Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Define a Drunken Mistake

• 25-03-2014 10:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭

Just wondering what peoples opinions are on what exactly is meant by "It was a drunken mistake"

Thanks.

Something you really regret/were caught doing while under the influence of copious quantities of alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

I shagged your best mate, but I had had a drink so I expect absolution.

Are you looking for it's definition or opinions on it's quality as an excuse for bad behaviour OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭flutered

a new one i heard recently, a lass i know claimed to have a work related accident, it seems she got preggers by some one at work not the oh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Something regrettable you did while you were polluted. As excuses go, it's a pretty bad one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

It's a pretty straight forward sentence.

Do you need a translation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭galwayredgirl

Candie wrote: »
    Are you looking for it's definition or opinions on it's quality as an excuse for bad behaviour OP?

Definition if possible please and thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭iMac_Hunt

Just because he was drunk, it does not excuse him from shagging the other girl.

/Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

provided you havent ruined anyones life its a situation that you normally wouldnt find yourself in however have by being intoxicated.

If you have ruined somebodies life then it wasnt me and I wasn't even out the same night

Definition if possible please and thanks

Drunken mistake = Mistake made when drunk.

Fairly self explanatory I would have thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭wilser

Going for the pink but potting the brown.
    now that's a drunken mistake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

wilser wrote: »
    Going for the pink but potting the brown.
    now that's a drunken mistake

You play snooker when you get locked? You're now the classiest person I know :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Garrigai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

My threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If ever there was an appropriate thread to use an ever popular reply relating to ones mother, it's this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

Just wondering what peoples opinions are on what exactly is meant by "It was a drunken mistake"

Thanks.

A drunken mistake: walking into the ladies/men's toilet (whichever one is the wrong one according to your gender)while absolutely hammered and not realising / Putting sugar on your chips in Abrakebabra at 4.30 am / getting some wee wee on your jeans because you swayed a little while wee-ing while drunk.

Not a drunken mistake:
    calling your partner a b*stard or bitch and generally being abusive, then blaming it on the drink when you sober up / sleeping with or shifting someone else while you have a partner or know they have one / generally being a dickhead and doing something you "normally wouldn't" do without drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Thanks.

A mistake made whilst drunk.

Am I missing something here? Do you what a deep philosophical debate on that quote or.....??? How people perceive that quote??? I am confuzzled. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

My threads.

You buy all your clothes when drunk??? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

kfallon wrote: »
    You buy all your clothes when drunk??? :eek:

Have you seen my wardrobe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭smoking_kills

Mary Harney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

There are no "drunken mistakes", as an earlier poster pointed out there are drunken accidents that you could class as mistakes. You know when stupidity plays a factor. Things like flushing the loo thinking that will get your phone back, or finding 50 quid in the loo buying shots for everyone and then realising you have lost 50 quid that you needed for tomorrow. Those are all accidents that can be mainly blamed on drink, drink makes simple things tough and simple problems really fecking hard at time.

If you say you made a "drunken mistake" after getting with someone you are just looking for a reason to make things ok in your head. If thats what you want to do grand but you are just lying to yourself. There was a reason it happened and it sure as hell wasn't drinks fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

I would define it as shorthand for pathetically attempting to excuse behaviour which ruined your career/life/family/car/underwear and the real meaning is "I am an idiot and it came to the surface when drunk, but I want you to ignore the fact that I drank voluntarily and beyond my tolerance".

Have you seen my wardrobe?

Fitted jocks nothing but fitted jocks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

I blame the recent push towards drinking in moderation for drunken mistakes.

When I was younger the idea was to get as drunk as possible in as short a time as possible, thereby shortening the critical window of drunken mistakes. This occurs after you've had a few but before you're too drunk to be capable of doing anything, embarrassing or otherwise. The resulting blackout from the ingestion of copious amounts of alcohol also had a double benefit, in that the memory loss made it impossible to remember any mistakes which had occurred previously.

Nowadays folk stop after a couple of drinks, inhibitions eased enough to make regrettable comments or an ill-judged pass at the office secretary, but not enough alcohol consumed to spend the night puking in the jacks or comatose in a ditch out of harms way and certainly not enough for plausible deniability as a result of amnesia for their actions.

maguic24 wrote: »
    A mistake made whilst drunk.

Am I missing something here? Do you what a deep philosophical debate on that quote or.....??? How people perceive that quote??? I am confuzzled. :confused:

OK - Someone puts themselves into a situation where the only reasonable thing that would happen is that they would cheat and they swear blind that nothing happened and that they were just talking and then in the ensuing "discussion" they say that was a drunken mistake.......... Was that a slip implying something more than just talking happened? Sorry if I'm not making much sense.

What did Chuck do this time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

something you did because you made a silly drunken decision or two.

you dont DO the act/mistake because of being drunk, you regret the decision process more than the act.

the act would generally be something you would do anyway, but booze gives you the bravado to carry it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

A drunken mistake is just a mistake that was made while drunk.
    As pointed out earlier: it's not an excuse for being an abusive, cheating, dick.

Walking home and bumping into a car = drunken mistake
    Deciding to drive while drunk = not a mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

I'm a bit confused, did said person cheat or not?

