Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

6 winners of tonight's lotto jackpot

• 19-01-2014 12:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭

According to the lotto website 6 tickets in the South, South East, East, North East, Mid West and Dublin got 6 numbers tonight. If I won I would be raging! :eek:

Unless they're connected ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

murrayp4 wrote: »
    If I won I would be raging!

Really?, I'd be fcuking delighted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

wazky wrote: »

Why would you be delighted if he won?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

According to the lotto website 6 tickets in the South, South East, East, North East, Mid West and Dublin got 6 numbers tonight. If I won I would be raging ! :eek:

Unless they're connected ...

3m (i think was projected) ÷ 6 = half a million.

Personally, if I found (find) out I've won. Raging will definitely not be one emotion I experience in the morning.

Ya greedy shiite :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

wazky wrote: »

Well I'd probably be delighted, but the difference is 600k or 3.5million. Still I would really really like 600k.

6 winning tickets is mental. I smell a rat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Instead of €3.5m, you're getting 600k. Not to be sniffed at. But probably not the life of luxury you'd expect for winning the lotto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

First world problems eh ? Won 3.5m jackpot. Have to share it.

Just to clarify, I would fu€king love 600k.

Please give generously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭xXxkorixXx

if i won i would be posting this from dublin airport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭vanessamee

I would be happy to win 100k it would pay off my mortgage, nice holiday and change the car what more would you want

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

First world problems eh ? Won 3.5m jackpot. Have to share it.

But thats the point. You havent won it, if the €3.5m jackpot, has to be shared with 6 other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

vanessamee wrote: »
    I would be happy to win 100k it would pay off my mortgage, nice holiday and change the car what more would you want

50 % shares in a Semi State

Six winners is very suspect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭xXxkorixXx

maybe they were using the numbers from lost

Fudge You wrote: »
    But thats the point. You havent won it, if the €3.5m jackpot, has to be shared with 6 other people.

Sure you have. You've won it as well as 5 other people. So it has to be shared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Not really. It's an odds based game. So this is probably the one out of whatever case happening of potentially 6 people winning it.

How??? It can happen, unlikely, but it can...

For example many people pick numbers that are birthdays(day and month), which is why when a survey(think it was uk, but unsure) was done of the relative frequencies of numbers chosen by 100,000 people the numbers 1 through 12 were in the top 16 numbers chosen. The top two were 9 and 7, sept and july, maybe?

Also, 14th january 1995, uk lottery, had 133 winners of a jackpot of 16m.
    Winning numbers were 7,17,23,32,38,42. Obviously a popular sequence.

And a probability expert said that 1,2,3,4,5,6 is a foolish sequence. If the numbers do come up, you will have to share the jackpot with many people.

Sure you have. You've won it as well as 5 other people. So it has to be shared.

No you have not won the jackpot, you will only receive one sixth of the €3.5m, which is why some people may be a bit annoyed.

You said "first world problem".
    But I know if I checked my ticket tomorrow, and was celebrating, then only to find out, Ive lost about 83%, I would be kinda upset. But I would still be happy with nearly 600,000. But still upset missing nearly 3ish million

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Greedy bastard. If I won half a million quid I'd be ****ing comatose with excitement. I found a fiver last week and I nearly cried.

Fudge You wrote: »
    No you have not won the jackpot, you will only receive one sixth of the €3.5m, which is why some people may be a bit annoyed.

From the Lotto website and the title of this thread "There were 6 winners of the Lotto Jackpot". The jackpot was 3.5 million and 6 people won it. If one was me I'd have won the jackpot along with 5 other people.
    You said "first world problem".
    But I know if I checked my ticket tomorrow, and was celebrating, then only to find out, Ive lost about 83%, I would be kinda upset. But I would still be happy with nearly 600,000. But still upset missing nearly 3ish million

I'd see it as first world problem to only get 1/6th of a 3.5 million jackpot. I'd be upset too probably but I'm not gonna lose any sleep over some poor old soul who's going to bed 600k richer this tonight. Its hardly the worst problem to ever have is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

St. Jimmy wrote: »
    Greedy bastard. If I won half a million quid I'd be ****ing comatose with excitement. I found a fiver last week and I nearly cried.

