Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hare coursing with lurchers?

• 08-02-2014 8:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37

Why is hare coursing with lurchers hated so much by gun clubs and greyhound coursing clubs?
    I have permission and run lurchers after hares for the pot, i hunt myself, and cause no problems yet some feckers that call them selfs sportsmen, let down my tires of my van! Not a nice thing to do, we are all meant to stick together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

Fallow wrote: »
    Why is hare coursing with lurchers hated so much by gun clubs and greyhound coursing clubs?
    I have permission and run lurchers after hares for the pot, i hunt myself, and cause no problems yet some feckers that call them selfs sportsmen, let down my tires of my van! Not a nice thing to do, we are all meant to stick together.

You should know by now that the Irish don't "stick together" on anything let alone hunting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blackpearl

its because some other boys abuse farmers as was the case in county louth a few years ago when some of the farmers were bet up for telling them to get of their land, the gun clubs I am a member of have a compleat ban on the killing of hares and a ban on coursing,but as usual some bad apples will spoil it for others.i am all in favour of your sport, by the way all the trouble was from boys from northern Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭transit260

amongst all DECENT and RESPECTFULL lurcher men(of which I like to think I am one)its a known fact the coursing men believe EVERY hare that lives on the island of Ireland is their property and no one except them have the right to course or disturb them.I have permission on many farms that hold hares and still have been threathened and regularly approached by a gang of coursing men,always 2 or 3 of them together turn up.at one point last season the farmer i am friends with made it quiet clear to them that they were not allowed on his land and I had the full run of the place,which made me rather happy.

Another friend of mine had a rock thrown through his windscreen and a note left on his dash,this lad was working terriers and does not even keep a lurcher.the gardai were approached but nothing ever came of it.I have to say that some of those in the ranks of hunting dont do themselves or us any favours either with their carry on.i for one will not stop walking on land I have permission on,and those who believe they have the god given right to lay claim to every hare that was born on Irish soil would want to think again.

On the other side of the coin a coursing club down our way asked if they could gather some hares by night in nets for their coursing meeting,the landowner said no and a few days later the CC still went and took over 30 hares over a few nights from the place,they litterally raped the area and made it almost devoid of game....this is seen as quiet ok,but the likes of us runing one hare with one dog after it was given fair law is deemed to justify damaging property belonging to unknow fieldsports participants.the one thing i will add is,amongst the shooting fraternity there are those that do not respect the laws and quarry as in all sports.its not just lurcher owners that are letting down the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

transit260 wrote: »
    amongst all DECENT and RESPECTFULL lurcher men(of which I like to think I am one)its a known fact the coursing men believe EVERY hare that lives on the island of Ireland is their property and no one except them have the right to course or disturb them.I have permission on many farms that hold hares and still have been threathened and regularly approached by a gang of coursing men,always 2 or 3 of them together turn up.at one point last season the farmer i am friends with made it quiet clear to them that they were not allowed on his land and I had the full run of the place,which made me rather happy.Another friend of mine had a rock thrown through his windscreen and a note left on his dash,this lad was working terriers and does not even keep a lurcher.the gardai were approached but nothing ever came of it.I have to say that some of those in the ranks of hunting dont do themselves or us any favours either with their carry on.i for one will not stop walking on land I have permission on,and those who believe they have the god given right to lay claim to every hare that was born on Irish soil would want to think again.On the other side of the coin a coursing club down our way asked if they could gather some hares by night in nets for their coursing meeting,the landowner said no and a few days later the CC still went and took over 30 hares over a few nights from the place,they litterally raped the area and made it almost devoid of game....this is seen as quiet ok,but the likes of us runing one hare with one dog after it was given fair law is deemed to justify damaging property belonging to unknow fieldsports participants.the one thing i will add is,amongst the shooting fraternity there are those that do not respect the laws and quarry as in all sports.its not just lurcher owners that are letting down the team

Jesus man paragraphs please !!

But your right they think they have the right to tell people to get off .

That gun club has no right to put a ban on hare hunting in its district , if I've got permission from the farmer then they have no right to tell me anything .

