Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lamb Mortality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Would not condone this but know some farmers leave out dead lambs that might have been treated with an appetiser for the fox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,919 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Would not condone this but know some farmers leave out dead lambs that might have been treated with an appetiser for the fox.

That type of destructive practice is now illegal thankfully as it is highly dangerous to non-target species, working dogs etc.

Dickie10 wrote: »
    sorry don't get u , oh wait just putting it through now ,... oh yes perhaps don't think be a good conducter though unless soaking wer, but I like your thinking, a bit like me with the dogs ha

Actually if you have a good electric fencer its probably the most reliable thing for keeping foxes and dogs out of lambing paddocks - no need to bother messin with dead lambs etc,. I know from my own dogs that they hate nothing more than coming in contact with the fencer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Actually if you have a good electric fencer its probably the most reliable thing for keeping foxes and dogs out of lambing paddocks - no need to bother messin with dead lambs etc,. I know from my own dogs that they hate nothing more than coming in contact with the fencer.

I know, I was wondering would it put that particular fox off taking lambs though, if he got a good zap when he'd sink in the teeth. Fencing off fields is expensive if it's not already done. Most here would have walls and/or sheep wire up already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

I know, I was wondering would it put that particular fox off taking lambs though, if he got a good zap when he'd sink in the teeth. Fencing off fields is expensive if it's not already done. Most here would have walls and/or sheep wire up already.

Easier said then done in reality. I had a field well fenced or so I thought, then saw a jack Russell run straight through the holes in the sheep wire. Lead me to think how long the same fence would deter a fox:confused:

Hard to know, it might make him more fond of live lambs then dead ones:confused: - my opinion is that if you already have a fencer your as well to deploy it in a conventional way in your lambing paddocks. I remember getting a load of twine and those plastic white stakes with the fencer a few years ago. I don't remember the exact price but it was very reasonable and I still use them in the paddocks. I find its a very versatile way of managing grazing as well as keeping out undesirable visitors. I appreciate that other people may have different lambing systems but that is my experience. If your using sheep wire and stakes you can get those fencer hooks which you can simply hammer into your existing stakes and run the electric wire on the top and bottom.

Easier said then done in reality. I had a field well fenced or so I thought, then saw a jack Russell run straight through the holes in the sheep wire. Lead me to think how long the same fence would deter a fox:confused:

What fencer do you use GF?? - I have a Cheeta which I find pretty good. Its important to make sure its not been shorted by vegetation etc which appears to be the main reason for failure in my experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Here's a question, and ye'll see right away where I'm going with this. But, could a dead lamb carcass be hung from an electric fence?

I was once lifting a hogget across the electric fence and I didn't quite clear it. I know that because I felt it. I think it won't matter that the lamb is dead.

What fencer do you use GF?? - I have a Cheeta which I find pretty good. Its important to make sure its not been shorted by vegetation etc which appears to be the main reason for failure in my experience
    Sorry birdnuts, I don't use electric fence anymore. Just the green 3ft sheep wire, well strained with gripples. Gave up on electric fences a few years ago, got tired of strimming under them and grass earthing them. Done right it's a lifetime job for sheep but apparently not great at stopping foxes, if they can get through the squares as easily as jack Russell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭arctictree

At what age do ye lads think lambs are safe from the fox?

I have a few 3 day old lambs out in the field behind the house which backs onto forestry. Since they tend to sleep at the forest boundary it would seem like a perfect opportunity for Mr Fox...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭paddysdream

arctictree wrote: »

I have a few 3 day old lambs out in the field behind the house which backs onto forestry. Since they tend to sleep at the forest boundary it would seem like a perfect opportunity for Mr Fox...

Know you don't want to hear this but;

Had lambs attacked by foxes last year in a field at the back of the shed.This was in April and they were mostly hogget's with lambs ranging from a week to a month old.No lambs were taken but 6 or 7 were bitten,on both the neck and the back leg's.Wouldn't have believed it only saw it myself.There were 4 fox cubs plus a dog fox and a vixen.

They came back a few nights in a row until I got to shoot 4 of them.Got the last ones(I hope) in the summer.

Thought at first on seeing them that it was a dog attack as the lambs were well mauled but the ewes were not as nervous or disturbed as if dogs were at them.

Have a few photo's of the lambs and can upload them tonight to show you their size on the morning they were attacked.Only reason none were taken I think is that they were a little too big to chop down straight away.

arctictree wrote: »

Stockholm tar on the back of the neck.

Last Spring I had half of my twins taken, at birth. All the lambs I actually got to see I put stockholm tar on the back of the neck and none were taken, well possibly one but I am not sure on that lamb. When I consider how many of the twins were killed compared to practically none of the singles, there has to be something in it. Plus it's not harmful to the lamb like some things used to be put on them, creosote for example.

I will be doing it again this year, due to start lambing in a couple of days here, not a fox shot all year,

Know you don't want to hear this but;

Had lambs attacked by foxes last year in a field at the back of the shed.This was in April and they were mostly hogget's with lambs ranging from a week to a month old.No lambs were taken but 6 or 7 were bitten,on both the neck and the back leg's.Wouldn't have believed it only saw it myself.There were 4 fox cubs plus a dog fox and a vixen.

They came back a few nights in a row until I got to shoot 4 of them.Got the last ones(I hope) in the summer.

Thought at first on seeing them that it was a dog attack as the lambs were well mauled but the ewes were not as nervous or disturbed as if dogs were at them.

