Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do we allow this to go on?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

We wont sort it out. Inner city knacker kids are allowed do what they want basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭redarmy

knackers , end of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

too many legal practices earning a fortune from these type of people carrying on like this

it will never end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

There isn't much money to be made from crime reduction. The Judges, solicitors, politicians etc have no desire to see this sort of stuff end. Even proposing harsher punishments will have some on this forum howling.

For this sort of attack I see no issue with fecking a 15 year old girl into jail for a year minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

We wont sort it out. Inner city knacker kids are allowed do what they want basically.

And travellers.

The Judicial system in this country is a joke, you murder somebody in this country and the DPP will nearly always go for the lesser manslaughter charge for whatever reason, probably a higher conviction rate.

Skangers and knackers get to run around doing whatever the hell they like with no fear of punishment or if they do get time, its a small stint in a cushy cell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

That part of the city is brutal.

Got into a (unprovoked) row near there myself with a gang of young lads recently and had to just walk away as I was mouldy drunk and I've no doubt they were just waiting for an excuse to pile into me, or worse.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Try trying to teach them.

My wife knows your pain, she teaches in a deisband 5 school, its absolute carnage sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

spurious wrote: »

Just imagine a class full of that bunch every day :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

too many legal practices earning a fortune from these type of people carrying on like this

Really agree. I think the legal system has no incentive to really improve the lives of decent people. The need crime to make a living. Guards only fighting fires, not supported by society to end this social problem.

We need to take a pro-active approach to this sort of thing. Call it social engineering; I don't care, it's such a tax on the lives of so many communities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Some people passing by afterwards were saying it was awful that the guards had a young girl handcuffed and restrained on the street

ಠ_ಠ

My heart bleeds for the vicious little cunt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,852 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

RoboRat wrote: »
    And travellers.

The Judicial system in this country is a joke, you murder somebody in this country and the DPP will nearly always go for the lesser manslaughter charge for whatever reason, probably a higher conviction rate.

Skangers and knackers get to run around doing whatever the hell they like with no fear of punishment or if they do get time, its a small stint in a cushy cell.

Where did you get that information from? It doesn't match up with what the CSO has recorded.

http://www.cso.ie/Quicktables/GetQuickTables.aspx?FileName=cja01c1.asp&TableName=Homicide+Offences&StatisticalProduct=DB_CJ

Where did you get that information from? It doesn't match up with what the CSO has recorded.
    Recorded Crime Offences (Number) by Type of Offence and Year does not mean what they were convicted for. Many cases arise whereby they were charged with murder but got sentenced for manslaughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,852 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

RoboRat wrote: »
    Recorded Crime Offences (Number) by Type of Offence and Year does not mean what they were convicted for. Many cases arise whereby they were charged with murder but got sentenced for manslaughter.

Would it not be the DPP who decided to charge them with murder even though you say he/she nearly always goes for manslaughter?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

She was taken to Store Street garda station and later released without.
    Is this a concise way of telling us she won't finish out a sentence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Hitchens wrote: »
    Just imagine a class full of that bunch every day :eek:

Nah its grand, sure I'd say only about 6 actually turn up.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

The best part is she'll probably be back on that street in 3 weeks time roaring abuse at the shopkeepers while her ma collects extra dole because her young wan hurt her back when the guards stepped in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

little rough cvnt.

with the way society is going, and how much more that "kids" are exposed to at a younger age these days, they should look at lowering the age to be tried as an adult for certain crimes.

as well as that, for something like a murder charge, there should be no way they can get off from "police errors" or anything like that.

a member of my family was kicked to death in the street about 15 years ago, and there was 5 or 6 people involved in killing him. some admitted, some didnt, but NONE of them got any sentence and the case was dismissed due to a "police error" in questioning or something along those lines - i was much younger, so didnt really know how it all worked at the time.
    but basically, this country is a joke when it comes to justice, and ever since i discovered how deeply it runs, i've decided that if anything ever happens like that again to anyone i am involved with in life, that, regardless of the time that i may end up serving, i would dole out harsh justice myself instead.

im not the only person who would feel that way either, and i think it's a growing trend which may manifest itself in the not so distant future and turn this country into even more of a "wild west" lawless kip than it is already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

I'm probably going to get screamed at for being a bleeding heart now, but what I wonder is what the hell happened to turn a 15 year old into such a vicious little cow.

