Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weld mesh, chain link or other for dog run.

• 27-01-2014 11:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭

Any opinions or thoughts on weld mesh, chain link or other material for dog run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

I used
    8x4 2"GALV Weld mesh and 25mil box iron good stuff can't remember what i paid but its not cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭strangles

stoeger wrote: »
    I used
    8x4 2"GALV Weld mesh and 25mil box iron good stuff can't remember what i paid but its not cheap
    + 1 on above,good fekin stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blackpearl

2x2weld mesh the stuf that comes on the roll fixed to 1x1 galv box with penny washers and screws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭223vmax

blackpearl wrote: »
    2x2weld mesh the stuf that comes on the roll fixed to 1x1 galv box with penny washers and screws.

I thought the weld mesh that came on a roll may have been a bit light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

223vmax wrote: »
    I thought the weld mesh that came on a roll may have been a bit light.

It is too light iv seen dogs pull it and it won't last long my run is built 11years and still good and strong best get in 8x4 sheets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Snakezilla

I have 1.5x1.5 inch weld mesh on the front of mine. I do a lot of nixers with metal (welding etc) so knocked up a door frame from some angle and sections for the weld mesh panels. The pen is done and finished forever now ! Do it right the first time ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭luvhuntin

I personally would use weld mesh. Ive tried chain link and builders fencing on the springers and they managed to chew put of both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

The green security fencing is the best stuff out there for dog runs. Galv & coated. Not cheap but is a lifetime job. Looks neat also. Hav done all the DIY options thru the years & settled on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭renandstimpy

I would use 1.5 inch weld mesh ... i have 2inch weld mesh and my miniture jack russel nearly got through it ... lucky got away with small scrap on nose ... a buddy of mines king charles lost an eye years ago with the security fencing that goes straight up ... he put his head through and when he pulled it back lost his eye .Whatever you use make sure its small enough squares to avoid all this for type of dog you have .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

My springer went through the chain-link like it was tissue paper had to reinforce the bottom of the run with 2 inch weld mesh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

+1 to the weld mesh have it on my runs, mine are made from 1" box iron with weld mesh welded to the box get the ones with the smallest holes if ya can as said above the chain link isnt really any good as the dogs will chew trough it and after a while it will sag .only prob with the weld mesh weather its a roll or 8x4 sheets it fckn dear to buy but will last a life time.better to do it right then have to do a heap of repair jobs down the line that will cost ya more money.

I have used the roll weld mesh it is galv and I don't no what kind of dogs some people are on about that will pull it down.its not lions you are putting in the pen if the frame is made right a hippo would not move it.

We're discussing good hunting dogs, not Bichon Frieze.:P

what about red setters and I am not talking about the ones that have to be groomed every day .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭wirehairmax

You've never had a gwp have you?
    And if he wasn't going over it he was going through it. I put chain link fencing all around the pen and he used to bulldoze through it. The only thing that worked for me was vertical steel bars welded into a frame so was anti climb.
    Believe me, a few hundred spent now is better than paying a farmer for sheep, or paying some motorist thousands for damage as well as potential vets bills for injuries to the dog itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭wirehairmax

what about red setters and I am not talking about the ones that have to be groomed every day .

I have a red setter now and I don't take any chances. If he got out, god knows what would happen? They have natural hunting and roaming instincts and would chase anything that moves so he's safer behind bars and I get peace of mind.

Must be something wrong with your dog to say he's not busting to get out of the run.

Why so?

Why so?

Just rattling his chainlink fence.:p

deekssofdoom just to let you know yes their is something wrong with my dogs its what you call been tired they are hunted 4 days a week and iam hunting 35 years and have shot more birds over my dogs than you can only dream about so the likes of some rookey coming on here and saying their must be something wrong with my dog .most dogs I know that are trying to break out of their runs are bored because they don't get out from one end of the week to the other only to go hunting.

Thanks for clearing that up, are you not going a bit to hard on your dogs?

Seems a bit harsh to be hunting 35 year old dogs 4 times a week.

all right good one, the weld mesh I am talking about is the same as the 8 by 4 sheets you can buy but you can also buy it on the roll in heavy gauge and galvo finished in 25 meter rolls .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Cork Rebel

I had a 2x2 inch welded mesh dog run with a dog box in each run for the dogs.

I recently built block kennels with outdoor runs made up of the mesh.

In my opinion the block kennels are far superior and provide better housing for the dogs.

There is some difference in their condition since they have been housed in the new kennels.

If you have the money and time, I would recommend building the block kennels from the start.

have to agree block is the best job .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

The green security fencing is the best stuff out there for dog runs. Galv & coated. Not cheap but is a lifetime job. Looks neat also. Hav done all the DIY options thru the years & settled on this.

I used it on my pen it nearly finish now put a roof on it and 2 stand waiting to be finish for the dog house then il post up some right pics . Pen had cattle drinkers piped in to it to

TriggerPL wrote: »
    I used it on my pen it nearly finish now put a roof on it and 2 stand waiting to be finish for the dog house then il post up some right pics . Pen had cattle drinkers piped in to it to

Was toying with auto cattle drinkers. Decided not to as they can get scummy with algae & block & if I didn't have to check em I'd forget to. Went with the hanging trough with water beside it. All winter it gathers enough rain water which they seem to prefer also. Easy clean & holds loads.
    Have added green mesh to the gates since this photo also

41BCB16A-57B1-4EA7-9127-1EEAD97AA003-247-0000004983F852DA_zps6c9e4618.jpg

I have the drinker off the ground and done some research from lads that have them said he just needs to clean them every couple of months or that .

