Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Urban Exploring in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Jonnykitedude

That DIT shoot was given permission, hence they never entered the main building so get down of the high horse will ya!!

The only place that the floor is about to collapse is one staircase so no need to be 'brave' to enter.......syringes all over the place really? Sure you can come across syringes on the dart, bus, O Connell Street, parks......should I go on?!?!

If your not a regular urbexer then you wont get the draw that these buildings have and how you entre them.......80% of it is about taking pictures but the other 20 is how you plan on getting in, mapping the trip out etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭hutman

if its just one staircase thats in danger of collapse then it should be easy enough to avoid.. lets go exploring! we could be hit by a bus on the way home from work this evening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Sorry to dig up an old thread, just wondering if anyone in the forum is still doing any exploring these days as I'd love to get involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭duckmusic

Sorry to dig up an old thread, just wondering if anyone in the forum is still doing any exploring these days as I'd love to get involved.

So would I! I'd be very interested in going exploring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,050 ✭✭✭✭GBX

I would too

duckmusic wrote: »
    So would I! I'd be very interested in going exploring.
    GBX wrote: »
    I would too

I wouldn't really know where to begin but the Pigeon House seems like the place a lot of people start off with. Not sure how to get in though so if someone in the know wanted to get involved that would be great! Open to any other locations at all really.

I wouldn't really know where to begin but the Pigeon House seems like the place a lot of people start off with

Id be open to meeting up and figuring out how to get in.

I know of an abandoned house in South Dublin that I walked around before which was pretty cool.

32737974621_99847d6081_c.jpg

And have noticed a few other places around that I thought would be cool to explore

Id be open to meeting up and figuring out how to get in.

I know of an abandoned house in South Dublin that I walked around before which was pretty cool.

32737974621_99847d6081_c.jpg

And have noticed a few other places around that I thought would be cool to explore

That looks sad more than anything. Would be more interested in large abandoned buildings than peoples old homes that have gone to the dogs (and the junkies). Theres a couple of half built towers near the IFSC i've always thought would be good spots for night shots but you would question the safety of these. Perhaps that's part and parcel with urbex!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭fixXxer

I'd be on for it too. What about the Barely finished apartment complexes in Sandyford? Long exposure night shots would look good id say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

I don't really know any places. I can come as security :D

@fixxer I'd be up for this I know a way in, we need to watch for the security cameras though. but PM if your up for it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Ot slightly...I was in Connemara this week. It was an explorers haven with all the abandoned houses. The only thing stopping me was the family in the car :(

hutman wrote: »
    @fixxer I'd be up for this I know a way in, we need to watch for the security cameras though. but PM if your up for it...

If you lads decide to go i'd love to tag along

I have actually being eyeing that place up for the last 2 weeks. Getting in looks doable, but I haven't gone for it yet because I'm a bit concerned about the getting back out part!

to get out there's always the way you got in, when I did it we wound up in the apartment block car park and out that way Shall we make arrangements for a visit?

I've no idea where this is but i'd definitely be up for going along some evening to get some cool shots if it's happening.

Yeah same as.

Is there a way to start a private thread for those interested then and we can look at pencilling an evening in that works for everyone? Or if either of the lads who know the location want to setup a Whatsapp group they can let us know via DM and we can get something setup that way?

Can ye see this? http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1243 we could use it to communicate

No .. Not allowed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Mech1

Whatsapp group works well

DM'ed ye my number..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 em_urbex

I'm in too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭lynvoh

Mech1 wrote: »
    Whatsapp group works well
    what about a whole private forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

I would defiantly love to join too.
    I would love to access the old Magdalene laundry, there is one in north inner city and a huge one in Dublin 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭fixXxer

I would defiantly love to join too.
    I would love to access the old Magdalene laundry, there is one in north inner city and a huge one in Dublin 4

Where are they based?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Would I be right in saying the one in Donnybrook is part of the Garda station now?

No I don't think so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭lynvoh

No I don't think so

it's safe, we did that spot one year ago, a couple of shots here -> http://urbanexplorers.tk/app.php/gallery/album/15