Of course she should be punished for what she did, but as well as locking people up, something needs to be done to tackle the problem at the other end. I don't know what that is though. Do we tackle it through schools? Do we break up the 'ghettoes' that are forming in certain areas? Do we reform the welfare system? There's tons of kids out there that could have a chance if they were brought up differently, but instead, they're going to grow up to be just like that 15 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

she should get 20 years, little piece of vermin

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Nah its grand, sure I'd say only about 6 actually turn up.:)

In the old days maybe, but now they're in bigger classes with the 'normals'.
    Part of the reason I left after teaching 29 years in the north inner city. I'd really had enough.

vitani wrote: »
    I'm probably going to get screamed at for being a bleeding heart now, but what I wonder is what the hell happened to turn a 15 year old into such a vicious little cow.

Of course she should be punished for what she did, but as well as locking people up, something needs to be done to tackle the problem at the other end. I don't know what that is though. Do we tackle it through schools? Do we break up the 'ghettoes' that are forming in certain areas? Do we reform the welfare system? There's tons of kids out there that could have a chance if they were brought up differently, but instead, they're going to grow up to be just like that 15 year old.

Parents, mainly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

unfortunately there is nothing that can be done about scum like this.
    yes she is young enough to ruin her life with that carry on, but she's also old enough to know better.

lower the age of an adult trial and this type of thing will definitely be quelled to a certain degree...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Nothing can be done for people who don't want to be helped, skangers are happy to live their lives on the backs of the rest of us and do nothing but breed the next generation of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Have a few messy public executions, I guarantee it will discourage this type of behaviour.

Or keep going the way we are, blaming everyone but the scrot in question.

The focus always seems to be on the rights of the scrots and not the victims.

Id have this little bint publically flogged, wonder how quickly she would run out and reoffend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Cut off the supply: do away with children's allowance.
    Prepare to pay for more prisons and increase sentences. Assaults like this where an attacker kicks someone in the head should be treated as attempted murder.
    Sentencing policy and probation policy to be changed so that violent people are removed from society for longer.
    And the really difficult one: begin to look at a DNA database and ongoing research into who these people are. Anecdotally, behaviour like this does not drop out of the sky.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

pundy wrote: »
    little rough cvnt.

with the way society is going, and how much more that "kids" are exposed to at a younger age these days, they should look at lowering the age to be tried as an adult for certain crimes.

as well as that, for something like a murder charge, there should be no way they can get off from "police errors" or anything like that.

a member of my family was kicked to death in the street about 15 years ago, and there was 5 or 6 people involved in killing him. some admitted, some didnt, but NONE of them got any sentence and the case was dismissed due to a "police error" in questioning or something along those lines - i was much younger, so didnt really know how it all worked at the time.
    but basically, this country is a joke when it comes to justice, and ever since i discovered how deeply it runs, i've decided that if anything ever happens like that again to anyone i am involved with in life, that, regardless of the time that i may end up serving, i would dole out harsh justice myself instead.

im not the only person who would feel that way either, and i think it's a growing trend which may manifest itself in the not so distant future and turn this country into even more of a "wild west" lawless kip than it is already.

I think we might be related!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭thinks too much

There is no way in any proper justice system that any person even a 15 year old girl should get away with a crime like that. Unfortunately as many other posters have said there is a huge amount of money to be made off such criminality. On top of this you have the civil rights crowd standing firm behind those committing the crimes and no one to represent the victims. If you go down and sit in the Central criminal courts and watch how our system works you would be amazed at what goes on.