Cheating isn't a drunken mistake. If you can't handle your drink, don't drink. If you think you are likely to cheat when you are drunk, break up with your OH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

Why would the only reasonable thing that would happen be to cheat OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

Depends on why you consider cheating to be the only thing that would happen? Fair enough if they were naked in bed together or something but why so sure that they would cheat in the situation you're referring to?

If someone does something behind your back knowing full well they wouldn't dream of doing it if you were watching them, and then they go and blame it on alcohol, I think they're being a bit of a dick tbh. Not necessarily cheating or doing wrong, but they should just be a grown up about it and take responsibility for their actions.

That's gas. Listen, if someone is telling you they somehow couldn't avoid cheating 'cos they got drunk and fell into someone's fanny, you'd be a worse eejit to listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The modern mortification after being drunk is either being tagged on facebook in photos from the night before that you don't remember being taken, or receiving a reply to a PM on facebook that you don't remember initiating :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Something you wouldn't have done without the influence of Alcohol...Alcohol may be the reason for it, but its certainly not a excuse

Tasden wrote: »
    Depends on why you consider cheating to be the only thing that would happen? Fair enough if they were naked in bed together or something but why so sure that they would cheat in the situation you're referring to?

If someone does something behind your back knowing full well they wouldn't dream of doing it if you were watching them, and then they go and blame it on alcohol, I think they're being a bit of a dick tbh. Not necessarily cheating or doing wrong, but they should just be a grown up about it and take responsibility for their actions.

Let's just say that usual reason anyone would be in the position said individual was in would be to get it on - but they said they were just talking and then in the following argument while still denying anything happened said something like it was a drunken mistake.

Should I believe the "nothing happened" or should I read more into the "it was a drunken mistake"?

If nothing happened, then what was the drunken mistake? I'd believe nothing from anyone who was speaking out of both sides of their mouth, they're trying to say whatever gets them what they want, so long as it's not the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

Let's just say that usual reason anyone would be in the position said individual was in would be to get it on - but they said they were just talking and then in the following argument while still denying anything happened said something like it was a drunken mistake.

You should talk to your partner. And if you don't trust him then what's the point in analysing the whole situation, its not gonna change the fact that you don't trust him to be in certain situations without cheating (unless, like I said, they were naked in bed or something similar), hardly an ideal relationship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

Something that you did when you were pissed, that you wouldn't do sober and now you regret it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    I blame the recent push towards drinking in moderation for drunken mistakes.

When I was younger the idea was to get as drunk as possible in as short a time as possible, thereby shortening the critical window of drunken mistakes. This occurs after you've had a few but before you're too drunk to be capable of doing anything, embarrassing or otherwise. The resulting blackout from the ingestion of copious amounts of alcohol also had a double benefit, in that the memory loss made it impossible to remember any mistakes which had occurred previously.

Nowadays folk stop after a couple of drinks, inhibitions eased enough to make regrettable comments or an ill-judged pass at the office secretary, but not enough alcohol consumed to spend the night puking in the jacks or comatose in a ditch out of harms way and certainly not enough for plausible deniability as a result of amnesia for their actions.

faultless logic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

It's not that hard to define. It consists of 2 parts, the drunken part and the mistake part.

The drunken part refers to making the mistake while under the influence of alcohol.

A mistake is doing something in error, however a mistake can be a very subjective term.

Anyway, kick him/her to the curb. If alcohol is being used as an excuse to justify a mistake then it's obvious they know they were in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭17larsson

Right so if I'm reading between the lines you found your other half in a bedroom alone with another girl? He says nothing happened but then why were they in the bedroom. He then let slip that it was a drunken mistake but you're wondering is he referring to being alone with this other girl or actually doing something with her.

I have obviously no idea of the personality of this lad so it's hard to know but in his situation he could have meant the drunken mistake to be in a room alone with the girl but you know him better than anyone here. If I got the scenario right then he's got a job to convince you nothing happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's not a mistake made while drunk, it's a mistake made because you're drunk.

That is, it's a mistake or a bad decision which you probably wouldn't have made when sober. It's not an excuse, it's more an explanation, though it is partially intended to try and save face; "I'm normally a perfectly nice guy"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

There is no such a thing as a drunken mistake. People do things under the influence of alcohol that they might not do when they are sober because alcohol lowers their inhibitions. These are things they would like to do or have considered/ thought about but don't have the bottle to do it sober.

Alcohol doesn't make you do things you would never dream of doing otherwise there would be carnage every weekend.

RoboRat wrote: »

Alcohol doesn't make you do things you would never dream of doing otherwise there would be carnage every weekend.

The mistake part might equally refer to the action or the getting caught.

Was it a mistake that he did it, or a mistake he made that got him caught?

The mistake part might equally refer to the action or the getting caught.

Was it a mistake that he did it, or a mistake he made that got him caught?

Oooo nice thinking.....you'd make a great Jessica Fletcher :D

kfallon wrote: »
    Oooo nice thinking.....you'd make a great Jessica Fletcher :D

OMG that's my theme tune! :)

Yeah....I think it's in my head now for the rest of the day :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

That's gas. Listen, if someone is telling you they somehow couldn't avoid cheating 'cos they got drunk and fell into someone's fanny, you'd be a worse eejit to listen.

It was only resting in her account....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

His mistake may have been putting himself in the position in the first place?

sopretty wrote: »
    His mistake may have been putting himself in the position in the first place?

Hehehe......'position'

:P