All associations are the same I was lampung foxes in a district beside mine when an individual stopped me and continued to warn me that if I didn leave the area I had permission on that he would return with a few mates

At this stage I told him to f right off , all this because they shoot foxs every Sunday as a club .

The biggest problem with lurchers is people think that all lurchers men are members of the travelling community .

So straight away ur on the back foot .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

I was going ferreting in kilkenny a few years ago when some fool in a grey transit member of the .local coarsing club hops out and threatened to shoot us if we touched any hares we had a bag of long nets so assumed we were netting hares we had permission and were standing outside the farmers gate where we had permission a bit younger and more foolish then he was gently removed from our presence he should probably bring a gun next time he threatens to shoot someone we had a kid and all with us that will tell you the calibre of some of these lads , dont run lurchers anymore but fully support it and that was really my only run in with a coursing club and no shortage of hares around here with them they are doing a good job in that regards

trigger,hope the aboves an improvement,i was rushing writing that,lol.
    the thing is the gardai will not do anything about threats or intimidation as we for some reason are looked upon as nothing more than low lifes.

ive had a shotgun poked in the window of my car and told if I so much as steped out of the vehicle I would be seriously hurt,and this was on a byeroad,not any land I might add.I went to the local garda station and put in a complaint.I found out weeks later a local garda is a high ranking member of the CC,surprisr surprise!!!!

we have had a local priest also being verbally abusive to a mate of mine as he was walking his coursing greyhounds and bumped into another chap coming back from a run with a dead hare and a deerhound x.....on land he has permission on I might add.

one other thing,anyone from cork,a bit of adivce.....STAY WELL AWAY FROM CHURCHTOWN SOUTH,IT AINT WORTH THE HASSLE.guaranteed a battle if approached by the CC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭moloney

well lads as with all stories and problems theirs two sides to everything.first of all the real genuine lurcher men that hunt rabbits and hares are respected but here lies the problem there are so many lads with transit vans and and dogs that are not even related to lurchers out hunting hares and rabbits and not all are genuine lurcher men .they don't work they are on the dole and get most things for nothing are out hunting all night and in bed all day and if they see something of any benefit at night it will be taken so the real genuine lurcher men are being mistaken for these idiots.a local lad came across three of these lads lately had a word with them next day there was two dead hares found in litter bins in the local ga grounds last day of season I see a transit van three lads out after hares going in along a passage there was a dead hare thrown in a dyke of water.some how I don't think a real genuine lurcher man would do that .so I can see and understand why some people and farmers get upset when they see a transit and a lurcher on their land we all know who these people are but nothing can be done about them because they are a law in themselves and I for one have respect for all hunting men that work when they have it look after and respect their dogs and kill but u have to see the other side of the story aswell that's bringing down the REAL GENUINE LURCHER MAN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Folks, it's so terribly plain and simple; if you hunt by lawful means on land where you have permission there's nothing anyone can lawfully do about it but for some reason that notion doesn't seem to stick too well in the minds of some gun and coursing club members. Club rules and regulations are only binding for members who wish to abide by them. A gun club or a coursing club for that matter certainly has no entitlement to force any third party to go by it's rules on land to which the clubs don't hold any title.

The stories I'm reading here about people being threatened with shotguns that's not something that should be treated lightly; if something like that happens you're talking about fairly serious offences.

On the other hand we all know about the incidents of a few vans pulling up, the occupants having no permission to be on the land at all and lurchers ran at hares and a short while later a pile of dead hares thrown in a ditch so it's not that big a stretch of the imagination that people can be a bit abrupter when they see a few lads with lurchers on what they deem to be their turf but it's still not an excuse for not checking the facts and being needlessly aggressive.

