Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gun Clubs and licencing

• 28-01-2014 1:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37

Hi all, Im living between Tralee and Castlemaine and intending on applying for a firearms licence, not sure yet whether to go for a shotgun or rifle yet. Howsever and to get to the point, went to a local gun club yesterday to apply for membership but their annual fee is insane.
    Can anyone give me info/ contact details for other gunclubs around the area that I could approach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭223vmax

What do you call insane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 seanacai

355 euro per year? Or am I being naieve thinking thats a crazy amount for membership yearly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

seanacai wrote: »
    355 euro per year? Or am I being naieve thinking thats a crazy amount for membership yearly?

Are you sure its not a Golf Club you applied to?

Ha ha!! thats what I was thinking too!!! :D but no sure enough they are a gun club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

Insurance is normally €50 euro and whatever memebership is after that,€335 is an insane price really,unless they are charging you a joining fee of somesort maybe?

ace86 wrote: »
    Insurance is normally €50 euro and whatever memebership is after that,€335 is an insane price really,unless they are charging you a joining fee of somesort maybe?

Nope I asked him that question and he said that is the yearly fee. now he did say there is access to a firing range all year round, but still 355 ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭CZ 453

Nope I asked him that question and he said that is the yearly fee. now he did say there is access to a firing range all year round, but still 355 ???

Do you know something, I'd pay it starting off unless you know a farmer with land. It might save you the hassle of asking around and begging fellas to put in a good word. If you know someone you're sorted. I must say I would have preferred to have joined a club.

On a side note.I was thinking of getting rid of mine so pm me if your interested.

Was it not some member of paddy mahons range you where talking to that would explain a bit of the price bcos i know most clubs in the county would be €100-€200 tops id say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭LIFFY FISHING

I think you are missleading the thread, your heading is about a gun club, yet you are quoting a gun range, very different sports using different firearms, you need to decide on what type of shooting you want to partake in also before you consider what type of firearm you intend to purchase.

If your looking for a gun club this might be able to help ya, Tom O'Connor County Secretary point ya in the right direction.
    http://www.nargc.ie/partners.aspx

I think you are missleading the thread, your heading is about a gun club, yet you are quoting a gun range, very different sports using different firearms, you need to decide on what type of shooting you want to partake in also before you consider what type of firearm you intend to purchase.
    To be honest im just trying to get the licence sorted and was directed to him as chairman of the nearest gun club, so thats where i went, thats why i was initially asking if anyone could direct me to a more reasonable club (finance wise).

ace86 wrote: »
    Was it not some member of paddy mahons range you where talking to that would explain a bit of the price bcos i know most clubs in the county would be €100-€200 tops id say.
    Bang on

To be honest im just trying to get the licence sorted and was directed to him as chairman of the nearest gun club, so thats where i went, thats why i was initially asking if anyone could direct me to a more reasonable club (finance wise).

Sound, but do you want to hunt or target shoot or clay shoot ?, as all of these are different disiplines and generally require a different type of firearm, you will get away with a shotgun for clays and hunting so this can b a crossover gun, if you want to target shoot its really different especially if you wsnt to compete, I presume from your post you are a first time shooter so why not speak to the lads in your local game club and the local range and arrange a try day, as this will give u a feel for what u want to do.
    A range will always b dearer than a game club hence what you were quoted, game clubs tend to b €100-€150 per year ranges about €300- €350, joining fees may apply and insurance is extra.

Thanks Liffey, Im greener than the greenest of grass at the minute and just need a bit of guidance. Id love to try out the clays and also become a relatively regular bunny boiler :). I think ill start out with a shotgun and work up from there in the future. I think i got my two farmers sorted earlier this evening thank the gods!! and will look inot ace86's reccomendation re the nargc aswell

Thanks Liffey, Im greener than the greenest of grass at the minute and just need a bit of guidance. Id love to try out the clays and also become a relatively regular bunny boiler :). I think ill start out with a shotgun and work up from there in the future.

Think you should look at a sporter shotgun so? It will serve you well for the bunnies and the clays, do get yourself introduced to your local game club & the best of luck in your new sport.

Any ideas re which is the nicer gun, under and over or side by side or something else?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

For my own sake, do you want a game/gun club, a gun/authorised range or a clay range?
    • Game/Gun club - Club comprising of hunters that shoot game only, and have lands, but no range.
    • Gun/authorised range - A dedicated place where fixed targets are available and members pay a yearly fee to stay members.
    • Clay range - Same a gun range. Members, fees, etc. but usually much less than an authorised range and only clay pigeons are shot with shotguns. No rifles.
    • Game/gun clubs run at between €50 - €200 per year including insurance.
    • Authorised range run at between €250 - €850 per year and some with first year add joining fees. this also covers insurance.
    • Clay range varies and i'm not sure on exact price.
    • For hunting and game you need a gun club OR individual permission letters from land owners. Either will suffice.
    • For target work youu an authorised range and to be nominated by other members. Same applies to some clay ranges.

if you want to do both you need both membership to a range, permission from land owners/membership of a gun club, and to tick both hunting and target work on your FCA1.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Thanks for the info cass, as ive said to liffey its clays and bunnys so it farmers and a clay day it is. So Sporter shotgun it will be.
    Thanks to all that have provided the info.

If you want to try out clays and things knocknagoshel grounds is less then 30 mins for ya talk to liam welsh he would let ya use a club gun and you could fire a few shots see how it feels and he would advise ya on what gun to buy. If its hunting and a spot of clays you want as well a sporter is the way to go a game gun would not be suited for clays if you wanted to have it for a good part of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭jimf

that's fcukin crazy what are they shooting lions tigers jaysus you could get a week in kruger national park for that

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

jimf wrote: »
    that's fcukin crazy what are they shooting lions tigers jaysus you could get a week in kruger national park for that
    We all thought the same but i think the OP was being quoted for a range and not just a club.

Even if it is a gun club the high fee would include membership to a range too, as day membership is illegal, so the club (assuming it's not a range) must have a deal with the local range.

If that's the case it's not bad. Consider 150 for the gun club, and another 200 for the range. It's dual membership so would be better for firearm applications, and shooting. If it is a gun club only then it's fair dear.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

I was directed to him by the guards as chairman of local gun club, but after talking to him it seems that it is range shooting rather than any hunting. So I decided to make off a few farmers instead.