Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2 Gardai force man in to Garda van

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Absolutely nothing wrong with it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

What are YOUR thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

The man is clearly under the influence of something and after getting arrested.

How would you like for him to be put into the Garda van?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Its a disgrace Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,682 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Resisted arrest.... Nothing wrong with response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Standard policing really isn't. Red top wouldn't let them close the door, a few mild hits with a baton to encourage him seems to have done the job. Video is very boring being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

2 Gardaí getting a drunk lad in the van. What's the problem here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Nonissue. Drunk got arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭h2005

What are your thoughts on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Were they to coax him into the the van with the promise of sweets?

What's the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Cant say i see any issue, They had to get him in the van and when he was not complying they used reasonable force to ensure he did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Axidium

What are YOUR thoughts?

My thoughts over all are: I think the Irish police force has to be much more strict. If laws need to be changed then so be it. Too many scumbags and wasters walking the streets everyday. Either help them get back on track or take some sort of action. I mean for such a small population there is way too much crime in Ireland. I understand the cuts and all, but in this situation for example, it took too long to get the scumbag in to the van. Anywhere else in Europe and he would be shoved in. In my opinion it was embarrassing.

To me it seems like the Irish police force, the people protecting out streets, are not feared at all. It all seems like a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭20/20

Noting wrong with that.

Oh and just to clarify. I think the Gards should of been even more harsh.

Ill be up to your gaff in about half an hour :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Honestly didn't expect you to take line.

Saw you going the complete opposite on this. It's nice to be wrong sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Axidium wrote: »
    Why? They got the job done, they clearly know the guy and probably didn't want to hurt him any more than they had to, they just had to get him in the van for his own safety if nothing else. Good police work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭h2005

They seemed to handle it quite well to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

When I watch a video on youtube from AH I hope to get worked into a good self-righteous froth, that was just a waste of 3 minutes, going to watch something good instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

They stayed calm, didn't rush, got the job done with a minimum of force. If they'd fecked him in head first then broke his ankles to close the door, he'd be whining about police brutality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Boo!
    Boooo!
    That was the worst thing I’ve ever seen!
    It was terrible!
    Horrendous!
    Well it wasn’t that bad.
    Oh, yeah?
    Well, there were parts of it I liked!
    Well, I liked alot of it.
    Yeah, it was GOOD actually.
    It was great!
    It was wonderful!
    Yeah, bravo!
    More!
    More!
    More!
    More!

Thoie wrote: »
    They stayed calm, didn't rush, got the job done with a minimum of force. If they'd fecked him in head first then broke his ankles to close the door, he'd be whining about police brutality.

And he would learn his lesson. Calm is the problem. No one is going to fear a calm person. Police should be feared. They are there to protect the law. He broke the law and deserves punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Think_then_talk

I'll spray you now again... Must have BO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,453 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

My thoughts over all are: I think the Irish police force has to be much more strict. If laws need to be changed then so be it. Too many scumbags and wasters walking the streets everyday. Either help them get back on track or take some sort of action. I mean for such a small population there is way too much crime in Ireland. I understand the cuts and all, but in this situation for example, it took too long to get the scumbag in to the van. Anywhere else in Europe and he would be shoved in. In my opinion it was embarrassing.

To me it seems like the Irish police force, the people protecting out streets, are not feared at all. It all seems like a joke.
    the police aren't supposed to be "feared" their just there to enforce the law regardless, theirs only to much crime because ireland being a small country we know about it, i'm sure if you dig deep enough the same nonsense is going on around europe

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

nonsense, their response was perfect

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Thoughts?

There is some glow of their heads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Neil Andblomee

Maybe this was discussed before. Not sure. If it was please direct me to the thread.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mp0PclrLZeA

Thoughts on this?

Seems fair enough, he looks like a rapist.

And he would learn his lesson.
    well, if he breaks the law again, arrest him again, simple
    Calm is the problem.
    no it isn't, it works well, better calm then headcase like certain police forces around the world
    No one is going to fear a calm person.
    if it gets the job done, then its good enough for most.
    Police should be feared.
    no they shouldn't, thats a very dangerous statement, like what a dictator might say. thankfully we don't live in a dictatorship so no the police shouldn't be or aren't there to be "feared"
    They are there to protect the law.
    exactly, so as long as they do that no need to be feared.
    He broke the law and deserves punishment.
    he got arrested, so he did get punished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Bald Gard used that baton like a boss....real smooth and natural, kinda like he's used it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,875 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Jaysus, this just confirms what I've long suspected - the Gardai can never win.

