Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Are You Drinking Thread? Good Friday edition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Not drinking anything. Bloody sick. Wish I was able to go out and get a wee dram to make a hot toddy, but I can't. I'm stuck drinking tea like a .... a... IDKW.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,485 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

well, i'm enjoying a drink after a day of ensuring that none of my friend's kids fell into our pond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

I was in a Super Valu this afternoon and the whole off licence area was draped and covered over with black bin bags.It was one of the most stupid and ridiculous things I have ever seen, not the fault of the management and staff,but a crazy law that we have in this country.
    Trying to decongest a very stuffy nose at present,so no drink so far:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

We have just poured ourselves a humungous Hennessy each with a drop of Baileys for good measure.

I am loving it. That's it, then off to the leaba about ten ish. TMI I suppose lol!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

I think the ban should be overturned for the purpose of maintaining a safe environment for children to live, from working in call centres i remember it being said that Christmas eve and Good Friday reported the highest calls to support agencies like childline because of adults drinking in the home, not saying it doesn't happen anyhow but at least if they are drinking in a pub they are less likely to be subjecting children to their behaviour or creating fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Bought port earlier, waiting for hubby to finish putting our sleep-dodging 1 year old to bed then having a nice big glass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,311 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Good Friday, a day of abstinence

For a small proportion of self-described christians, yes, but they're not exactly the target market of this ad are they? If they're so offended couldn't they 'offer it up' as my mother used to say - or maybe pray for the souls of the ad agency execs :rolleyes:

NB christians are no longer a majority of the UK population so expect more reality and less unwarranted deference in future.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

For a small proportion of self-described christians, yes, but they're not exactly the target market of this ad are they? If they're so offended couldn't they 'offer it up' as my mother used to say - or maybe pray for the souls of the ad agency execs :rolleyes:

NB christians are no longer a majority of the UK population so expect more reality and less unwarranted deference in future.

It is, and will always be, a Christian country in it's values and tradition, if not expressly so on the census forms. It was more ignorant than offensive I think. But yes, I expect more of the same in future. That is the way society has gone.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

It is, and will always be, a Christian country in it's values and tradition, if not expressly so on the census forms. It was more ignorant than offensive I think. But yes, I expect more of the same in future. That is the way society has gone.

It's was and will be until such time as it isn't. After all if it isn't, how could it be? Nothing like a good Friday G&T for a bit of inner clarity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

On this most holy of days I an partaking in a fine O'Hara's Pale Ale.
    Mmmmmm.... Sacrilegious

Oh my what bravado! And I won't be going to the Dog Show in Dublin this year because I have no interest in it. I want the whole world to know this because my opinion of the matter is very important.

jimd2 wrote: »
    In all honesty.....who cares?

Amen.

feargale wrote: »
    Oh my what bravado! And I won't be going to the Dog Show in Dublin this year because I have no interest in it. I want the whole world to know this because my opinion of the matter is very important.

Amen.

Grow up. Stop ridiculing people not of your religion for not being of your religion. Religion is a pox on humanity.

jimd2 wrote: »
    In all honesty.....who cares?

Amen.

And yet here ye both are; caring.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭Allah snackbar

I'm having my second glass of poteen , not bad though and I don't drink often but I've a dose of something and I'm hoping this will clear it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Grow up. Stop ridiculing people not of your religion for not being of your religion. Religion is a pox on humanity.

You don't have the foggiest idea of my views on religion or whether I have one or what one I have or have not.. You grow up. Learn marksmanship before you draw from the hip.

Bigotry is a bigger pox on humanity, but that only afflicts "the guys who disagree with me", never those who are just out of short pants and don't know how to walk away in a mature fashion, or those who are old enough to know better. Isn't that right, grown up one?
    kylith wrote: »
    And yet here ye both are; caring.

Factually incorrect if you are suggesting that I give a damn about who drinks what and when they do it, and ticking so many boxes in the list of logical fallacies as to make a comprehensive response exhausting.

