Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protester brings AK rifle to protest again police brutality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Popescu

The shooting of the homeless man was certainly not justified. In my life, I have never heard a police chief ever admit culpability until their department is taken to court and proved to be in the wrong. The police always, without fail, support the actions of officers. I notice that one of the killers was a policeman who had been dismissed from a different police department for alleged fraud and the Albuquerque Police Department had promised that he would not be authorized to carry a firearm while they awaited his court hearing. I also saw that as well as half a dozen armed policemen on the scene where the mentally ill homeless man was shot to death, there was also a dog handler. When the dog went to attack the victim, he pulled a couple of knives to protect himself and tried to escape. There is no way this killing was lawful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,171 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

The amount of comments talking about the right to 'bare arms'..must love tanning:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

You live in albuquerque?
    Was in santa fe a few years ago for 2 days, lovely women lovely scenery, beautiful place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Didn't realise that Alberquerque was a real place - like Gloccamara!

By the time I make Albuquerque She'll be working

She'll probably stop at lunch - and give me a call

But she'll just hear that phone keep on ringing - off the wall, that's all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Popescu

The FBI are now involved. "The FBI has opened an investigation into the March 16 shooting of 38-year-old James Boyd in the Albuquerque foothills as officials have said he appeared to be surrendering. It marks the first confirmed criminal investigation of Albuquerque police by federal officials, who more than a year ago launched a civil rights probe of the department over allegations of excessive force and a spike in police shootings." (Federal News Radio)
    http://www.federalnewsradio.com/316/3592670/Albuquerque-shooting-recordings-to-be-given-to-FBI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I think the point of the open carry protest is kind of an interesting one...when the police behave in a "shoot first, questions later" would they be less inclined to do so if everyone was carrying or would it be a case of "well, he had a gun"...

In a town that isn't that removed from the Old West, I'm not surprised to see citizens wishing the removal of its peace officers from office, after all Billy the Kid started out as a "Regulator" and sworn deputy...;)

Blay wrote: »
    The amount of comments talking about the right to 'bare arms'..must love tanning:pac:

What about the right to arm bears?

"The right to bear arms", is a metaphor for, "we are all fucking paranoid". Therefore if my hair-trigger is faster than your hair-trigger, it's got to be right.
    What has got in to the American psyche to produce this "normal" thinking?

Old men plan wars, young men die in them ....... WTF! I mean folks, has fast food depleted the thinking process?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Seems to be a string of these events happening for the longest time now. Shoot first, ask questions, then shoot again...

Completely against the average American carrying a gun, by the way. Right to bear arms is BS.

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    "The right to bear arms", is a metaphor for, "we are all fucking paranoid". Therefore if my hair-trigger is faster than your hair-trigger, it's got to be right.
    What has got in to the American psyche to produce this "normal" thinking?

Old men plan wars, young men die in them ....... WTF! I mean folks, has fast food depleted the thinking process?

Yet America gets safer every year? Go figure...

Cydoniac wrote: »
    Seems to be a string of these events happening for the longest time now. Shoot first, ask questions, then shoot again...

Completely against the average American carrying a gun, by the way. Right to bear arms is BS.

But fast draw cops are OK to have them...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Makes me glad to live in Ireland. Despite all the whining, i don't think we have it that bad.

http://new.livestream.com/accounts/6894179/events/2882953?query=albuquerque&cat=event

Live stream...

Guy just got out of a Paintball Service van and yelled "Buy Guns!"

He's also carrying a rifle...and claims he has body armour for sale...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Well holy God, things are gone to wreck.

http://krqe.com/live-streaming/

Local news station streaming..

Lol. High winds in ABQ tonight so the APD just accidentally maced a news crew...:D

Cops are massing up and forming a line in riot gear.

This is getting heavy - cops advancing ordering dispersal.
    Riot in 3...2..

Local news station that got maced is now embargoed and off air.

Orders to disperse being give by the cops.

APD just launched tear gas at protesters.

http://kasa.com/live-stream/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

MadsL wrote: »
    Yet America gets safer every year? Go figure...
    As a matter of interest, what the metric on which being "safer" is based?

I'm not denying that it's probably true in general, but state oppression appears to be a growing phenomenon in the US, from overbudgeted and overactive police forces right up to endemic widespread intrusion by federal bodies like the NSA.

