Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grant vortex 50-90

• 29-01-2014 1:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭

I'm trying to commission one at the moment. Brand new boiler. .50 80EH nozzle in it. CO is through the roof with the air at 5. The air is nearly down to 0 now and co is still well over 100. Smoke pump is 0. Co2 is at 10.3. 02 is around 6.5. I can't really shut off any more air. Pump pressure 7 bar.
    Any ideas??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭crock!

Try a new nozzle.make sure the fga fitting are in right espeicialy around the filter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

crock! wrote: »
    Try a new nozzle.make sure the fga fitting are in right espeicialy around the filter.

Not sure what u mean by FGA fitting

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,378 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Not sure what u mean by FGA fitting

He means to check that the FGA isn't drawing in air somewhere between the probe and the analyser.

Please follow site and charter rules. "Resistance is futile"

What kind of flue, low level or vertical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭jimf

what model vortex is it balance flu if so is it any better with hose removed

id say crock means inline filter on your fga itself

I tried a new .55 80 eh. Much better. Thanks lads

I'm trying to commission one at the moment. Brand new boiler. .50 80EH nozzle in it. CO is through the roof with the air at 5. The air is nearly down to 0 now and co is still well over 100. Smoke pump is 0. Co2 is at 10.3. 02 is around 6.5. I can't really shut off any more air. Pump pressure 7 bar.
    Any ideas??
    291287.jpg

If the burner has this type of air box, it is not unknown for the dial to show adjustments without the shutter inside moving. If this sort of air box, then take it off and see if shutter is moving when you turn adjuster. Also make sure nothing is preventing a good seal between airbox and burner body.

I tried a new .55 80 eh. Much better. Thanks lads

at this stage I nearly always think gammy nozzle if everything else seems ok

jimf wrote: »
    at this stage I nearly always think gammy nozzle if everything else seems ok

Everything's grand now but co is 90. Higher than I'd like

what model vortex dtp

What's your other settings like? Any markings on your smoke paper at this stage? I hate to ask, but i assume you checked the baffles were not knocked about during transport.

what model vortex dtp

He said it was a 50-90, same as 15/26 afaik.

Wearb wrote: »
    He said it was a 50-90, same as 15/26 afaik.

I mean as in utility / boilerhouse / external

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭JamesM

I would try raising the pressure to 7.5 or even 8 bar.
    Jim

I mean as in utility / boilerhouse / external

Just as I posted the message, I suspected that that was what you meant. :o

Ye it's the outdoor module 50-90. I do always check the baffles before I fire for the first time.
    It's not the first time I've seen the CO high on a vortex. I think 90 is the highest I've seen though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

Did you open the top plastic air box cover to see if the air intake plate was actually moving to your adjustment as suggested by Wearb?

shane0007 wrote: »
    Did you open the top plastic air box cover to see if the air intake plate was actually moving to your adjustment as suggested by Wearb?

Ye it's the first thing I checked. Do you think 90 co is high?

Shut down, for me, is 100ppm for oil so I would certainly not be happy with 90. I would expect circa 35 - 45 for a new boiler & that will drop to 5 - 15 once the coatings have been burned off.
    Something is amiss IMO.
    You should also not have to drop the nozzle size in order to get better combustion with that boiler.
    Pump pressure ok?
    Fuel? A lot of iffy fuel about.
    Check again in a couple of days & if still off, out it through as a warranty call.

Shut down, for me, is 100ppm for oil so I would certainly not be happy with 90. I would expect circa 35 - 45 for a new boiler & that will drop to 5 - 15 once the coatings have been burned off.
    Something is amiss IMO.
    You should also not have to drop the nozzle size in order to get better combustion with that boiler.
    Pump pressure ok?
    Fuel? A lot of iffy fuel about.
    Check again in a couple of days & if still off, out it through as a warranty call.

I only dropped the nozzle size to suit the heat demand of the house. Pump pressure is 7 bar. What checks can I do for dodgy fuel except test for water?

as all on here know I don't do installs but have commissioned quite a few vortex for diff plumbers in my area and I can honestly say I have never come across one any way near your reading dtp

I think the average would be along the 30/50ppm range

the good thing is you have a great company to go back to and have great pride in their products

I only dropped the nozzle size to suit the heat demand of the house. Pump pressure is 7 bar. What checks can I do for dodgy fuel except test for water?

I used to have a 25 litre drum with some kerosene and with a connection that I could use to fire up new boilers that didn't have oil in new tank. I loaned it to a person that had run out of oil and they ended up breaking it. Perhaps it had gotten brittle anyway. I never replaced it, but it would be good for checking for bad oil.

Try put it back to MI with a 0.65 on 8.5bar pressure. MI's is a 0.50 on 7bar, but that shouldn't make much of a difference. By increasing the pump pressure to 7.5bar that will use up a decent amount of XS air & the CO will drop more.

I made up a small container to attach a temporary supply of my fuel to test burners. This will eliminate customer fuel supply concerns.