Well aren't you great. You showed all them damn atheists they're gonna burn! :rolleyes: whatever dude, just keep it away from kids.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

It is, and will always be, a Christian country in it's values and tradition [...]
    Did Jesus really approve of selling live Irish babies to the Yanks while hiding the dead ones in mass graves?

Sure wasn't the Eternal Word of Christ as different back then?! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,739 ✭✭✭✭looksee

. You grow up. Learn marksmanship before you draw from the hip.

Bigotry is a bigger pox on humanity, but that only afflicts "the guys who disagree with me", never those who are just out of short pants and don't know how to walk away in a mature fashion, or those who are old enough to know better. Isn't that right, grown up one?

Mod: You can have this discussion without getting personal, cut out the digs please.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

robindch wrote: »
    Did Jesus really approve of selling live Irish babies to the Yanks while hiding the dead ones in mass graves?

Sure wasn't the Eternal Word of Christ as different back then?! :rolleyes:

The scandal was certain women getting pregnant outside marriage. The state and religious institutions were only trying to clean up their mess. I didn't see many atheists making an effort. Easy to criticise others when you never made an effort yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

The scandal was certain women getting pregnant outside marriage. The state and religious institutions were only trying to clean up their mess.

And where were the fathers?

You have serious issues with women. I guess neo-Nazi blogs would do that.

The scandal was certain women getting pregnant outside marriage. The state and religious institutions were only trying to clean up their mess. I didn't see many atheists making an effort. Easy to criticise others when you never made an effort yourself.

Getting pregnant outside of marriage is not a scandal. Sure, wasn't Jesus' own mother pregnant outside of marriage?

The scandal was certain women getting pregnant outside marriage. The state and religious institutions were only trying to clean up their mess.
    The shag-and-run fathers didn't have much in the way of responsibility, did they? :rolleyes:

Of course, the father of Virgin Mary's baby didn't even show up to the birth and abandoned his duties to other people as well, so I suppose all that people up to the 1980's were doing was doing what your deity did - shag-and-run!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,485 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

The scandal was certain women getting pregnant outside marriage.
    wow.

kylith wrote: »
    Sure, wasn't Jesus' own mother pregnant outside of marriage?
    As somebody once said, she wasn't the first Jewish girl in history to claim she got pregnant without having had sex.

How does this work exactly? Did they accidentally start selling kids and covering it up? I imagine it's pretty easy to avoid doing that.

Did they slip and fall?

Easy to criticise others when you never made an effort yourself.
    'if you've never tried to forcibly remove a child from its mother and sell it abroad, you're in no position to criticise', yes?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

robindch wrote: »
    As somebody once said, she wasn't the first Jewish girl in history to claim she got pregnant without having had sex.

and three random lads show at the door after the birth. Hmmm......

If the Romans had any foresight, they'd have crucified jesus on his birthday and ****ed up Christmas dinner. No red meat or booze at the table...

Bloody Romans! What have they ever done for us, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Qs

Are you for real or is this bait? I really don't think you honestly believe any of this evil **** you post. Maybe I'm just naive though.

A hotel in Meath has been prosecuted for serving booze on good friday:

https://www.lmfm.ie/news/meath-hotel-prosecuted-for-serving-on-good-friday/
    LMFM wrote:
    Trim District Court has been told that a Garda Sergeant who carried out an inspection of a hotel in Trim on Good Friday last, found 120 people drinking alcohol.

Sergeant Tom Mahon said that when he called to The Knightsbrook Hotel he witnessed 80 people drinking in the Swift Bar and a further 40 drinking in a separate bar at the hotel. The hotel was prosecuted for six counts of breaching the licensing laws on the 14th April.

A solicitor for the defence stressed that it was a very well run and nice hotel. Judge Cormac Dunne replied that it may be a nice hotel and indeed a palace, but it had to obey the law. He added that what had happened was not an accidental event but in fact a commercially driven one.

He imposed a fine of ?1,500 for permitting alcohol to be consumed on the premises and struck out five other summonses.