Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday Night Show 29/03/14 @ 9.55pm

• 29-03-2014 1:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭

Coming up on the show this week, The Saturday Night Show, the No Makeup Selfie https://www.facebook.com/#!/hashtag/nomakeupselfies?source=feed_text&story_id=10152485109843296 craze goes to the next level when Daniella Moyles, Nuala Carey, Amanda Brunker and Norah Casey will appear on the programme without make-up, all to help the Irish Cancer Society.

Nell McCafferty will be talking to Brendan about regrets, feminism and lessons she's learned as she turns 70.

After his candid video last week Eoghan McDermott on why he self-harmed.
    (The Voice of Ireland presenter)

Cheltenham Gold Cup winner Davy Russell will be talking about his recent success and the journey that got him there.

Benny Lewis who learned ten languages in the past ten years will be in to tell us how.

Up and coming Morrissey and Marshall will be providing the music with their song "Pack Up Lady".

Tune in at 9.55pm and enjoy!!

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQujLeiNHT7SJBh43oAFppYm0HK_UeIhSDCBGgjfz53aAJC-DHVDg

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT8z-LZ-pQ1-c3d6Fjns9vEN-mL9KoRk6EtM72tkff_Va_KWC3V

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Ah, lovely puppy and kitty :)

Nell McCafferty on a live chat show :eek:. If she doesn't behave herself it could be the end of Brendan. If I was running the SNS I wouldn't let her on air

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/politics/harney-settles-newstalk-libel-case-for-450k-153521.html
    FORMER health minister Mary Harney has won a settlement worth close to €450,000 from Newstalk after she was libelled by a contributor to a programme on the radio station.

The comments about Ms Harney were made by journalist Nell McCafferty on the Tom Dunne show in March 2010.

• Registered Users Posts: 72,140 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Kitteh is praying that Twink never makes an appearance on the SNS again :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

cofy wrote: »
    The Saturday Night Show, the No Makeup Selfie https://www.facebook.com/#!/hashtag/nomakeupselfies?source=feed_text&story_id=10152485109843296 craze goes to the next level when Daniella Moyles, Nuala Carey, Amanda Brunker and Norah Casey will appear on the programme without make-up, all to help the Irish Cancer Society.

The brave women of the world, prepared to face the world without painting their faces... Why is this being made out as if it is some huge concession and generous act? I leave the house every day without makeup, why is nobody slapping me on the back...

*disclaimer: I do wear makeup leaving the house every second Saturday, but that's my own business*.
    Nell McCafferty will be talking to Brendan about regrets, feminism and lessons she's learned as she turns 70.

I was wondering why the show was starting so late.. 25 minute delay at the insistence of the RTE legal team..
    After his candid video last week Eoghan McDermott on why he self-harmed. (The Voice of Ireland presenter)

Eoghan McDermott causes ME to self harm, every time I see him on screen..

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭NormanNicetouch

There must be a queue of minor celebrities, models and kids' tv presenters outside RTE and stretching back down Nutley Lane every Friday and Saturday night, all desperate to get on to reveal all about their inner headstorms. Because nobody ever talks about it loike, Brendan. Yawn.

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭NormanNicetouch

Nell McCafferty might be worth a look. She's one of those people who always seems completely rat-arsed even when they're stone cold sober. The rest I can do without.

That's the Eoghan McDermott video...

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

It's a shame that on the same show in which Nell discusses feminism, four other women will be appearing with no make up as if that's a shocking thing to do. They will probably be described as 'brave' for doing so.

I think many women wear too much make up, and the undertone of this selfie campaign is that it's crazy not to cover your face before you face the outside world. Maybe I am missing the point.

Still, at least it seems to be raising cash for charity.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

Why do people put photographs of cats and dogs on this thread, and on the Late Late show thread?
    It wasn't a custom a year ago....

Why do people put photographs of cats and dogs on this thread, and on the Late Late show thread?

To counterbalance the impending misery porn contained within both shows...a ill' squee lessens the pain :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Because they make some people smile:).

• Registered Users Posts: 19,588 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Because they make some people smile:).

And may I say they're extra cute today.

:-)

I agree completely. The standards have slipped hugely. I mean if you look at the title of this thread it will show you just how much the standards have slipped..

7hTKZk.jpg

I might be a bit late for the thread tonight as I have to help David Beckham organise his fridge..

Duly noted CH:D:D:D

Evening all! :)

Here is my selfie without make-up...be kind

tom%20jones-thumb-440x520.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

S'up

efb wrote: »
    S'up

Just hangin', bra!

(This Gallo Cabernet Saugvinon is pretty strong).

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Johnnythefox4

OMG the bravery of those women going on TV without make up. I mean they might as well be going naked. So so brave :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

14WSP001.jpg

X 2 :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,588 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Not sure if I should watch tonight.

Selfies? An absurd combination of self importance and cry for attention. No make up? Ha! How very brave! I know it's for charity, and in no way linked to shameless self promotion, but it really boggles the mind that anyone would think that they're so important that complete strangers should give a rat's ass what they look like without makeup. Jeasus.

Deep breath, Donie, it'll be okay.

Deep breath..

Hang on was that fella off the voice not on this very show a few weeks ago trying to associate himself with Niall Horan??

Gonna take more than deep breaths to get through this...

*hits the fridge*

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Women without make-up....Big deal....:(

I hope Nell gives them lackery in the Green Room...

"Selfies to a new level".....

Unless they are naked I can't see how this is going to go to a new level/entertain....

After that rant....Great OP cofy....:)

AND

Good evening everyone.......:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Nell McCafferty, Eoghan McDermott talking about self-harm, and Amanda Bleeding Brunker trying to say "I'm not that awful, you know" by not wearing make-up?

*sigh* :(

Think I'll give it a miss once again, guys, and catch up on this thread later. :)

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Not sure if I should watch tonight.

Selfies? An absurd combination of self importance and cry for attention. No make up? Ha! How very brave! I know it's for charity, and in no way linked to shameless self promotion, but it really boggles the mind that anyone would think that they're so important that complete strangers should give a rat's ass what they look like without makeup. Jeasus.

Deep breath, Donie, it'll be okay.

Deep breath..

Hang on was that fella off the voice not on this very show a few weeks ago trying to associate himself with Niall Horan??

*hits the fridge*

I know what you mean, Donie...there has been a lot of brouhaha about it...critics saying people should simply donate to the text number without having to post a selfie - but then again, it is raising awareness, which can only be good :)

Garda Zing!

Brendan O Connor looks like he has HUGE hands!!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Something ironic about a few women appearing without makeup on the same night as Nell McCafferty. She's been on telly for years without makeup.

I'm allergic to Nell but looking forward to Davy Russell.

Yer man who learned ten languages might be interesting too. I'd love to learn a couple more myself.

Ol' Donie wrote: »

*hits the fridge*

I googled images of Eoghan and the first image was a picture of Niall Horan:confused::confused:

HIYO!

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭fatalll

Brave for not wearing makeup? Are ye serious...
    I can think of many things more brave..

weak