Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

parallax question hmr

• 31-03-2014 10:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭

hi lads i have a hawke 6-24x50 on me hmr,at a 100yrds the side pa wheel has to be set at 75 for a clear image,if i adjust the pa to 100, image blurs at 100 yrds,,so why is that,its very misleading.is the scope faulty?i mean when shooting at 100yrd targets why do i have to set the pa wheel at 75 to get a clear image?hope i have explained it clearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭LIFFY FISHING

sniperman wrote: »
    hi lads i have a hawke 6-24x50 on me hmr,at a 100yrds the side pa wheel has to be set at 75 for a clear image,if i adjust the pa to 100, image blurs at 100 yrds,,so why is that,its very misleading.is the scope faulty?i mean when shooting at 100yrd targets why do i have to set the pa wheel at 75 to get a clear image?hope i have explained it clearly.

Is your scope yards or meters on the para

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

It's down to your eyesight.

I have mine set at just under the 100 yard marker, but when my Father uses the hmr he must set it past the 100 yard marker. He wears glasses and as such his eyesight and "focus" is different to mine. I keep the ocular lens set so adjusting this is how he gets it clear for himself. Perhaps the ocular lens/focus is not 100% perfect but it's not target shooting so i'm not as fussy especially considering the fact that two people of differing eyesight use the gun.

If you want to fix it set it to 100 yards, place an object at 100 yards (ranged/measured) and then go back and adjust the focus until you get a clear sight picture.

The other answer could be as simple as a slightly incorrect marked turret, but i rarely look at the distance marking on the parallax setting.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Forget image clarity for a sec, is the parallax error removed with the scope set at 75 or 100?

If it is removed at 75 and you have a clear image then no big deal. Turret is not 100% accurate, it's a budget scope, it's something you can probably live with.

If on the other hand the parallax error is removed with the scope set at 100 but you have a blurry image then you might need as Cass suggests to adjust the ocular housing.

It's important to remember that parallax adjusters are to remove parallax error and not focus the image. There can still be some parallax error even with a clear image.

To check your parallax do the following:
    • Set out a target at 100 yards.
    • Clamp the rifle or set it in a solid rest/back bag.
    • Scope the target.
    • Make sure you have a clear target picture.
    • Move your head slightly around the ocular eyepiece.

Does the crosshair "move" with the movement of your head/eye? If so then the parallax is not set correctly. When properly set the crosshair should remain on the point where you aimed regardless of your eye position in the ocular lens/eyepiece.

If no adjustment remedies this "parallax" issue then it could be a faulty lens.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭LIFFY FISHING

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭sniperman

its yards.

Cass wrote: »
    It's down to your eyesight.

I have mine set at just under the 100 yard marker, but when my Father uses the hmr he must set it past the 100 yard marker. He wears glasses and as such his eyesight and "focus" is different to mine. I keep the ocular lens set so adjusting this is how he gets it clear for himself. Perhaps the ocular lens/focus is not 100% perfect but it's not target shooting so i'm not as fussy especially considering the fact that two people of differing eyesight use the gun.

If you want to fix it set it to 100 yards, place an object at 100 yards (ranged/measured) and then go back and adjust the focus until you get a clear sight picture.

The other answer could be as simple as a slightly incorrect marked turret, but i rarely look at the distance marking on the parallax setting.
    i ware glasses,would that be my problem?

To check your parallax do the following:
    • Set out a target at 100 yards.
    • Clamp the rifle or set it in a solid rest/back bag.
    • Scope the target.
    • Make sure you have a clear target picture.
    • Move your head slightly around the ocular eyepiece.
    Does the crosshair "move" with the movement of your head/eye? If so then the parallax is not set correctly. When properly set the crosshair should remain on the point where you aimed regardless of your eye position in the ocular lens/eyepiece.

If no adjustment remedies this "parallax" issue then it could be a faulty lens.
    will try this,thanks

Vegeta wrote: »
    Forget image clarity for a sec, is the parallax error removed with the scope set at 75 or 100?

If it is removed at 75 and you have a clear image then no big deal. Turret is not 100% accurate, it's a budget scope, it's something you can probably live with.

If on the other hand the parallax error is removed with the scope set at 100 but you have a blurry image then you might need as Cass suggests to adjust the ocular housing.

It's important to remember that parallax adjusters are to remove parallax error and not focus the image. There can still be some parallax error even with a clear image.
    good point about parallax error,i think im going to have dig a little deeper and get more knowledge on this subject,thanks

i ware glasses,would that be my problem?
    No.

Glasses or not my point above only meant there are different settings required for different eye sight. That is why you adjust the parallax and ocular lens/focus. For a clear target picture and reticle sharpness.

I'm not really getting across what i'm trying to say but i hope some of it is understandable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Robotack

And here I was thinking parralax was a fancy name for focus.... maybe someone would explain the difference please. Thanks.

Parallax is when the image/target/object being viewed is not on the same focal plane as the reticle. Parallax free scopes have a preset parallax rating of usually 100 yards. Other scopes have AO (Adjustable Objective) or side parallax. This allows the person to adjust the lens the reticle is on to bring it into the same focal plane as the target. So in the diagram below Ais the correct setting, B and C are going to cause a parallax issue.

Focus is the sharpness of the reticle in relation to the person's eye. So to get the best possible result you should set the parallax (as i outlined above) and then adjust focus of the ocular lens.

Parallax is often confused with focus. However they are two separate functions/features. For hunting purposes, as said above, they are not vital. The margin for error is so low that a slight misalignment of parallax may not matter. It is also not as important on lower mag scopes. However as parallax can become a bigger problem at higher magnification levels (such as target scopes in excess of say 14-16 power) so it is important to have an adjustment for parallax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Does the ocular lense not give you a crisp reticle only as opposed to the image.

Then is there parralax on a second focal plane scope.

Does the ocular lense not give you a crisp reticle only as opposed to the image.
    Yup. As above:
    Focus is the sharpness of the reticle in relation to the person's eye. So to get the best possible result you should set the parallax (as i outlined above) and then adjust focus of the ocular lens.
    Then is there parralax on a second focal plane scope.
    Yes.

Ye sorry I read you post 3 times after and eventually got what what you were saying.

My fault.

So which scope has the reticle that gets bigger ffp or sfp.

First Focal Plane (FFP).

Ok sorry I was a little confused there is there parralax on a ffp scope. They both prob still do now that I think about it.

ReAson why I ask is I hate the parralax adjustment it's just another spanner in the mix for me. If I ever change my scope I don't want parralax.

Any scope can have parallax issues regardless of it being fixed, variable, SFP, FFP. It all depends on the make/design of the scope.

Parallax adjustment is usually reserved fro high mag scopes as lower ones and fixed usually have a fixed parallax setting. This is not always the case, but it's a "base line".