Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman having an abortion to appear on big brother

Is this another joke site

Heres an article i read this morning, how are these type of people allowed live?

Pink range rover?:eek:

http://www.theliberal.ie/despicable-glamour-model-having-an-abortion-just-to-appear-in-big-brother/
    Everyone has the right to live.

Oh no wait.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

bluewolf wrote: »
    Is this another joke site

Seems to be true, its been on a few other news sites. She is a wannabe glamour model and prostitute, she is 4 months pregnant and has decided to have an abortion to take up a place on Big Brother UK. Quite why she feels the need to talk about such a private thing in the media is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,554 ✭✭✭tigger123

Grammar and punctuation on that article is pretty awful. It's hard to take it seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

They're still making Big Brother?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭fran17

from her looks alone its the Jeremy kyle show she should be aiming for.but if its true then society has hit a new low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

4 months gone? Absolute filth..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

Maybe someone in the house will knock her up & she's pregnant again when she leaves.
    A happy ending for all concerned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭sillyoulfool

Her business, odious little brat, but her body, her business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Channel 5 - making Channel 4 look sophisticated again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

I think that site is a joke. If it is there is no accounting for what others choose to find funny.

If its not I am amazed by the BB crowd, but contestants especially who confuse notoriety with fame. So much so that I have noted the two words being used interchangably in a couple of places in print.

I gave up watching BB when it moved from CH4, aside from the odd episode as the auld gal has it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I'm pro-choice. But this.....?

It comes across like a satire site or a not very liberal indeed site

I give up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Classy, footballers will stick it anything by the look of her. It's a bit of a non story really. A cheap whore who doesn't know the identity of the father of her child decides to get a bit of attention by announcing she's having an abortion. I don't believe for a minute that she was going to keep the baby.

She's not particularly attractive and in a year or so nobody will remember her. It's obviously not the first attention seeking stunt she's pulled, too bad for her that it'll be hard to follow this act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

If the kid was born the poor thing would just be used as a fashion accessory by the "mother".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Brutal honesty cuts like a knife

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

People get famous from being on big brother? Thats new to me. What next, the voice and x factor winners arent forgotten after a few months.

4 months gone? Absolute filth..

well I suppose a country like england which allows abortion until 24 weeks will spawn creatures like her

fran17 wrote: »
    well I suppose a country like england which allows abortion until 24 weeks will spawn creatures like her

All countries "spawn creatures" who are dislikeable, the fact that the basic right of women to have a termination is fully recognised in the UK is unlikely to be cause of it. Unless you are suggesting that she should have been terminated herself during pregnancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭abstrakt82

this cannot be serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Calm down, people. It's a very late April Fool's Day joke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

I'm more offended by the complete disregard for the English language.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

Its funny that during the abortion debate the staunch pro choicers completely rubbished the notion that some women would use it as birth control.
    During the euthenasia debates people completely rubbished the idea that unscrupulous families would push people that needed alot of care into assisted suicide.
    Sadly there are horrible people out there and these laws although great in a perfect world cant be implemented in my opinion because some people need them to protect them from horrible people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

what's the problem? are we not all pro-choice??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Will the viewers get to vote to evict the foetus? Could be a good referendum-style gimmick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Joke or not, this is the logical conclusion of being pro choice. this woman has made her choice. the foetus has a right to live or it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭happypants

It's probably better than her actually having the child if that's her atrocious attitude. What a disgusting creature she is.

So she's going to market herself as a hate figure to the national public, get on big brother, be voted off first, do a few magazine deals further admitting to more 'shocking' revelations and generally to being a scrote of society.

The sad reality is if she causes so much controversy and reaction from people her disgusting plan might work. No talent needed. I can see the daily mail now.,, "My Death Threat Hell"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Joke or not, this is the logical conclusion of being pro choice. this woman has made her choice. the foetus has a right to live or it doesn't.

While it is her choice to make it doesnt mean others cant think she is an idiot. Although see as she is a hooker that couldnt do her job right I would question her parenting skills.

jane82 wrote: »
    Its funny that during the abortion debate the staunch pro choicers completely rubbished the notion that some women would use it as birth control.
    During the euthenasia debates people completely rubbished the idea that unscrupulous families would push people that needed alot of care into assisted suicide.
    Sadly there are horrible people out there and these laws although great in a perfect world cant be implemented in my opinion because some people need them to protect them from horrible people.

That's a fair point but laws are made for the reasonable average joe's and jane's of this world and not for the unreasonable extremes of society.

Hard cases make bad laws. (I've a feeling I've misquoted that somewhere)

I'm OK with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Calm down, people. It's a very late April Fool's Day joke...

The mirror reported it too, not that they're a bastion of reliability. Here's a quote that I found particularly lovely:
    “An abortion will further my career. This time next year I won’t have a baby. Instead, I’ll be famous, driving a bright pink Range Rover and buying a big house. Nothing will get in my way.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

It's clear from responses here that people don't fully buy into the woman's right to choose because it's just her body ideology. If that were the case an abortion would be like a haircut.

