Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your reasons for emigrating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭6541

Great thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

I'm 27 and finishing off ten years at university this summer. In most of that time I've been working part time jobs and living on a fairly meagre income. All my friends who were in college with me during my degree work as teachers (on pre-recession pay) and have used their holidays to go travelling, which I've missed out on doing because of continued study - not complaining at all. You make sacrifices to the benefit of something else.

Now that I'm finally finishing up soon I'm planning on a long adventure. Spain is my first port of call in September. I've nothing lined up yet job-wise though. Thinking of doing 9 months to a year in the Basque region and explore Spain, France and beyond from there.
    After that the tentative plan is to head for China/Taiwan for 6 months and then come back to Europe somewhere, maybe Poland or Germany.

Its been well-earned and I can't wait!:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 Anita B Jaynow

I love emigrating, it brings everybody closer together!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Boombastic wrote: »
    So sorry for having my own personal opinion on my reasons for leaving, thanks for correcting me :rolleyes:

Not correcting you, merely challenging your dig at the people reading this, it being a discussion forum 'n' all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Not correcting you, merely challenging your dig at the people reading this, it being a discussion forum 'n' all.

Nothing sly about my comment, not as sly as people who post comments and then delete them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 MR.SKYRIM

I am sick of dad complaining about economy and government etc and mom telling me to go on social welfare . oh and morning radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭maninasia

biketard wrote: »
    Left Belfast to go to university in Edinburgh in 1988. I was sick of the political situation at home at the time.

After graduating and working for a few years, I moved to Spain to teach English and learn Spanish. I did go back to Edinburgh after five years of that, but almost immediately met my now wife and moved to Taiwan with her (she's Taiwanese) over a decade ago.

I'd like to move back at some stage (either to Edinburgh or Belfast) in the not too distant future, but the British Government has made it really, REALLY difficult to do that now if your spouse is from outside Europe. You basically have to have a well-paid job offer in advance (some chance), or savings of over 62,500 pounds untouched for six months (again, some chance). The fact we have property in Edinburgh and friends/family willing to support us doesn't count at all.

Luckily the Irish Govt is a bit more sensible, so we may well end up in the Republic if/when we move back.

It's really difficult if you are British to bring back a non-EU partner, but you could go on your Irish passport, and they can't block you because you are a European citizen.

EDIT- Sorry, the British (racist government) has done their best to put another barrier up.

http://britishexpats.com/forum/showthread.php?t=794547

I'm in a similar position to you, I am concerned that they will further tighten the regulations over time and the window of moving to the UK may close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

jank wrote: »

When you have a world city like London only 1 hours away then the pull factors there are obvious. There are loads of Australians who live in Sydney who grew up in quiet little towns up and down the east coast who just got bored of doing the same thing day in day out (much like small town Ireland), so they pack up and move to the big smoke Sydney or Melbourne. That isn't called emigration, yet we label young people heading off to London for a few years as emigrants?? There are thousands of Aussies and Kiwis who head off to London and the UK each year for the exact same reasons as Irish people do, yet not once I have ever heard this termed emmigration, EVER (and this include NZ)!

Australians emigrating to the U.K. is vastly decreasing http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-25401024

Find it strange that they don't call it emigration, call a spade a spade. Because of our history there is a negativity attached to emigration as a lot of it has been due to 'push' not 'pull' factors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Boombastic wrote: »
    Nothing sly about my comment, not as sly as people who post comments and then delete them

Wrote two comments and chose the less snidey one as there was no need for it. Both said the same thing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,160 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

To the people heading to France etc, are ye fluent before you go there? I thought in France you were a second class citizen if you didnt speak fluently...

Would be interested in an answer to the same question from people in Germany/Holland/Sweden etc aswell.

EDIT: And Norway.

lufties wrote: »
    Yea I'm on lantau myself, don't think I could hack the city, especially in summer.

Taiwan has HK beaten (many HKers move to Taiwan for more space and less stress and cheaper rent and better food) so do some places on mainland China aswell to be honest. HK is too crowded and expensive, a postage stamp of a place. The only thing that makes HK attractive to me- $$$$ and an airport that you can fly anywhere to with ease.

mandrake04 wrote: »
    I agree with Jank, there are a lot of opportunities in Australia for the right people. Since I have been here I have also Traveled/worked in NZ, India, China and Japan something that I wouldn't have had the chance to do working in the same type of work in England/Ireland the most exotic places I went was usually was Crawley in West Sussex or maybe Germany.

Here in Oz I limit my drives to 3.5hrs any further and its FIFO same day or over night, when I was working in Ireland I used to drive from Newry to Galway or Newry to Sligo... no chance of flying and during winter that was mostly in the dark, dangerous roads and crap weather just had to put up with it.

