Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your reasons for emigrating

• 23-01-2014 8:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Not sure if this has been a topic before, but I'll give it a go anyway.

Having been away from Ireland a few years now, I reflected recently on my life then in comparison to now. The real standout thing I can say is that I'm more confident and comfortable in my own skin(perhaps that's down to maturing with age). Anyway this got me thinking why I left in the first place back in 2009. It wasn't actually things like unemployment, corruption or anything to do with politicians. The recession was only a small part of the reason that I headed off.

The main ones I came up with were the following;
    Career-My career was stagnant at home and I didn't 'fit in' to the mould.
    Excitement and adventure-A new life abroad,new place,new people etc.
    Leaving the past behind-As it says, along with a fresh start.
    Finding myself-I always cringed when people say 'oh he/she went off to find his/herself. Now I get it.
    A new challenge-to challenge myself, to grow as a person and become more worldly.
    Relationships-having had a couple of failed ones under my belt, I naively thought that finding 'the one' would perhaps be easier overseas.
    Right time- It certainly was with the country on it's knees.

Anyway so I wondered as the thread title suggests ,why others have emigrated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

To work and see the World.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Combination of Ireland's awful economy and a desire to travel, something I neglected to in my teenage and college years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Becasue in 2003 in Germany, I had no hope in Hades of finding a job, unemployment was at something like 15%

Well, that and the fact that I had always planned on leaving Germany anyway, so becoming unemployed was just the boot up the bum I needed to get me shifting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Employment for me as a carpenter.

General quality of life prospects for the next decade or so.

Our family is spread out over France, Wales, England and Canada so the 'family home' isn't there any more.

The weather.

Choices.

Basically a better future for us and our daughter. As a Nurse and a Carpenter, a forty hour week each should pay well enough to sustain a decent quality of life which is what we have now. We didn't have that in Ireland due to lack of work opportunities and cuts. (Waterford)

We are both in our forties so it was now or never. The OH has lived away for years and I left Wales sixteen years ago so we know what it's like to be the foreigner.

This is my forth country I've lived in so not a bother personally and we love it here Down Under.

Loved Ireland, but as a parent and someone who has worked all his life, and enjoys his work it was tough doing fcuk all with not much light at the end of the tunnel. I even worked voluntarily as a carpenter for the College and designed and built a sound proof recording studio for them just to keep busy and feel a bit of professional worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I left in 2012 because I was bored of Ireland.

Shenshen wrote: »
    Becasue in 2003 in Germany, I had no hope in Hades of finding a job, unemployment was at something like 15%

Well, that and the fact that I had always planned on leaving Germany anyway, so becoming unemployed was just the boot up the bum I needed to get me shifting.
    And now I'm working on moving there :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

I lived in Deutschland and really enjoyed it. Sounds like its much different to 03' nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Moved full time to Germany in 2002 after spending a few years traveling over and back. Nice country, good prospects, lots to do that didn't involve drinking and no f**king about. What you see is what you get, they are real direct. This is a revelation when you come from Ireland, where more often than not you are told one thing and the moment you turn your back it's something different. Plus things just work here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

A job i really wanted that was paying alot better than €50 a week
    The Weather
    The **** Political situation in Ireland

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,802 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I wanted a job in my area rather than the weekly trip to the local social security office.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Left for the craic,No other reason,Came home grafted for a couple of months and sounded out a job after a jobbridge scheme.Enjoyed my time abroad but Ireland is where it's at

Prop Joe wrote: »
    Left for the craic,No other reason,Came home grafted for a couple of months and sounded out a job after a jobbridge scheme.Enjoyed my time abroad but Ireland is where it's at

What do you mean by craic? Getting on the piss like?

Fair dues on getting the job btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm on the lam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

lufties wrote: »
    What do you mean by craic? Getting on the piss like?

Drink,Women etc..

I lived in Deutschland and really enjoyed it. Sounds like its much different to 03' nowadays.

