Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

more college or start working?

• 21-04-2014 11:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭

hi, after 4 years college i am not sure if I should choose to go get a job or stay in college for another few years, college has been great, partied hard but studied harder and should be coming out with a 1;1 so id say ill be able to get a job but i honestly wouldn't mind moving to a new college in a different city for another 4 years mainly just for the craic you have in your college years. what would you guys do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

8 years of college?

Is that you Van Wilder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

What's your degree in?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

guest2014 wrote: »
    hi, after 4 years college i am not sure if I should choose to go get a job or stay in college for another few years, college has been great, partied hard but studied harder and should be coming out with a 1;1 so id say ill be able to get a job but i honestly wouldn't mind moving to a new college in a different city for another 4 years mainly just for the craic you have in your college years. what would you guys do?

I'd grow up. If you think college is the only place you can have craic you have a poor knowledge of life. I'd say your idea of craic is immature use of alcohol while convincing yourself that you are having a great time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭truedoom

feck college, start making money :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Media999

padd b1975 wrote: »
    What's your degree in?

If its in the Arts, Business or any of that pretentious crap id say go back into Science or IT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Media999 wrote: »
    If its in the Arts, Business or any of that pretentious crap id say go back into Science or IT.

I agree.

I'm always suspicious of those who like to brag about having a degree, but become strangely coy when asked what subject it's in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

my advice, apply for more college if you can afford it, and apply for work at the same time.

If you get accepted to a phd or whatever take it, then if you get a good job take that and defer your phd.

realisticly, when your in college you think, "i'll get a job when i leave college" and it is not that easy. I know quite a huge amount of people who were fantastic academicly, got very high grades in college, got masters no problem, but came out and ended up with nothing and now work in tesco.

make sure you are garenteed a job before you finish college, but do not leave unless you know you have something to go to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Mr.S wrote: »
    Do a masters if you want to stay in college, no need to do another undergrad.

(getting a first does not mean you are going to get a job. If you've no experience no ones going to look at you, and will pick the people with 2:1 and 2:2 over you)

That's true imho. In terms of science how well you do during your fourth year project determines how well you do in your career. Some people who get firsts are what's dubbed "exam queens" by the lecturers. I.e. people who know how to do well in exams is not necessarily the same as being a good scientist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭guest2014

Mr.S wrote: »
    Do a masters if you want to stay in college, no need to do another undergrad.

(getting a first does not mean you are going to get a job. If you've no experience no ones going to look at you, and will pick the people with 2:1 and 2:2 over you)

bull$hit

Media999 wrote: »

business is pretentious? lol

Jesus yes.

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    I'd grow up. If you think college is the only place you can have craic you have a poor knowledge of life. I'd say your idea of craic is immature use of alcohol while convincing yourself that you are having a great time

well so far i have copped college is a pretty good place to be, learning and improving yourself while being answerable to no one, partying, casual sex, whats not to like:)

i find the people who are bitter about students are the ones who never went to college or are jealous they are now married and tied down with kids and have no dreams anymore.

Op what's your degree in? If it's science I can offer some advice.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Op what's your degree in? If it's science I can offer some advice.

its not science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭roro1990

well so far i have copped college is a pretty good place to be, learning and improving yourself while being answerable to no one, partying, casual sex, whats not to like:)

i find the people who are bitter about students are the ones who never went to college or are jealous they are now married and tied down with kids and have no dreams anymore.

I'm bitter because I spent 3 out of 4 years of college in a relationship and thus missed the casual sex element!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

its not science.

What is it in?

why does it matter?

Sweet Jesus, never mind. Stay in college.

its not science.

Well my statement above about the 1:1 applies to science. What's the big secret about your degree?

why does it matter?

sorry love, if its arts, you are scr3wed and you need to do a postgrad to qualify in somthing. Believe me, i know, I had to.

If you can fund an arts based Phd yourself, fair play :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

Well my statement above about the 1:1 applies to science. What's the big secret about your degree?

I'm guessing arts degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

It's a joke of a degree. No real course affords you the luxury of "partying hard" and still getting a 1.1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

why does it matter?

Thats all the information we needed. Thank You. Enjoy yourself some more college.The Time Team can wait for your expertise for another few years.

Degree less and near minimum wage job here. I for one am happy to continue paying some taxes so you can enjoy yourself some more and realise your dream of getting on the Time Team

What's the big secret about your degree?

Bet it's Arts. Philosophy and Theology or something.

And yes, I am in the final month of MY arts degree... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

why does it matter?

Because if is related to a field where specific industries are crying out for qualified people, the advice might likely be to get yourself out there working.

If it's a generic degree that doesn't match with a specific job then it might be best to continue your academic studies in more specialised or focused areas, as such a masters might be a good option.

In conclusion the subject matter of your degree is hugely important. Surely you know that?

i just don't think its relevant, i could say i came 1st in my class in medicine in trinity and you would have someone on here saying that i wouldn't get a job collecting bins with it. my question is about if i should go get a job or have another few years enjoying college life. i don't want career advise, i wouldn't be too worried about getting a job when i decide to. i have plenty of options.

Bet it's Arts. Philosophy and Theology or something.

And yes, I am in the final month of MY arts degree... :)

its not in any of the above, its a pretty useful degree.

What is it?

It's a joke of a degree. No real course affords you the luxury of "partying hard" and still getting a 1.1.

don't be jealous YOU can't do it, i can;)

Uriel. wrote: »
    Because if is related to a field where specific industries are crying out for qualified people, the advice might likely be to get yourself out there working.

If it's a generic degree that doesn't match with a specific job then it might be best to continue your academic studies in more specialised or focused areas, as such a masters might be a good option.

