Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Urban Exploring in Dublin

• 24-02-2014 5:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20

Hi
    I an really keen to go exploring some abandoned buildings around Dublin. I am a visual artist and my work is currently based on derelict spaces. I am looking for people who might be interested in the same sort of thing, but I cannot find any recent posts on the subject, so my apologies for starting a new thread on this well-worn topic!

Anyone know of an active Urbex group, still getting out there and taking a peek at some interesting sites? I am itching to gather some new source material for my work and I think it would be more fun, (and safer!), to do with other people.

Any information on this subject would be gratefully received.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭hutman

Lets go! There are some others on here interested in this too, if they don't post here soon I'll post more details.. A bit stuck for time at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Vauney Strahan

Hi Hutman.
    That would be great. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭jackjustjumped

I'd be very up for this too, sounds like a great idea.

Theres a google community here: https://plus.google.com/u/0/communities/106026217191470268225 which has some suggestions, the guy behind is called Cozski on here, we haven't managed to meet in recent times though! Theres also: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1243 this forum on here. How's next weekend for some exploring? The 8th of March, I'm away this weekend

Thanks for that hutsman

I've just checked out those two links. Hope to join the group hosted by Cozski.
    Just wondering if you could tell me, will I be able to post in the Urban Exploration forum? I don't see this thread there. Just a bit confused and trying to figure out how to use the Boards.ie

Thanks a million for your help. Definitely like to go exploring soon. I can't go sat 8th, but could on sun 9th? Jackjustjumped and anyone else?

The 9th works for me! Any ideas where you'd like to go? The urban exploration group I sent is a closed group I'm not sure how you gain access

Great!
    Haven't really thought about a specific site yet. I always wanted to get into the old John Player factory on South Circular Road for an 'ol browse around, as I've heard its pretty deadly inside, but I don't know how easy it is to get in, or if its possible at all. Have you any idea?

I'v just realized that we might get some good insights and advice if I posted this idea on the Urban Exploration forum. Sorry, it's taking me a while to get my head around how to use the Boards.ie

Anyway, I'm gonna go ahead and post a few photos, (on that forum), of some exploring-based work I've done in Co. Mayo, as that's what I'm itching to get going on again!

Hope to see your input there you guys. I'll call it "Urbex Itch", (just so's you know what to look for!).

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

I always wanted to get into the old John Player factory on South Circular Road for an 'ol browse around, as I've heard its pretty deadly inside, but I don't know how easy it is to get in, or if its possible at all.

:Dhttp://allseeing.me/strange-landscape/ and http://pix.ie/pullandbang/album/459084/goto/3232935

Great photos Pullandbang!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Jonnykitedude

Those are some fantastic shots you've got there jonnykitedude. Some of the asylum ones are deeply disturbing but impressive at the same time. You ever been inside the big deserted asylum in cork city? I tried to get in last summer but failed 😟

Thanks, No myself and Pull&Bang had planned on a visit until it was recently set on fire!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 bumblecat

Hi!
    I was just wondering about the same thing :D ... Im currently in Dublin until May and want to do some urban exploration...

Maybe we can make a fb group (secret one hehe) or something...?

Cheers,

-T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Coles

Abandoned Ireland. Always interesting.

Sounds great Bumblecat
    Hutman, and anyone else, want to check out the John Player factory on SCR next Sunday? anyone know if we can get in easily enough?

Well boarded up with live in security.

Dang!

If anyone else has a good place for me to start my Urbex adventure in Dublin, I'm all ears. Failing that, I am still keen to check out Pigeon House, although I guess some of you have already stomped that ground already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 bumblecat

Maybe I'm pushing my luck with this, but isn't anyone else fascinated by the idea of a secret society?
    Like this one:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suicide_Club_(secret_society)

Would anyone be keen to form one? I am 21 and at university, is anyone else interested in this?
    I'm out for two weeks starting this saturday though...so I wont be able to go anywhere until after
    that (unless you guys go somewhere friday night...)

Poolbeg sounds good too, and I'm free Sunday or possibly Friday evening.

Sunday works for me Hutman.

Where's Poolbeg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

bumblecat wrote: »
    Maybe I'm pushing my luck with this, but isn't anyone else fascinated by the idea of a secret society?
    Never really been into that sort of thing. I find too many urbexers just trudge a similar path in an attempt to fit in. That's why there's so many of them using horrible HDR or shooting advanced selfies of themselves in vintage gas masks. I'd rather do it with a couple of friends. I've never gone in a group bigger than three but a lot of the time it's just myself and another friend.

I'd advise against arranging a date and location on a public forum. Discretion is best when organising these things. Best of luck with it though if ye go for it :)

Okay, thanks for the heads up Inbaz. Still kinda green about both Urbex and the Boards.ie.

Is it okay if you PM somebody then?

Yeah, of course :) It's just in case security got a wind of the exact date and were expecting you on the day! You'd be surprised at who monitors urban exploration forums/websites.

Usually as a guide, access details (how to get into a building or compound), the dates/places of meets and sometimes the name/location of sensitive sites are the three main things that are usually best out of the open and kept to PMs.

