Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you drink?

• 10-03-2014 3:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭

I did a search, didn't find a thread on this in the past year.

Just curious. I first drank alcohol when I was 18, that was almost ten years ago and I'm now ready to give it up. I've been a regular-enough drinker for most of that time. I'm giving it up now for six months

Do you drink and how much and did you ever want to stop, and why?

Do you drink? 314 votes

I have never had alcohol.
    0% 0 votes
    I have had alcohol but I've never been drunk.
    6% 21 votes
    I drink regularly.
    10% 32 votes
    I get drunk at least once a week.
    54% 171 votes
    I get drunk more than once a week.
    21% 66 votes
    I'm an alcoholic.
    7% 24 votes

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Yeap, a fair bit, yeap just before I went 20, I was an idiot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

more or less the exact same as you

cept im 31,and i gave it up for a year and a bit when i was 21

stopped drinking in january more or less, had a couple of pints at the odd night out but i'm just sick of it now so nothing for the next while. no time limit set, I'll know myself when I want a pint more than I want to wake up in the morning without feeling like killing myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

You tried your best and you failed,no shame in that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

Like a pirate yaaargh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

Rarely because I'm not that into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

I would drink about 1-2 bottles of red wine per week. Sometimes a couple of beers. Never really go to the pubs, if I did I would sit over a pint for the night. Can't remember the last time I was drunk, would be over a year or so anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

I've been drunk but I don't drink regularly at all. I also haven't been drunk in years. There's no option for that in your poll. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

I used to drink like a fish when I was in university and during my early 20s.

Today, I drink a fraction of what I used to. I suppose the biggest difference now is that I drink for enjoyment, not for impact. I love craft beer and red wine so I'll have some at the weekend, rarely during the week. Can't remember the last time I was properly drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

maguic24 wrote: »
    I've been drunk but I don't drink regularly at all. I also haven't been drunk in years. There's no option for that in your poll. :(

Sorry. I wish polls were editable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Oh aye, been boozing regularly since I was about eighteen. I have five or six pints of stout a couple of evenings a week, about 5pm. Home and all and the dinner ate by about 7:30. I'm an evening drinker - I haven't seen closing time in a pub for years and years. I don't drink at home, I have no interest in it and it never occurs to me, not really even on Christmas Day. For me it's all about propping up the public saloon-bar for an hour or two and talking ballacks! :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I don't drink much anymore and haven't been drunk since my early 20's. I used to drink every weekend but just don't have any interest anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

32 and I drink every Friday night, go to a cheap* pub after work with a mate or two, have about 5/6 pints, dont spend much, home by 12 at night.

I never really drink cans at home alone, if even at all.

*Cheap pint is key here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I drink occasionally, not "regularly". So I can't tick any of your boxes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Another thread was started today asking 'do you take illegal drugs?'.

Why all the interest in what other people do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Used to love going for sessions but cut way back when I returned to college. Drink very little now because I can't afford it and don't like having a fuzzy head in the morning. Not drinking started as a way to save money but I can't see myself wanting to go back to spending hours in a pub when I start working full time again, now it seems kind of boring to me. It depends on the situation though, if the craic is good somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Very rarely.

Regular drinker since about 17 (29 now). I have a good drink more or less every week often twice a week and plenty or "2 or 3" here and there. There are some weeks with virtually no drinking but then there are weeks with a week of heavy nights in a row (christmas, races etc) so on average over the year probably one to two nights drunk per week.

I have no desire whatsoever to give it up as I thoroughly enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭dizzymiss

Much the same as other posters. Drank like a fish in my late teens/early twenties. Lived for the weekend and if I didnt go out, I felt like I was missing sonething. Sad I know. In my early thirties now, had my first baby last year and expecting our second now so obviously no drinking. Social drinking occasionally at home with friends, rarely out on the town. Nights out just became so expensive. When I got pregnant, the first thing some friends asked was, do I miss the drink. Ah no. I have friends though that would have complained the whole time through their pregnancy about not being able to drink and others that have put having a baby in hold because of how it will effect their social life!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

No poll option for irregular drinkers. I wouldn't drink too often myself and not too much when I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Thataone

Ain't a category for me in the poll :p
    I rarely drink, but when I do, I go all out... but it is a rarity when I do drink... normally for an occasion like a birthday or whatever.
    It's not good and I know it makes me a terrible person but hey!
    But I would drink a few ciders or beers on a summers day or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭ElKavo

Don't drink at all. Used to drink. Used to really drink, no more for me. There is no option for this either!

Thataone wrote: »
    Ain't a category for me in the poll :p
    I rarely drink, but when I do, I go all out... but it is a rarity when I do drink... normally for an occasion like a birthday or whatever.
    It's not good and I know it makes me a terrible person but hey!
    But I would drink a few ciders or beers on a summers day or something.

