more college or start working?

• 21-04-2014 12:39PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭

hi, after 4 years college i am not sure if I should choose to go get a job or stay in college for another few years, college has been great, partied hard but studied harder and should be coming out with a 1;1 so id say ill be able to get a job but i honestly wouldn't mind moving to a new college in a different city for another 4 years mainly just for the craic you have in your college years. what would you guys do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

8 years of college?

Is that you Van Wilder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

What's your degree in?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

guest2014 wrote: »
    hi, after 4 years college i am not sure if I should choose to go get a job or stay in college for another few years, college has been great, partied hard but studied harder and should be coming out with a 1;1 so id say ill be able to get a job but i honestly wouldn't mind moving to a new college in a different city for another 4 years mainly just for the craic you have in your college years. what would you guys do?

I'd grow up. If you think college is the only place you can have craic you have a poor knowledge of life. I'd say your idea of craic is immature use of alcohol while convincing yourself that you are having a great time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭truedoom

feck college, start making money :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭Media999

padd b1975 wrote: »
    What's your degree in?

If its in the Arts, Business or any of that pretentious crap id say go back into Science or IT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Media999 wrote: »
    If its in the Arts, Business or any of that pretentious crap id say go back into Science or IT.

I agree.

I'm always suspicious of those who like to brag about having a degree, but become strangely coy when asked what subject it's in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

my advice, apply for more college if you can afford it, and apply for work at the same time.

If you get accepted to a phd or whatever take it, then if you get a good job take that and defer your phd.

realisticly, when your in college you think, "i'll get a job when i leave college" and it is not that easy. I know quite a huge amount of people who were fantastic academicly, got very high grades in college, got masters no problem, but came out and ended up with nothing and now work in tesco.

make sure you are garenteed a job before you finish college, but do not leave unless you know you have something to go to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Mr.S wrote: »
    Do a masters if you want to stay in college, no need to do another undergrad.

(getting a first does not mean you are going to get a job. If you've no experience no ones going to look at you, and will pick the people with 2:1 and 2:2 over you)

That's true imho. In terms of science how well you do during your fourth year project determines how well you do in your career. Some people who get firsts are what's dubbed "exam queens" by the lecturers. I.e. people who know how to do well in exams is not necessarily the same as being a good scientist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭guest2014

Mr.S wrote: »
    Do a masters if you want to stay in college, no need to do another undergrad.

(getting a first does not mean you are going to get a job. If you've no experience no ones going to look at you, and will pick the people with 2:1 and 2:2 over you)

bull$hit

Media999 wrote: »

business is pretentious? lol

Jesus yes.

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    I'd grow up. If you think college is the only place you can have craic you have a poor knowledge of life. I'd say your idea of craic is immature use of alcohol while convincing yourself that you are having a great time

well so far i have copped college is a pretty good place to be, learning and improving yourself while being answerable to no one, partying, casual sex, whats not to like:)

i find the people who are bitter about students are the ones who never went to college or are jealous they are now married and tied down with kids and have no dreams anymore.

Op what's your degree in? If it's science I can offer some advice.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Op what's your degree in? If it's science I can offer some advice.

its not science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭roro1990

well so far i have copped college is a pretty good place to be, learning and improving yourself while being answerable to no one, partying, casual sex, whats not to like:)

i find the people who are bitter about students are the ones who never went to college or are jealous they are now married and tied down with kids and have no dreams anymore.

I'm bitter because I spent 3 out of 4 years of college in a relationship and thus missed the casual sex element!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

its not science.

What is it in?

why does it matter?

Sweet Jesus, never mind. Stay in college.

its not science.

Well my statement above about the 1:1 applies to science. What's the big secret about your degree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

why does it matter?

sorry love, if its arts, you are scr3wed and you need to do a postgrad to qualify in somthing. Believe me, i know, I had to.

If you can fund an arts based Phd yourself, fair play :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

Well my statement above about the 1:1 applies to science. What's the big secret about your degree?

I'm guessing arts degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,880 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

It's a joke of a degree. No real course affords you the luxury of "partying hard" and still getting a 1.1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭Calibos

why does it matter?

Thats all the information we needed. Thank You. Enjoy yourself some more college.The Time Team can wait for your expertise for another few years.

Degree less and near minimum wage job here. I for one am happy to continue paying some taxes so you can enjoy yourself some more and realise your dream of getting on the Time Team

What's the big secret about your degree?

Bet it's Arts. Philosophy and Theology or something.

And yes, I am in the final month of MY arts degree... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

why does it matter?

Because if is related to a field where specific industries are crying out for qualified people, the advice might likely be to get yourself out there working.

If it's a generic degree that doesn't match with a specific job then it might be best to continue your academic studies in more specialised or focused areas, as such a masters might be a good option.

In conclusion the subject matter of your degree is hugely important. Surely you know that?

i just don't think its relevant, i could say i came 1st in my class in medicine in trinity and you would have someone on here saying that i wouldn't get a job collecting bins with it. my question is about if i should go get a job or have another few years enjoying college life. i don't want career advise, i wouldn't be too worried about getting a job when i decide to. i have plenty of options.

Bet it's Arts. Philosophy and Theology or something.

And yes, I am in the final month of MY arts degree... :)

its not in any of the above, its a pretty useful degree.

What is it?

It's a joke of a degree. No real course affords you the luxury of "partying hard" and still getting a 1.1.

don't be jealous YOU can't do it, i can;)

Uriel. wrote: »
    Because if is related to a field where specific industries are crying out for qualified people, the advice might likely be to get yourself out there working.

If it's a generic degree that doesn't match with a specific job then it might be best to continue your academic studies in more specialised or focused areas, as such a masters might be a good option.

In conclusion the subject matter of your degree is hugely important. Surely you know that?

its a degree in an industry thats booming atm.