On a side note; correct me if I'm wrong but I believed a licence from the NPWS was required for live capture of hares at night time and that these licences are location specific.

correct meath stevie but the genuine lurcher man will do things by the book not have foreigners standing at gaps and breaks that the hares have so they cant escape and betting on which dog wins I love and respect all tyes of hunting but as u have said lawfull means its the ones that don't have permission that the farmer or local cc dislikes not the real genuine lurcher man even though he may be mistaken for one of these people like I said two sides to every story

Moloney,that me fecked so,as im a painter by trade and my sole form of transport is a TRANSIT VAN,unfortunately white in colour and I keep a lurcher or 2 in the back of it.sad fact is at the minute im also on the dole,worked all my life ,never shirked from hard work,or any work for that matter.
    I make it my buisness to call and talk to the landowners where I hunt so they are well aware im not of the etchnic minority that have all but destroyed the tolerance and trust of the majority of the farming community for decent law abiding hunting folk.

but your dead right moloney,these thing are happening in the countryside,by scum that are not worthy of owning a lurcher.We parked up one day on a spot we have the ok to run on and therebefore us wer at least 8 travellers with 10-12 dogs.We called to the landowner and told him to call the cops as fast as he could and under no circumstances not to approach them no matter what.Im afraid it isnt going to get any better.In the future I believe I will retire from keeping lurchers as the hassle wont be worth the effort,but hopefully that'll be in a few years when Im just geting too old anyway.

im afraid its gone to the stage now that the CC members see all lurcher owners as the enemy,no matter if you try to be polite and say your piece.they see this as a sign of weakness and then proceed to threaten and abuse you.I have never seen or met a CC member that was polite,they all come across as sanctimonious individuals.

Moloney,that me fecked so,as im a painter by trade and my sole form of transport is a TRANSIT VAN,unfortunately white in colour and I keep a lurcher or 2 in the back of it.sad fact is at the minute im also on the dole,worked all my life ,never shirked from hard work,or any work for that matter.
    I make it my buisness to call and talk to the landowners where I hunt so they are well aware im not of the etchnic minority that have all but destroyed the tolerance and trust of the majority of the farming community for decent law abiding hunting folk.

but your dead right moloney,these thing are happening in the countryside,by scum that are not worthy of owning a lurcher.We parked up one day on a spot we have the ok to run on and therebefore us wer at least 8 travellers with 10-12 dogs.We called to the landowner and told him to call the cops as fast as he could and under no circumstances not to approach them no matter what.Im afraid it isnt going to get any better.In the future I believe I will retire from keeping lurchers as the hassle wont be worth the effort,but hopefully that'll be in a few years when Im just geting too old anyway.

im afraid its gone to the stage now that the CC members see all lurcher owners as the enemy,no matter if you try to be polite and say your piece.they see this as a sign of weakness and then proceed to threaten and abuse you.I have never seen or met a CC member that was polite,they all come across as sanctimonious individuals.
    transit u sound like a genuine lurcher man that has to suffer because of certain non law abiding citizens that that can do wat they like on our land and main roads etc if u get my drift these men are not liked by farmers cc gun clubs etc because they are not genuine or their intentions either .I understand when u say sanctimonious indivuduals their in every club from bowling to wat ever club u can think of and always will be always make sure u have the farmers mobile number on u and when these individuals approach u a quick ring and its sorted wit the afore mentioned going away wit his tail between his legs because their is one thing we must all remember from all forms of hunting without the farmers land to hunt we would have nothing which is why they deserve respect and that should be all clubs attitude which I presume is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Fallow

transit, your spot on lad, that is exactly how it is. i hunt for the pot, love eating hare rabbit ect and my dogs do too. i go out to get a run for the dog and dont like going in gangs showing off. i know of the crowds that just go out to proove a point, gambling money, then when the hares get killed, they are thrown a way, that sickens me big time!! :mad: its unfortunate, that we are getting mistaken for them. i reported the matter to the guards, so did the farmer, it is going to hopefully be dealt with, as the guard said that is not a nice thing to happen. anyone that has too many hares on their land, give me a pm, i would take a few with my dog and go about it quietly and sensibley.

i had a very sad/funny experience a while back,we were at a hill farm we hunt about on and the land owner told us to call to morris down the road,so after we got back we drove down the road and into his yard,he was out before we got to the house and we proceeded to introduce ourselves(my 18 year old son and I)we explained we were up with matty and he sent us down,.....under no circumstances were we getting permission,he wanted no one about his land,so I said fine and thanks for your time and assured him we wouldnt be back without having the nod from himself.