Sure its half a world away, but really its only a day (24 hours) which is nothing considering you have 7 of those a week and 365 a year plus you usually asleep 1/3 of that anyway. Its 9 hrs to Hawaii and 14 to California and that where I am meeting my parents next year for a holiday.

Lifestyle rules here, the winter is like an Irish Summer/Spring and the summer is the type of sunshine what people in Ireland jump into a plane and fly to Spain for two weeks. I don't really drink anymore, few weeks ago was on holiday never had a drink the whole week was staying up the coast went driving on Stockton Beach and Fingal bay on the Jetski there was 4 of us including my Irish mate who was both a a big drinker and smoker when he first came to Australia and has since give both them up. Went to bed sort of early and got up early... nice fresh head. I cant understand when people say Australia does not have culture, of course it has ....it has a beach culture where in your free time you get the sand between your toes and do cool stuff witch is just a different type of culture to just drinking the face of yourself.

The other thing I like about Australia is its a very Liberal country, brothels etc are perfectly legal not that I am interested but the fact that if I wanted to go I can legally do so... In Ireland the politicians and church would be preaching from their moral stool while secretly ripping you off or covering up their own dirty secrets.

Australia is a severely over regulated place with high costs and fees for everything, the last thing I would say about it is 'it's liberal'. The people are not particularly 'liberal' either.

But it is a good spot that I know well and I would trade some freedom for a good dose of beach and barbie for a while :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

It's certainly not the backwards country people like to make it out to be either.

Our lack of extremes in politics would be very progressive in my opinon - one thing I can not abide in Spain is the "You're either left or right" thinking here and there's zero compromise between the two. It seems they do nothing but bicker and stick the knife in. Nothing will ever progress in politics with that mindset.

I think the Irish are surprisingly open-minded and outward-looking in comparison to a lot of European countries. We don't have the big country mentality that many countries would and we certainly don't look down our noses at other countries (quite the opposite, in fact :(). Women are relatively equal and people are generally not very extreme in their thinking and would consider the opinions of others (I'm talking outside Boards here). We're not voting in far-right politicians into power like most other European countries either.

Perhaps things are different in rural Ireland but definitely not in urban areas.

One of my students who's a journalist lived in Ireland for 3 years and commented on all I said above saying in terms of open-mindedness, we're ahead of Spain. One thing I've realised having left Ireland is just how progressive it is for a small island and a relatively new nation.

You live in Hong Kong right now, yeah? How progressive is Hong Kong outside of business?

Well HK is an outpost for trade and finance, it has a 15% tax rate and maybe 10% if you are married or have a family. Services are efficient generally. The transport system is great to get around, (you can even check in for your flight with luggage from the city centre). Sometimes communication can be a problem, but generally people speak English ok.

I suppose what strikes me about the Hong Kongese is that they are not judgemental, and take you as they find you. People don't seem to have pre-conceived notions or prejudices, and don't butt in to your affairs or pigeon-hole you. Most get on with living rather than waste time with begrudgery or putting their neighbour down. It is the safest country I've ever been, have never seen anything even close to a fight. My wallet was found on a bus twice and was returned to me with everything in check. In this part of the world people just tend to get along(amongst Expats anyway). There doesn't seem to be many conservative, finger wagging Holy Joes' here either.

I don't want to turn this into a debate of Ireland is crap, 'insert country' is great, as that would be naive and simple minded. Everywhere has it's positives/negs.

maninasia wrote: »
    Australia is a severely over regulated place with high costs and fees for everything, the last thing I would say about it is 'it's liberal'. The people are not particularly 'liberal' either.

But it is a good spot that I know well and I would trade some freedom for a good dose of beach and barbie for a while :).

This!!

Oz a fine country, but all the fees and fines(revenue raising), would put hate in your heart.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I've lived in many different countries and continents over the years and the one thing I've found to be true about life is "where ever you go, there you are".

beks101 wrote: »
    I've lived in many different countries and continents over the years and the one thing I've found to be true about life is "where ever you go, there you are".

Don't really get that quote tbh:p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

The thing about emigrating is it is very hard to go back and be content living in Ireland when your mind is open to new places and different ways of doing things. Lets face, Ireland isn't famous for being a progressive, forward thinking country.

You will be fine, my advice to any young person would be emigrate if they can.

You may say that but my friends in Dublin are the most liberal people I know. I've been away on and off since I was 20. I'm 33 now but any time I go back to Ireland I don't really want to leave. For me home is where the heart is etc and the one place I feel like I truly belong. Plus I get such a kick out of the 1130pm last order Guinness parties where me and my mates have about 1,056 pints lined up in sheer panic because of last orders. And they let you sit there and drink them all!

