Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jim Allister GAA jerseys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

I doubt Protestant students in the North's universities actually give a toss on whether or not their fellow students wear a sports jersey! I also like "Allister says the proliferation of GAA jerseys in intimidating members of the Protestant community...", because only Catholics play GAA, Jim!

As someone pointed out in the comments, should he then too propose to ban Rangers or Ulster rugby clothing? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

feckin eejit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

It's a terrible thing to be a poor imitation Jim. There was only one paisley and you're not him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

turnikett1 wrote: »
    "Allister says the proliferation of GAA jerseys is intimidating members of the Protestant community..."

I'd say orange marches in Catholic communities are far more intimidating to Catholics in the north in-comparison to the 'intimidation' that he claims a few college students wearing GAA jerseys may bring to the Protestant communities.

But somehow I doubt that Allister would be inclined to agree :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Norn Iron

Always makes me cringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Always makes me cringe.

banjos make me cringe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,121 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

the proliferation of GAA jerseys

It's not exactly up there with enriched uranium.

These lads don't half come out with some absolute bollix. Anyone intimidated by a sport jersey shouldn't be at university in he first place.. they should be in an assisted living facility.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Can we ban them down here too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

What a thundering dickhead. He'd better serve his community by encouraging young protestants to engage in training and education rather than listening to extremist sectarians who just despise the fact that they don't dominate the institutions of the north any more.
    Poorer Protestant boys in Northern Ireland are seriously underachieving at school according to a new report

www.bbc.com
    for the first time young Protestants were more likely to be unemployed than young Catholics – a rate of 24% against 17%.

belfasttelegraph.co.uk

No, no, you see, it's the GAA jerseys that are the problem not the woeful leadership of people like Allister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I thought they only wanted them banned if they were packing shopping bags?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

His political life and career depends on keeping the local protestant population in fear of the great "other" He exists only to try and highlight differences and create tension between those who identify as British and those who identify as Irish.

It's populism for the minoroty of siege mentality unionists. The only hope Northern Ireland has for a decent future is the complete electoral demolition of the TUV and the DUP. Unfortunately the alternatives are so weak and wishy washy (NI21) or trying to become the DUP (Tom Eliot wing of the UUP) or require the ability to think beyond the national question (Alliance) which most people lack. The siege mentality created by Paisley persists so strongly in the unionist mentality it is hard to see how it could be defeated.

SF are a godsend for the likes of the TUV of course...that's a whole other story. One militant side can't live without the other, they give each other oxygen and strangle the centrists at every opportunity.

Can we ban them down here too?

Why would we or are you just whoring for likes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Haters gonna hate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

he represents too small of a demographic to ever have any real influence

he,s a throwback to the days of imperial britain when one could openly display their prejudice and superiority and be lauded for it

a dinosaur but like i said earlier , without a modicum of charisma or likability

He represents a mix of hardline unionism and evangelical christian beliefs (the Caleb Foundation in particular) which are much more prevalent in Northern Ireland that we care to recognise. Truthfully, he's not in that much of a minority when you look at the amount of DUPers who share his miserable views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

This is what happens when you put a microphone in front of a knuckle dragging Neanderthal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

As someone pointed out in the comments, should he then too propose to ban Rangers or Ulster rugby clothing? :rolleyes:

I wouldn't be surprised if both Rangers and Celtic jerseys are already banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Since when has Ulster rugby been affiliated to one particular denomination or political standing? The club fly this flag at their home matches, and so do the majority of their supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

Nailz wrote: »
    Since when has Ulster rugby been affiliated to one particular denomination or political standing? The club fly this flag at their home matches, and so do the majority of their supporters.

I don't personally, but I have met Northern Irish people from Catholic backgrounds and they always say that rugby is a Protestant's sport and is associated as such. Just going by what they said. Out of the 3 people who told me this, 1 was from Armagh and 2 from Belfast.

I wonder does Jim himself even believe what he's saying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,184 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I don't personally, but I have met Northern Irish people from Catholic backgrounds and they always say that rugby is a Protestant's sport and is associated as such. Just going by what they said. Out of the 3 people who told me this, 1 was from Armagh and 2 from Belfast.

Might have been seen as that a long time ago, but things are much changed now.

Back when I was in grammar school (Catholic) 25 years ago it was nothing but GAA and soccer for us. But that same school now has successful hockey and rugby teams, which would have been perceived as 'Protestant' sports in my day.

Those days are a long time ago. I feel old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

GAA Shirts they sure are a fashion crime, not many things as unattractive as seeing a girl in one,

they always say that rugby is a Protestant's sport

I think that's changing. Saw a report about Rugby being introduced to Catholic schools in west Belfast on the news a couple of weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,315 ✭✭✭circadian

That man is a tube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

I noticed one of his TUV lackeys spewing hatful comments over on one of the Telegraph articles relating to the current presidential visit to the queen. Seems like the mods deleted a bunch of them, but you could see some of what he was saying as other posters quoted the original in their reply.

Our first citizen was likened to Bilbo Baggins (although it's been done on Irish forums often enough ;) )

BTW were the TUV the ones who described Irish as the leprechaun language a few years back?