3 weeks later I drove back there in my sons car and I met him again on the road,I was walking the road with a hare and the dog and we stopped to chat.it was evident he didnt remember who I was.so we chated away and after a bit HE SAID TO ME........Ive some land over there if you'd like to wander about and take the dog too so I loaded the hare in the car and walked back the road with him.we chatted and he told me a few ''tinkers'' were after asking him a few weeks before for permission but when he saw the van he refused them point blank,lol,,,I didnt admit to him it was me that had been in the van.Since then ive been back twice WITH THE VAN and not a bother to him.thought it was funny but gave me an insight as to the way the land owners see you when the oul tranny turns up.

Ive been keeping lurchers for ove 30 years and when we started out we made it our aim to become friends with the land owners,and they us.it has stood me well all this time but the time has come now when th CC members and some of the farmers have no time or trust for others due to the break ins and general menace they are faced with in this day and age.

Fallow,I over the years sliped out and caught for the table,I was always a one man band so to speak,did my own thing and said not much to many,I have a very small circle of lurcher friends,proper lads that dont act the maggot either,for I cant stand silly **** in the country,the few friends I trust hardly know each other and are never together in a mob.thats what lurcher work to me is about,get out do your thing,successfull or not it matters little,but with a bunch of loud yobs,they should go for a night at the dogs(greyhound racing) or something and stay away from the lurcher/hunting scene .the damage they do has resounding affects on all of us and not for the better.it alienates us even more from the land owners that are out life line to working our dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

is it not illegal to hunt hares with lurchers anyway?

hunterpajero I keep telling the lurcher that but im dammed if I can stop him,they just wont listen when i tell them I dont have a licence for that, when we walk a field and a hare pops up out of nowhere then they are gone..,mind it seems some of the CC members have no bother keeping a wild animal in little crates and sweeping up almost every hare in an area at night in nets and I dont care if they get a license for it from some government official that has probably never seen a hare in the wild anyway, unless getting driven home half scuttered and one runs out in front of him/her.........oops im getting carried away me thinks lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Sponge25

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Jesus man paragraphs please !!

But your right they think they have the right to tell people to get off .

That gun club has no right to put a ban on hare hunting in its district , if I've got permission from the farmer then they have no right to tell me anything .

All associations are the same I was lampung foxes in a district beside mine when an individual stopped me and continued to warn me that if I didn leave the area I had permission on that he would return with a few mates

At this stage I told him to f right off , all this because they shoot foxs every Sunday as a club .

The biggest problem with lurchers is people think that all lurchers men are members of the travelling community .

So straight away ur on the back foot .

If you belong to a club man, ya have to abide by the rules. Ofcourse you're not going to be prosecuted or anything but if ya don't like the rules, don't join the club.

its time to change the rules of the club me thinks lol..why would a gun club,that has or should have no interest whatsoever in hares have the audacity to BAN hare coursing on their allotted grounds.their interest should surely be creating good sport to those paid up members and create viable habitat for the birds they pursue and cull any vermin that threathens to eradicate or prey on their sporting stock.I could see where they would prefer not to have folk trapsing all over their shooting grounds and scaring the birds into the next parish,but I thought that might be where feeders play their role and keep the birds returning to the same area.

at one point we used to go check the local fox dens to sort out a few foxes for the club here local and there was no bother taking a lurcher then in case any bolted quarry was to make an effort of a clean getaway.

the only question I ask......DOES ANYONE LOVE THE LURCHER OWNER,lol

hunterpajero I keep telling the lurcher that but im dammed if I can stop him,they just wont listen when i tell them I dont have a licence for that, when we walk a field and a hare pops up out of nowhere then they are gone..,mind it seems some of the CC members have no bother keeping a wild animal in little crates and sweeping up almost every hare in an area at night in nets and I dont care if they get a license for it from some government official that has probably never seen a hare in the wild anyway, unless getting driven home half scuttered and one runs out in front of him/her.........oops im getting carried away me thinks lol

so its ok then to go out with lurchers after Deer????

