Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Define a Drunken Mistake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

OK - Someone puts themselves into a situation where the only reasonable thing that would happen is that they would cheat and they swear blind that nothing happened and that they were just talking and then in the ensuing "discussion" they say that was a drunken mistake.......... Was that a slip implying something more than just talking happened? Sorry if I'm not making much sense.

Depends on why you consider cheating to be the only thing that would happen? Fair enough if they were naked in bed together or something but why so sure that they would cheat in the situation you're referring to?

If someone does something behind your back knowing full well they wouldn't dream of doing it if you were watching them, and then they go and blame it on alcohol, I think they're being a bit of a dick tbh. Not necessarily cheating or doing wrong, but they should just be a grown up about it and take responsibility for their actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

OK - Someone puts themselves into a situation where the only reasonable thing that would happen is that they would cheat and they swear blind that nothing happened and that they were just talking and then in the ensuing "discussion" they say that was a drunken mistake.......... Was that a slip implying something more than just talking happened? Sorry if I'm not making much sense.

That's gas. Listen, if someone is telling you they somehow couldn't avoid cheating 'cos they got drunk and fell into someone's fanny, you'd be a worse eejit to listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,283 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The modern mortification after being drunk is either being tagged on facebook in photos from the night before that you don't remember being taken, or receiving a reply to a PM on facebook that you don't remember initiating :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Something you wouldn't have done without the influence of Alcohol...Alcohol may be the reason for it, but its certainly not a excuse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭galwayredgirl

Tasden wrote: »
    Depends on why you consider cheating to be the only thing that would happen? Fair enough if they were naked in bed together or something but why so sure that they would cheat in the situation you're referring to?

If someone does something behind your back knowing full well they wouldn't dream of doing it if you were watching them, and then they go and blame it on alcohol, I think they're being a bit of a dick tbh. Not necessarily cheating or doing wrong, but they should just be a grown up about it and take responsibility for their actions.

Let's just say that usual reason anyone would be in the position said individual was in would be to get it on - but they said they were just talking and then in the following argument while still denying anything happened said something like it was a drunken mistake.

Should I believe the "nothing happened" or should I read more into the "it was a drunken mistake"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

Should I believe the "nothing happened" or should I read more into the "it was a drunken mistake"?

If nothing happened, then what was the drunken mistake? I'd believe nothing from anyone who was speaking out of both sides of their mouth, they're trying to say whatever gets them what they want, so long as it's not the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

Let's just say that usual reason anyone would be in the position said individual was in would be to get it on - but they said they were just talking and then in the following argument while still denying anything happened said something like it was a drunken mistake.

You should talk to your partner. And if you don't trust him then what's the point in analysing the whole situation, its not gonna change the fact that you don't trust him to be in certain situations without cheating (unless, like I said, they were naked in bed or something similar), hardly an ideal relationship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

Something that you did when you were pissed, that you wouldn't do sober and now you regret it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    I blame the recent push towards drinking in moderation for drunken mistakes.

When I was younger the idea was to get as drunk as possible in as short a time as possible, thereby shortening the critical window of drunken mistakes. This occurs after you've had a few but before you're too drunk to be capable of doing anything, embarrassing or otherwise. The resulting blackout from the ingestion of copious amounts of alcohol also had a double benefit, in that the memory loss made it impossible to remember any mistakes which had occurred previously.

Nowadays folk stop after a couple of drinks, inhibitions eased enough to make regrettable comments or an ill-judged pass at the office secretary, but not enough alcohol consumed to spend the night puking in the jacks or comatose in a ditch out of harms way and certainly not enough for plausible deniability as a result of amnesia for their actions.

faultless logic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

It's not that hard to define. It consists of 2 parts, the drunken part and the mistake part.

The drunken part refers to making the mistake while under the influence of alcohol.

A mistake is doing something in error, however a mistake can be a very subjective term.

Anyway, kick him/her to the curb. If alcohol is being used as an excuse to justify a mistake then it's obvious they know they were in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭17larsson

Right so if I'm reading between the lines you found your other half in a bedroom alone with another girl? He says nothing happened but then why were they in the bedroom. He then let slip that it was a drunken mistake but you're wondering is he referring to being alone with this other girl or actually doing something with her.

I have obviously no idea of the personality of this lad so it's hard to know but in his situation he could have meant the drunken mistake to be in a room alone with the girl but you know him better than anyone here. If I got the scenario right then he's got a job to convince you nothing happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's not a mistake made while drunk, it's a mistake made because you're drunk.

That is, it's a mistake or a bad decision which you probably wouldn't have made when sober. It's not an excuse, it's more an explanation, though it is partially intended to try and save face; "I'm normally a perfectly nice guy"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

There is no such a thing as a drunken mistake. People do things under the influence of alcohol that they might not do when they are sober because alcohol lowers their inhibitions. These are things they would like to do or have considered/ thought about but don't have the bottle to do it sober.