Okay.

Thanks again for that. Duly noted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Deadlie

Poolbeg (The ESB bit at least) is pretty sketchy these days.
    I went about a year back and the gate was open, so I went back the next day with a band for a shoot. The place is literally crumbling under your feet. I fell through the stairs and got wedged between levels at one point. Other parts are pitch black and you're relying on skimpy, crumbling metal to hold you up. It's just not safe.

They've really done a job locking the place off since then too - extra spiked railings, heavy duty locks etc., and I wouldn't recommend anyone go in. Even the outsides can be rough enough - we found a spate of discarded needles and human excrement.

It's your call, just don't expect it to be easy, safe or fun!

Yikes!

Think we might go somewhere else then. Any suggestions?

Deadlie wrote: »
    Poolbeg (The ESB bit at least) is pretty sketchy these days.
    I went about a year back and the gate was open, so I went back the next day with a band for a shoot.

QUOTE]

Ah so that's why its so boarded up!! A band...seriously?

It's fine once you know your surroundings, all Urbex has its issues.

I was recently here for my 2nd visit and you can gain access......you just need to be creative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Deadlie

Ah so that's why its so boarded up!! A band...seriously?

Feck off. There were regular model shoots going on in there the whole time. DIT even used it for all it's promo stuff for a while: http://goo.gl/iWPehe And there's a dozen Irish bands that used it to record videos in. But if you want to blame me for it being boarded up, go ahead.

"It's fine once you know your surroundings" - so is Iraq. But I was trying to be helpful - the place is a deathtrap for the average punter. The roof has been declared unstable and could cave in at any minute, there's syringes all about the place and the floor is as flimsy as feck in parts. But if you're all cool and brave, go for it. There are far safer places to go Urbexing where the risk of getting Hep C doesn't exist.

That DIT shoot was given permission, hence they never entered the main building so get down of the high horse will ya!!

The only place that the floor is about to collapse is one staircase so no need to be 'brave' to enter.......syringes all over the place really? Sure you can come across syringes on the dart, bus, O Connell Street, parks......should I go on?!?!

If your not a regular urbexer then you wont get the draw that these buildings have and how you entre them.......80% of it is about taking pictures but the other 20 is how you plan on getting in, mapping the trip out etc.

if its just one staircase thats in danger of collapse then it should be easy enough to avoid.. lets go exploring! we could be hit by a bus on the way home from work this evening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Sorry to dig up an old thread, just wondering if anyone in the forum is still doing any exploring these days as I'd love to get involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭duckmusic

Sorry to dig up an old thread, just wondering if anyone in the forum is still doing any exploring these days as I'd love to get involved.

So would I! I'd be very interested in going exploring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭GBX

I would too

duckmusic wrote: »
    So would I! I'd be very interested in going exploring.
    GBX wrote: »
    I would too

I wouldn't really know where to begin but the Pigeon House seems like the place a lot of people start off with. Not sure how to get in though so if someone in the know wanted to get involved that would be great! Open to any other locations at all really.

I wouldn't really know where to begin but the Pigeon House seems like the place a lot of people start off with

Id be open to meeting up and figuring out how to get in.

I know of an abandoned house in South Dublin that I walked around before which was pretty cool.

32737974621_99847d6081_c.jpg

And have noticed a few other places around that I thought would be cool to explore

duckmusic wrote: »
    Id be open to meeting up and figuring out how to get in.

I know of an abandoned house in South Dublin that I walked around before which was pretty cool.

32737974621_99847d6081_c.jpg

And have noticed a few other places around that I thought would be cool to explore

That looks sad more than anything. Would be more interested in large abandoned buildings than peoples old homes that have gone to the dogs (and the junkies). Theres a couple of half built towers near the IFSC i've always thought would be good spots for night shots but you would question the safety of these. Perhaps that's part and parcel with urbex!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭fixXxer

I'd be on for it too. What about the Barely finished apartment complexes in Sandyford? Long exposure night shots would look good id say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

I don't really know any places. I can come as security :D

@fixxer I'd be up for this I know a way in, we need to watch for the security cameras though. but PM if your up for it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Ot slightly...I was in Connemara this week. It was an explorers haven with all the abandoned houses. The only thing stopping me was the family in the car :(

hutman wrote: »
    @fixxer I'd be up for this I know a way in, we need to watch for the security cameras though. but PM if your up for it...

If you lads decide to go i'd love to tag along

I have actually being eyeing that place up for the last 2 weeks. Getting in looks doable, but I haven't gone for it yet because I'm a bit concerned about the getting back out part!

to get out there's always the way you got in, when I did it we wound up in the apartment block car park and out that way Shall we make arrangements for a visit?

I've no idea where this is but i'd definitely be up for going along some evening to get some cool shots if it's happening.

Yeah same as.

Is there a way to start a private thread for those interested then and we can look at pencilling an evening in that works for everyone? Or if either of the lads who know the location want to setup a Whatsapp group they can let us know via DM and we can get something setup that way?

Can ye see this? http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1243 we could use it to communicate

No .. Not allowed