I think so, yes. I've wondered before if the German economy is sort of counter-cyclical to the rest of Europe - it seems to be in recession when the rest of Europe is booming, and thriving when the rest is in recession.

It was like that during the 80s as well.

Prop Joe wrote: »
    Drink,Women etc..

Yea true, tryin' to stay off it myself.

Can't beat Irish women for the craic though.

I think so, yes. I've wondered before if the German economy is sort of counter-cyclical to the rest of Europe - it seems to be in recession when the rest of Europe is booming, and thriving when the rest is in recession.

Perhaps it is.

The problem at the moment though in Germany is that they need a younger population.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,802 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I think it's their culture. I'm not expert but, as I understand it they don't rely on credit to anywhere near the same extent that we do. Hence, they never had a boom but have have avoided a recession. From what I know, they wait until they have at least most of the cash for say, car or a house before buying it.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Perhaps it is.

The problem at the moment though in Germany is that they need a younger population.

The problem is, they need it, but don't REALLY want it.
    There's still far, far too much pressure on women to stay home and look after the kids once they have them, so many don't have them to begin with.
    And immigration ... well, that's a nasty word to most Germans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭ronjo

Left Ireland in 2000.

A mate got a job in 99 in a software company that placed him in Poland and all I used to hear from him was about the "burds".
    The offered me a job too then a year later and as I was single and never travelled other than holidays I jumped at it.

Was contracting around different countries for 7 years and now settle down with a wife and 2 kids in Central Europe.

Sometimes I miss home, but not too often to be honest.

I think it's their culture. I'm not expert but, as I understand it they don't rely on credit to anywhere near the same extent that we do. Hence, they never had a boom but have have avoided a recession. From what I know, they wait until they have at least most of the cash for say, car or a house before buying it.

They've got quite a substantial boom now, though.

But you're right about the credit thing, they don't like to borrow and will save up instead. Many Germans would never consider getting a credit card (I don't have one, and I insisted on saving up the money to buy my first car rather than taking out a loan, it drives my husband potty)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I was 18 (2006ish) the first time I came to London and I did so simply because my life at that time was stagnant. I had never really settled into university, I had just broke up with my girlfriend and was stuck in a major rut in Cork City at the time that revolved around drinking. My aunt wangled me a construction job in East London for the Summer and I said f*ck it, why not head over for a summer. I ended up rediscovering my work ethic, getting fit again and generally settling into a contented life. I stayed for two years. I loved the variety and the buzz as well as the fact I made loads of new friends and was interacting with people all over the world. I then decided to return to Ireland to finish off my degree which I completed in 2011.

Upon leaving college though, the same rut started to creep in. I was working as a bouncer full time and was finding the work increasingly soul-destroying. There was literally zero prospect of a graduate position in Cork and to be honest, the city just started to grind me down. It really was an air of perpetual depression. At 24, I just couldn't fathom hanging around that town for years on end, drinking in the same pubs and doing the same sh*t week in and week out. I knew at my age I needed to get some sort of career on track or life would begin to slip away from me. I managed to persuade my girlfriend at the time to come over and off we went.

While coming back here was initially difficult (struggled through an internship and crap jobs) and I've had a few bad knocks (split up with GF after 5 years) I don't regret my decision for a second. I'm now settled in a well-paying job which has prospects for the next few years, I'm boxing away happily and generally enjoying life. I'm simply far happier here than I would be at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

I left and went (ran away) to Australia back in 07 to get away from a toxic relationship, I had always wanted to go and had friends over there at the time so when things went sour i just packed and ran! it was back in "the good ol days" too so i had just received a €1000 xmas bonus which made paying for my one way flight all that easier.

After nearly 3 years down under i came to the realisation that as much as this little Island will always be home, most places have a lot more to offer, but thats just my opinion of course! I loved the good weather and the outdoor lifestyle Oz provided. My family moved to the South of France while i was away (which holds no appeal to me what so ever and never will) so i had no reason to move home as there was no home to move back to so i never felt homesick etc.