Alcohol doesn't make you do things you would never dream of doing otherwise there would be carnage every weekend.

RoboRat wrote: »

Alcohol doesn't make you do things you would never dream of doing otherwise there would be carnage every weekend.

The mistake part might equally refer to the action or the getting caught.

Was it a mistake that he did it, or a mistake he made that got him caught?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Candie wrote: »
    The mistake part might equally refer to the action or the getting caught.

Was it a mistake that he did it, or a mistake he made that got him caught?

Oooo nice thinking.....you'd make a great Jessica Fletcher :D

kfallon wrote: »
    Oooo nice thinking.....you'd make a great Jessica Fletcher :D

OMG that's my theme tune! :)

Candie wrote: »
    OMG that's my theme tune! :)

Yeah....I think it's in my head now for the rest of the day :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

That's gas. Listen, if someone is telling you they somehow couldn't avoid cheating 'cos they got drunk and fell into someone's fanny, you'd be a worse eejit to listen.

It was only resting in her account....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

His mistake may have been putting himself in the position in the first place?

sopretty wrote: »
    His mistake may have been putting himself in the position in the first place?

Hehehe......'position'

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Alcohol can generally bring out the worst in some people. I've had to take some grief before off family and friends but I tend to look past it unless it turns into a pattern or they get physically violent.

Cheating is a whole other ballpark but otherwise, I can be quite forgiving to drunken idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

GUILTY! Off with his head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Just wondering what peoples opinions are on what exactly is meant by "It was a drunken mistake"

Thanks.

A piss poor excuse when you're caught asking young girls have they ever been spanked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

RoboRat wrote: »
    There is no such a thing as a drunken mistake. People do things under the influence of alcohol that they might not do when they are sober because alcohol lowers their inhibitions. These are things they would like to do or have considered/ thought about but don't have the bottle to do it sober.
    In vino veritas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,217 ✭✭✭✭biko

Definition if possible please and thanks
    He's not that into you sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Bafucin

Just wondering what peoples opinions are on what exactly is meant by "It was a drunken mistake"

Thanks.

Something you wish to blame alcohol on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

iMac_Hunt wrote: »
    Just because he was drunk, it does not excuse him from shagging the other girl.

/Thread
    Only thanking you for your username, excellent :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Wulfie

Thanks.

On an evening pub crawl with friends 24 years ago. One pub we threw bits of cactus about the place .
    Later outside another pub , I climbed to the top of a telegraph post .I'm not sure if I blacked out or just slipped, but I fell face first onto the footpath. My companions reckoned (just thinking if it were today some one would have caught it on a phone) ,I landed on my right cheek (face) then chest and I bounced 2 foot off the floor,so they reckon.
    The story goes on a bit I drifted in and out of consciousness outside the pub and in the ambulance. I woke up in a white place with people all wearing white. When I asked where I was,they asked where I thought I was . Turned out I was in Cork Regional .
    I broke my right cheek bone,my right wrist and a few ribs . And I was pulling cactus spines from my tongue and other parts for weeks after.

What was the subject of this thread??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

I'm kind of getting annoyed at the people who are saying that some thinks can be classified as drunken mistakes but others can’t. Why do you get to draw an arbitrary line between what is a drunken mistake and what isn’t?

If someone wouldn't do something sober and did it when drunk and regret having done it when they sober up again then it was a drunken mistake.

Alcohol dose change people’s personalities even if it is just lowering you inhibitions. Your inhibitions are a pretty big part of your personality!

I have often done and said things drunk that I wouldn’t say or do sober. It may have been that I thought it was funny when drunk and sober know it isn’t or I thought it was a good idea and sober I don’t, but the fact remains I wouldn’t do it sober and regret having done it so think of it as a mistake ( a drunken mistake). I haven’t cheated on anyone drunk or sober but I could see how someone who is drunk might. Do I think it is excusable? No if they have that little control over themselves then they shouldn’t drink and what’s to stop them doing the same next time there drunk. But do I think it’s a drunken mistake? Yes.

I'm a jolly drunk must of the time and come out of my shell a bit more and don’t over think everything I say so it normally works out well for me but occasionally not and I make a drunken mistake. I don’t expect to be absolved of any wrongdoings when I sober up because they were drunken mistakes I was drunk and nobody forced me to drink but I wouldn’t normally do some of the things sober I do when drunk.

The only time you could really trust that someone who makes a drunken mistake wouldn’t do it again though is if they never drink again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

It means, it was a great idea last night but now that I have to face the consequences of my actions in the cold light of day without alcohol to help me, I'm gonna be a pussy and blame it cos I'm not man enough.