who mentioned deer,we are talking about hares,i personally have NEVER EVER taken a deer with a dog,its cruel,pointless and asking for trouble.why did you pick that out of nowhere,you I think have an ulterior motive in that statement.keep to the topic.your another one that only sees the things you want to see,some lurcher owners poach deer with dogs so we all do it?is that your view on us.?

one other thing ........I dont lamp with the dogs.its all daylight I do now.for many years I have used the spotlight but not in 10 years,geting too old and too much hassle .I like to stick my slippers on and put my feet up in the evenings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Dian Cecht

By your own admission you poach hares but you think poaching deer is wrong :confused:

If you cannot control your dogs they shouldn't be in the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Vulture 1

its time to change the rules of the club me thinks lol..why would a gun club,that has or should have no interest whatsoever in hares have the audacity to BAN hare coursing on their allotted grounds.their interest should surely be creating good sport to those paid up members and create viable habitat for the birds they pursue and cull any vermin that threathens to eradicate or prey on their sporting stock.I could see where they would prefer not to have folk trapsing all over their shooting grounds and scaring the birds into the next parish,but I thought that might be where feeders play their role and keep the birds returning to the same area.

at one point we used to go check the local fox dens to sort out a few foxes for the club here local and there was no bother taking a lurcher then in case any bolted quarry was to make an effort of a clean getaway.

the only question I ask......DOES ANYONE LOVE THE LURCHER OWNER,lol

Well i can only speck for myself but any contact i ve had with them has been negative.

And another thing i cant figure is i live about 1 hour from cork and waterford citys theyare all coming out of these areas there are a lot of foxes between there and where i live how is it these lads always end up in deer country.

How do they justify the diesel i m workin and i know i couldnt do it.

We own land in the area and any time i ve told them to move on its basically f yu. And i m always polite.

Had one chap said he bust all was inside in me.

Now thats not very nice is it.

you think the 2 acts are comparable? cause I dont.I do what I do,I dont see runing a dog on a hare being in the same league as a deer being poached.make of it what you will.we will not be able to walk the bloody fields in another while with that train of thought.it must be kept for who? those with greyhounds?I have permission where i go,I have the right to walk ,its like the water tax and property tax in my mind,unjust as far as I am concerned.

well,you must be right then,all lurcher owners are nothing but dole fiddling scum eh??you know what,lets take up the same train of thought as the general public,most pit bull owners must be dog fighting men, and all collie owners are shepherds,right??im not going to get into a big hullaballoo over this so have a field day,no wonder field sports are in such a negative state,every fraction of fieldsports having a cut at the other.

Dian Cecht wrote: »
    By your own admission you poach hares but you think poaching deer is wrong :confused:

yawn!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Fallow

You must be a greyhound coursing man by the sound of it, those sad creatures that hold wild hares in a pen for days and then release them in front of greyhounds all for the sake of making money, gambling and dont tell me otherwise, as that is all it is not hunting for the pot or vermin control.!

As for poaching deer, sweet jesus, where did transit mention that???
    You see, its the same old same old, ''o, he has lurchers, so he is a no good traveler and poaches everything''...what a load of rubbish!!

Your right transit, no wonder field sports are going down hill, with the likes of the ignorance above... :rolleyes:

