Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farm accident stories...be careful folks!!

• 22-03-2014 11:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭

Thought it might be a good idea for people to share there stories of near accidents or lucky escapes on the farm as it might open everybody's eyes to how dangerous farming is...and to stop taking risks..

had a heifer try to jump over my neighbour today as he was trying to change her direction, she knocked him to the ground and narrowly missed standing on him(thank god)..She then proceeded to hit a old gate off it's hindges like it wasn't there.. Could of ended a lot worse!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,357 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Got pinned to a corner of a pen one time by a springer. Lucky to get my hands out to her head before she struck and I suffered a sore wrist rather than broken ribs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Good idea.
    Nearly feel through a skylight when was about 10. Only for the father catching me. 20ft plus of a drop.
    Crashed quad into a stake and flew up in air and fell on my neck. Lucky to be alive.
    Clearing a wood when I was about 14 and lad on. Digger was pulling out trees with a chain I was standing on one he was about to pull and didn't know. Bang 30ft in the air and landed on my collerbone and broke it and damaged my back.
    Plus loads of other minor ones.
    Dangerous vocation when ye think about it.
    Have had a good few kicks in the head also off cows

• Registered Users Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

Before I moved here I had only experienced handling Jersy cows, they could be heading full pelt at me, all you had to do was stand there with arms out stetched and they'd stop.

We had a couple of limo heifers, they were not keen on handling, thenwe let out the donkey with them, and he thought he chased them both ragged, trying to mount them, he grabbed one of them biting its nexk as theydo. He went llike an express train and cleared a two foot sone wall topped with 3 foot sheep fencing into next doors field.

The neighbour helped me drive him out into his drive and he ran down to the house, he came charging back up and I stood there with my arms out stretched, I was thinking I'll showoff my skills, John Joe roared get out of its effing way. I stepped sideways I'd have been seriously injured in my ignorance, I was shaking like a leaf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

broken ankle
    dislocated knee'
    broken ribs
    stitches in arm and over eye
    concussion in eye
    ringworm
    injected myself with mycotil -in error- very serious

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Henwin

Great thread.
    Something that always annoys me bout farm accidents is that they are rarely reported in the mainstream media. Why is this?
    If there was a workplace accident in any other industry like a building site or factory and a worker dies it is all over the news and an investigation follows.
    But if an accident happens on a farm it doesn't even make the local radio news even though it is still a workplace accident.
    There are roughly 21 deaths every year on farms, if every death is reported in the media surely farmers become more aware of the dangers and thus could save lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Jezzz some list so far, are yas sure an officejobs wouldnt be a better bet! My view on all of this, I think farming can be a tough enough job at times anyways, not to mind the risks and hazards we all seem to accept day in day out. Where will it all end I don't know, plenty of H&S and red tape maybe, but what price can you really put on your health? I guess its your opinion on farming, is it just a job and means to an end moneywise for you, or a way of life where you accept the hazards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

Henwin wrote: »
    Great thread.
    Something that always annoys me bout farm accidents is that they are rarely reported in the mainstream media. Why is this?
    If there was a workplace accident in any other industry like a building site or factory and a worker dies it is all over the news and an investigation follows.
    But if an accident happens on a farm it doesn't even make the local radio news even though it is still a workplace accident.
    There are roughly 21 deaths every year on farms, if every death is reported in the media surely farmers become more aware of the dangers and thus could save lives.

I noticed this also, and if they are reported on it is very brief, ETTG does its best but that's about it...
    Investigation,
    Actors,and
    Reconstruction of the event and show to Farmers is the only way to go I think..

• Registered Users Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

While reversing the quad out of the corner of a field, where two drains meet, skidded into the drain . Some how was flung off, and ended up standing against the far bank of the drain, up against a whitethorn bush. Water was 4 foot deep, and my foot was pinned down in the muddy bottom by the handlebar. Wheels of the quad (300 HONDA) were 6 inches under the water level. Climbed out, and walked up to the house, stripped off in the yard and hosed down, then 10 minutes in the shower. Wasn't the better for weeks, kept thinking things like " I could have been buried a week by now etc." be careful folks

biddy2013 wrote: »
    broken ankle
    dislocated knee'
    broken ribs
    stitches in arm and over eye
    concussion in eye
    ringworm
    injected myself with mycotil -in error- very serious

Some list there biddy, only thing I got was ringworm. Never broke a bone yet or got any stitches either. Now off I go to touch some wood

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Maybe we should be posting off the incident reports with our near misses to the HSA.

