Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Young Cali girl heads to India to marry her f/b boyfriend and live in small village

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I read that as call girl.

I am disappoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

She sounds like a thoughtless idiot.if leaving her daughter was so hard then obviously she shouldn't do it. She'll get sick of the place rapidly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

The husband is a fine thing in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

smurgen wrote: »
    She sounds like a thoughtless idiot.if leaving her daughter was so hard then obviously she shouldn't do it. She'll get sick of the place rapidly.

The daughter is 25. Parents should sacrifice their own happiness to live through their adult children I suppose :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

stimpson wrote: »
    I read that as call girl.

I am disappoint.

Me too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Rasheed wrote: »
    And 16 years younger. Happy times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

She looks like a goer!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

shes not young shes 41

marrying a toy boy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

And 26 years younger. Happy times!

She has a grand uncomplicated life with good weather and that sex god in her bed, fair play to her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Why is this news?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

"...she flew to the sub continent to meet a man young enough to be her daughter...

Suspicious Goose is... suspicious. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Superdedupity

But this isn't the news; it's boards.ie ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

shes not young shes 41

marrying a toy boy

41 with a 25 year old daughter...Does the daughter have a 9 year old daughter of her own? She should be at least a grandmother by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

She's 41. Great news that this is a 'Young girl' now :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Your man done alright out of this. I'd say he was pulling the balls of himself 24/7 when she agreed to move over.

People are mental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

41 with a 25 year old daughter...Does the daughter have a 9 year old daughter of her own? She should be at least a grandmother by now.

If the daughter's single, she can move here and help me foot the turf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

Daily Fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED answers by Rasheed and Shopaholic01 for canny observation and entering the zeitgeist. All the guys seem a bit jealous and confrontational.
    Lets hear it for the girls, boys! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

20 on the euro that they end up back in Cali fairly soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I wish her happiness, and one day an indoor shower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Can't say I'd ever do that myself. Not only do I prefer an older man, I'd rather not share the living room with livestock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

i read the article there on the link,
    she is happy, and loving her life, her daughter is grown up and can visit anytime anyway,
    she has not ruled out returning to america,
    she is following her heart,
    she is old enough to make up her own mind,
    she did her bit in rearing her child and then she can do is she wishes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

misleading thread title OP. Really it should say 'desperate auld wan moves abroad to prey on vulnerable young man'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Does anyone really give a fcuk...honestly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Family to appear on Dr. Phil in 3,2,1...

/EDIT:
    OP?!?!?! :mad: She fecking 41!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

shes nearly a granny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED answers by Rasheed and Shopaholic01 for canny observation and entering the zeitgeist. All the guys seem a bit jealous and confrontational.
    Lets hear it for the girls, boys! :D

Nah its simply that I believe in an equality of perception.

Older man moves to impoverished nation to marry much younger woman = exploitative sleaze thats probably a sado with social problems.

Older woman moves to impoverished nation to marry much younger man = strong independent woman following her heart

Not familiar with US immigration policies but I would hazard that it would be awkward for him to move immediately to the USA as her spouse if they had never met so the moving to India could be from necessity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Rasheed wrote: »

Your post was the only reason I clicked on a Daily Mail link. Worth it. He's indeed a tasty man.

Now I'm off to scrub myself raw with a metal brush.....

Nah its simply that I believe in an equality of perception.

Older man moves to impoverished nation to marry much younger woman = exploitative sleaze thats probably a sado with social problems.

Nah, I can't imagine much judgement of a 25-year-old woman and a 41-year-old man at all. Nothing shocking or exploitative at all about that and happens often; she's a grown woman at 25. 17 (or younger) and 41 would be a different story altogether though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

phasers wrote: »
    misleading thread title OP. Really it should say 'desperate auld wan moves abroad to prey on vulnerable young man'

...in fairness she's probably access to vulnerable young men with running water and electricity far nearer home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

From Cali to Kali

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Young girl eh.

Nah, I can't imagine much judgement of a 25-year-old woman and a 41-year-old man at all. Nothing shocking or exploitative at all about that and happens often; she's a grown woman at 25. 17 (or younger) and 41 would be a different story altogether though.

It might not be "shocking" (a word I didn't use) because his age in this case is high enough to imply hopefully a reasonable level of maturity.

But it would definitely attract negative judgment, are you honestly saying that if you saw a headline that read

"41 year old American man moves to rural village to marry his internet girlfriend (25)"

You wouldn't consider the relationship to likely be exploitative and for the man to have likely have poor social skills.
    Look at the threads on AH which I am fairly sure you have been involved in, what do you think of the guys on here that go on about "foreign" woman do you really not presume at least some of that is to do with their poor social skills (the posters not the foreign woman obviously)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

smurgen wrote: »

Her daughter is 25, and in fairness noone can say if she'll be sick of it, love is love, she seem's happy enough, I actually don't even know why it's news:confused:

It might not be "shocking" (a word I didn't use) because his age in this case is high enough to imply hopefully a reasonable level of maturity.

But it would definitely attract negative judgment, are you honestly saying that if you saw a headline that read

"41 year old American man moves to rural village to marry his internet girlfriend (25)"

You wouldn't consider the relationship to likely be exploitative and for the man to have likely have poor social skills...........

No, because he's moving there. If he was marrying some of those desperate women from a poor country (Fillipina Brides, Thais Brides) then yes, I'd think it was exploitative and the rest.

Nodin wrote: »
    No, because he's moving there. If he was marrying some of those desperate women from a poor country (Fillipina Brides, Thais Brides) then yes, I'd think it was exploitative and the rest.

Been years since I was there :( but I remember in Thailand there seemed to a lot of older western guys with younger woman that lived there, they are definitely judged as being exploitative (and rightly so IMO)

And, maybe an American poster will be along to clear this up but as I mentioned, even if she wanted too, could she bring him over to live with her in USA directly or would it require some proof of a previous relationship before the marriage/or a period of being married.