just one question transit why would u advise anyone to stay away from churchtown south if they have permission they would have no need to regardless of any cc I for one know all this country and have no problem with any farmer cc or any one else because I spend a lot of time buildng up friends and and help with any problem I am asked about and have met lots of outsiders without permission hunting hares and rabbits foxs and have gotten abuse when it was nothing at all to do with me only accompanying the farmer at the time and can tell u now from listening to some people its only a matter of time before some one will get hurt.not my talk there talk all because one simple fault .u must have respect for other people their land and property.i have been in farmers yards where cattle have been run through wire over ditches and basically spooked from dogs out hunting hares .one farmer I know was fencing wire that had bee torn down theprevious week and a lurcher comes up beside him he could here the owner calling him so he caught the dog and held him thinking this man would approach him but no he turned on his heels and ran wat does that tell u.if that farmers animal broke a leg or had to be put down for some reason who will pay him most gun clubs have insurance also cc I presume in this day in age u must have respect for all life people property etc ure not going to go to lidl in the morning rob them and expect them to do nout about its the same principal and its all down to one word respect

moloney wrote: »
    just one question transit why would u advise anyone to stay away from churchtown south if they have permission they would have no need to regardless of any cc I for one know all this country and have no problem with any farmer cc or any one else because I spend a lot of time buildng up friends and and help with any problem I am asked about and have met lots of outsiders without permission hunting hares and rabbits foxs and have gotten abuse when it was nothing at all to do with me only accompanying the farmer at the time and can tell u now from listening to some people its only a matter of time before some one will get hurt.not my talk there talk all because one simple fault .u must have respect for other people their land and property.i have been in farmers yards where cattle have been run through wire over ditches and basically spooked from dogs out hunting hares .one farmer I know was fencing wire that had bee torn down theprevious week and a lurcher comes up beside him he could here the owner calling him so he caught the dog and held him thinking this man would approach him but no he turned on his heels and ran wat does that tell u.if that farmers animal broke a leg or had to be put down for some reason who will pay him most gun clubs have insurance also cc I presume in this day in age u must have respect for all life people property etc ure not going to go to lidl in the morning rob them and expect them to do nout about its the same principal and its all down to one word respect

Well said

Im speaking from experience moloney,I was collected last season by my 2 mates and we went to the land WITH PERMISSION.we ran into the CC memebers that turned out en mass , and there was no talking to them,they were set on doing us harm,I have no doubt that some twat involved in hunting has done damage to land property of farmers,unfortunately these are the idiots that ruin any chance of being given a fair chance.I told my mates,next time your heading down that way,don t call me,i dont need the stress and hassle.To be truthfull,that was the only time I was ever down there and have no intention of going there again,permission or no permission.and just on a latter note we all have insurance just in case of any mishaps.Just one other thing,we were always instructed to NEVER release a dog amongst live stock and try to stay well out from them.Ive put my best efforts into this but as always were on a looser no matter which way we turn.I'll just get on with what I do and keep shut,have respect and obey the wishes of the landowners I deal with,I cant do a whole lot more than that other than retire to satisfy the few who disagree,AND THAT AINT GOING TO HAPPEN ANY DAY SOON.

I no chruch town dont hunt there.
    But i would know lads that shoot in the area. They told me of a farmer that stopped a crowd in his land with lurchers asked them to leave in the process of this a hare ran and the cheeky bas### slipped the dogs farmer drives down the field to get between the hare and dogs this ends the boys fun.
    One of them walks up to the jeep and punchs the farmer.

Can you see how people would turn on lurcher men after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭PL05

Im speaking from experience moloney,I was collected last season by my 2 mates and we went to the land WITH PERMISSION.we ran into the CC memebers that turned out en mass , and there was no talking to them,they were set on doing us harm,I have no doubt that some twat involved in hunting has done damage to land property of farmers,unfortunately these are the idiots that ruin any chance of being given a fair chance.I told my mates,next time your heading down that way,don t call me,i dont need the stress and hassle.To be truthfull,that was the only time I was ever down there and have no intention of going there again,permission or no permission.and just on a latter note we all have insurance just in case of any mishaps.Just one other thing,we were always instructed to NEVER release a dog amongst live stock and try to stay well out from them.Ive put my best efforts into this but as always were on a looser no matter which way we turn.I'll just get on with what I do and keep shut,have respect and obey the wishes of the landowners I deal with,I cant do a whole lot more than that other than retire to satisfy the few who disagree,AND THAT AINT GOING TO HAPPEN ANY DAY SOON.
    Dont know the first thing about hunting with lurchers, so wont comment too much but this man, transit has said he does,nt get involved in anything illegal so i dont get why he,s getting stick. We all know that some people with lurchers are taking deer but not all, the same can be said with some legit stalkers but again not all. As i said before, most people not involved in hunting and the ANTI,S only see the end result and dont see the differance between people that are doing things the right way and those that dont, so squabling on here is,nt doing any of us any good.

