Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cities you would definitely return to?

• 19-04-2014 10:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Seeing as we have the negative cities thread maybe a positive city thread would be intersting as well :)

Cities I defo would return to are:

Rome - I just love this place, the architecture, food, crazy traffic, history is just so Italian. Love it.

Krakow - Lovely place generally, bit pricey.

Salzburg - Amazing views, people seemed friendly enough. Very expensive.

Trieste - Little gem of a place.

Dubrovnik and Split - Stunning, extremely characteristic.

Vaduz - There is just something about this place.

Paris, Paris, Paris. My favourite place on the planet so far.

Most cities I've been I would return to though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

San Fran Fooking Cisco in heartbeat...........

Frankfurt, san fran, berlin, vienna, barcelona, hanover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

bluewolf wrote: »
    Frankfurt, san fran, berlin, vienna, barcelona, hanover

How is Vienna? I wanted to go so many times but never got around to it.
    I heard the prices are almost eye-watering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Prague and Los Angeles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,903 ✭✭✭✭ted1

San Fran
    Boston
    Porto
    Cape Town
    Bilbao
    Reykjavik
    Barcelona
    Madrid
    Honalolo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Seoul & tokyo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭Average-Ro

Berlin. Already been back but want to go back again and again. Fantastic place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

Ljubljana- love it!

Milan - AC Milan fan

Budapest

bear1 wrote: »
    How is Vienna? I wanted to go so many times but never got around to it.
    I heard the prices are almost eye-watering.

It was amazing. I went for a few days the other week, sat in the sunshine having lunch and dinner, everyone nice and friendly, taxis were cheaper than here for sure and I think the food prices were about the same as here. Definitely no price issues. Opera was out of this world!!
    Mine was more a relax & museum & operas trip but I'd say there was plenty of good nightlife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Tokyo. Only had 3 days there, would love to spend more time in the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I always like to go somewhere different.

Vegas is the only place I go back to though.

**If there are any customs officers on boards please look away now**

The shopping is fantastic.

Ljubljana- love it!

Milan - AC Milan fan

Budapest

I liked it as well, charming place. Don't know why the wife hates it so much :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

cape town

dortmund

cities I'd defo go back to
    few others i liked a lot (like rome) but if I didn't go back I wouldn't be too upset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

New York
    Boston
    Washington D.C.
    Cape Town
    Sydney
    Melbourne
    Salzburg
    Paris
    Maastricht
    Berlin
    Amsterdam

Albany, NY - never again!

Should add Florence into the list as well. Magical place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

Venice, Quebec, Rome, Paris

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Hamburg - I think I'd move there if such opportunity came up
    San Sebastián (Donostia)
    Madrid
    London
    Munich
    Vienna
    Krakow - I don't know how anybody thinks it's pricey

I've got lots to see yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

bear1 wrote: »
    Seeing as we have the negative cities thread maybe a positive city thread would be intersting as well :)

Cities I defo would return to are:

Rome - I just love this place, the architecture, food, crazy traffic, history is just so Italian. Love it.

Krakow - Lovely place generally, bit pricey.

Salzburg - Amazing views, people seemed friendly enough. Very expensive.

Trieste - Little gem of a place.

Dubrovnik and Split - Stunning, extremely characteristic.

Vaduz - There is just something about this place.

Krakow pricey? You can't be serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Beirut & NYC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,491 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Montreal and not a city but Lake Arrowhead in California

Krakow is ridiculously cheap! I was there on January, stayed on the square which is the most expensive place of all and I still could barely spend my money.

