Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Samc36's Fiat Punto Mk2 1.2 16v Sporting with Abarth bits in White :D

• 25-02-2014 7:59am
    Registered Users Posts: 33

Copy & Paste job from other forums....

Hey everyone, tell me what you think about my first car. :D.

Please no "Puntos/Fiats are C**P rubbish! It is what it is.

I've had it since October and I love it.

I spent a good bit putting it right after abuse from previous owners but it has low mileage, got it at 84000, has 89500ish now. Has new Head Gasket, Timing Belt, Tensioner, Water Pump. Serviced and well cleaned and valeted of course. One of my favourite things in it is the Pioneer head unit I put in, with loads of colours and a mix feature. It's already smooth-sided, has Abarth bumpers and spoiler, abarth logo valve caps, is de-badged on the rear,a slightly unsightly e-Tech aftermarket spoiler, and has tinted rear passenger windows. I plan on tinting my other windows.

As for plans, I would love to lower it on lowering springs or coilovers (Expensive), but we'll see. On the subject of lowering, it being the higher spec model, lower only to the HGT and Abarth and that's only engine-wise AFAIK, it sits quite low already.

(Specs

2000 Fiat Punto 1.2 sporting. (mk2/a High spec model 80BHP)
    16v engine
    Sporting Alloys
    Sporting Sideskirts
    Abarth bumpers, front and back
    Abarth Spoiler
    Tinted Rear Passenger Windows
    Aftermarket E tech rear spoiler (now removed!)
    LaserLine Alarm System
    LaserLine RCL? Maybe Standard
    Immobiliser as standard
    Abarth logo dust caps
    Pioneer DEH - X3500 radio (Awesome)
    Smooth sided (no damage strips)
    De-badged on rear
    Febi Bilstein HG ( The right one for the car unlike the one the idiot before me had in. )
    Airtex Water Pump
    Contitech Belt kits
    Bosch Oil Filter
    MAN Air Filter, stock air box.
    Full Set of NGK Spark plugs
    All sitting on 4 Fiat Punto Sporting 15"s wrapped in 4 Firestone Tyres.NEW:
    New Windscreen from Autoglass (Splintex or something)
    New Back Wiper Arm and Blade (Somebody smashed the old one)
    New Aerial Base as the old one was f**ked. I just need a screw in aerial now
    8 Grommets instead of my spoiler
    16 SMD led festoons in my interior dome lightPlanning on getting:
    Abarth gear knob,
    scorpion badge,
    Abarth scorpion seat belt pads,
    more new car smell Christmas trees
    Planning on getting: New
    Blue Led strips for interior, in footwells, under seats facing rear seats and cupholder area.
    Paint, Primer & Clear for touching up. No idea how to do any of it properly.
    Filler possibly for alloy and body touching up (I didn't cause the damage)
    Degreaser for a bl**dy good clean up.
    I've gotten fond of black ice air fresheners so maybe a few of them

)

As for me saying my car is high spec (80BHP haha), it is much higher than a standard mk2 punto. I'm not saying it's extremely powerful. I use BHP to help distinguish easily between mine and the regular punto which develops about 59BHP.

It also has (compared to standard punto):

Improved seats, headrests, doorcards, steering wheel, black interior dash and glovebox, colour coded bodykit,
    6 speed manual gearbox,
    8 more valves (twice as many, 4 each cylinder),
    improved suspension,
    front foglights.

Here's some pics:
    jo9Qjt5.jpg
    Interior (Wide)
    0unCpel.jpg
    fmA7poM.jpg
    ZImViEm.jpg
    wjGFf0h.jpg
    oozT6ie.jpg
    zHM9vBf.jpg

More interior:
    IjzoSsg.jpg
    Clocks & Mileage
    ptrfXyF.jpg

It redlines at about 6900 and most of the power delivery is at 5000 revs apparently. It'll do 80km/h or 50mph in second gear, and it'll do 115 ish km/h or 70 mph in 3rd gear. It's really nippy and quite torquey in the lower gears. It pulls well at lower speeds but these small engines have power gaps after a certain stage in the rev range. It's a fun car to drive though.

Oh yeah, it gets good mileage too, 50ish mpg at around 60mph being consistent (National Roads),
    and through town it gets between 36 and 44 ish mpg.