Exactly!a 600 k win and you'd be gutted?Jaysus your a hard man concrete!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I'm totally delighted with my share of the jackpot. Yes, it would have been nicer if I won the whole lot on my win but hey ho, I'll get over it as I count my six hundred thousand euros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭linvoysblues

I'd definitely be a little peeved if I had to share the jackpot with 5 others. This isn't exactly a 'something for nothing' deal, these people have paid for their tickets (a euro or two, whatever it is), probably most of them would have bought multiple, maybe spent €10-€20 to increase their chances of winning. If it was for free, a raffle or something then it'd be different.

I know you always run the risk of sharing the prize, but to hit a 8,000,000/1 shot only to find out 5 others have as well would be a bit deflating.

Nothing to do with greed, more to do with expecting one thing and getting another. Put it this way, if you were expecting to win 600k and you did, you'd be ecstatic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I'd be thrilled, but at some point I'd probably find myself thinking "well, that's just fucking typical."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,914 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

Jeez, about 10k would do all that for me! (my standards are low...!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

600k? That's enough to quit working forever. I'd be over the moon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

xXxkorixXx wrote: »

I thought that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Well apart from 4-5 the rest of the numbers are all 8 apart from each other, maybe that has something to do with it?
    4 5 13 21 29 37

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

xXxkorixXx wrote: »

We have to go back

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27 billyoshea

Delighted 6 different people won it rather than same old people who dont need the money who seem to win it a lot of the time,hopefully it was a few working class among the 6 spread the wealth and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

6 people won and if you were one of them you would be pissed? My cousin won the lotto way, way back in the day and he was over the moon with excitement! Until the next day and found out their was 27 other winners too!! I think he got 68 grand in the end. Now that's a sickener :). But I fcuking laughed my arse off cos he is a dick
    (but I love 68 grand now :( )
    At least it paid for his house

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27 billyoshea

deco nate wrote: »
    6 people won and if you were one of them you would be pissed? My cousin won the lotto way, way back in the day and he was over the moon with excitement! Until the next day and found out their was 27 other winners too!! I think he got 68 grand in the end. Now that's a sickener :). But I fcuking laughed my arse off cos he is a dick
    (but I love 68 grand now :( )
    At least it paid for his house

Thats a bit far fetched 27 winners I wouldnt bother collecting the cheque :pac:

billyoshea wrote: »
    Thats a bit far fetched 27 winners I wouldnt bother collecting the cheque :pac:

It's true! Biggest amount of winners in Ireland.
    Goggle it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

SV wrote: »
    600k? That's enough to quit working forever. I'd be over the moon.

600k enough to quit working forever?! Even on an modest/average wage of say €30k a year, that's only 20years. Before you buy a house or a car or take a holiday. You must plan on dying young?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

A yacht and topless babes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

A yacht and topless babes

Feck the yacht....a big bed and nude babes with strawberries, chocolate and cream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The first thing a Lotto winner does I suspect is check how many other winners there are.

Not back in the early 90s.you had to wait until the next day. The dark days of technology/information for those that remember it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

deco nate wrote: »
    It's true! Biggest amount of winners in Ireland.
    Goggle it!!

Can't. Don't know where I left my googles?

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Can't. Don't know where I left my googles?

Ops, my bad :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,962 ✭✭✭gifted

Lotto last night was over €3.5 million and there was 6 winners..I'd be bawling if I had the 6 numbers last night and then find out it had to be shared 6 times :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Worse still if one of those 6 was a syndicate of 20!!!!! Sure you'd hardly dent the credit card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

There are a lot of people bawling about it in another thread as well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Mod

Threads merged.
    /mod

I was happy when I found out I won €25 on a scratchcard last week, if anyone's disappointed with their winnings, I'll take them off your hands ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

Does anyone know where you can find out what sequence the numbers were drawn in?

RTE Player isn't updated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I be delighted if I won anything over 500 euro on the lotto, I only ever win scratch cards ??? And I don't have an itch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

I was delighted yesterday morning when I remembered I had bought a euro millions ticket for the first time in years on Friday. Checked it and won €13!

Wasted it all on more lotto tickets.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

I would imagine the government is well pleased with my generous contribution to the tax of the stupid every week ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I would be delighted to be waking up with 600k extra in my pocket, however if any to all the other tickets were quick picks Id be miffed

I'd be upset too ?

So we agree with eachother. I have no idea what we were debating about now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

A man from my town won a part of it!