Fallow wrote: »
    You must be a greyhound coursing man by the sound of it, those sad creatures that hold wild hares in a pen for days and then release them in front of greyhounds all for the sake of making money, gambling and dont tell me otherwise, as that is all it is not hunting for the pot or vermin control.!

As for poaching deer, sweet jesus, where did transit mention that???
    You see, its the same old same old, ''o, he has lurchers, so he is a no good traveler and poaches everything''...what a load of rubbish!!

Your right transit, no wonder field sports are going down hill, with the likes of the ignorance above... :rolleyes:

You assume incorrectly. I'm not a greyhound man or even a coursing supporter. I don't shoot hares legally (with a shotgun during their season) either so I'm not trying to "protect" my sport before you assume that I am.

I'm a sportsman who supports any legal activity pursued in a legal way.

I firmly believe that the law must be obeyed no matter how much I think it is wrong.

Someone posting here that he is coursing hares without a licence from NPWS is committing an offence same as someone lamping deer in my book.

Illegal is illegal.

and thereyou go,no win situation,good luck all,end of debate from me.enjoy your sport,it might not be around in a few years to participate in,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭feartuath

As a farmer and as someone who has shot for the last 30 years is it legal to hunt hares with dogs with no muzzles.
    Something tells me it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Does anyone still shoot them even?
    I know one lad who'd shoot maybe one or two a year but that's it.

feartuath wrote: »
    As a farmer and as someone who has shot for the last 30 years is it legal to hunt hares with dogs with no muzzles.
    Something tells me it's not.
    they can be hunted with footpacks or shot but you need a lisence to course them meaning the average joe soap is breaking the law by running lurchers on them ,,

who mentioned deer,we are talking about hares,i personally have NEVER EVER taken a deer with a dog,its cruel,pointless and asking for trouble.why did you pick that out of nowhere,you I think have an ulterior motive in that statement.keep to the topic.your another one that only sees the things you want to see,some lurcher owners poach deer with dogs so we all do it?is that your view on us.?

one other thing ........I dont lamp with the dogs.its all daylight I do now.for many years I have used the spotlight but not in 10 years,geting too old and too much hassle .I like to stick my slippers on and put my feet up in the evenings.

well you said if you are out with your dog and a hare gets up and your dog gives chase its not your problem,im saying is it the same thing if a deer ran out of a ditch or cover during the day i did not mention any lamps either by the way

Ah it ok during the day , dog walkers do it all the time

I've said already if you don't have full control over you're dogs they should not be let off their leads on someone else's property.

It's called sarcasm ! I stop reading anything u post 2 days ago

And if you look I wasn't quoting u !!

I was simply stating dog walkers done give two ****s what damage they do out walking there dogs in areas where there is deer

In fairness if greyhounds can course then why cant lurchers muzzled of course excuse the pun or if people are that interested in coursing hares get a grey hound and join a coursing club

snipe02 wrote: »
    In fairness if greyhounds can course then why cant lurchers muzzled of course excuse the pun or if people are that interested in coursing hares get a grey hound and join a coursing club

Because there like every other club , they don't want you in it , it alway a bunch of friend and sh1t

It's called sarcasm ! I stop reading anything u post 2 days ago

And if you look I wasn't quoting u !!

I was simply stating dog walkers done give two ****s what damage they do out walking there dogs in areas where there is deer

The average family mutt is not trained to hunt/course in the same was a lurcher might be. I won't make sweeping generalisations like you have and say that all lurchers are kept for hunting/coursing as I know people who have them as pets.