ZeroThreat wrote: »
    Our first citizen was likened to Bilbo Baggins (although it's been done on Irish forums often enough ;) )

Just so long as they didn't liken him to that doll in the Saw films :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

ZeroThreat wrote: »
    I noticed one of his TUV lackeys spewing hatful comments over on one of the Telegraph articles relating to the current presidential visit to the queen. Seems like the mods deleted a bunch of them, but you could see some of what he was saying as other posters quoted the original in their reply.

BTW were the TUV the ones who described Irish as the leprechaun language a few years back?

The TUV is just Jim Allister I think, he founded it a couple of years ago when he was kicked out of the DUP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

The TUV is just Jim Allister I think, he founded it a couple of years ago when he was kicked out of the DUP.

well the comments were by someone named David Vance, I think he's a party member who was unsuccessful in an election a number of year's ago, but still managed to take enough votes from Peter Robinson to see him lose his seat at the time.
    I've seen this guys blog before though, he seems a particularly sectarian & bitter individual, even by unionist standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,184 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

These folk only have a job as long as they keep the communities divided in the North.

If the public instead decided to concentrate on jobs, education, health etc and demanded more off these idiots, they wouldn't be around for long.

They live for division. Unfortunately they have plenty of followers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Sometimes I think some of these loyalists are trying to out-British each other or out-Anti-Irish each other.

'Well I'm so against the flag being taken down'....'that's nothing I oppose GAA jerseys on campus'....'ah here watch me call a primary school a terrorist training camp'....'ah that's nothing, watch me paint a UVF man over a George Best mural'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

I wouldn't be surprised if both Rangers and Celtic jerseys are already banned.

Rangers and Celtic shirts are banned here at Belfast Met.

iDave wrote: »
    Sometimes I think some of these loyalists are trying to out-British each other or out-Anti-Irish each other.

The bizarre thing is that the average British person isn't at all anti-Irish. Irish people are generally well received in Britain and with the recent détente Irish/British relations built on mutual respect look like they are only going to strengthen. That will leave us in a situation where anti-Irish(ness) will be decidedly un-British.

????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Mr Allister and his ilk know where the Stranraer ferry is if they dislike the natives so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

orangesoda wrote: »
    Jim wants GAA jerseys banned from Norn Iron universities.

I think people wear too much GAA gear nowadays, so much so you would think that they were a walking advert for the o'neill clan but still they should be allowed to wear what they want

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=213763

I always remember this when I think of Jim

David McWilliams had a great end to that interview

He should go have himself some Chaddar Cheese and Peeneawwpple on a schtack!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

I dunno about Norn Iron.
    but they should be banned in Australia anyway

GenieOz wrote: »
    I dunno about Norn Iron.
    but they should be banned in Australia anyway

I don't get this regular complaining on boards about lads wearing GAA jerseys in Oz.

From what I can grasp through my facebook is most of the lads there are permanently wearing Connacht/Munster/Leinster/Ireland jerseys.

But sure that's grand...god forbid that anyone would wear any other sporting jersey though :confused:

I don't this complaining on boards about lads wearing GAA jerseys in Oz.

From what I can grasp through my facebook is most of the lads there are permanently wearing Connacht/Munster/Leinster/Ireland jerseys.

But sure that's grand...god forbid that anyone would wear any other sporting jersey though :confused:

I suppose if these individuals are acting the maggot out in Oz, the gaa jerseys more or less tag them as being Irish. Best explanation i can offer

I don't get this regular complaining on boards about lads wearing GAA jerseys in Oz.

what do the Donegal muckers wear?

orangesoda wrote: »
    what do the Donegal muckers wear?

Potato sacks.

there is some fine bitches in the forests in tir connail

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Jim's a hoot... I love in that video in the OP he says that 1916 should be celebrated in the Republic '..where it happened.'

Where was the Boyne Jim?

did anyone pick up on how big jim and sammy compared catholics/nationalists to french and american immigrants to northern ireland, would make you want to scream into a pillow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

As someone who has experienced coppers full of gaa jersey clad lads stinkin the place out of it with their stale bo, beer farts and lynx, I must concur with jim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

As someone who has experienced coppers full of gaa jersey clad lads stinkin the place out of it with their stale bo, beer farts and lynx, I must concur with jim.

In Oz culchies stick out just as much and are mocked by everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Probably because they're -usually- the type that haven't worn a GAA jersey in their life but the second they're in another country it's this whole "HEY IM IRISH LOOK AT ME" attitude. It's sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

You see the problem with Northern Ireland Politicians is that they are more worried about, Gaa Jerseys, Flags and who threw more stones then the other, then actually trying to get the country working together on Education, Health etc.

EVENFLOW

You see the problem with Northern Ireland Politicians is that they are more worried about, Gaa Jerseys, Flags and who threw more stones then the other, then actually trying to get the country working together on Education, Health etc.

the auld education isn't bad in fairness, though i went to one of the top 3 schools in the country myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

There should be a blanket ban on anyone over the age of eight wearing any sports team jersey for any situation other than playing team sports.

Blokes who wear EPL jerseys to the pub to watch TV should be shot.

Blokes who wear GAA jerseys on holiday in Spain should be drowned.

Parents in shopping centres wearing EPL or GAA tops should be reported to social services and have their kids rehoused with non-retarded adults.

In fact anyone who dons sportswear, other than runners, as normal everyday clothing should reassess their very existence.