Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 4 Episode 14 - "The Grove" [AMC] [SPOILERS]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Chopper77

ROBERT KIRKMAN: "I would say this is a big one. It’s definitely one that people are going to remember and it’s definitely one people are going to talk about. If there is one episode of The Walking Dead that you absolutely had to watch this season, it would be this one. You kind of have to watch all of them, but it’s going to be a big episode. We’re going to catch a lot of people off guard"

If it ain't that good after him taking this episode up so much, then what hope is there for this series, which has been a let down since it came back on air after the break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

*gulp*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Everyone who's read the comics has seen that coming for awhile now - 'twas Walking Dead's equivalent to The Red Wedding...

Think they did it very well. And the scene where Carol finally told Tyrese about Karen and David was well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Very good to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

Wow.
    Should have known it would be a good one the second the ink spots started playing in the intro but
    wow. that was brilliant.
    the actress playing lizzie is very good for someone so young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Dandelion6

Everyone who's read the comics has seen that coming for awhile now

I haven't read the comics and I saw it coming! Still, very powerful how it was done, especially where she gets cut off saying she was just about to kill Judith too, but you know exactly what she meant. And "look at the flowers, Lizzie".

Agree about the actress, remarkable for her age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,761 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

big fallout reference at the start.

Wow, what an episode..
    didnt expect any of that to happen with the sisters. Glad Carol got it off her chest and tbh, that was the only way she was gonna live through after what had happened imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭ron jambo

Carol is a true badass, balls as big as your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Started off a bit bland but it was good gripping stuff later!

Carol does whatever she has to do to survive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Didn't see any of that coming, what an episode

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Halfway through this episode. So bored. FML.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I know the walking dead can be a grim show, but that was darker than anything I've seen for a long time. Very hard to watch - I can't believe what I just saw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Halfway through this episode. So bored. FML.

Say that when you've watched the whole episode. I dare you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

First 20/25 minutes were very poor. Found myself checking the time played. However, the rest of the episode was excellent. It is what I expect from a gruesomely raw post-apocalyptic type series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Wow, grim stuff. Very well done though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I'm going with a meh, decent episode, but that's the 3rd last episode left in the season, and it felt more like an episode that should have been done a month ago. Other than the 2 girls dying, only advancement in story is that Carol told Tyreese about Karen and David.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Was good, glad to see to some gritty stuff happening. But at the end and when ty and carol are leaving i dont see no baby ! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Lone Stone wrote: »
    Was good, glad to see to some gritty stuff happening. But at the end and when ty and carol are leaving i dont see no baby ! lol

She was on Tyrese's back - wearing a poncho type cloak with a hood, so she looked pretty similar to a backpack, but it was definitely Judith.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Mr E wrote: »
    Say that when you've watched the whole episode. I dare you.

Was still boring. Was glad of what happened and there was a grimness to it, sure, but everything up to and after that point was boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Well that was all butterflies and rainbows!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Very very good episode overall but I wish they would cut out some of the stupid ****. Managed to sneak up on a deer whilst mid conversation. Deer didn't flee the scene after the gunshot that killed Lizzie etc. Some annoying continuity stuff in the forests et al. Girl that played lizzie was very good actor. Good performance from Tyreese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,570 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

I've appreciated the concepts of the last few episodes but the pacing has been all wrong. This was a great episode but also for half of it hugely boring. Actors were great but the writers have been mostly weak this season.

carol the EXECUTIONER

I've appreciated the concepts of the last few episodes but the pacing has been all wrong. This was a great episode but also for half of it hugely boring. Actors were great but the writers have been mostly weak this season.

welcome to walking dead

still wondeering if karen and david would have survived they got sick pretty early would they lasted til lthey got the medicine i doubt, it could be seen that carol did the same thing lizzie did, kil a person unnecessarily

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Last time TWD was that good was for
    Merle's death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nolars

Now that was some good stuff. To be fair i'm surprised by the lack of people who have gone mad in this show so far. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

really enjoyed that - question - where was judith at the end..............?

Carol is like the bloody terminator - love her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

cjmcork wrote: »
    really enjoyed that - question - where was judith at the end..............?

Carol is like the bloody terminator - love her!

On Tyreese's back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

Timmyctc wrote: »
    On Tyreese's back

she always seems to be very well covered -as if she's not there at all - can't imagine it's much fun filming with a baby

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Melissa McBride deserves a lot of credit (Chad Coleman too I guess) because she basically carried that episode. This was Carol's story really: I always figured the two girls had become her surrogate daughters and you could see how a lot of the guilt and grief over losing Sophie had evolved into protecting Lizzie and Mika, she seemed utterly determined that they would learn & survive. To then find herself losing another set of children, this time in even more gut-wrenching circumstances, that required the actor to really sell the emotion of it all & McBride definitely delivered.

The pace of the first half didn't annoy me as much as others, because you could see they were building to something with Lizzie; they had kept her obvious psychosis in the background for much of her last few appearances (bar the horrible Judith suffocation scene) & given how it suddenly became the focus of this episode I suspected things were afoot.