I ended up leaving after nearly 3 years because id lost my job and and was living rough and decided enough was enough not because i actually wanted to. Australia was amazing and i'd recommend it to everyone and anyone! especially if you have a qualification! When i arrived home it was like nothing had changed and i couldn't wait to get away again. A friend who lived in Spain said i could fly over and stay with him so i jumped at the chance. Spain was tough... with little of the language (although i did try to learn) it made life difficult and i only lasted about 10 months before moving home with my tail between my legs again.

I spent the next year boozing and partying hard until i decided to go back to college and sort my shit out, i'm just about to finish a degree in May after 4 long years and i can't tell you how eager i am to get the hell out of here again! Vancouver, New York, San Fran these are the three places i'm eyeing up at the moment as there is plenty of work, good money and great lifestyle on offer in each place! Plus i have friends in NY and Vancouver which helps.

Could i get a job in Ireland when i get my degree... probably, i'm studying computer science so it's in demand. But why would I? There's far more to life then this country. And if i sound negative i'm sorry i do love this country and my heritage but living away helped me to grow up and opened my eyes to the fact there a lot more going on elsewhere! A bit of sun always helps too!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Niall09

Went abroad as part of my placement in UL to Amsterdam in 2012 for 9 months and then went back for the summer last year. They offered me a job which payed about 10k more than I would get at home (would have gone over regardless) so finishing college and heading out there in the summer for the forseeable. I do love Ireland but I'm young and wouldn't mind seeing a bit of the world before I settle!

ronjo wrote: »
    Left Ireland in 2000.

A mate got a job in 99 in a software company that placed him in Poland and all I used to hear from him was about the "burds".
    The offered me a job too then a year later and as I was single and never travelled other than holidays I jumped at it.

Was contracting around different countries for 7 years and now settle down with a wife and 2 kids in Central Europe.

Sometimes I miss home, but not too often to be honest.

I really want to visit Poland. I recently got a job in London so am moving there in a few weeks, fairly apprehensive about it but looking forward to it.

Central Europe...Russia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,353 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Finished college in 2011 and just wanted to do something with my life.

Tbh, had never felt like I wanted to live my life in Ireland. I always felt like there was somewhere else out there that'd be a better fit for me. I've spent lots of time in Spain, the Czech Republic and Brazil and the Czech Republic is the only one that I'd say is a worse fit for me than Ireland. Brazil and especially Spain are places where I feel a lot more comfortable with my place in society and just happier with the other things that go on in the country.

Niall09 wrote: »
    Went abroad as part of my placement in UL to Amsterdam in 2012 for 9 months and then went back for the summer last year. They offered me a job which payed about 10k more than I would get at home (would have gone over regardless) so finishing college and heading out there in the summer for the forseeable. I do love Ireland but I'm young and wouldn't mind seeing a bit of the world before I settle!

No harm in settling in Holland, I'd love to try living there but England will have to do for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Because Ireland is a country full of finger-pointing, begrudgers and moaners. It seriously effects your mental health!

No harm in settling in Holland, I'd love to try living there but England will have to do for now.

i love London for a break but any time i've been i just can never picture myself there long term, even though anyone who i know thats made the move sings its praises, it just seems a bit too similar to home for me to justify a move.

darragh16 wrote: »
    Because Ireland is a country full of finger-wagging, begrudgers and moaners. It seriously effects your mental health!

Fixed that for you :D

i love London for a break but any time i've been i just can never picture myself there long term, even though anyone who i know thats made the move sings its praises, it just seems a bit too similar to home for me to justify a move.