Have a few photo's of the lambs and can upload them tonight to show you their size on the morning they were attacked.Only reason none were taken I think is that they were a little too big to chop down straight away.

To a non sheep farmer, people think we're exaggerating just how much damage the fox could do, if left unchecked, but a fox is really as destructive as we're telling people. I've don't give them an inch, it's the only way when dealing with a fox .
    Separately I'm putting in my ewes this evening. Their due on the 28th but some look as they might go early. I don't know if it's coincidence but 4 or 5 magpies are in the field keeping a interested eye on my ewes ??? Loitering with intend ????

My Larsen trap has been out since the start of the month as I'm due to start lambing the end of this week. Got 5 of the little feckers so far:D

Just put out my larsen mate this afternoon, but it's greycrows I'm after. Shot a magpie with the .223 the last morning, was looking for a fox but that lad turned up instead, reckon he's the culprit who's been sh#tting in the feed trough.

As promised a few pics of lambs attacked by foxes.This was in April 2013 and you can see from the pics. what size they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭arctictree

As promised a few pics of lambs attacked by foxes.This was in April 2013 and you can see from the pics. what size they were.

Wow - they are big healthy lambs. Feck all you can do about that I suppose??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Conmaicne Mara
    I find foxes tend to pick off twin lambs anyway. In fact in my experience, 90% of my lambs lost to a fox were twins. They probably wander from the mothers a little more easily in the early days and do more bleating, which brings them to the foxes attention. So it could just be that the twins were the easy target and it might have nothing to do with the tar... I have heard of other people using it also though I must admit. Maybe try it on the twin lambs and let us know how it works out.

Also, the larsen trap, is it one you bought (and if so are they expensive) or one you made yourself?
    Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Are you sure it was a fox?

I've never seen or heard of a fox attacking lambs that big - lambs would get away from them, and just be too cumbersome for the fox??

However, a mumber of years ago, we had lambs attacked by a mink/pinemartin with similar visuals to the pictures that you have posted above?

reilig wrote: »

I've never seen or heard of a fox attacking lambs that big - lambs would get away from them, and just be too cumbersome for the fox??

However, a mumber of years ago, we had lambs attacked by a mink/pinemartin with similar visuals to the pictures that you have posted above?

100% certain.Assumed at first it was a dog but checked them that night and the foxes were at them again.Shot 1 the first night and even after that they returned for a few nights until 4 were shot.After that as soon as a light was put on them they scampered.Left them alone and a friend got the vixen and last cub during the summer.

No need to even question when they would come as it was like clockwork they appeared every night between 11 and 12.All I had to do was wait in the one spot and try to drop them as soon as got the light on them.

To be honest wouldn't believe it myself if someone told me!!

Also, the larsen trap, is it one you bought (and if so are they expensive) or one you made yourself?
    Thanks.

I bought a good quality galvinised steel one a few years ago from a poultry merchant. Twas a bit more expensive than the standard one but was worth the investment as it stands up to all weathers and situations and will last for many years yet.

Conmaicne Mara
    I find foxes tend to pick off twin lambs anyway. In fact in my experience, 90% of my lambs lost to a fox were twins. They probably wander from the mothers a little more easily in the early days and do more bleating, which brings them to the foxes attention. So it could just be that the twins were the easy target and it might have nothing to do with the tar... I have heard of other people using it also though I must admit. Maybe try it on the twin lambs and let us know how it works out.

Thanks.

I make mine. 2"x2" weldmesh, cable ties, larsen trap springs, some split perches (bits of branches will do), and a bit of a roof and side for shelter for the call bird.

Can tailor them then to my requirements, add more catch compartments etc. Also commercial Larsen traps are often geared towards catching magpies, which make them rather small for catching greycrows, particularly for the call bird.

In relation to my twins last year. I never got to see them alive, they were being taken as they were being lambed. Would be checking them two or three times a day and out lamping at night.

I'll be tarring everything, not taking any more risks this year than I am forced to.

I've a neighbour with a few lambs going around with bites gone out of their ears following fox attacks. I thought your man was pulling my leg until I saw the lambs myself.

Conmaicne Mara

Thanks.

Hopefully I should have attached a photo of my DIY "Larsen mate", the idea is that it's a very wide opening spring loaded cage. The wooden split perch falls down when my greycrow lands on it and he's caught. Then I transfer him to the proper Larsen trap and am started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

reilig wrote: »

Reggie. wrote: »

Am sure.Seen it the second night with my own eyes.There were 6 foxes,4 cubs and 2 adults .Kept moving through the sheep trying to seperate a lamb or two whilst chopping at them.The lambs were too big for the foxes to take but they kept on trying.

Have seen the effect of numerous dog attacks(4 here last year alone)and this was different.Ewes were not nervous the following day unlike if dogs were at them.Also dogs will attack adult sheep in preference to small lambs a lot of the time.

As far as I am aware there are no pine martins or mink around here,least never seen one or heard anyone mention them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Looks to me like a small dog attacking them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭dave747

Had a ewe lamb during last night, when got up this morning the lamb was dead and the head taken off, raging, ewes in small paddock only couple 100 yards from the house and joining onto neighbours garden aswell. would it be a fox??

dave747 wrote: »
    Had a ewe lamb during last night, when got up this morning the lamb was dead and the head taken off, raging, ewes in small paddock only couple 100 yards from the house and joining onto neighbours garden aswell. would it be a fox??

Yes, positive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭dave747

Yes, positive.

Taught so alright, have a lad that gets them for me may give him a ring tomorrow. most of the land about a mile from the house and have had trouble there some times but never outside the front door