You could bring in an "all offenders are shot on sight" law, and you'll see crime rates plummet. But would you say that people are "safer"? That's really my question. Are people in the US actually safer? And if they are is it coming at the expense of personal freedom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

People make mistakes....and the police are people. But mistakes made with mace or a baton are a lot less likely to be lethal than mistakes made with guns. Its a strong argument against regular police forces being armed. A section of the force should be armed to deal with high threat situations. Regular beat cops should not be.

I'm glad our police force isn't armed. I went to school with a few lads who are now guards and the thought of them being armed is a scary one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Popescu wrote: »
    I also saw that as well as half a dozen armed policemen on the scene where the mentally ill homeless man was shot to death, there was also a dog handler. When the dog went to attack the victim, he pulled a couple of knives to protect himself and tried to escape. There is no way this killing was lawful.

He had the knifes already in his hands before the dog was was sent ,
    the rule never bring a knife to a gunfight should have applied here ,

APD have a horrendous record when it comes to killing and unjustified actions ,
    Including pepper sprayed a ladies nether regions as a punishment,
    Abusing supposed drug suspects including forcing one suspect through 8 internals without a doctor or medic present no drugs were ever found ,
    Multiple supposed justified clean kills by police officers including a few so called suicide's in police custody

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

The police should send in Troy, Gabriella and Sharpay. They know how to get the people of Albuquerque into a happy mood. They could turn a riot in to a flash mob dance thingymajig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

That video is ridiculous. The attempted justification of shooting that man repeatedly is disgusting. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,453 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Gatling wrote: »

Abusing supposed drug suspects including forcing one suspect through 8 internals without a doctor or medic present no drugs were ever found ,
    Multiple supposed justified clean kills by police officers including a few so called suicide's in police custody
    bassically, their a bunch of vermin

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

For I am the mayor of Albuquerque...

PLZZACs.png

The police in the US are becoming militarised, fueling the paranonia that 'Bamas gonna take muh guns, and that he'll do it using these guys who'll roll up on the day in a decommissioned APV brought back from Afghan.

Why that policeman needed a rifle like that to deal with a compliant homeless man I'll never know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

donvito99 wrote: »
    For I am the mayor of Albuquerque...

PLZZACs.png

The police in the US are becoming militarised, fueling the paranonia that 'Bamas gonna take muh guns, and that he'll do it using these guys who'll roll up on the day in a decommissioned APV brought back from Afghanistan

Already happening the department of homeland security have been giving police departments MRAP veichles 8 wheel bomb proof vehicles for the last 2 years ,
    They have also stock piled millions of rounds of ammunition ,enough to fight a couple of world wars ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Local news station that got maced is now embargoed and off air.
    America seems to be on the edge of turning full on fascist. Its scary that the country that has the most powerful military in the world is currently at war with "terror" and scary things in general, wherever they may be! Typically the scariest things seem to pop up in poor countries. .

seamus wrote: »
    As a matter of interest, what the metric on which being "safer" is based?

http://bjs.ojp.usdoj.gov/content/pub/pdf/cv11.pdf
    I'm not denying that it's probably true in general, but state oppression appears to be a growing phenomenon in the US, from overbudgeted and overactive police forces right up to endemic widespread intrusion by federal bodies like the NSA.

You could bring in an "all offenders are shot on sight" law, and you'll see crime rates plummet. But would you say that people are "safer"? That's really my question. Are people in the US actually safer? And if they are is it coming at the expense of personal freedom?

I take your point, whilst crime rates are at a all time low since the 60s and I rarely lock my door these days, there is a societal cost when the cops are more lilkely to shoot an offender than the homeowner who catches him.
    Gatling wrote: »

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 272 ✭✭asteroth

So, my hometown is scene to a protest against the highest rate of police shootings in the US and the sparking incident was this shooting of a homeless man (warning graphic) which the Police Chief claimed was justified. Anonymous just hacked the APD website.

A second day of protest just kicked off and included this guy bringing what looks like an AK platform rifle to the protest.

So AH - 2nd Amendment rights as a means of protest? What could possibly go wrong? It just got dark here so we will see what happens, APD have threatened the crowd with tear gas and are in full riot gear......