We all just need to slow down and take our time. Accidents usually happen because your rushing. We need to be especially careful if we're lone working. I think a charged bill pay phone with reception is essential. I don't know are the smartphone s the best, keep thinking of that man that kept swiping at the screen but blood was feckin it up for him.

AIso l know we have to keep costs to a minimum but spending a bit on a few safety features is always money well spent. I bought a pair of chainsaw trousers during the week. Have the boots and gloves a while. Hopefully l'll never have to test how good they are.

Handbrakes on tractors is another one , especially older tractors. I'm guilty of this one myself with 135. How many lads got pinned between a tractor and a gate or piece of machinery?

You need to be so careful.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Tractor handbrakes are deadly alright. Had to peg myself into a ditch as a young lad when the handbrake slipped on a hill.

Only two days ago I had a lucky escape. I was throwing in a few bales. Up and down outta the tractor takeing off plastic and mesh. I was useing the 3spike on the front loader. My mind was a million miles away and I somehow got tripped up in the plastic while rushing and came clattering down hard on the spikes. Twas the look of god I had them pointed down to the ground. Otherwise I'd have been found ran through that evening maybe. The auld fella had only warned me last week to allways keep the loader and spikes down if im getting off the tractor. Im dame glad I listened to him.
    Tis simple happen. ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Muckit

AIso l know we have to keep costs to a minimum but spending a bit on a few safety features is always money well spent.

+1 we had one of those old style man holes in one if the slatted thank. Big cement blocks you had to lift out with bars. We got a new one put in with the safty grid on it. Best few bob ever spent on the farm I hated the site of the old one.

Iv had all the usuall ones kicks, falls, ect but the one that shook me the most was on the old bosses farm. He Had an old pb bull for years, ust to show him and all. One day he just turned and stuck the boss to the wall out of nowhere, I jumped in with a sprong and gave it to the bull and he stopped. It gave me as much of a fright as him.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Tractor handbrakes are deadly alright. Had to peg myself into a ditch as a young lad when the handbrake slipped on a hill.

Only two days ago I had a lucky escape. I was throwing in a few bales. Up and down outta the tractor takeing off plastic and mesh. I was useing the 3spike on the front loader. My mind was a million miles away and I somehow got tripped up in the plastic while rushing and came clattering down hard on the spikes. Twas the look of god I had them pointed down to the ground. Otherwise I'd have been found ran through that evening maybe. The auld fella had only warned me last week to allways keep the loader and spikes down if im getting off the tractor. Im dame glad I listened to him.
    Tis simple happen. ...

Spikes are always left facing down around here, as your incident can easily happen

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

Sometimes you just don't think. Only two weeks ago I was up a ladder and putting a roof on a shed . We have a small pony for the kids and I left her out . She ran under the ladder and knocked me 12 foot on to concrete landed on my feet some how and spraind my left foot and right shin I was very lucky I didn't break anything

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

I was loading a bull and when bringing across the side gate he kicked out threw me back about 12 feet and split my scalp over my eye.
    Cleaning out a shed and the guy on the loader clipped a gate and caught me with it, split a hole through my lip
    Damage or injuries don't have to kill you to impact on you life, how many of us have bad backs or have hearing loss.

Sometimes you just don't think. Only two weeks ago I was up a ladder and putting a roof on a shed . We have a small pony for the kids and I left her out . She ran under the ladder and knocked me 12 foot on to concrete landed on my feet some how and spraind my left foot and right shin I was very lucky I didn't break anything

• Registered Users Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

I was topping a paddock beside the house one day and when i went in to get something i left the tractor and topper ticking over, when i came put my two year old had climbed out of the front garden and gotten up on the back of the offset topper.... Still sends a shiver down my spine, major lesson learnt.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭joe man utd

When i was younger was on buckrake when father was bringing in square bales... slipped of it and got caught between wheel and buckrake.. tore a big hole in my calf muscle and broke 3 toes.. lucky for sure.. most recent i was working with a lad hedgecutting and watching the road for him.. a big chunk off a branch flew and hit me on the side of my head.. got 3 staples in it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

broken tibia and fibula

fractured ribs

fractured wrist

many bruising's and pulled muscles

luckiest escape was been pinned to the ground in the middle of a 10 ac field by a fr bull , only for my collies saving me that day I was history