I'm doing it to be closer to home(currently in the far east), Also to put down some roots for a few years and chill, an anglophone country will be nice for a change. A career move also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Left in 2004 when I was 24 to do my final year in college in the midlands of England, which I was required to do as I did a PLC that only went as far as diploma level. Didn't think back then when I got the ferry with my stuff to Birmingham that I'd be gone for good. I was very happy in Dublin at that time, had great friends and was enjoying life generally but I was happy enough to leave as well.

Since then, I've been home for 2-4 month periods (about 10 months in total) to save money to head off again. I'm here now in Madrid over 4 years and am settled here and I'll be here a while longer yet although my boyfriend is unemployed long-term now, so we'll be leaving as soon as he finishes his masters and gets something. I think it's back to the UK for me again although I'm open to going anywhere as long as there's career prospects for me too.

Going back to university in September through distance learning that'll qualify me in something I can return to Ireland with when things pick up again. I would be happy enough to go home but happy enough to live elsewhere too. I genuinely have no idea where I'll end up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭deceit

Something a bit different, I emigrated to the uk to join the british army.
    I wanted to see different places and wanted to see first hand what it was like in iraq and afghanistan. I joined as a royal engineer (draughtsman) and did medic training as I would be someone that would try help someone rather than kill someone (I know a stupid type of person to be a soldier :P )
    Never got to go in the end as got a rifle through the knee :P, probably for the best.
    I am moving to Germany this year as my son lives there now, hoping I can get a job when I move over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Because by flying only an hour away, I could take a better job and better money than I could have ever dreamed of getting Ireland for my experience level at the time (Graduate)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Just to add, I really had a love/hate relationship with this place for a long time and now it's just love. Mad how a place grows on you over time and starts becoming home. The fact that I might have to leave in the foreseeable future makes me sad. For all their faults, Spain and the Spanish are wonderful and I feel part of this place now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

I went 10 years ago initially on 1 year working holiday visa, got sponsored within a month and decided to stay for 4 years. Just loved the lifestyle, boating & 4x4 etc. When the crash happened in Ireland decided to emigrate and stuck in an application for a migration visa so I could stay for good, love the place and got married to a local girl a couple of years ago.

I go back to Ireland every 2 years to visit the family and also remind myself how good I got it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

My main reason for leaving three years ago? Following a girl. We're getting married in August. :)

Other reason was I was hugely under-appreciated in a job in Ireland and had no real opportunities of a better job elsewhere. Since moving to England my career has really taken off so emigrating has proved to have been a great decision.

Just to add, I really had a love/hate relationship with this place for a long time and now it's just love. Mad how a place grows on you over time and starts becoming home. The fact that I might have to leave in the foreseeable future makes me sad. For all their faults, Spain and the Spanish are wonderful and I feel part of this place now.

I feel similar about hong kong, the air here is pretty bad most of the time, but its such an International melting pot of people that it has a vibe you probably wouldn't get anywhere else. Also I live in a bit of an expat enclave outside the city and every day feels like your in a holiday destination. It's just the going to work think I don't like. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,760 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Took off to Japan for the 2002 world cup on a one year visa teaching English, ended up staying a few more years and getting married.

Came back to Ireland to get more qualified, was perfectly happy back in Ireland, but no jobs teaching meant we were always likely to leave again, and got a good job in Japan through university affiliations.

Been here another 3 years now, with one or possibly two more on my contract, before the university will force me to leave.

Would be happy to live in Ireland again, but it will likely be elsewhere due to jobs, at least until I can get an even better qualification.

osarusan wrote: »
    Took off to Japan for the 2002 world cup on a one year visa teaching English, ended up staying a few more years and getting married.

Came back to Ireland to get more qualified, was perfectly happy back in Ireland, but no jobs teaching meant we were always likely to leave again, and got a good job in Japan through university affiliations.

Been here another 3 years now, with one or possibly two more on my contract, before the university will force me to leave.

Would be happy to live in Ireland again, but it will likely be elsewhere due to jobs, at least until I can get an even better qualification.