NOTE (about spoiler): I didn't put the spoiler on. It's bolted through my boot and secured with brackets, so I don't fancy messing about with it. I've learned to live with it though and you do get used to it :). It looks better in person I think.

In other news, I think I've managed to get rid of all the car's smokeyness after the blown HG. I don't think it's burning oil anymore either. :D

Thanks for your opinions and stuff and more pics to follow haha. :cool::D

• Registered Users Posts: 33 samc36

My Pioneer HU (Head Unit), some different colours (Fully customisable):
    9QhqYHw.jpg
    Blue & White
    bqgE00W.jpg
    Green & Red
    LR9vuwG.jpg
    Orange or Amber, to match the dials.

Here's some pics of the inside.. did a mini photoshoot. Sorry about the dirt in my car. It's in need of a good hoover and that.

I took them quickly because I had people looking at me for taking pictures of my car and I felt weird lol :D.
    Oh and my car is called Gertrude, stupid name, no idea why, but she is kinda old and the name sounds old and it bothers people that I'd name it that so I thought it was funny.

yfBb0bV.jpg
    Flying Gertrude
    puRaw2k.jpg
    D...d..d..doors
    NISGvso.jpg
    Clean Gertrude
    3BXCMHM.jpg
    Gertrude
    SI6NQC1.jpg
    Interior Nice
    NLuXyZW.jpg
    Interior Front
    9ZUGGLl.jpgWtkAwUH.jpg
    Semi Bucket Seat/Centre Console
    3Bye22F.jpg
    Interior From Boot

5BmNetg.jpg
    Angled Interior Close
    2OJRIvK.jpg
    Main Front Interior
    Haqa0sw.jpg
    Main Front Interior Slightly Blurry

RhB5g97.jpg
    Silly through windscreen shot

Xt8VPa4.jpg
    Legroom with Front Seat Back all the way
    h8SuiNC.jpg
    Legroom with Front Seat Forwards all the way

And last but not least...
    ZuGJaXB.jpg
    Back Seats
    oqLmnBt.jpg
    Back Seats and Belts

You can literally remove all legroom from the back haha, but I don't care because I don't need to use the back ever.

Oh and I took down my spoiler. The area where it was needs some cleaning up, but I've some nice tight little grommits in there till I can make it look better. I think it makes the car look smaller haha, maybe lower, but now I don't have a shelf to hold my keys when I get petrol, or a water trough to let thirsty birds have a drink lol.

NxBuLtq.jpg

Photoshop Practice

More Vivid White:
    MbXRXDZ.jpg

Black
    SUwILri.jpg

Blue
    XOMxjfM.jpg

Purple
    jYfO2ug.jpg

Green
    SRqvVrL.jpg

Yellow
    NHcoPDT.jpg

Red
    kzRkgKS.jpg

I just painstakingly spent hours stickerbombing my entire car. No not really, I'm taking the P**s. Was mucking about, decided to stickerbomb it quick in PS to see if I could.

w6Wp5PL.jpg

8jI1Re3.jpg

rLp9luD.jpg

3YorC0N.jpg

hxqgozO.jpg

SKKGuRA.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,288 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Good to see such enthusiasm.

Keep us updated on Gertrude's adventures.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Get the L plates down as soon as possible, and you're away! :)

OSI wrote: »
    Haha. I think this is my new favourite thread in Motors.

Nice Punto Sam, well wear. Just ease up on the stickers :pac:

Thanks, and yeah I don't think there's a single sticker on the car haha, just practicing with Photoshop. :)
    Good to see such enthusiasm.

Keep us updated on Gertrude's adventures.

I will indeed :p!

Passed my full test first time on the 6th of this month, just waiting on my license from NDLS :rolleyes:

samc36 wrote: »
    Passed my full test first time on the 6th of this month, just waiting on my license from NDLS :rolleyes:

Well done! I'm assuming you have the L plates down now though!

Thanks, and nope I've opted to go non traditional on this. There shall be a ceremonial burning of the plates of "L" on the after eve of the arrival of said license of fullness!

Personally I think NDLS is a complete joke...but thats my opinion. They quote 8 days on all documentation, tell you 6-8 weeks in the centre and 3-6 weeks on the helpline. Card printing and verification could easily be done on-site and for a low cost. You're completely unlicensed while waiting on all of this rubbish anyway. You're meant to be able to produce the license if asked for.

