Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ku Klux Klan

• 30-03-2014 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭

The national directer of the KKK (Imperial Wizard) met with the leader of the NCAAP recently. Apparently they found common ground, the modern Klan respect different cultures and want to coexist, they want people to be proud of being Caucasian (every European from the swarthy Spaniards and Italians to the pale British and Irish) and strongly discourage race mixing.

I remember in 08 they endorsed Obama for the Dem candidacy over Hilary, a woman in the White House was more of a threat than a black man. :pac:

A fascinating organisation to study, especially their foundation after the civil war, and the fact that the group was hijacked by filthy racists in the 20th century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

Ku Klux Klan all that hate in their bones :mad: waste of energy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The national directer of the KKK (Imperial Wizard) met with the leader of the NCAAP recently. Apparently they found common ground, the modern Klan respect different cultures and want to coexist, they want people to be proud of being Caucasian (every European from the swarthy Spaniards and Italians to the pale British and Irish) and strongly discourage race mixing.

I remember in 08 they endorsed Obama for the Dem candidacy over Hilary, a woman in the White House was more of a threat than a black man. :pac:

A fascinating organisation to study, especially their foundation after the civil war, and the fact that the group was hijacked by filthy racists in the 20th century.

It was always racist, so I don't know where you're getting that crap from, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I always found it funny that their leader is called a wizard. For that reason, I could never take them seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Entry requirements into the Klan include: having webbed feet and 11 or more fingers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

What's your point, caller?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Suas11 wrote: »
    I always found it funny that their leader is called a wizard. For that reason, I could never take them seriously.

Local leaders of the KKK used to be called "Exalted Cyclops".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

I like their hats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

They look well in their nun's outfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

wazky wrote: »
    Entry requirements into the Klan include: having webbed feet and 11 or more fingers.

It's not a big redneck thing in America anymore though, listen to the likes of David Duke speak. They don't wear the sheets and funny hats anymore and they don't burn crosses, any affiliate that engages in this activity is thrown out, that's why you still have these extremist lynch mob groups in the southern States.

The modern Klan is trying to drag itself into the 21st century.

It's not a big redneck thing in America anymore though, listen to the likes of David Duke speak. They don't wear the sheets and funny hats anymore and they don't burn crosses, any affiliate that engages in this activity is thrown out, that's why you still have these extremist lynch mob groups in the southern States.

It's called "PR". In the 90's the line was 'lets talk about what racism means' or some such shite, but underneath, its the same oul bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Do they like to march?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Na, it's trying to drag everyone else back a couple of centuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

I was reading a book called "Them: Adventures with Extremists" by Jon Ronson and the author visited the KKK and it was weird, they were going through a re-branding. They only wore the robes and burned the crosses once a year, they were asked not to use racial slurs on KKK grounds (even though some would keep slipping up) and they had PR classes for members. They were doing this because their membership was untenably low and they wanted to attract newcomers.

Ronson was understandably confused and got the impression they were just on their best behaviour for him, confirming this when he came up to them intently discussing the ethnicity of a reporter when they thought he was out of earshot, saying stuff like "she looked south pacific to me" and "really? I thought she was a chink". When they saw him, they looked embarrassed to be caught out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

Weren't they originally set up as anti catholic, Jew and black?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

Are you a member yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

viztopia wrote: »
    Weren't they originally set up as anti catholic, Jew and black?

Like the orange clan up the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The religious laws have been relaxed, a Catholic can join and become a full member.

Their Rasion d'etre in 2014 is to promote the white race in every which they can. Their biggest problem is renegade chapters using their name for criminality and racial attacks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

I remember in 08 they endorsed Obama for the Dem candidacy over Hilary, a woman in the White House was more of a threat than a black man. :pac:.

Hoax, it seems...

http://www.snopes.com/politics/obama/kkk.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

I like how they try to frighten everyone they hate by dressing up as ghosts.

Woooooooooooooooooo!!!!

The religious laws have been relaxed, a Catholic can join and become a full member.

Their Rasion d'etre in 2014 is to promote the white race in every which they can. Their biggest problem is renegade chapters using their name for criminality and racial attacks.

....o jaysus no. They'll have their reputation tarnished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭The Domonator

Imperial Wizard?

stone cold.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Promoting the white race and 'purity' is racist, they're merely masking their racism with nicer language. Their biggest problem is that they're a bunch of racists. Operating from the Ozarks just makes them rather violent as well plus they do have that long history of being violent douches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

wazky wrote: »
    or been a garth books fan:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Two of their most famous members

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Good, they can start by disbanding. No place in the 21st century for such a group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

Corkfeen wrote: »
    Promoting the white race and 'purity' is racist, they're merely masking their racism with nicer language. Their biggest problem is that they're a bunch of racists. Operating from the Ozarks just makes them rather violent as well plus they do have that long history of being violent douches.

