to match the temperature outside (so horrible in the winter, roasting in the summer). In your case, it's either the flaps that need replacing or you made need a reduction motor changed. Hopefully it's the latter because my whole dash came out to get to the flaps to find out the matrix itself was damaged. Thankfully I know the mechanic who did me a deal. It is worth the drive to Longford to get it fixed on the spot because it really helps to have someone doing the job who has the parts and who has done it loads of times. Is yours dual climate control or single zone?

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10152005084606094.1073741853.314387756093&type=1
    Calling KKV.....
    Yes please, opinions on the Rav4 1.8 petrol for it's reliability, mpg and boot space? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

So the insurance company sent me a letter to say they will be sending me a cheque. why the hell didnt they just send me the cheque. i have to use mortgage money to buy the parts for my car now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Very quiet around these parts todau. did something happen at the meet up last night or something? 7 hours and not one new post. must be a record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Very quiet around these parts todau. did something happen at the meet up last night or something? 7 hours and not one new post. must be a record.

Heh, I thought the same.

Eerie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

Hmmmm....

So. Drive to Wexford/New Ross and beyond tomorrow evening. Anyone see's a black Rx8 heading down the N/M11 at a rate of knots, don't be afraid say hello. I'll probably half asleep after a 10 hour workday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

10532802_694454733974660_5013991159114714400_n.jpg?oh=e89ed9dab659a7262472f7e4a24f6a69&oe=5449F487

Awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

advertsfox wrote: »

You'll find it hard to get a 1.8 06. Most 06 old models were left over 2.0 petrols and SWB 4wd and other oddball models left over and bought in a job lot from toyota Ireland by a certain Cork dealer

€1500 at 9:30 am today

I now have 40 euro :( ouch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I know that feel :(

On a non motoring note almond icecream is kinda horrible (stuffs more in gob)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Any of ye that have used isopan before, how long do ye leave it to harden before sanding down; doesn't specify on the tin.

I know that feel :(

On a non motoring note almond icecream is kinda horrible (stuffs more in gob)

Paid a fairly hefty "stooodent contribution" along with 3 months tax, paid people back, and got a few tools, got a set of torque wrenches :)

And a full tank, 5 miles left in the tank when i pulled into the station....100 euro later, its full

It'l be gone by tuesday

Any of ye that have used isopan before, how long do ye leave it to harden before sanding down; doesn't specify on the tin.

Which one? the fiberglass or filler?

filler

filler

Let it set for a bit and then sand it back :)

Well you're as useless as the tin :pac:

Ahh no, I'll be able to judge it and see :)

Well you're as useless as the tin :pac:

Jayyysis, do you want me to come over and do it for you while I'm here?? :pac:

About two/three minutes, once its hard

Jayyysis, do you want me to come over and do it for you while I'm here?? :pac:

Well if it wouldn't be too much trouble? :P

away with you now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Saw an unmarked 141 plate Hyundai i30 estate on the way home. It had stopped some car that had its bonnet open. I wonder why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

GvidoR wrote: »
    Saw an unmarked 141 plate Hyundai i30 estate on the way home. It had stopped some car that had its bonnet open. I wonder why.

Maybe the car broke down then the cops stopped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I sow some weird Merc today. 'It was like a a smaller merc version of VW passat CC. It was A class something. A weird, but cool looking yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I sow some weird Merc today. 'It was like a a smaller merc version of VW passat CC. It was A class something. A weird, but cool looking yoke.

It's a CLA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I walk past a mk7 golf every morning going to work. 132 highline with every added extra I can see leather seats and all that that light blue really nice car. The one thing that caught my eye is how wrecked the body is. Literally at least one a week I walk past it there is another mark. Currently 4 corners of bumper hit on more than one occasion all severally marked no paint left. Boot all dented in along with centre or rear bumper. Passenger doors have a severe enough scrape about a metre long back to metal. Bottom of the front bumper damaged the whole way long. Marks on driver door. Only in the last few days really deep dent on passenger rear wheel arch. The term not a straight panel is so applicable. Such a nice car hard to believe how wrecked the body is.

And a full tank, 5 miles left in the tank when i pulled into the station....100 euro later, its full

It'l be gone by tuesday

Know dem feelz... daily driving the truck for nearly a month at this stage!
    If my regular daily was a petril I'd be lpging it.

Know dem feelz... daily driving the truck for nearly a month at this stage!
    If my regular daily was a petril I'd be lpging it.

Even the girl serving me was like :eek: How can you afford to run that thing!?

My answer? I can't :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

It must be 70 litre tank is it. I never let mine run down so It doesn't cost too much to fill up then. Normally fill when it gets to 1/4 tank. Plus I can't deal with driving around with the light on freaks me out don't know why probably down to the focus and it's weird cutting out when diesel level got anyway low.

When I'm in kildare I always go to mcloughlins, I'd swear I could pick every checkout girl out in a line I'm there that much recently.

Newbridge/Kildare people are the worst for asking questions like you said. The best one I usually get in the truck is "Jaysus ya don't get many of them in petrol". Once I responded, well 90%+ were!