Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Timney trigger in cz .17hmr

• 24-02-2014 7:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭

I got a Timney trigger for my CZ 452 .17hmr & hope to get it installed this week.
    After the differance it made to my Remmy 700 , I am really looking forward to the upgrade to what already is a great shooting platform.
    Have any of ye lads done this upgrade & what differance did it make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭sniperman

i done the trigger spring myself on my 455,i used a section of a staple gun spring,brought the pressure down to about 2lb with no creep,made a great difference,i found groupings much better;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

I got a Timney trigger for my CZ 452 .17hmr & hope to get it installed this week.
    After the differance it made to my Remmy 700 , I am really looking forward to the upgrade to what already is a great shooting platform.
    Have any of ye lads done this upgrade & what differance did it make?

Yes I installed a Timney in my CZ 452 varmint .22lr. Great upgrade and makes the CZ 452 a great rifle. I thought the difference was the same again as from the standard trigger to the simple tube and spring upgrade.

Did you get your €20 change from the Bro????? ;);););)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭LIFFY FISHING

clivej wrote: »
    Yes I installed a Timney in my CZ 452 varmint .22lr. Great upgrade and makes the CZ 452 a great rifle. I thought the difference was the same again as from the standard trigger to the simple tube and spring upgrade.

Did you get your €20 change from the Bro????? ;);););)

Tks Clive :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

Are the timney trigger kits expensive, ?

ronn wrote: »
    Are the timney trigger kits expensive, ?

About's €90 ish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭skipking

i. got a spring kit for my 455. it comes with 3 springs. there are 3 different strengths easy to install. light spring
    light trigger and so on. i used the lightest spring now have near hair trigger, big difference in groups

Well I got a chance to put the Timney Trigger in my .17hmr & got it out this morning to try it out.

50 meters, Hornandy 17 grain ballistic tips.
    S&B 6 x 42 A4 Rectile.

Sweet as a nut, five shots in the same area as my thumb nail, bunnies look out.

Just makes a good gun great.
    HIGHLY RECOMENDED :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Baker.22

Where did ya source the timmey trigger kit, would like one for my 455

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

Are they difficult to install,

They are not easy, you will need a dremmil tool and patience.
    Take your time and do it bit by bit, you need to remove quite a lot to inlet the new trigger assembly, if you are anyway in doubt dont try it because you could mess up your stock, pm me if you need any details of how I went about it.

Drift out 2 pins and the trigger will come off. Put up timmey trigger and push in the 2 pins and tighten update a screw

Quick update regarding the Timney upgrade;
    In the fields since dawn, 4 rabbitts, longest shot 180 yards heavy wind, 150 yards windy & 2 under 100 yards, 17 grain v max hornandy.
    Really fancy a nice stock to upgrade my kit, Boyds dont do one for the .17hmr:( cz 452, open to correction ?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Really fancy a nice stock to upgrade my kit, Boyds dont do one for the .17hmr:( cz 452, open to correction ?
    If you are not fixed on a Boyds and willig to spend a little more then look at Klinsky stocks.

They do a nice selection for all makes of rifle including CZ. One looks like the AICS 1.0/1.5 (except timber):

30144_2.jpg

Then you have hunting or target options:

30142_3.jpg

Price is around €230. Then delivery. Boyds run around €140-150 to the door so not a huge amount more.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Thanks Cass, have you seen or had any experiances with these stocks ?, bought a Staffords one and it didnt fit my .17hmr.

Seen a lad at the range last week with one of the target ones. Nice looking yoke, and caught my attention immediately. While i did not hold the gun it seemed rock steady.

It's an alternative to Boyds. At this stage every second person has one and they no longer are unique. So for that little extra i'd rather have something different yet practical. As for fit they are designed with the particular brand in mind. You can even request personalised touches such as badges, engraving, logos, etc.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Cass wrote: »
    Seen a lad at the range last week with one of the target ones.

Was that in Harbour House at the weekend, at the charity shoot?

No. I'm not a member of Harbour House. At the MNSCI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭dead shot

Does anyone know is there anybody in the southeast that sells and fits these triggers and at what cost?

dead shot wrote: »
    Does anyone know is there anybody in the southeast that sells and fits these triggers and at what cost?

Domnic Byrne in Enniscorthy.
    Doms Custom Rifles.