Even when they're right they're wrong :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Bald Gard used that baton like a boss....real smooth and natural, kinda like he's used it before.

I'd say by the accent he spent more than one day hanging around/working in a cattle mart as a young fella. That's where he got that smooth practiced move. Just the right amount of lean back too in case a kick comes in his direction as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,625 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

****ing disgrace, this sort of brutality makes me so angry. How our local politicians don't step up and do something. The image is bad, it reeks of corruption and power hunger. It makes me feel unsafe and uneasy walking the streets. I just don't understand why the **** the cobbles on one footpath don't match the other side of the road. It makes me ****ing furious. Obviously some local politician lives on the left side. Bullsh!t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

**** cobbles. They're **** for people in wheelchairs.

You need the Healy Raes here to make sure both pavements are the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I'm glad the discussion has moved onto something important.

The paving is well layed in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

And he would learn his lesson. Calm is the problem. No one is going to fear a calm person. Police should be feared. They are there to protect the law. He broke the law and deserves punishment.

The day I fear people who are supposed to uphold the law is the day I fight them, because they've gotten to a point where it's tyrannically done.

They are there to UPHOLD the law and protect people.

Also, he allegedly broke the law. There's no evidence of him committing a crime :)

That said, I don't see much issue with what they did except for the garda wearing the hi-vis slamming the gate pretty hard on his legs straight off the bat. That was a bit uncalled for but looked like it hit the fat of his shoes more than anything.

At 1:42 in the clip he got a nice surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Gardai showed remarkable patience and restraint tbh. If that had taken place in other countries, like Germany, UK, Spain, Netherlands or the US, the guy would have received far more "encouragement" to get in the van.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Nothing wrong with it at all. A little light slap across the toes and he still didn't cop on, so he got another until he moved.
    Proper order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

He probably spoke Irish to them too at some point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

They used reasonable and proportionate force, any more than that and they would be guilty of assault.
    I think they handled it very well, they have a tough job to do and in this case did it well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

The gardai looked like they were taking their time and being patient with him. Seemed like very 'controlled' swings of the baton too.

Man handling someone can be a very risky business, just in terms of biting, scratching even the manual handling side of it I'm sure. No harm in giving him a bit of a tap for encouragement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,607 ✭✭✭✭josip

1.40 - Red Head looks around before taking out the baton to see if there's anyone coming.
    1.41 - Decides not to take out baton and turns around again.
    1.41 - Shiny head already has his baton out using it.
    1.42 - Red head has a quiet word with shiny head to tell him to lay off.
    1.45 - Reason for red head not taking out baton and telling shiny head to lay off walks by.
    1.49 - Red head and shiny head check again to see if anyone is coming before resuming batoning.

The Guards don't have an easy job to do, but from their own body langauage it's easy to see that these two knew they were doing something (batoning) that they shouldn't be doing.

Will any action be taken over this? I doubt it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

josip wrote: »
    1.40 - Red Head looks around before taking out the baton to see if there's anyone coming.
    1.45 - Reason for red head not taking out baton and telling shiny head to lay off walks by.
    1.49 - Red head and shiny head check again to see if anyone is coming before resuming batoning.

The Guards don't have an easy job to do, but from their own body langauage it's easy to see that these two knew they were doing something (batoning) that they shouldn't be doing.

There's always one.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

they should have tickled him into the van - sure everyone knows that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

Action taken over what exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,607 ✭✭✭✭josip

There's always one.......

Happy to be the one.

I don't think this warrants any more than the sergeant having a word with them and telling them to try a bit longer to get the lad's legs in the next time.

They'll probably just tell shiny head to check for passers by before taking out the baton in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

Happy to be the one.

I don't think this warrants any more than the sergeant having a word with them and telling them to try a bit longer to get the lad's legs in the next time.

They'll probably just tell shiny head to check for passers by before taking out the baton in future.

If they tried a bit longer and the male still hadn't put his legs in, then hit him with the baton, you would still be on here complaining. You hardly expect the Gaurds to wait around all day until the arrested man decides to put his feet in the door.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Happy to be the one.

You're what's wrong with this country.