Try put it back to MI with a 0.65 on 8.5bar pressure. MI's is a 0.50 on 7bar, but that shouldn't make much of a difference. By increasing the pump pressure to 7.5bar that will use up a decent amount of XS air & the CO will drop more.

I made up a small container to attach a temporary supply of my fuel to test burners. This will eliminate customer fuel supply concerns.

So basically try .5 80 EH at 7.5?

I suppose if you could try and take a positive from dtp experience today is the importance of having boilers commissioned

So basically try .5 80 EH at 7.5?

You put in a 0.55 80EH nozzle set to 7.0 bar pressure, correct?

MI is 0.50 80EH at 7.0 bar or a 0.60 at 8.0 bar or a factory set 0.65 at 8.5 bar. You have increased the fuel from the minimum but decreased the pressure, resulting in too much air.
    So, either decrease the fuel or increase the pump pressure, by leaving your 0.55 & increase the pressure to 7.5. This will use up the XS air, which will lower your CO.

Or re-instate factory settings & see if all is ok, then make your amendments. If you cannot achieve factory settings, you can prove fuel supply is good, then put through a warranty call.

Is door on or off whilst analyising?

You put in a 0.55 80EH nozzle set to 7.0 bar pressure, correct?

MI is 0.50 80EH at 7.0 bar or a 0.60 at 8.0 bar or a factory set 0.65 at 8.5 bar. You have increased the fuel from the minimum but decreased the pressure, resulting in too much air.
    So, either decrease the fuel or increase the pump pressure, by leaving your 0.55 & increase the pressure to 7.5. This will use up the XS air, which will lower your CO.

Or re-instate factory settings & see if all is ok, then make your amendments. If you cannot achieve factory settings, you can prove fuel supply is good, then put through a warranty call.

Is door on or off whilst analyising?

Door always on. I only out in the .55 because that's all I had in the van I originally had the .5 in but was getting crazy high CO that nozzle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭agusta

Id agree with shane and set it up to factory settings with a proven fuel supply,ie. 23kw.If you can achieve factory settings,then you could set it up to get 15kw.The burner head should be changed from a T2 to T1 when setting boiler below 23kw

Ok. Could have been a dodgy 0.5 nozzle. Increase pump pressure to 7.5 for the 0.55 & see how that is. You might find it will bring the CO down to the 40's or less & for the first few fires that would be perfectly acceptable.

agusta wrote: »
    The burner head should be changed from a T2 to T1 when setting boiler below 23kw

Very good point, I never even thought of the required head change. This would also have an effect on combustion.

RTFM :eek::D

Very good point, I never even thought of the required head change. This would also have an effect on combustion.

RTFM :eek::D

I didn't notice that and grant themselves didn't mention it. So I've to buy a different feckin blast tube??

I didn't notice that and grant themselves didn't mention it.

They do in their installation manual. :P
    So I've to buy a different feckin blast tube??

Yup, if you want to run it below 23kw.

They do in their installation manual. :P

Yup, if you want to run it below 23kw.

Feck
    And thanks Shane!

Feck
    And thanks Shane!

Don't thank me, thank Augusta. He was the one who spotted it. I completely missed it.

Sorry thanks Augusta. Well spotted. I'm just pissed off I've to go back and buy a new head. I'll keep yee updated.

well spotted agusta good job somebody is awake in limerick

I would still adjust the pressure to 7.5 bar if you are leaving the 0.55 nozzle in.

I'll get a new .5 and leave it as MI's. And a new blast tube while I'm in the shop!

I haven't access to manual at moment but perhaps the lowest allowed firing with existing head might not be too far off heating demand.

Thanks guys,It just so happens that i had to change a t3 head to a t2 head lately so i was alert to checking head size.I found it more cost effective to buy a new burner with a t2 head and use the remaining parts as spares than just buy a t2 head on its own.

Or order the boiler preset to your requirement with the nozzle & head factory fitted :eek:

easiest fix I suppose and no extra cost

Sorry, I stole your cherry :D

its a long time since anybody worried about my cherry :eek::eek::eek:

Thanks guys,It just so happens that i had to change a t3 head to a t2 head lately so i was alert to checking head size.I found it more cost effective to buy a new burner with a t2 head and use the remaining parts as spares than just buy a t2 head on its own.

Jesus how much is a new head?

Wearb wrote: »
    I haven't access to manual at moment but perhaps the lowest allowed firing with existing head might not be too far off heating demand.

I was thinking that but I'd be afraid to chance it

Jesus how much is a new head?
    Im guessing about 35 euro,i wonder if you set up burner to 21.5 kw,just over 70000 btu with the T2 head would that be way above heat requirements

It would. The house only needs 16kw max

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭DGOBS

Sorry for coming in on this so late, sounds like there is impingement, causing the CO, +1 on the head

I just found a t1 in the van. Old but perfect. I'll try it first before I go buying. I'll update as soon as I do it