Don't really get that quote tbh:p

Errrrwhere you go, you always take the weather with you...
    I think it means like you can't run away from whatever's not working out for you in life. It doesn't always apply though because you could be a person who loves the outdoors and sun and wine etc therefore be much happier in California rather than Dublin. Or a homosexual might prefer the many delights of London's Soho, where you could pick up a different boy every night and have your way with him and most likely never run into him again - whereas in Dublin you have the George. I know where I would go, if I were a homosexual, which I aren't. Srsly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭jiminho

Great thread!!

I graduated in 2012 and left for Canada immediately after I had finished my Masters. I didn't even go to the graduation ceremony.

I had two reasons for leaving:

I love to travel and being so far away from home has opened up a large corner of the world for me to explore. Also, experiencing a new culture. While the Canadian way of life isn't drastically different from our own, the longer I live here, the more different it seems.

Work experience. Tbh if I tried hard enough, I probably would have got a job in something but it wouldn't have been in the field I wanted. And of course i would have also been underpaid which goes hand in hand with the travelling bug I have.

I think every young Irish man and woman should live abroad for a year or two. It gives an insight into a different culture and you can experience so many different places and things. I mean, isn't that what life is all about? I want to visit 6 continents by the time I'm 30 and visit Antarctica (and space??) by the time I die.

I will definitely go back home to Ireland eventually. Definitely before I'm 30. I might live somewhere else in the world before I go home. Also, in a strange way I've learned to appreciate Ireland more. I was itching to get out of the country for years, regardless of the economic situation, but now that I'm gone, I've realised that Ireland isn't so bad. That's my two cents anyway.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    You may say that but my friends in Dublin are the most liberal people I know. I've been away on and off since I was 20. I'm 33 now but any time I go back to Ireland I don't really want to leave. For me home is where the heart is etc and the one place I feel like I truly belong. Plus I get such a kick out of the 1130pm last order Guinness parties where me and my mates have about 1,056 pints lined up in sheer panic because of last orders. And they let you sit there and drink them all!

Yea fair enough, I do love coming home, but as a previous poster mentioned, Dublin is a lot different from rural Ireland.

Fair enough, I can only speak from a Dublin perspective. But I've listened to loads of culchies calling Joe Duffy giving out about all sorts.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Errrrwhere you go, you always take the weather with you...
    I think it means like you can't run away from whatever's not working out for you in life. It doesn't always apply though because you could be a person who loves the outdoors and sun and wine etc therefore be much happier in California rather than Dublin. Or a homosexual might prefer the many delights of London's Soho, where you could pick up a different boy every night and have your way with him and most likely never run into him again - whereas in Dublin you have the George. I know where I would go, if I were a homosexual, which I aren't. Srsly.

Yes true, In Ireland from my experience it can be suffocating though to a degree, for example If you have a beard, do yoga and holiday in India your a hippy and can't be taken seriously. If you holiday in thailand you are a horny bugger who has to travel to get your end away. If you holiday in Spain or America then you are considered normal.

Personally I needed to get away from that kind of small mindedness I encountered back home, call it 'running away' or whatever but it gave me peace of mind so it can't be a bad thing.

Yes true, In Ireland from my experience it can be suffocating though to a degree, for example If you have a beard, do yoga and holiday in India your a hippy and can't be taken seriously. If you holiday in thailand you are a horny bugger who has to travel to get your end away. If you holiday in Spain or America then you are considered normal.

Personally I needed to get away from that kind of small mindedness I encountered back home, call it 'running away' or whatever but it gave me peace of mind so it can't be a bad thing.

Not a fan of the latest beard trend, yoga, or India but I don't care if people do those things, I think you must know a lot of idiots in Ireland! A few of my friends back home have been to India and loved it. Personally I'd hate to go, sounds like it's just an open air sewer!

jiminho wrote: »
    Great thread!!

I graduated in 2012 and left for Canada immediately after I had finished my Masters. I didn't even go to the graduation ceremony.

I had two reasons for leaving:

I love to travel and being so far away from home has opened up a large corner of the world for me to explore. Also, experiencing a new culture. While the Canadian way of life isn't drastically different from our own, the longer I live here, the more different it seems.

Work experience. Tbh if I tried hard enough, I probably would have got a job in something but it wouldn't have been in the field I wanted. And of course i would have also been underpaid which goes hand in hand with the travelling bug I have.

I think every young Irish man and woman should live abroad for a year or two. It gives an insight into a different culture and you can experience so many different places and things. I mean, isn't that what life is all about? I want to visit 6 continents by the time I'm 30 and visit Antarctica (and space??) by the time I die.

I will definitely go back home to Ireland eventually. Definitely before I'm 30. I might live somewhere else in the world before I go home. Also, in a strange way I've learned to appreciate Ireland more. I was itching to get out of the country for years, regardless of the economic situation, but now that I'm gone, I've realised that Ireland isn't so bad. That's my two cents anyway.