As long as you have the receipt from the NDLS in the car, you're ok if you meet the gardaí. (until you get the full license)

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Nice machine

how much is it insured for?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

I surprised he didn't use an "L" as the basis of one of the stickers

As long as you have the receipt from the NDLS in the car, you're ok if you meet the gardaí. (until you get the full license)

Thanks, seems to be the generally done thing anyway.
    Nice machine

how much is it insured for?

Thanks, I'm older than most first time drivers (21) and thanks to the gender equality thing it's not too bad. Most quotes on anything under 1.4 are around the €1200 mark for me. But it should be different now as loading should be gone with me having a full license.

I surprised he didn't use an "L" as the basis of one of the stickers

I could do that, hmmm yeah I like the idea of big red L's all over the car haha.
    No, of course I don't really, could make it happen in Photoshop though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Great thread OP! :D
    Photoshop Practice...

Yellow
    NHcoPDT.jpg

Ahhhh.... That brings back memories :cool:
    150879_176244019061721_2063447_n.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Lovely little Motor there Sam. Well wear. Your enthusiasm is a shot in the arm. Fair play to ye!

Go forth and drive, my child

JESUS

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Lovely little car and a brilliant way to introduce yourself to the forum :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I saw that Punto on mightycarmods forum. :pac:

dgt wrote: »
    Great thread OP! :D
    Ahhhh.... That brings back memories :cool:

Thanks :D. I'm glad I could give you a nostalgic moment. I like the yellow puntos.
    Jesus. wrote: »
    Lovely little Motor there Sam. Well wear. Your enthusiasm is a shot in the arm. Fair play to ye!

Go forth and drive, my child

JESUS

Amen brutha! Cheers :D
    Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Lovely little car and a brilliant way to introduce yourself to the forum :)

Thanks, thought it was about time to do something on Boards.

Thanks for all the compliments and opinions everyone! :D:cool::P

GvidoR wrote: »
    I saw that Punto on mightycarmods forum. :pac:

Ah cool, I presume it was me :D:p. I'm also on:

Fiat Forum
    Midnight Club
    Italian Car Club of Ireland

Yea, it was definitely yours. I saw those midnight club pics from a meet in Waterford, Wexford or something. :)

Ah great so, yep was up in Wicklow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ah cool, I presume it was me :D:p. I'm also on:

Fiat Forum
    Midnight Club
    Italian Car Club of Ireland

Join our Irish society ;)

Ah great so, yep was up in Wicklow.

Damn, so close. :D

dgt wrote: »
    Join our Irish society ;)

Done already I'm sure :)
    Damn, so close. :D

Next time bud!

Right so, Gertrude is just after flying past her 90,000th mile and is looking great after 6000 miles of my ownership :D.

I've polished my lights and they're sooooo much clearer without the oxidation. The pictures do no justice to the difference haha :). I also got a new aerial, an extendable beesting one, and polished out some scuffs and paint transfers. Am thinking of adding some blue interior led(SMD) lighting. Footwells first, and I'll see how that goes.

Sorry for any poor pics, using a phone camera in a rush :P

Nvt8Vsf.jpg

8jjfjQb.jpg
    Edited (Contrast, colour and brightness)

ARj8CTO.jpg
    Unedited copy

F4TtAwM.jpg
    Inside Lit

tNQQYsU.jpg
    Inside Dark

b0mBO9T.jpg
    Conté Crayon Filter

QDGi1LU.jpg
    Much Brighter Lights

sDW99NB.jpg
    Rear

94LEax6.jpg
    Front

R18rMDc.jpg
    Nice Bright Fulls and clear light casings

uQQnkAc.jpg
    Parking lights and Dome light activated with my alarm fob (Gonna be using this for the interior footwell lighting :) )

tvBEuGP.jpg
    Nice shot, not blurry

skXHHms.jpg
    Another nice pic

dAJgqJV.jpg
    Full shot

CFqDxPP.jpg
    Blurry pic

I just have no words.... Gertrude is no more!

She went up in flames tonight. It was myself and my girlfriend in the car and luckily we are both ok if a little shook up. I can't believe my car is gone, I didn't even get a good look at it. I'll be seeing it Tuesday and talking to Insurance co. :(:(:(