If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Weld mesh, chain link or other for dog run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

blackpearl wrote: »
    top class pens epointer well finshed .

Cheers Blackpearl.
    I find the green mesh a great investment. All that mesh cost about a grand including fixings & plates welded to the legs & covers 3 runs.
    Thinking of building block houses this summer but we'll see how the funds & time are.
    Well worth making them XL as they take way less cleaning & the dog is less likely to step into their crap. Each one is 13 foot x 22 foot I think. I hose every few days as I scoop & powerhose monthly.
    In the summer I try to do give a quick hose every evening & I rarely need to powerhose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

build concrete runs with concrete house inside both and insulated roofs ran water inside both pens with taps and the best asset is the drain back into the mains all i have to do is walk inside pour some bleach and let the pens fill with water and sweep tens mins every day and there done i put water holders on the backs of the gates which makes it easy to fill from the outside hoping to put roofs over everything in the summer time with clear plastic for light build concrete paths out to them too which keeps us clean and dry in the winter

charlie10 wrote: »
    build concrete runs with concrete house inside both and insulated roofs ran water inside both pens with taps and the best asset is the drain back into the mains all i have to do is walk inside pour some bleach and let the pens fill with water and sweep tens mins every day and there done i put water holders on the backs of the gates which makes it easy to fill from the outside hoping to put roofs over everything in the summer time with clear plastic for light build concrete paths out to them too which keeps us clean and dry in the winter

Any Pics so far??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Cork Rebel

Thats a nice set up Epointer, as said above well finished and they are big enough for any dog.

If you have the money, imo the block sleeping quarters are the way to go, although your boxes, look very well made and look as if they provide plenty of protection against the elements for the dogs.

dogrun2_zps65b215b8.jpg
    dogrun3_zps8caccab7.jpg
    dogrun4_zpsc2721de7.jpg
    dogrun5_zpsb5676a1b.jpg
    they are average size with two dogs in each one and plan on making 2 more in time ,have cow matt on floor of bed cut to size and treated barley straw on top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

dogrun2_zps65b215b8.jpg
    dogrun3_zps8caccab7.jpg
    dogrun4_zpsc2721de7.jpg
    dogrun5_zpsb5676a1b.jpg
    they are average size with two dogs in each one and plan on making 2 more in time ,have cow matt on floor of bed cut to size and treated barley straw on top

Do ye not find with the blocks dirt tends to stick to the walls like in a slatted shed

the one with the two pups in ya cause they are constantly jumping around like egits playing but the one with the two older dogs no they are spotless ,wouldnt have it any other way its cleaner and the water is contained within the pen to go down the drain which illiminates smell

Cork Rebel wrote: »
    Thats a nice set up Epointer, as said above well finished and they are big enough for any dog.

If you have the money, imo the block sleeping quarters are the way to go, although your boxes, look very well made and look as if they provide plenty of protection against the elements for the dogs.

Cheers. The boxes are shiplap with all the seals siliconed. I have to sort the roof yet but they'll survive this winter.

The reason I raised em is for the reason you said Trigger. I find the block gets green & dirty from water splashing & hosing & by raising i can get underneath. That's why all the run is exposed to help with drying & stopping any logging of dirt anywhere. It dries in no time. Was going to build a wall to the back & build the houses off of it originally.

Was thinking the block houses in the middle wouldn't really be any harm & a lifetime job.

They are well done Charlie. Neat. Will you plaster it?

ya ill plaster it when the weather gets better ,at the min there is other things around the place that are priority at the min

There always is lad

Anyone using these , seems gud value

Littlewhitehouses .Com

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Anyone using these , seems gud value

Littlewhitehouses .Com

They look a good job Trigger. I like this one for 200
    630_500_csupload_48657883.jpg?u=3839902099

They look a good job Trigger. I like this one for 200
    630_500_csupload_48657883.jpg?u=3839902099

Yea that the same one I'm thinking my self I seem them in birr 2 years ago,

they built to last and buy the time you buy blocks and get a man in to build them , plus all the small thinks like bags of cement ,
    they probably cost the same , and look tidier .

That box for 200 is a gud size one fit 2 labs if I remember right

Charlie10, where did you get you cow mats and what price did you pay for them?

brother picked it up here in Limerick somewhere and I didn't get round to paying him yet. that reminds me !

I was in Liffey mills in Nenagh before & bought a cow mat for 40 quid I think (not certain)
    Used it to line the pick up.

There are loads on donedeal

I was in Liffey mills in Nenagh before & bought a cow mat for 40 quid I think (not certain)
    Used it to line the pick up.

There are loads on donedeal

U will get them in any co-op

U will get them in any co-op[/

rang him there fourty euro is bang on. find them fierce handy to clean there beds. bucket of bleach across them and job done

U will get them in any co-op[/

rang him there fourty euro is bang on. find them fierce handy to clean there beds. bucket of bleach across them and job done

Thanks for the info lads.