Been years since I was there :( but I remember in Thailand there seemed to a lot of older western guys with younger woman that lived there, they are definitely judged as being exploitative (and rightly so IMO).

Indeed, if they're bringing their money with them. Yer woman, however, has moved into a crap poor area with an extremely patriarchal society.

Been years since I was there :( but I remember in Thailand there seemed to a lot of older western guys with younger woman that lived there, they are definitely judged as being exploitative (and rightly so IMO)

And, maybe an American poster will be along to clear this up but as I mentioned, even if she wanted too, could she bring him over to live with her in USA directly or would it require some proof of a previous relationship before the marriage/or a period of being married.

They would look (with jaundiced eyes) on the relationship prior to marriage. Her best bet would be to live there for a few years, then travel to America. She has to get a permanent job that pays over double the minimum wage to show that she can support him. He could then come over on a return ticket. They would probably slap a 90 day stay on his passport. He should expect a severe grilling at this side after getting off the plane. Then, straight away, he should apply for permanent residency. Once that paperwork is done (and providing he doesn't break any laws) he's safe from Immigration 'til they do the paperwork. After that ....... the lap of the Gods but he should be OK
    The paperwork would then take over a year and the cost (if they do it themselves - about $2K. If they go the lawyer route - about $3K.
    On a personal note ......... my wife is American and before we married we were living in Ireland. Came over here to get married and then returned to Ireland for another four years before heading back here permanently. They still made me jump through hoops at the airport! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Funny my cousin moved to California to be with her online bf

News? She's turned into an expat.. Who cares.

Overheal wrote: »
    Funny my cousin moved to California to be with her online bf

I imagine she had a job to go to and the relevant papers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    I imagine she had a job to go to and the relevant papers?

or she was American? :pac:

I'd think nothing. Genuinely. I've always gone out with older men. The guy previous to the one I'm with now was 45 and I was 29. Do the maths.
    You wouldn't consider the relationship to likely be exploitative and for the man to have likely have poor social skills.
    Look at the threads on AH which I am fairly sure you have been involved in, what do you think of the guys on here that go on about "foreign" woman do you really not presume at least some of that is to do with their poor social skills (the posters not the foreign woman obviously)

The poor social skills is an assumption. I have no problems with anyone meeting their partner on the internet. Your point about men going out with foreign women due to lack of social skills...well I have no problems with men going out with foreign women (my boyfriend is Spanish and I haven't gone out with an Irish guy since 2007), it's the knocking Irish women I have a problem with and would presume their labelling of whole groups of women who read the forum as being a bit of an prat trying to get some kind of sad revenge. Different issue surely. I wouldn't judge someone who'd a preference for foreigners; I can see the appeal myself!

I genuinely wouldn't judge a man of 41 with a woman of 25 regardless of how they met and where they lived. Not in the slightest. If the woman was about 5 or 6 years younger, perhaps, but not someone of 25.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Wait till she finds out he doesn't want to leave the farm; his mother won't let them go; she gets fed up with the dirt-poor lifestyle and romance wears off; US immigration make life difficult.

At the moment she's bringing huge wealth (in their eyes) and is playing the wife/daughter-in-law very well. But can she keep it up?

There have been other women who married Masai warriors and so on. We never hear about them slinking back to their own countries again, but I really can't see somebody pushing through the culture shock, the lack of things we take for granted - not just showers and electricity, but health care and not getting sick from water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

No indoors toilet and a bucket for a shower yet he has access to Facebook.
    Jaysus, they must have fibre broadband. :pac:

Indeed, if they're bringing their money with them. Yer woman, however, has moved into a crap poor area with an extremely patriarchal society.

And your woman isn't bringing her money with her :confused: , this could be actually be an interesting social experiment, yes India is a patriarchal society but its also one where money is power, is the local cop or judge local cop going to be swung by his sexism or would a little a bit of Baksheesh improve his attitudes to woman remarkably.
    I genuinely wouldn't judge a man of 41 with a woman of 25 regardless of how they met and where they lived. Not in the slightest. If the woman was about 5 or 6 years younger, perhaps, but not someone of 25.

Really? I know I sound like like I am being disbelieving to be contrary but there is a huge power disparity in this relationship its just not equivalent to an interaction between two people on a relatively equal footing as is the case between Spain and here for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Everyone is entitled to make their own choices in life but the prospect of a woman quitting work and submitting herself to a life of obeying her husband and his family is pretty disheartening to be honest.

Wait till she finds out he doesn't want to leave the farm; his mother won't let them go; she gets fed up with the dirt-poor lifestyle and romance wears off; US immigration make life difficult.

At the moment she's bringing huge wealth (in their eyes) and is playing the wife/daughter-in-law very well. But can she keep it up?

There have been other women who married Masai warriors and so on. We never hear about them slinking back to their own countries again, but I really can't see somebody pushing through the culture shock, the lack of things we take for granted - not just showers and electricity, but health care and not getting sick from water.

Hey JuliusCaesar, too much boards has turned you into a cynic :)
    Just in passing .......... any relation of Sir Digby Chicken Caesar De bello Gallico. I did him for the Inter Cert circa 1964 :D Frightfully nice right on kinda chap but not a word of English

And your woman isn't bringing her money with her :confused: , this could be actually be an interesting social experiment, yes India is a patriarchal society but its also one where money is power, is the local cop or judge local cop going to be swung by his sexism or would a little a bit of Baksheesh improve his attitudes to woman remarkably..

.....if she is, she's hiding it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Its a status symbol in some of these countries to marry a Westerner.
    Stability and the ability to provide are also consideres desirable. Louie Theroux done a document about it.