Oh wow... sorry to go off thread but have you managed to do any snowboarding over there??? It's high up on my bucket list!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,760 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Oh wow... sorry to go off thread but have you managed to do any snowboarding over there??? It's high up on my bucket list!
    A small bit of skiing but no snowboarding. And when I say skiing, I mean falling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I really wanted to stay in Ireland,however with the Construction industry going tits-up and some predatory punters offerring only 60 euro a day to work a full day,I decided to work abroad and work towards the goal of living in Australia.
    Worked like a dog in Rotterdam for 8 months to build a warchest for oz,was then told to hold back on going out until after Xmas-so I decided to do a short term job in Stockholm-alas,met a girl,had a kid,got married and now stuck here and rather unhappy.

Trying to convince her to move(I really want to move to Norway,Ireland or somewhere else)but she ain't for turning. She is a nurse and could work anywhere,but she's a fcukin homebird.Every month I like this place less and less,but I'm trapped.

Sweden has been good to me,but I just don't enjoy it here anymore.

I really miss Ireland

crockholm wrote: »
    I really wanted to stay in Ireland,however with the Construction industry going tits-up and some predatory punters offerring only 60 euro a day to work a full day,I decided to work abroad and work towards the goal of living in Australia.
    Worked like a dog in Rotterdam for 8 months to build a warchest for oz,was then told to hold back on going out until after Xmas-so I decided to do a short term job in Stockholm-alas,met a girl,had a kid,got married and now stuck here and rather unhappy.

Trying to convince her to move(I really want to move to Norway,Ireland or somewhere else)but she ain't for turning. She is a nurse and could work anywhere,but she's a fcukin homebird.Every month I like this place less and less,but I'm trapped.

Sweden has been good to me,but I just don't enjoy it here anymore.

I really miss Ireland

Interesting tale. Why are you tired of sweden out of interest, just need a change of scenery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

Left Ire in 2001,lived in 4 different countries the lastvone being Asia.
    Became rather disillusioned with my job,decided to head to Ireland and ooen my own firm.
    Did'nt workout,in the process of changing career now and setting up a new business.
    Were lookin to emigrate again in 2yr time most likely the Far East but if I can swing it west coast of America.
    Have to say I feel way happier living away from Ireland,free to believe in new opportunities,better optimism and greater hope for our future living abroad.
    Ever since I was 10yrs old and I took my first holiday to France I knew Ireland was never for me and it still feels this way.

hedgehog2 wrote: »
    Left Ire in 2001,lived in 4 different countries the lastvone being Asia.
    Became rather disillusioned with my job,decided to head to Ireland and ooen my own firm.
    Did'nt workout,in the process of changing career now and setting up a new business.
    Were lookin to emigrate again in 2yr time most likely the Far East but if I can swing it west coast of America.
    Have to say I feel way happier living away from Ireland,free to believe in new opportunities,better optimism and greater hope for our future living abroad.
    Ever since I was 10yrs old and I took my first holiday to France I knew Ireland was never for me and it still feels this way.

Ireland has its positives, I wouldn't be rushing back to live there as I've probably moved on in a lot of ways. Its not the worst place to be by any means.

No its not but I feel more at home living in an Asian country than I do here.
    Its possibly down tobthe fact that I dont drink;hate the weather and corruption by a select few.

No its not but I feel more at home living in an Asian country than I do here.
    Its possibly down tobthe fact that I dont drink;hate the weather and corruption by a select few.

depends where in asia, i've lived in malaysia and HK so far, perhaps singapore or thailand. but thats about all.

Ive lived in Hong Kong myself and loved it,rented an apartment by the pier on lantau my escape from the busy streets.

Yea I'm on lantau myself, don't think I could hack the city, especially in summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Moved here to bring with the missus,she had been 10 years in Ireland. Needed a change as my brain was turning to mush with boredom. We both love Ireland but the weather is grating and the excess boozing stops being fun after a while. About to take fluency exams in Spanish and enjoying the change.