I wasn't wrong. God-damn that was all very grim, arguably the darkest the show has been since day 1. It's all very well playing with the notions of how civilised adults might abandon their humanity in the face of oblivion, but it's quite another thing to show how a child's mind could become so warped when surrounded by these new concepts of normality. More than most episodes you'd legitimately ask the question of why it's worth carrying on when even the innocent have become corrupted. I suspect Carol, when she confessed to Tyresse about murdering the infected back in the prison, was hoping he'd pull the trigger; that Tyresse chose to forgive her was a small chink of light in an otherwise pitch-black story.

My only quibble was they really, really oversold the relative innocence of Mika; the hunting scene was particularly poor & just felt like an overly blunt, unsubtle way of underlining the horror of Lizzie's eventual actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Fans of the comic have been waiting for this scene for awhile, they changed it around a little bit but was still very well done.

Next episode should be awsome with David S Goyer directing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Fans of the comic have been waiting for this scene for awhile, they changed it around a little bit but was still very well done.

I'm a fan of the comics and was still surprised when it happened. The girl actor was very good and made it even harder. I hate any story where kids look as if they might or do get hurt.

Yip, at that stage eating a bullet would start to look attractive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 83 ✭✭kaisersuzy

What's this the little house on the prairie? get them kids killed quick ....doing my head in :D

i was hoping she was going to shoot herself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭fiacha

Another boring episode that could have been edited down to 20 minutes. The death of the two girls was predictable, but I had incorrectly assumed that Lizzie was going to get her sister killed by a walker.

Nothing shocking in it at all (i think the Internet may have broken me :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Wow. That really was execution-style, wasn't it. The wide camera shot of the two of them, just before Carol pulled the trigger....chills. Doubly chilling as it was a (clearly disturbed) child. However as they mentioned earlier in the episode, there was no medication or mental help available to her, and she was clearly (!!) a danger to others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,971 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Look at the flowers, just look at the flowers....

I was expecting it from the comics but never thought they would do it. Great episode, much much better then darryl and your wan looking to get wrecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Enjoyrf that episode which makes a nice change, changed the story rightly from the comics but did it fairly well, didn't even mind the slow first half.

A solid 4/10 :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

They have done a lot of the stuff from the comics that people wouldn't have expected (the beheading, this). I think this is actually one of the rare things that was done better than the comics. In the comics
    Carl kills the brother who killed his brother, just like Lizzie killed Mika
    so the way the killed Lizzie was a lot more disturbing but yet made perfect sense. I actually found the pacing really good in this episode, they built to that moment quite well! Also, the start and end of the episode (Fallout reference at the start) were also both suitably chilling for a very dark and grim episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭Jofspring

The first half bored me to death. People are saying you could see it leading somewhere but with the Walking Dead that isn't always the case. There have been so many slow episodes that have lead nowhere that it could have easily just been another one of them up to the half way point. Glad they tied it up in this episode cause was dreading them dragging out Lizzie going cuckoo into another episode. The same with the Tyreese/Carol situation. They just about saved the episode from half way onwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

Don't read the comics but was this really compared to the red wedding? !Not bad but hardly deserving of the glowing endorsement that some have given it.
    I think it would have been more shocking if the two girls were prominent characters and in more episodes than they were rather than a couple of lines here and there.

How come they were putting the pecans (or peecawns as they were pronouncing them ) into an electric oven? How does Carol keep her hair so short still?
    im guessing the smoke was coming from the gaff Darryl and whatshername burnt down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

pookiesboo wrote: »
    Don't read the comics but was this really compared to the red wedding? !Not bad but hardly deserving of the glowing endorsement that some have given it.
    I think it would have been more shocking if the two girls were prominent characters and in more episodes than they were rather than a couple of lines here and there.

How come they were putting the pecans (or peecawns as they were pronouncing them ) into an electric oven? How does Carol keep her hair so short still?
    im guessing the smoke was coming from the gaff Darryl and whatshername burnt down.

What makes you think it was an electric oven? Could have run on cylinder gas? Good catch on the fire being from Darryl. Completely forgot about that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 83 ✭✭kaisersuzy

fiacha wrote: »
    Another boring episode that could have been edited down to 20 minutes. The death of the two girls was predictable, but I had incorrectly assumed that Lizzie was going to get her sister killed by a walker.

Nothing shocking in it at all (i think the Internet may have broken me :D)

I was shocked at how bad the acting was to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

The girls flip out scene when carol stabed her walker was awkwardly bad and i thought tyrese was experiancing an earth
    Quake at the table when carol spilled the beans. Ha. Enjoyed it more than the last two episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Cracking stuff. Best episode this half-series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Carol for leader.

Overall it was another poor episode, actually had to fast forward a lot of it, the pacing is so slow and none of these characters are very interesting or well written to be able to prop up the structure of these episodes on their own.

It's funny though, all through that episode i was shouting for someone to shoot that simpleton child in the head.

in zombie apocolypse why would you leave two kids and a baby alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

in zombie apocolypse why would you leave two kids and a baby alone

Plot_Device_.PNG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Dandelion6

pookiesboo wrote: »
    How does Carol keep her hair so short still?

Ha! I was wondering that too.