If my pet dog seen a deer he's probably run the other way and even if he did chase it I guarantee the deer wouldn't have any trouble getting away from him. As for my hunting dog he's trained to only hunt certain things and ignores what he's not supposed to hunt. And even if he does think of chasing something he's not supposed to I have him well trained enough that a couple of pips on my whistle and he'll stop straight away.

My comments are directed at "dog walkers" too.

Because there like every other club , they don't want you in it , it alway a bunch of friend and sh1t

That's a pathetic excuse. Maybe you're the problem. Not the club.

The average family mutt is not trained to hunt/course in the same was a lurcher might be. I won't make sweeping generalisations like you have and say that all lurchers are kept for hunting/coursing as I know people who have them as pets.

If my pet dog seen a deer he's probably run the other way and even if he did chase it I guarantee the deer wouldn't have any trouble getting away from him. As for my hunting dog he's trained to only hunt certain things and ignores what he's not supposed to hunt. And even if he does think of chasing something he's not supposed to I have him well trained enough that a couple of pips on my whistle and he'll stop straight away.

My comments are directed at "dog walkers" too.

U hit the nail on the head !! The adverage family isn't trained and doesn't need to chase , all it has to do is spring a deer from cover , and cause panic it a deer .

Suddenly deer runs into fences or what ever and gets injured , I've got a few calls over the last two years , deer caught in fences alive and dead ,

I've made no generalization ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

AFAIK its not the law that coursing dogs have to be muzzled
    It was an idea taken on by Bord no Gcon looking to alleviate some of the pressure that was from the antis at the time
    It might be changed now, no doubt somebody will point me in the error of my ways if im wrong

That's a pathetic excuse. Maybe you're the problem. Not the club.

What are you on about now , I'm a member of my own club for 16 years now and a member of the west of ireland spaniel club .

Go try and join a club out side ur area see how you get on . Unless ur from the area or have a friend get u in there is no chance .

So my excuse is valid . How many lads here are approached and ran from land by a club even tho they have permission ,

Not really the acts of a welcoming club now is it !!

U hit the nail on the head !! The adverage family isn't trained and doesn't need to chase , all it has to do is spring a deer from cover , and cause panic it a deer .

Suddenly deer runs into fences or what ever and gets injured , I've got a few calls over the last two years , deer caught in fences alive and dead ,

I've made no generalization ,

Yep, that can happen & it's a shame when it does.

Are you saying that only deer stalkers should be allowed on the land so? If the landowner wants to walk his or even allows others to walk their dogs (family pets & gundogs I'm talking about) on his land he shouldn't as a deer might get spooked?

And to repeat myself if your on someone else's land and you don't have control of your dog you shouldn't be there especially if there is any livestock in the area.

Yep, that can happen & it's a shame when it does.

Are you saying that only deer stalkers should be allowed on the land so? If the landowner wants to walk his or even allows others to walk their dogs (family pets & gundogs I'm talking about) on his land he shouldn't as a deer might get spooked?

And to repeat myself if your on someone else's land and you don't have control of your dog you shouldn't be there especially if there is any livestock in the area.

It was fooking sarcasm !!!!!! I wasn't quoting u nor do I read ur posted apart from the ones that u aim at me .

Open ur eyes !!

I'm in lots of different hunting & conservation clubs both in my area & outside it. When people know that you're a decent & law abiding sportsman it's easy to get into other clubs. The only people I know who can't get into clubs are lads that have questionable morals when it comes to hunting & respect for their quarry or are known to break the law.

I'm in lots of different hunting & conservation clubs both in my area & outside it. When people know that you're a decent & law abiding sportsman it's easy to get into other clubs. The only people I know who can't get into clubs are lads that have questionable morals when it comes to hunting & respect for their quarry or are known to break the law.[/

And the award goes to !! .

See unlike you , im in two clubs both I work hard at and give a lot of free time too

So either you don't work and have ur whole life devoted to these clubs or ur just in them to make ur self feel important ,

Or your superman and can balance life with all the clubs ur in .

Oh one more option ur full of dung !

U decide ! I'm done reading ur post . Have a very nice day .