Was there a few years ago too. Beautiful city. Cooooolllllld in January though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

saigon - very interesting place in general. Cultural capital of 'communist' vietnam as opposed to hanoi the actual capital. official name is ho chi min but the population arent in general loyal to the northern government

cairo so many amazing sights. went before sept 2001 so possibly a very different experience now. At the time it was safe enough to wonder around the poorer parts of the city. city of the dead was an amazing experience.

port elizabeth south african beach city.

derry lovey place for a pub crawl

edinburgh beautiful city

oxford beutiful and interesting history.

florence i reckon the most stunning city ive seen

san sebastian great relaxed vibe and a nice base to head on to san fermin in pamplona.

poznan only there for a few days at euro 2012 but felt the people were really friendly and want to go back.

chicago been to nyc too many times and only once to chicago. great north american city by the lakes. would like to experience in the summer.

seville. great student city and near so many amazing cities in one of europes most interesting regions.

austin. best student nighlife in usa.

rio not the most beautiful city but possibly the city in the most beautiful location.

merida venezuela. young population. great activities and sights nearby

la paz. bolivian capital. had a great few days and wished I had more time so would love to go back.

cuzco same as above. 4 nights wasnt enough. Treated as a base camp for inca trail but its a fantastic location in its own rights and the people are a great laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

Krakow
    Budapest
    Prague
    Crete
    Munich
    Durban
    Cambridge
    Edinburgh
    NYC
    New Orleans
    Milwaukee
    Panama City
    Auckland
    Buenos Aires
    Bogota
    Medellin
    Bangkok
    Sydney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Krakow is ridiculously cheap! I was there on January, stayed on the square which is the most expensive place of all and I still could barely spend my money.

And the lovely horse-drawn carriages on the pebbled streets. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Balmed Out wrote: »
    saigon
    cairo
    port elizabeth
    derry
    edinburgh
    oxford
    florence
    san sebastian
    poznan
    chicago
    seville
    austin
    rio
    merida
    la paz
    cuzco
    OnTheCouch wrote: »
    Krakow
    Budapest
    Munich
    Durban
    NYC
    New Orleans
    Buenos Aires
    Bogota
    Medellin
    Bangkok
    Sydney
    New York, London, Paris, Munich,
    everyone talk about pop muzic!

Tell us why lads.:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Stockholm, Vancouver, Freiburg.

Stockholm for Gamla Stan, all the beautiful buildings and churches.

Vancouver, fun city!

Freiburg for hotdogs.

London - so much to do, theatres, sight seeing, history
    Edinburgh - sightseeing, history, people
    Galway - for the craic!

czechlin wrote: »
    Hamburg - I think I'd move there if such opportunity came up
    San Sebastián (Donostia)
    Madrid
    London
    Munich
    Vienna
    Krakow - I don't know how anybody thinks it's pricey

I've got lots to see yet.
    Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Krakow pricey? You can't be serious?

I know these are directed towards me so let me explain :p
    I'm currently living in Warsaw, on a contractual basis. So the earnings aren't that fantastic.
    So you do get to see that Poland isn't as cheap as people think.
    I found Krakow to be maybe not expensive but not cheap either.
    If you lived in PL and saw everything besides a weekend in a city you will know what I mean.
    Costs quickly pile up here.

Edinburgh (already been back many times).

San Diego

San Fran

New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Limerick. Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

London: brilliant city.
    Rome: wonderful ..true la dolce vita
    Florence:...ah feck it add Milan, Venice too. Italy is magical.
    New York: still king of the hill.
    Berlin: a must.
    On the bucket lust: Hong Kong, Peking, Shanghai, Tokyo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Sydney
    Munich
    Milan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

Rome. Steeped in such wonderful and rich history. If it wasn't for all the graffiti (which makes it look very dirty in places), it would be perfect.

New York was great too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I know west Cork isnt a city. Its probably one of the most breath taking places I have been to( and I have seen the tallest building in the world, great wall of china,terracotta warriors, jungles). I still think west Cork is unbelievable beautiful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Sydney like. Mental gaff. Some gud times there alrite. Me and mates wnet there years ago like. never drank so much in life bud. :p

could drink all day in sun hahaha:p

gud beer (twoeys!!yaaaa) and pubs and best pizza i eva tasted. crap countryside though. Not enough parks to play ball / drink cans in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Miami, some town for a party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Agrigento - Sicily

Silves - Portugal

Marrakech - Morocco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

Barcelona, amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

New York, London, Paris, Munich,
    everyone talk about pop muzic!