Il see how it goes ,

Did you get calling that man

I have the drinker off the ground and done some research from lads that have them said he just needs to clean them every couple of months or that .

Il see how it goes ,

Did you get calling that man

Ah ya that's it. I've raised the food bowls since 2.

I did ya sound. All good so far. Will let you know how it works out

top class pens epointer well finshed .

Cheers Blackpearl.
    I find the green mesh a great investment. All that mesh cost about a grand including fixings & plates welded to the legs & covers 3 runs.
    Thinking of building block houses this summer but we'll see how the funds & time are.
    Well worth making them XL as they take way less cleaning & the dog is less likely to step into their crap. Each one is 13 foot x 22 foot I think. I hose every few days as I scoop & powerhose monthly.
    In the summer I try to do give a quick hose every evening & I rarely need to powerhose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

build concrete runs with concrete house inside both and insulated roofs ran water inside both pens with taps and the best asset is the drain back into the mains all i have to do is walk inside pour some bleach and let the pens fill with water and sweep tens mins every day and there done i put water holders on the backs of the gates which makes it easy to fill from the outside hoping to put roofs over everything in the summer time with clear plastic for light build concrete paths out to them too which keeps us clean and dry in the winter

charlie10 wrote: »
    build concrete runs with concrete house inside both and insulated roofs ran water inside both pens with taps and the best asset is the drain back into the mains all i have to do is walk inside pour some bleach and let the pens fill with water and sweep tens mins every day and there done i put water holders on the backs of the gates which makes it easy to fill from the outside hoping to put roofs over everything in the summer time with clear plastic for light build concrete paths out to them too which keeps us clean and dry in the winter

Any Pics so far??

Thats a nice set up Epointer, as said above well finished and they are big enough for any dog.

If you have the money, imo the block sleeping quarters are the way to go, although your boxes, look very well made and look as if they provide plenty of protection against the elements for the dogs.

dogrun2_zps65b215b8.jpg
    dogrun3_zps8caccab7.jpg
    dogrun4_zpsc2721de7.jpg
    dogrun5_zpsb5676a1b.jpg
    they are average size with two dogs in each one and plan on making 2 more in time ,have cow matt on floor of bed cut to size and treated barley straw on top

dogrun2_zps65b215b8.jpg
    dogrun3_zps8caccab7.jpg
    dogrun4_zpsc2721de7.jpg
    dogrun5_zpsb5676a1b.jpg
    they are average size with two dogs in each one and plan on making 2 more in time ,have cow matt on floor of bed cut to size and treated barley straw on top

Do ye not find with the blocks dirt tends to stick to the walls like in a slatted shed

the one with the two pups in ya cause they are constantly jumping around like egits playing but the one with the two older dogs no they are spotless ,wouldnt have it any other way its cleaner and the water is contained within the pen to go down the drain which illiminates smell

Cork Rebel wrote: »
    Thats a nice set up Epointer, as said above well finished and they are big enough for any dog.

If you have the money, imo the block sleeping quarters are the way to go, although your boxes, look very well made and look as if they provide plenty of protection against the elements for the dogs.

Cheers. The boxes are shiplap with all the seals siliconed. I have to sort the roof yet but they'll survive this winter.

The reason I raised em is for the reason you said Trigger. I find the block gets green & dirty from water splashing & hosing & by raising i can get underneath. That's why all the run is exposed to help with drying & stopping any logging of dirt anywhere. It dries in no time. Was going to build a wall to the back & build the houses off of it originally.

Was thinking the block houses in the middle wouldn't really be any harm & a lifetime job.

They are well done Charlie. Neat. Will you plaster it?

ya ill plaster it when the weather gets better ,at the min there is other things around the place that are priority at the min

There always is lad

Anyone using these , seems gud value

Littlewhitehouses .Com

Anyone using these , seems gud value

Littlewhitehouses .Com

They look a good job Trigger. I like this one for 200
    630_500_csupload_48657883.jpg?u=3839902099

They look a good job Trigger. I like this one for 200
    630_500_csupload_48657883.jpg?u=3839902099

Yea that the same one I'm thinking my self I seem them in birr 2 years ago,

they built to last and buy the time you buy blocks and get a man in to build them , plus all the small thinks like bags of cement ,
    they probably cost the same , and look tidier .

That box for 200 is a gud size one fit 2 labs if I remember right

Charlie10, where did you get you cow mats and what price did you pay for them?

brother picked it up here in Limerick somewhere and I didn't get round to paying him yet. that reminds me !

I was in Liffey mills in Nenagh before & bought a cow mat for 40 quid I think (not certain)
    Used it to line the pick up.

There are loads on donedeal

I was in Liffey mills in Nenagh before & bought a cow mat for 40 quid I think (not certain)
    Used it to line the pick up.

There are loads on donedeal

U will get them in any co-op

U will get them in any co-op[/

rang him there fourty euro is bang on. find them fierce handy to clean there beds. bucket of bleach across them and job done

U will get them in any co-op[/

rang him there fourty euro is bang on. find them fierce handy to clean there beds. bucket of bleach across them and job done