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

Jesus all these animal stories, glad we only have chickens. .
    Near miss is when the forks of a forklift arent left flat in the ground, always seems to happen around here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

before i had a way of catching cow properly at calving in a head gate, put a suckler cow in behind a gate in a corner,put the jack on started to jack , she turned pushed the gate flying, and just started to spin with the jack straight out behind her,house was too small to escape , jack met my fore head, bang out for a few secs, crawled out , still have the groves off the jack to show for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Fell off load of square bales as a young lad. Thankfully not a mark only bruised ego. Also as a young lad helping dad fence off a pit made in corner of field. He put the top strand on first. I never saw it and ran into it. Caught me just above my eye!! Very lucky with that one.

Can't think of any more personal ones thank God.

Brothers had a few near ones too. One fell down through square bales in shed narrowly missing a barrel of unturned forks! (Don't ask that's just the way the oul lad used keep them).

Other lad was giving me a hand to break down the tractor trailer and take the creels and ramp off. He wouldn't be the most mechanically minded and preceded to open clip and force spring off with the ramp down!!! With the box and creels off, the upright holding the spring catapulted into the air like a rocket. What goes up must come down ....it hit the ground a foot from him!! We both stood there speechless. .... then burst our h*les laughing! !!!!! It could have been so different though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

No major accidents here, but one bit of advice I'd give to any young person reading this is mind your back. I have chronic back pain which I put down to years of lifting weights around the farm.
    Like all young people I thought I could lift things no bother, but it's a slow and gradual damage that is done and you dont really notice it for years.
    Even new born calves are too heavy to be lifting. If there is a better way of doing it, well worth the little investment or extra time taken.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Cutting fallen trees last week, finished with the saw, took off the facemask and went clearing the scrub and a twig sprung up and caught me just below the eye.

Had plenty of lucky escapes as a kid. Grew up with an open slurry pit and was warned to stay away but sure that only made it more attractive:) never went in thankfully

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭Askim

As Muckit said carry a phone, I carry a cheap pre paid phone, doesn't matter if damaged or lost, cost is only €5 credit every 6 months, only use it to text oh or for her to get me. can charge it in car or house, full time lone workers should carry one & charge it every night.

Even if no credit you can dial 999

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

spent an hour seperating 2 suckler cows this morning. Ended up having to use the jeep to get them apart- both thought 1 calf was theirs- deadly dangerous. Always make sure theres 2 of us around when doing anything with them, OH tought we had been killed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

Askim wrote: »
    As Muckit said carry a phone, I carry a cheap pre paid phone, doesn't matter if damaged or lost, cost is only €5 credit every 6 months, only use it to text oh or for her to get me. can charge it in car or house, full time lone workers should carry one & charge it every night.

Even if no credit you can dial 999

not wishing to go off topic but while on the subject of phones just wondering how many of you have ICE numbers saved ?

http://www.firstaidforeveryone.ie/ice_in_case_of_emergency
    http://www.wikihow.com/Add-ICE-to-Your-Cell-Phone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

I was bringing a bale to cattle we where out-wintering, there has never been any breaks on our tractor(it has a handbrake), we just engage a low gear in high revs if on a hill, anyway I was coming up a slope when the tractor popped out of gear, instinctively I pressed in on the clutch and tried to press the brakes,(no good). I was afraid if I pulled the handbrake that it would near flip, I tried to put it back in gear but it was just grinding, as I had picked up speed going backwards the slope eventual ran out on to flat ground:confused: I was sure I was going to flip it... only thing my dad said was you should have made sure it was in gear properly, still no brakes on it..:confused::mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Never do anything dangerous while hungover. I learned the hard way. I was cutting the head off a bolt with a small grinder, but the fcukin thing kept going around. So I put my left index finger on the bolt to keep it still, and operated the grinder with my right hand. Everything was going grand until I cut straight through finger and all. Between the mind being slow, and the numbness of the pain, I didn't realise until it was too late. It wasn't completely off, and it was only the top of my finger, but thankfully they managed to save it.