Is it only racism if you promote the white race? Or is it ok to promote other races

Discriminating against somone or a group based solely on theyre race is racist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I still think they're full of sheets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

jimboblep wrote: »
    Is it only racism if you promote the white race? Or is it ok to promote other races

Any person or group who 'promotes' the racial 'purity' of any race is racist I'm afraid. How exactly does one 'promote' such a thing? I assume mixed ethnicity relationships/marriages are viewed as a hinderance to the goal of 'racial purity'? Disgusting people who epitomise backward ignorance and stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Chet T16

Say what you like about them but I loved Gravel Pit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

The Klan isn't a single organisation any more, there are many different groups using the name with a variety of ideologies:

http://www.splcenter.org/get-informed/intelligence-files/ideology/ku-klux-klan

All Klan groups are racist. Some are Nazis and / or conspiracy nuts as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

What spec is the wizard and how much deeps does he do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Ignoring the fact that there’s no such thing as race (in scientific terms) there are several holes in the KKK’s philosophy. First point is they accept Spanish and Italians. How can they do that if both peoples arose from an invasion from North African?

My favourite plot hole is that fact that most if not all of the people from the southern states of America have an African ancestor in the last few centuries. This was confirmed by the geneticist Brian Sykes who found that most people in the south had at least one black ancestor. He concluded that under the “One drop rule” (i.e.a person with one drop of African blood) most of the south is black. He later took great pleasure in telling members of the KKK in the south that they were black and should be disbarred from being members.

The other problem I have with the KKK is they preach that whites are some sort of pure race. White people are a mixture of Cro-Magnon peoples Neanderthals and maybe some Homo erectus or Denisnovan peoples. The same goes for Asians. Genetically speaking the African peoples are the purest peoples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

They formed because they opposed the abholition of slavery and wanted to keep black people in their place. They hardly needed to be 'hijacked' by racists. Their sole purpose is and always has been racism.

The second incarnation in the 1920s was more dangerous because they were more organised and had a lot more members, not because they had different beliefs than the first incarnation. At their peak they had about six million members.

If you think their beliefs are any different now then it just means their public relations are working on you.

Having said that I have to admit I always liked the names they give themselves like 'Exalted Cylops', 'Grand Dragon' and 'Imperial Wizard'. It sounds like something from Lord Of The Rings.

If a shiite muslim were allowed to join would he then be called a sheet muslim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    Any person or group who 'promotes' the racial 'purity' of any race is racist I'm afraid. How exactly does one 'promote' such a thing? I assume mixed ethnicity relationships/marriages are viewed as a hinderance to the goal of 'racial purity'? Disgusting people who epitomise backward ignorance and stupidity.

Thats not my point what I was responding to was that the promotion of a particular race is racist, its not,if it was things like affirmative action are inherently racist
    I have no problem with people being able to be proud of being any race and being proud of the fact.
    Its all contextual of course but promotion can be a positive thing if done right

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 383 ✭✭Mike747

jimboblep wrote: »

There is absolutely no problem with taking pride in the white race. I'm tired of all the white guilt bs. Were whites the only group to practice slavery? Are we really responsible for all the problems in world? Read some feminist/liberal blogs; they believe every white person (or more often, white men) to be extraordinarily powerful and wealthy, who wake up every morning wondering how they can put down coloured people.

The funny thing their ramblings only serve to swell the ranks of the far right.

LiamoSail wrote: »
    Like the orange clan up the road?

Shockingly, they both have strong links going back to the 19th Century when many KKK clans drew influence from what the OO was at.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 383 ✭✭Mike747

Reminds me of the American Nazi Party and the Nation of Islam meeting during the 60s. They both had the same agenda; the separation of the races and a mutual dislike of the Jews.

http://i.imgur.com/UWrri.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

As another member mentioned above, there isn't one large Klan structure. The Klan is fractured into different entities, with different leaders and headquarters. When I lived in Illinois, I wasn't too far from one of the national headquarters set up in Indiana. There is a lot of controversy surrounding the Confederate Flag, but if you come from the Midwest or North, you knew that a Confederate Flag on a pickup truck signified that the driver was affiliated with the Klan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

It was always about white supremacy, right from the start.