News updates at http://krqe.com/

You cnuts execute autistics. You tazer 80 year-olds, you mace and club peacefull demonstrators who are exercising their right of free assembly....that's in the constitution..you don't defend a little hippy girl getting her face rammed into the concrete by a cop with a gun and a at and size 12 boots. BUT....you'll stockpile a load of cartridges in your house and claim to be a freedom warrior...or some sh1t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I can understand why they shot that poor homeless man dead before they handcuffed him, they were just sh1t scared that he might brush off one of them and infect them with his poverty.

Filthy no good chicken **** bastards is all the American police/armed forces are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭truedoom

if they shot him dead...why did they handcuff him afterwards...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

truedoom wrote: »

Just to show they cared, these macho, (often pumped up on steroids) "officers" are afraid of their own shadows and will kill you in a heartbeat if they perceive any threat, handcuffing is just to show that they do it "by the book/code"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

truedoom wrote: »
    He could have been a zombie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

asteroth wrote: »
    You cnuts execute autistics. You tazer 80 year-olds, you mace and club peacefull demonstrators who are exercising their right of free assembly....that's in the constitution..you don't defend a little hippy girl getting her face rammed into the concrete by a cop with a gun and a at and size 12 boots. BUT....you'll stockpile a load of cartridges in your house and claim to be a freedom warrior...or some sh1t.

I'm guessing a bit, but I bet Mads has never executed a autistic person or tazard an oap.

asteroth wrote: »
    You tazer 80 year-olds, you mace and club peacefull demonstrators who are exercising their right of free assembly....that's in the constitution...

Don't remember tazers, mace and clubs in the constitution? Oh wait...

Yes, "we" do. But Canadians club baby seals to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Yes, "we" do. But Canadians club baby seals to death.

how is that comparable in any way?

It is not. Totally the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

That's it, shoot him 5 or 6 times with real bullets and if that doesn't work fire a few bean bags into him to finish him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Land of Freedom!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

....when the police behave in a "shout first, questions later" would they be less inclined to do so if nobody was carrying or would it be a case of "well, nobody had a gun"...

In a town that isn't that removed from the Old West, I'm not surprised to see citizens wishing the removal of its peace officers from office, after all Billy the Kid started out as a "Regulator" and sworn deputy...;)
    There will always be the odd exception, but see what civilisation does. Ye'll get there.

wil wrote: »
    There will always be the odd exception, but see what civilisation does. Ye'll get there.

Yes, because societies with stringent gun control and unarmed cops have no violent crime or shootings :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

'muuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Yes, because societies with stringent gun control and unarmed cops have no violent crime or shootings :rolleyes:

they do have significantly less violent crime and murders than the US

but then so does most of the developed world, along with our smaller prison populations and not executing large amounts of people.

whether all that has anything to do with gun ownership is another matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

that old chestnut.:rolleyes:

But it is nice when you know who the bad guy is BECAUSE he has a gun.

Problem is when the neighbour, friend, ex-wife, grumpy guy down the road, priest, plumber, postman, stalker, schizophrenic, bipolar cyclist, landlord, lawyer,... <snip>
    ...and zoologist are also carrying.

Have a gander. These are up to date figures. Remove the under 14s and the over 55s and the percentage should jump to almost 2%. A terrible indictment for a modern, progressive democracy. The idea of bail? Yes ....... $25K, $50K, $100K for pretty run-of-the-mill stuff. Prisons privatised ......... they really don't want to turn first timers around. Recedivists are what they want. Keep 'em coming in. More moolah!
    A lot of the cops are ex-servicemen. Not exactly the brightest ...... trigger happy ......... and macho. Yes, macho is the name of the game. Pumped up on steroids? Only a rumour!

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/04/23/world/americas/23iht-23prison.12253738.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

As a person who has lived and worked in the US for many years before returning home for family reasons it's sad to see what is in progress over there now. The nation is deeply divided down the middle with the have's and have not's with the have's being protected by a increasingly paranoid police force.

Just watched that video holy jesus what the hell is wrong with these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Why the hell does it take six heavily armed cops to get a homeless man to move on.
    Unbelievable. What a bunch of ****ing nazis. No wonder he wouldn't drop the knife.

Sick fucks.