Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hardmen are tough nuts to crack...

• 25-04-2014 10:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭

Hoping someone may have some advice on this.

I have a friend of a friend, a lad who is a genuine, sound lad when he's on his own. Would do anything for you, decent in the pub etc.

However, of course whenever you meet him in a group, he always tries to act like he's the hardest man around, with a big mouth insulting people trying to be cool, and appears to target me more than anyone. I rarely snap back as I know that this will feed his 'banter'. I've never done anything bad to him in the past to cause this.

Just wondering what's the best way people have found to put someone like this back in their box? Pretty obvious he has his own small issues that make him act like this.

Meet him at least once weekly and been getting on my nerves for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Challenge him to a fight. Once you defeat him you will be able to mate with any female in the herd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭B_Rabbit

Best bet is to call him out when he's blatantly bullsh!tting and embaress him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

TheCoolWay wrote: »

I have a friend of a friend, a lad who is a genuine, sound lad when he's on his own. Would do anything for you, decent in the pub etc.

However, of course whenever you meet him in a group, he always tries to act like he's the hardest man around, with a big mouth insulting people trying to be cool, and appears to target me more than anyone. I rarely snap back as I know that this will feed his 'banter'. I've never done anything bad to him in the past to cause this.

Just wondering what's the best way people have found to put someone like this back in their box? Pretty obvious he has his own small issues that make him act like this.

Next time he's slagging you, hit him a slap in the face & tell him to shut his fu*king mouth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

is he a short man?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

He keeps at it because you rarely react.
    Have a good hard think about that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Ignore the prick.

That will piss him off more than anything and there's fúckall he can do about it.

Throw the odd eye to heaven too when he speaks and make sure he sees you doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

What does that mean? I know what it means but seems a strange thing to write to me, or am I just so old. yeah that's probably it. Oh and it's because you don't snap back he keeps going, you don't have to have done anything bad, your silence means he is more or less fine with carrying on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Just laugh at him and learn how to respond in kind. He probably focuses on you because you say nothing back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Tell him to go and take a good long running fúck for himself. That kind of a "friend" you can do without.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Burn his house down, then fuck his sister and his mum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

El Weirdo wrote: »
    ... and his dad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Distract him by pointing at something and then belt him as hard as you can, then put the boot in on him a few times when he's on the deck.

Or just ignore him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

My God, how many signals does he have to send you before you see how much he wants you? Just ride each other and evverything will be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Sull576

El Weirdo wrote: »

Your not called El Werdio for nothing ;)
    Ignoring would help or just walk out if he insults you he might he think a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Is his name Biff Tannen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Fussgangerzone

Run over his ma. Then when he starts slagging you, crack a joke about his ma's wheelchair.

Shít in his water tank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

stoneill wrote: »
    Is his name Biff Tannen?

MCFLY, YOU IRISH BUG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Call him on it, "Why weren't you slagging me off when there was nobody else around?", "Stop showing off...", or wait til a joke doesn't work and say, "Nobody's laughing pal..."

He's probably not going to jump on you as then he'd just confirm he's everything you say he is in front of others, so one well-timed comeback and you're free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭usersame

I'm presuming this is a new friend and even potentially a new group.

Give it time and everyone will realise he's a knob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Kick him in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭snaphook

How old are ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭usersame

leggo wrote: »
    Call him on it, "Why weren't you slagging me off when there was nobody else around?", "Stop showing off...", or wait til a joke doesn't work and say, "Nobody's laughing pal..."

Thanks mom, you've always know how to deal with bullies

snaphook wrote: »
    How old are ye?

I'm 44, thanks for asking. No idea what age the OP is though, maybe you should ask him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

next time he says anything smart, take out you AK 47 and riddle him with bullets, laugh hysterically for a while, then get a round in. no one will ever make fun of you again;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Hit him a dig but not the face. Effective at stopping the comments. May result in an escaltion of violence.
    Calling him out only effective if you are witty. Otherwise youre a sulk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

Find something he's a bit touchy about. Destroy him on it in public. He'll get the message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Lick his face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

OP, if ya wanna crack his tough nuts, invite him to go for a steam/sauna with you.

Then, after about 15 minutes or so have two of your henchmen drag him out and put him in front of a table - the sauna will have made his nuts good and loose, so have one of your henchmen place them on the edge of the table so they're resting there.

Then...BAM! You smash 'em with a meat hammer...

Something tells me he'll give you no trouble after that OP :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

next time he says anything smart, take out you AK 47 and riddle him with bullets, laugh hysterically for a while, then get a round in. no one will ever make fun of you again;)

Why are you riddling people?

Ten bullets, when the one would do?

To make sure he died.

Lads, try and remember they don't grow on trees.

- What don't they grow on? - Trees.

Get out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Tell him he's really hurt your feelings and then start to cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Couple of right Internet 'ardmen around here. They normally drop after 8PM. Huge fúckers with hands the size of shovels, a stare that would turn a charging bull, and a back so broad you could play handball against it. Daycent sorts though. They'd knock lumps out of your friend, but then buy him a pint afterwards. Not the sort to hold a grudge. They learned to fight on the streets, but learned to forgive in the school of hard knocks. Graduates from the University of Life, they might even have a few wise words to offer your friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Creep up behind him .......... no need for the tuba ......... and hum this frenetically into his ear'ole:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Have you considered a Youtube campaign where you take your shirt off and rant directly to camera for 10 minutes in absolute gibberish punctured with expletives, bragging and incomprehensible mumblings?

It seems the done thing these days if you want to challenge someone to a fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

So he is more of a two faced bollox than a hard man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Insult him the fùck back, people do things like that in front of others to appear like they're constantly funny and witty.

He'd be quick to stop if you insult him in front of the lads, if he throws a strop and gets aggressive then he's only a useless dickhead you don't need in your life who's using you as fodder to make himself look better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Is your friend a giraffe? Does he speak swahili? If so, throw snowballs at him until he falls out of his tree house and then rob his gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

stoneill wrote: »
    Is his name Biff Tannen?
    So now what you need is...
    1. Go up North and see if you can get a De Lorean
    2. Find a mad scientist. The more local the better
    3. Get the scientist to mod the De Lorean for Time Travel.
    4. Go Back in time to when the bloke was a wee lil' slip of a lad and let'em have it.
    5. Watch your hands and see that they don't start dissappearing.
    6. Time travel back to today.
    7. You should now be the MAIN MAN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Pa2k

Don't react by hitting him or anything like that. The next time he acts like this in front of the group you stay cool and look him directly in the eyes and say "You seem very insecure about something is everything ok?". I can guarantee he will not have a response

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Get your local witch doctor to put a spell on the c unt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

hes intimated by you, if you want you can assert dominance over him. depending on how emotionally in touch he is you can have a word in his ear, or go the alpha male route

go the alpha male route

Not sure what help I can be, but I'll give it a go.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

Get your mates to hold him down on the ground for a joke, then drop your pants & rub your bare arse all over his face. See who's acting the big man then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I like the licking of the face idea, can we go with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Challenge him to a cage match, preferably via a big microphone hanging down from the rafters.

kowloon wrote: »
    I like the licking of the face idea, can we go with that?
    Bring along your own squirty sauce. Sweet: Fresh Cream Savoury: Yorkshire Relish / Chef Tomato Ketchup

Why not have a real life Celebrity Deathmatch like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭TheCoolWay

Pa2k wrote: »
    Don't react by hitting him or anything like that. The next time he acts like this in front of the group you stay cool and look him directly in the eyes and say "You seem very insecure about something is everything ok?". I can guarantee he will not have a response

Response of the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Nut the cnut in the jabber.