I have visited the birthplace of the Klan. It began in a small-town in Tennessee, right after the Civil War. Confederate soldiers hated the fact that they lost and Blacks were gaining political and social ground during the Reconstruction Era. They dressed up as ghosts of fallen soldiers and haunted Black families in the area.

Back in the early 1900s, the Klan was a recognized student fraternity on a few college campuses. My own university had a Klan fraternity that had its own frat house and they sponsored spring Minstrel Shows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

David Duke is a hateful character. Can't believe he's who you are trying to push as the acceptable face of the KKK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

The KKK
    A great bunch of lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

As another member mentioned above, there isn't one large Klan structure. The Klan is fractured into different entities, with different leaders and headquarters. When I lived in Illinois, I wasn't too far from one of the national headquarters set up in Indiana. There is a lot of controversy surrounding the Confederate Flag, but if you come from the Midwest or North, you knew that a Confederate Flag on a pickup truck signified that the driver was affiliated with the Klan.

Jesus I hope not Killer Wench! Most of the trucks driven by rednecks (maybe 10%) around here sprout Confederate flags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

The KKK manifesto here

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Jesus I hope not Killer Wench! Most of the trucks driven by rednecks (maybe 10%) around here sprout Confederate flags.

Geography matters. Descendants of Confederate soldiers are scattered across the country, but people in the South hold a different view of the Confederate Battle Flag than people in the North. For those with the stickers on their car living in the North, it signified an ideology where as those in the South argued that it was about heritage.

Personally, I don't know why people want to claim that particular heritage. It's an outright acknowledgment that your ancestors were traitors to the United States of America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

There is a lot of controversy surrounding the Confederate Flag, but if you come from the Midwest or North, you knew that a Confederate Flag on a pickup truck signified that the driver was affiliated with the Klan.

Jaysus, someone better tell the Cork GAA supporters :D

They use the Empire of Japan flag too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭LostinKildare

OP you are wrong on so many levels.
    Other posters have pointed out that the endorsement of Obama story is false --- based on a satire that some people believed(!).

And this:

Uh, the KKK was founded by filthy racists --- Confederates who couldn't accept the loss of the war and terrorized the South during Reconstruction, burning out and murdering freed blacks and white Northern "carpetbaggers" who were trying to enforce the new order. Filthy racism is the KKK's raison d'etre.
    The national directer of the KKK (Imperial Wizard) met with the leader of the NCAAP recently.

There is no national director of the KKK. There is no national organization; there are about 30 separate groups (with different names) across the US. There was an ill-judged meeting between a representative of the NAACP chapter and an "organizer" from Montana for one of those disparate KKK groups, the United Klans of America, John Abarr. Formerly, Abarr was the campaign manager of a failed congressional run by a white separatist who had proposed a Constitutional amendment to deport all non-white people from the US and reserve US citizenship to whites only.

Abarr's group, the United Klans of America, used to be one of the largest Klan groups until it was bankrupted by a civil judgement that it was responsible for the 1981 lynching murder of Michael Donald, a 19-year-old black kid who happened to be walking along the side of the road in Alabama. The group was also responsible for the notorious bombing of a church in Birmingham that killed 4 little girls at Sunday school, and the murder of Viola Liuzzo, a white civil rights worker.

There's an article about the meeting here:
    http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2013-09-05/news/sns-rt-us-usa-klan-wyoming-20130905_1_john-abarr-naacp-leader-casper-star-tribune

At the meeting, Abarr, asked what he liked about being in the Klan, said:
    "I like it because you wear robes, and get out and light crosses, and have secret handshakes. I like being in the Klan - I sort of like it that people think I'm some sort of outlaw."

Which contradicts this:

Yes they do! Of course they do, they love that ****! Just type KKK into the search bar at YouTube and view loads of videos of RECENT meetings, rallys, and cross burnings in full regalia. And as explained above, there is no main, central KKK organization to be thrown out of. There are no "affiliates" or
    Their biggest problem is renegade chapters using their name for criminality and racial attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

It's about time someone decided to promote the white race. You never heat anything about them anymore.
    Maybe it'll encourage other races to become white.
    Clever bunch, clearly, the KKK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Is there an Irish Chapter of the KKK? Sounds like somthing you might find down a boreen in deepest Wexford, or up the side of a hill in Louth. Be a bitch keeping the sheets clean in all the muck tho. And the constant rain might make burning crosses a bit of a lottery.

Go a little further north..