The reason to support abortion, at least early term, is the alternatives are worse.

And that site is horribly written.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭pauldla

I don't see this is as an abortion rights issue as such. Prohibition probably would not deter this woman, and 'My Back Street Abortion Hell' would also sell a few papers for her, if she was so inclined. The story, if reported correctly, would make me wonder at the type of society that could produce such a specimen of humanity.

I'd also wonder at those quick to decide that this woman is somehow or in some way typical of women who seek abortions. But that's another issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

It's clear from responses here that people don't fully buy into the woman's right to choose because it's just her body ideology. If that were the case an abortion would be like a haircut.

The reason to support abortion, at least early term, is the alternatives are worse.

And that site is horribly written.
    I disagree. For most women making a choice to terminate would be a very difficult personal and emotional decision, which most women would keep private. What most posters on this thread are saying is that what this woman is doing is basically a cheap scummy way of self publicising, not a criticism of abortion as such.

pauldla wrote: »
    I don't see this is as an abortion rights issue as such. Prohibition probably would not deter this woman, and 'My Back Street Abortion Hell' would also sell a few papers for her, if she was so inclined. The story, if reported correctly, would make me wonder at the type of society that could produce such a specimen of humanity.

I'd also wonder at those quick to decide that this woman is somehow or in some way typical of women who seek abortions. But that's another issue.

It's like Good AIDS and Bad AIDS.
    Good abortions are when the woman is all raped and upset and sorrowful for the rest of her life. Bad abortions are when the woman is a bit knackery about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Boombastic wrote: »
    what's the problem? are we not all pro-choice??

No.

"We" are not all pro-choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

padd b1975 wrote: »
    No.

"We" are not all pro-choice.

Yes "we" are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

I don't really have a problem with this. Let's be honest - the world would be a worse place with her offspring in it. So she's actually doing us all a favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Yes "we" are

As long as you choose to go to England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

Maphisto wrote: »
    That's a fair point but laws are made for the reasonable average joe's and jane's of this world and not for the unreasonable extremes of society.

Hard cases make bad laws. (I've a feeling I've misquoted that somewhere)

I would never murder someone and yet murder is still illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭WeHaveToGoBack

Whether its true or not, she won't be going on Big Brother now. Once you're leaked to the press, you're out. Rylan Clarke for example was meant to go in in 2008 but was told no at the last minute as the press got hold of it.

All countries "spawn creatures" who are dislikeable, the fact that the basic right of women to have a termination is fully recognised in the UK is unlikely to be cause of it. Unless you are suggesting that she should have been terminated herself during pregnancy.

yes fine its the law in England I accept that.but take a look at a picture of a 24 week old baby in the womb and you tell me its a "basic right".i'll put it to you its a basic wrong,both morally and ethically.but im not going to start a whole debate with the left on such a trivial story as this:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Never being born or having her as a mother.

Tough call.

psinno wrote: »
    I would never murder someone and yet murder is still illegal.

Hi psinno, I'm not entirely clear of the point you're making. Clearly we could all fill threads of offences that we have never committed and are unlikely to. That's relatively straight forward with a lot of laws but not so with others. Some laws need to have their circumstances detailed down to the nth degree and people will still find a way around them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Abortion IS birth control. It prevents the birth of an unwanted child. What else would you think it is?

I am pro choice, but anti bullsh!t.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

Abortion IS birth control. It prevents the birth of an unwanted child. What else would you think it is?

I am pro choice, but anti bullsh!t.
    Do you think its fine to just change your mind on having a baby halfway through term because you got a few weeks work.
    Do you think a world where people say feck the contraception Ill just have an abortion is something to aim for?
    Im pro choice myself but Im afraid of it being abused like this case shows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Two barrels for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Muise... wrote: »
    I'm OK with that.

Grand, good for you.

Do you think its fine to just change your mind on having a baby halfway through term because you got a few weeks work.
    Do you think a world where people say feck the contraception Ill just have an abortion is something to aim for?
    Im pro choice myself but Im afraid of it being abused like this case shows.

I'm fine with a woman's right to choose, just because I abhor her motivations does not diminish her absolute right to choose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Tbh and imho, If thats what she or anyone else wants to do then its her own choice, the only person that has to live with the aftermath of whatever she chooses is her so if she, or anyone for that matter, wants an abortion well no - one should be forced to not have one or have one :)

Having it in public though seems a bit much, whats the exact point?! As I dont think a lot of people are going to want to watch something like that unless theyve absolutly nothing to do in their lives, so cant see putting it in the public eye as helping her career but each to their own

Life is life, your own life is now, If your not hurting/badly interfering with anyone or their life etc etc then tis all your choice, just make sure its what you want