In conclusion the subject matter of your degree is hugely important. Surely you know that?

its a degree in an industry thats booming atm.

i just don't think its relevant, i could say i came 1st in my class in medicine in trinity and you would have someone on here saying that i wouldn't get a job collecting bins with it. my question is about if i should go get a job or have another few years enjoying college life. i don't want career advise, i wouldn't be too worried about getting a job when i decide to. i have plenty of options.

Lol the type of degree you do dictates your career path. Based on your ignorance of that fact you should talk to your career advisor first. Don't tell him what degree either make him guess ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

don't be jealous YOU can't do it, i can;)

FFS op. Are you sure you're just about to graduate from college? Sounds to me like your graduating from national school.

My advice, stick with the studies, you're not at all ready for the real world

Right these are the answers a five year old would give. Bye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I bet it's Media Studies. I got a 1st in Media and I only went one day a week if it was raining.

no its not, look i can assure you its a worthwhile degree and although i partied hard,i worked ten times harder, its not that hard to do both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Well I for one plan on avoiding the real world for as long as possible. There's a recession out there you know!

Seriously OP how can you expect to get an honest answer to your question if you don't share some details. I would question your 1:1 if you cannot fathom the reason we are curious about your qualifications.

TL:DR Do what ya want, I'll see ya at the dole office in May.

Seriously OP how can you expect to get an honest answer to your question if you don't share some details. I would question your 1:1 if you cannot fathom the reason we are curious about your qualifications.

i really don't get how ye can't see where im coming from, look i will get a job when i leave college even if its now or in 4 years time in ireland or abroad . i am just wondering if i should stay in college mainly for the lifestyle but also to keep learning and improving myself.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,354 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

The fact it's posted in AH should give you some kind of idea of the mental stability of the poster asking such a question in such a place.

If the person was serious, they would ask in a genuine relevant forum like Engineering or Mathematics etc etc

Anyway, I call BS and the OP is looking for some BH Monday trolling fun.

i really don't get how ye can't see where im coming from, look i will get a job when i leave college even if its now or in 4 years time in ireland or abroad . i am just wondering if i should stay in college mainly for the lifestyle but also to keep learning and improving myself.

Party on duuuuude! Woop woop!!! Jaegerbombs, yeahhhhhhh!!!!!!!! \O/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Red_Dwarf

no its not, look i can assure you its a worthwhile degree and although i partied hard,i worked ten times harder, its not that hard to do both.

It's in Arts isn't it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,354 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Party on duuuuude! Woop woop!!! Jaegerbombs, yeahhhhhhh!!!!!!!! \O/

I'm a student so my bombs are done with boost instead of red bull \O/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I get suspicious of people who aren't in DIT.

what?

kceire wrote: »
    The fact it's posted in AH should give you some kind of idea of the mental stability....If the person was serious, they would ask in a genuine relevant forum like Engineering or Mathematics etc etc.

But they couldn't put it in a proper forum cos its a *whispers* secret degree. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

what?

You heard me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭designbydan

I'm finishing a media degree now, Creative Digital Media to be exact (I don't mind saying what it's in) and while its an Arts and media degree it's still bloody hard!.

I just finished making a video game with some other students for a group project, I'm currently making another one for my own final year project. (both coding in C#)

The short movies and motion projects we make are expected to be on the same level or better as anything from DIT or another dedicated film course, along with us having to create fake marketing campaigns with full websites and social network presence for nearly every module.

I can't speak for other arts degrees but as far as ours is concerned its no walk in the park ! and yes there are plenty of jobs in the digital media field most of the grads have found work straight outta college so don't pay attention to "an arts degree is worth nothing" Sh**e that people are saying.

OP if your not willing to say what course you're in people can't give you the advice you're asking for. . . but from the sounds of it you've never attended college, and are basing your posts on movies you've watched or stories from older friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Brian_Zeluz

Ah of course, explosives engineering. Good on ya OP. I'm sure you'll have a blast either way.

look if you told us what you studied maybe we could help with some advice.
    at the moment, there are very few jobs in the area covered by subjects like sociology or humanities. I've been to recruitment fairs, if you study IT or science or engeneering, there are lots of options for you. Possibly in a few years there may be more options for what you are studying, or if you stay and pick a postgrad that suits the kind of jobs that are available at the moment then your chances of getting a job might be higher then people who are just leaving now and p1ssing about on the doal for a year.

unfortunatly, from my own experiance, a post grad is very different to an undergrad. if you want to spend a few years doing a phd so you can have the craic with your mates in the pub, thats not how it works and you shouldnt be there. Its a lot more intense, its a lot longer hours and you are on your own a lot if its research.

plus a postgrad fee is how much ? paying that to drink and get the r1de.

I'm finishing a media degree now, Creative Digital Media to be exact (I don't mind saying what it's in) and while its an Arts and media degree it's still bloody hard!.

I just finished making a video game with some other students for a group project, I'm currently making another one for my own final year project. (both coding in C#)

The short movies and motion projects we make are expected to be on the same level or better as anything from DIT or another dedicated film course, along with us having to create fake marketing campaigns with full websites and social network presence for nearly every module.

I can't speak for other arts degrees but as far as ours is concerned its no walk in the park ! and yes there are plenty of jobs in the digital media field most of the grads have found work straight outta college so don't pay attention to "an arts degree is worth nothing" Sh**e that people are saying.

OP if your not willing to say what course you're in people can't give you the advice you're asking for. . . but from the sounds of it you've never attended college, and are basing your posts on movies you've watched or stories from older friends.

ah yes i have, just because im not saying what the degree is does not mean i am not in college.