Tell us why lads.:pac:

done just for you
    Balmed Out wrote: »
    saigon - very interesting place in general. Cultural capital of 'communist' vietnam as opposed to hanoi the actual capital. official name is ho chi min but the population arent in general loyal to the northern government

cairo so many amazing sights. went before sept 2001 so possibly a very different experience now. At the time it was safe enough to wonder around the poorer parts of the city. city of the dead was an amazing experience.

port elizabeth south african beach city.

derry lovey place for a pub crawl

edinburgh beautiful city

oxford beutiful and interesting history.

florence i reckon the most stunning city ive seen

san sebastian great relaxed vibe and a nice base to head on to san fermin in pamplona.

poznan only there for a few days at euro 2012 but felt the people were really friendly and want to go back.

chicago been to nyc too many times and only once to chicago. great north american city by the lakes. would like to experience in the summer.

seville. great student city and near so many amazing cities in one of europes most interesting regions.

austin. best student nighlife in usa.

rio not the most beautiful city but possibly the city in the most beautiful location.

merida venezuela. young population. great activities and sights nearby

la paz. bolivian capital. had a great few days and wished I had more time so would love to go back.

cuzco same as above. 4 nights wasnt enough. Treated as a base camp for inca trail but its a fantastic location in its own rights and the people are a great laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

Bangkok- best city ever, lots to do and see and people are awsome
    Phuket- crazy nightlife and people are great
    Hanoi- Mad city with people everwhere! Friendly too
    Nice- lovely to walk around and lots of places to eat and drink

Kilkenny and Galway city are great, we're so lucky to have such great places to go, so much to do in Ireland and people are the best!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭roro1990

Chiang Mai - The mixture of incredibly good food, beautiful surroundings, endless things to do, really friendly locals and a very good nightlife makes this one of my favourite places in the world.

Bangkok - The amazing skyline, the diversity of the place, the architecture, the way it just makes you feel alive. My favourite city in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Berlin - Unbelievable city, stunning architecture, brilliant history, excellent nightlife.

San Diego - Lovely city, great beaches, great people, loved it.

South Lake Tahoe - Nicest place I think I have ever been. Lake itself is stunning. City is half in California and half in Nevada, so has casinos etc and also is quiet. Was there for 2 months, didn't see 1 fight or even argument, didn't have any hassle, so friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

Rousse, Bulgaria. It's a border city along the Danube. Beautiful place. For some reason the whole city smells of lavender in late summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

Ok I'll bite and give a reason like in the other thread:

Krakow -friendly people, great surroundings and very cheap compared to what I'm used to
    Budapest - ditto
    Prague - ditto
    Crete - Could go for the party lifestyle if you choose or go for a more relaxed trip only a few kilometres away
    Munich - Beer festival, stereotype, but good fun
    Durban - Great scenery beside the beach, even though it's fairly dangerous as well as cities go
    Cambridge - I don't think there are that many great places to see in the UK but Cambridge I liked, obviously the university helps
    Edinburgh - Similar, very well preserved historic city
    NYC - Need I say more
    New Orleans - Very liberal for the US, can drink beer in the street, if you are young free and single head there for sure
    Milwaukee - Cold weather, but more relaxed than Chicago I found plus more fun
    Panama City - Great weather and laid back people
    Auckland - Lots to do and not particularly expensive
    Buenos Aires - I like all things Argentinian so this was great for me, even though the accent can be tough
    Bogota - If you know where to go it's so cheap and people are incredibly open and friendly (as they get less tourists than other South American countries)
    Medellin - More European style but still a lot of fun
    Bangkok - Assault on the senses, either love it or hate it, I loved it to be honest
    Sydney - So much to do and see there, hard to get bored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Matsumoto
    Kamakura
    Edinburgh
    Chamonix
    Berlin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

I would return to all the really really exotic and far away ones I intend to list so you can be awed at how much I have travelled

and Limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

osarusan wrote: »
    Matsumoto
    Kamakura
    Edinburgh
    Chamonix
    Berlin

Go on, I'm dying to know why?

I always liked it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

major bill wrote: »
    Go on, I'm dying to know why?

I always liked it
    Thread is about cities you would like to return to. I like Edinburgh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

osarusan wrote: »
    Thread is about cities you would like to return to. I like Edinburgh.

FFS clicked into the wrong one :o