It doesn't make you a terrible person. It's no sin to get a bit cheery every once and a while. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Thataone

maguic24 wrote: »
    It doesn't make you a terrible person. It's no sin to get a bit cheery every once and a while. :)

Would be grand if I were just a bit cheery but I am a total light weight and am a terrible drunk :o:p

Thataone wrote: »
    Would be grand if I were just a bit cheery but I am a total light weight and am a terrible drunk :o:p

I hear ya!!! I remember getting plastered when I was younger and pissing everyone in the bar off. :o Sure, we've all done it!!! No point beating yourself up over it.
    I was out with my friends in Diceys another night back when I was a young wan and was apparently trying to get with some lad with his OH standing beside him. (I have absolutely no recollection of this at all). Yer wan should have decked me, if I was her I would have. :P :o

I haven't been that drunk in a few years. I know when to stop, although that's not to say it won't happen again. :P

There isn't an option in the poll for every single potential type of drinker, because I don't have that much free time to sit at my computer to make a list of every single type of drinker.

If your option isn't in the poll, just keep doing what you're doing and comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Not anymore,when it reached the point of a litre and a half of vodka a day I stopped plus I was liable to do anything drunk....a proper bowsey!

gramar wrote: »
    Another thread was started today asking 'do you take illegal drugs?'.

Why all the interest in what other people do?

I know, it's almost as if human beings have an interest in the behaviour of other human beings. Like, what is up with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Every now and then and heavy when I do.
    I don't mind it too much as by irregular we're talking once every 3 months, waste of money when it's the same thing every time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Yes. One or two nights a week. Far less is consumed on a night now though, compared to up to two/three years ago. Hangovers are getting gradually more brutal.
    Having a couple of drinks is the aim now, rather than getting pissed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I might drink once a month. I'm pissed after 3 pints now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Where's the option for alcoholics who aren't ready to admit it?

Im an alcoholic. This week is my 11th anniversary of quitting.
    yay me .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Where's the 'Few times a year' option?

I feel left out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭daveyboynire

I started drinking when I was 17 or so, I'm 32 now and the time has come to kiss it good by, The older I get the more horrible the hangovers are getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Jake1 wrote: »
    yay me .

Congratulations to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Woodpecker1

A beer with or after dinner. Every night. Absolutely no harm in it.

Everything in moderation.

caustic 1 wrote: »
    Congratulations to you.

thanks a million, Im delighted with myself LOL

Long may it last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

No I haven't touched a drop since last April so almost a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I probably drink once or twice a week. Sometimes I get hammered, sometimes its just 2 or 3 beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Jake1 wrote: »
    yay me .

When will you stop being an alcoholic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I'd have a few drinks once or twice a week. I can't go all out like I used to on a night. Flew through hangovers from when i started drinking at 17 till I was about 21, ever since then it's been a steady slope into needing 2-3 days recovery time from a heavy night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

A beer with or after dinner. Every night. Absolutely no harm in it.

Everything in moderation.

No harm in it at all, but if you're having it every night with dinner it's not exactly 'in moderation' is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Woodpecker1

No harm in it at all, but if you're having it every night with dinner it's not exactly 'in moderation' is it?

I would say it is a perfectly moderate amount .

https://www.drinkaware.co.uk/check-the-facts/what-is-alcohol/lower-risk-guidelines/

Im taking about 500ml of lager .

Beer is good for your heart.

It doesn't matter if you're a male or a female, drinking beer keeps your heart healthy. According to a study Researchers at Italy's Fondazione di Ricerca e Cura, moderate beer drinking (a little more than a pint of beer a day) makes you 31 percent less likely than those who don't drink to suffer from hearts attacks, strokes or heart disease

I would go as far to say that 500ml of coke would be worse .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I was heavy on the booze for most of my 20s, binge drinking at the weekend.

Hardly drink at all now, sometimes the odd hot whiskey at home or Guinness if I go to the pub which is maybe a few times a year.

I could drink well over 10 pints years ago, now 3 pints and I'm full.

IMO I think the older you get the less you are able to drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I drink 4 pints on a Friday night. I don't get drunk.
    This is just a social drink with friends and we discuss our week gone by.
    Its nice and relaxing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I could drink well over 10 pints years ago, now 3 pints and I'm full.

IMO I think the older you get the less you are able to drink.

That seems to be the case alright. Although even when I was younger I always hit a wall after the 4th pint. I literally cannot get anymore in to me after that. Too full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

I never drink alcohol. Just never got into it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 86 ✭✭Tim Riggins

yep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I drink now and again, it tends to be weeks in between if not months.