Even now there is a raft of agencies getting invoved to help out the girl who committed this crime to see how they can help her and turn her into a good law abiding citizen. By the time this does get to a court there will be that many social services, psychological and welfare reports and not to mention a letter from her local parish priest saying how she had a terrible upbringing etc that she will probably serve no time for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

what the hell happened to turn a 15 year old into such a vicious little cow.
    spurious wrote: »
    Parents, mainly.
    She's a product of the society she's grown up in :mad:

MonstaMash wrote: »

The society she has grown up in is her family and for teenagers her friends. Credit where credit is due.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭kult

This is democracy. Majority wanted this government and government creates the law. Democracy , were 10 knackers have more votes that 1 PhD , and then those 10 idiots vote for promises on TV and create law that way...Hate democracy, a political system for idiots and morons... In Russia that 15 years old **** would have been beaten up and put to jail for 2 year , where she has to work to survive and pay for food and cell, but in democracy majority ( idiots ) protects ***** like 15y old idiot....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

An awful lot of bollocks being written about on this thread about draconian punishments. It's like watching people recommending taking a sledgehammer to the sink to fix a leaky tap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Is this a concise way of telling us she won't finish out a sentence?

No Its a concise way of saying there wont be a sentence

I'm just amazed there isn't a Scobee Point (yet)

Feck Ill probably get banned for that, but so what, On boards you can discuss a million things, but not a million and one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Have a few messy public executions, I guarantee it will discourage this type of behaviour.

Or keep going the way we are, blaming everyone but the scrot in question.

The focus always seems to be on the rights of the scrots and not the victims.

Id have this little bint publically flogged, wonder how quickly she would run out and reoffend.
    well as we know executing people doesn't work, wouldn't mind flogging though

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

kult wrote: »
    This is democracy. Majority wanted this government and government creates the law. Democracy , were 10 knackers have more votes that 1 PhD , and then those 10 idiots vote for promises on TV and create law that way...Hate democracy, a political system for idiots and morons... In Russia that 15 years old **** would have been beaten up and put to jail for 2 year , where she has to work to survive and pay for food and cell, but in democracy majority ( idiots ) protects ***** like 15y old idiot....

You seem to be breaking up, Over. Static in transmission, Over.

Executing people does work, and if a person who sees an execution does exactly the same bad thing what executed person did , then that person is willing and ready to die, and basically want to die.

well as we know executing people doesn't work, wouldn't mind flogging though
    Lobotomise the lot of them Clockwork Orange style :D

You seem to be breaking up, Over. Static in transmission, Over.
    Hi Mr Majority hahaha, you can't even understand the point I made:) over

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

An awful lot of bollocks being written about on this thread about draconian punishments. It's like watching people recommending taking a sledgehammer to the sink to fix a leaky tap.

Any suggestions yourself?

The deterrents already in place clearly don't affect the behaviour of those perpetrating such crimes.

A work camp, 12h shifts, heavy labour, building roads, cleaning cities etc, let them work for a year non stop so they can pay themselves for jail sentence, guards, cell, food etc, why should I pay for it, I did not do anything wrong... hard labour should sort most of people out..

A work camp, 12h shifts, heavy labour, building roads, cleaning cities etc, let them work for a year non stop so they can play themselves for jail sentence, guards, cell, food etc, why should I pay for it, I did not do anything wrong... hard labour should sort most of people out..
    Re-education camps maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

One thing is for sure, what we're doing now isn't working.

Hard work re educate quicker, cheaper and it 's better.

MonstaMash wrote: »

I've heard all the excuses. I worked with people like her for years. I may have even taught her. Lucky me.

POST DELETED

Please don't post that crap as some kind of solution

It works, that's for sure. Yeah, in your opinion it's better to put them in hotels for our taxes or set them free ok, but I am different I would punish for crimes:)

That's your assumption? Yes spot on. 5 star preferably

Statisicits, not assumption. Yep, I would make them work ass off to pay for the cell food and guards, and you would just pay for them from our taxes...and re educate haha:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

A work camp, 12h shifts, heavy labour, building roads, cleaning cities etc, let them work for a year non stop so they can pay themselves for jail sentence, guards, cell, food etc, why should I pay for it, I did not do anything wrong... hard labour should sort most of people out..

It never ceases to amaze me how I get worried about getting penalty points for something,, etc., whilst these people don't care about anything, whilst benefiting from every angle!

Exactly, because they know that "democracy" and "human rights" even when they are not human but only animals wil lprotect them from good people tax money...