I spent over a year in Canada when I was 21 and Dublin seemed like the most exciting place in the world when I came back! From my experiences, the people of Canada are just plain dull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

kuntboy wrote: »
    Sleepy, can I ask you why you never really "fit in"? Is it because you're too intelligent for these leprechauns?
    Of course... :rolleyes:

Honest answer: I've always found myself utterly bored by typical Irish small talk revolving around what the neighbours are up to, english and scottish football, GAA, soap operas and reality television etc.

I find the unthinking dedication to the catholic church, the Irish language and civil war politics to be annoying, The growing sense of entitlement from certain groups of society, the mistrust of success and the celebration of cute hoors are particularly galling too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

Sleepy wrote: »

Honest answer: I've always found myself utterly bored by typical Irish small talk revolving around what the neighbours are up to, english and scottish football, GAA, soap operas and reality television etc.

I find the unthinking dedication to the catholic church, the Irish language and civil war politics to be annoying, The growing sense of entitlement from certain groups of society, the mistrust of success and the celebration of cute hoors are particularly galling too...

↑ I could have written this myself,I agree with everything said by sleepy.
    Its a big part of the reason I quit the drink so I can avoid these types of people,dont read the papers here or listen to talk radio.
    My brother was not one bit surprised today that I did not know there was a world cup soccer tournsment on this year.
    My wife is not from here but is a super positive happy person and I see some folks who judge her that she is too happy or think its weird where as I love that positivity it brightens up those grey winter days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

Sleepy wrote: »

Am I the only one who simply doesn't recognise this Ireland at all? Never experienced this when I lived in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

Left for Denmark in 2008 with my OH, who is a Dane. Living here ever since - married two years now and have a little boy. Denmark is nice but ueber-expensive and I have been pining for home for a while now, mostly because I am close with my family and I miss them. If they were over here, I would have no desire to return to Ireland.

On a side note, my sister is heading off for New Zealand tomorrow. She and her hubby and kids have taken the plunge and are emigrating. He worked on building sites all of his adult life but lost his job in the recession and couldn't get work in Ireland and came down with depression as a result. It hit him and the family really hard. But he went over to his brother in NZ a month ago, got sorted with full time work and is doing much better. My sister follows with the kids now and I am wishing all the best for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

jank wrote: »
    Well that’s what makes it unique in some aspects. Great weather and lifestyle. The quality of life one can half if they have a half decent job is outstanding. Opportunities galore. Decent wages, a fairish tax system (top level of 48% only kicks in at $180,000), a culture of work and the 'fair go', no real sense of entitlement where one earns their life by working hard. Success is rewarded and not looked down upon in general. Only smallish flights away from Indo, NZ and the South Pacific if you wanted something different.

Yet being on the other side of the world has its drawbacks. To be honest there is no utopia out there. You people who travel intially to another country think that where ever they are is the best place ever initially. Then of course after 6-12 months reality sets in and things about the new place starts bothering them and they begin to question their own belief system.

It is engrained and battered into us from an early age that Ireland is a kip and a dump and a ****hole, yet when one wanders from these shores they realise it is not the case. Often those people labelling Ireland one of the above have barely stepped outside their own parish never mind lived in another country.

Also we need to get over our perpetual negativity about emigration especially about young people. If I had kids who were fresh out of collage, I would tell them go off and see the world for a few years, you would be mad not to. Other countries call this the "Gap Year" in Ireland we label it as "boo hoo emigration". I recently listened to the Sean O'Rourke on a podcast and he had Paddy O'Gorman interviewing people who were heading off after the Christmas period. Some were genuine emmigrants but there were lots of lads in their 20's who just wanted to head off some place in the sense of adventure and seeing the world. All only had WHV and had no real plan, no jobs lined up and no idea where they would be in a few years time. I would never call these emmigrants

When you have a world city like London only 1 hours away then the pull factors there are obvious. There are loads of Australians who live in Sydney who grew up in quiet little towns up and down the east coast who just got bored of doing the same thing day in day out (much like small town Ireland), so they pack up and move to the big smoke Sydney or Melbourne. That isn't called emigration, yet we label young people heading off to London for a few years as emigrants?? There are thousands of Aussies and Kiwis who head off to London and the UK each year for the exact same reasons as Irish people do, yet not once I have ever heard this termed emmigration, EVER (and this include NZ)!

Generation Emigration in the Irish Times is the worst for this. Girl spends 4 months in France, write her piece for GE. Soon every person who has spent a long weekend out of Ireland will be writing their emigration piece.

If a person from Oregon moves to New York for work, do you think their family boohoos about losing their "best and brightest" and blames the government? It's a lot further than Ireland to London.

A lot of it is just the Irish love of whingebagging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

Am I the only one who simply doesn't recognise this Ireland at all? Never experienced this when I lived in Dublin.

The majority of the Irish population live outside Dublin and this attitude is very common I am afraid