Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Differences between Irish and British people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,054 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Pale pink something, probably not pork.

Mystery meat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

What is it about the British and Marmite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Pale pink something, probably not pork.

Oooooooh! matron.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YWq1ig4sVnA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Mystery meat.
    More_Tea_Vicar.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

lashofeye wrote: »
    Pudding not dessert !!!!

Spotted Dick!

We've missed the Y versus O difference as well.

Dublin's Tommo, Johnno and Anto are London's Tommy, Johnny and Tony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

there is probably no difference between Irish and british people we watch the same crap tv we love football and we speak the same lingo most of the time

it's called soccer here though, football over there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

From my observations I think Irish people join long queues so as they can have a moan at how long the queue is.

I don't like ques in the slightest and when I saw people queing for the bus a while back having been on holiday for a week I thought some law had been passed. Thanfully it was temporary and that nonsense sorted itself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I'm from Wales , and moved over here in nov 1998 ,

I went to dunnes stores looking for a job and they said " oh we have a pre Xmas employment open day in the three lakes hotel "

I spent ages going around town looking for the tree lakes hotel. I felt so stupid .

Next was I started going out with my now wife and we were in town getting Chinese takeaway , she says on way back to the house in car, oh we must call in and pay our respects to a lady I know....
    Only a big corpse in the living room of a guy that had hung himself, I'd never seen a dead body in my life, he was purple . .. As scared as I was I still eat my Chinese .... After all I payed good money for it and I was starving :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Think 'Pass' was an old brand name for it from AIB or BOI, I would call it Banklink, Hole In The Wall or Drinklink.
    I've never heard of either of them!

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I've never heard of either of them!

Banklink is AIB's name for the service, 'Drinklink' in imitation of same, esp when on the skite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    What is it about the British and Marmite?
    I thought that was Aussie's and they also have Vegemite (which tastes like salt pasted over toast)

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I thought that was Aussie's and they also have Vegemite (which tastes like salt pasted over toast)

Marmite is big in NZ, Vegimite isn't bad esp if you have a taste for stout.
    Nice on hot buttered toast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Don't lie.
    It's true, I wash my car religiously every 29th February :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Rhotheta

British people state the obvious more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I'm married to a Londoner and we live in the UK and I think there are tonnes of differences, albeit many of them nuanced.

The Brits are definitely colder in their interaction with other people and not as warm as the Oirish. That obviously doesn't go for everyone but generally speaking the Brits are more reserved and take a little longer to warm up.

I think our senses of humour are quite similar (for intelligent people at least, but then I don't hang out with stupid people).

The Brits are very formal and by the book when it comes to policy and procedure whereas the Irish are more relaxed about things and a "ah sure lads it'll be grand". If you miss a deadline here, you miss a deadline.

British people are wayyyy more direct to the point of bluntness. They are very frank whereas the Irish are more inclined to dart around a subject.

If you break the law over here then you've broken the law, there's no phoning your neighbor Bridie to have a word with her nephew Finbar the Garda who booked you for doing 70 in a 40 zone and have your points revoked. It doesn't happen.

Dogs. The Brits are obsessed with them and especially those who are emotionally stunted seem to relate better to their four legged friends then to other people. It's bizarre.

You don't get the same herd instinct here as you do in Ireland. In Ireland, there's a disturbing trend in thinking we all have to have the same viewpoints and people are castigated for thinking otherwise. Not the case here, individuality and freedom of thought is embraced and I like that.

Brits are far more frugal (tightfisted) than the Irish

The Irish really defer to Britain on cultural trends and influences - British pop culture is inherent in Ireland and the opposite obviously doesn't apply

The Brits do not have the same standard of food/produce as in Ireland - people just seem to eat more convenience/processed rubbish here

When I think of any more sweeping generalizations I'll be back....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

mathepac wrote: »
    Just put 'ur' at the end of words ending in 'a', drop the 't' at the end of words that end in 't', and finish sentences with 'innit, eh, know wo' I mean maite?' and like you say yourself, 'Shure you'll be graaaaand'!!

Oh, yes, everyone talks like Danny Dyer over there don't they, especially in Liverpool, Newcastle and Bristol. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Omackeral wrote: »
    English people tend to support their local football teams while not minding the Irish.

Irish people tend to support English teams while hating the English.

Although every Irish person has their own story, there's still a lot of anti-Irish prejiduce in the UK. A lot of British people still think very negatively of Irish people, you only have to read forums such as digitalspy and other UK forums to even find that out.

I was born in England, of two Irish parents, lived there till I was 14, and got quite a lot of abuse for my Irish background, never accepted or regarded as English by the locals.

I would argue I've had far less hassle for having an English accent in Ireland than for having Irish parents in England. Now that could be due to my age (i.e. I was a kid then and kids can be pretty nasty at that age), but its definitely not one sided. There's a lot of British loyalism which is sympathetic towards protestants in Northern Ireland, particularly large parts of Scotland, which in itself brings about anti-Irish feelings amongst some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

Generally I find middle class English people will not open up until they know what your views are, they don't want to offend or be offended. I think I'm a little like that myself.
    In my book its preferable to meeting a Irish person who with any thoughts of asking your opinions will assume you love drinking, GAA, have a soft spot for the IRA, hate Cricket and the "Brits"

Only problem is I love Cricket so makes for a lot of backtracking,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

are they slow to buy you a drink back in britain?

It's a different culture. In Ireland, if it's your round, then you get it in before the fastest drinker has finished, in Britain it's a bit more relaxed.

That said, bar staff in Ireland are usually far better at their job, often full time professional s, whereas in Britain they are usually students working part time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Don't breweries tend to own pubs in Britain too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

You don't get to say 'pork' and 'Mecca' in the one sentence all that often.:pac:

I can't see why not. As I've always thought of Fred as an infidel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

mad muffin wrote: »
    Not to my knowledge.

Although i do be getting emails from some nice Nigeria prince wanting to give me money.

Oi! Hands off it. He offered me first. I know it not to be fake 'cause he's a Doctor.

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    I can't see why not. As I've always thought of Fred as an infidel

Makes a change from "Hun" I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

I was with an English guy for two years. The accent was a bit of a turn off very harsh to Irish ears.

Once we had made plans for the evening and then his neighbor came around and invited us around for a party next door. He said 'well we may just pop in later ' . I then asked him why he had said that as we had no intention of going around as we had plans. He siad ' oh I know ' , 'It's an English pleasantry'.

English people are terrified of social embarrassment and Irish people are not.

I would say British people are less sexually repressed than us but more emotionally repressed than us. We are more comfortable with emotion. And we display it publicly with sincerity.

In the UK i have noticed that public displays of emotion are very rare and when they do happen they tend to lapse into the theatrical. They do pomp and ceremony well. Irish people tend to react to pomp as if it is from mars. We don't see toffs or chavs as anything but other humans and both are our equals. I think that confuses them.

I think British people expect their institutions to be more honest. And they probably are.

I think they lean more to the left politically than most Irish. They view basic healthcare as a right etc.

Also they are more inclined to take action against the state and protest than we are, it takes a lot for us to do that. We tend to think we are supposed to be strong enough to take it. They think they are supposed to show they are not going to take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

Don't breweries tend to own pubs in Britain too?

I hate the chains of pubs here, although if you're a beer drinker (I am not) I guess they do offer a better selection than pubs in Ireland. Unfortunately, I want more out of a pub than beer, and the food in most chains of pubs in England is very poor. The atmosphere in some pubs is just so odd. The two locals nearest me have really bright lighting, and play Premiership matches every night of the week. However, the locals are usually quite friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

At the end of an Irish phone call: "Bye bye bye bye bye"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

md23040 wrote: »
    The English retain this kind of national superiority complex of rule Britannia as if the colonial days are alive and well, and have not yet realised their country is a sink hole of debt weighed down by a growing population of Jeremy Kyle Fodder.

On the other hand Irish do not take themselves too seriously, have bettered themselves over generations and are appreciative; more cherish family, understand sarcasm better, and most importantly do not find sitcoms with men dressed as women quite as dumb ass amusing.

I was with you until this bit... :(

Behold, our national embarrassment:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

It's a different culture. In Ireland, if it's your round, then you get it in before the fastest drinker has finished, in Britain it's a bit more relaxed.

That said, bar staff in Ireland are usually far better at their job, often full time professional s, whereas in Britain they are usually students working part time.

We have had this conversation before but in Britain a whip for drinks is much more common than it is ver here.