Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

We had a lot of problems with a scumbag family a few years ago, they're still local so they're never really far away as such. Every now and again I get a bit of verbal abuse, it really pisses me off that people can't take responsibility for their own behaviour. They got evicted because of their own actions, not mine.

The other day one of the teenage ones passed me on the street and made some comment about there being a bad smell, I was so tempted to tell her it was the smell of filth and K*acker from her and her family and that she'd never be able to wash it off, but I just ignored it, she's a kid and a moron and she'll probably be knocked up within a couple of years. Still pisses me off though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    You're right. Imagine if the plums had fallen and hit her child on the head? A narrowly avoided tragedy I would say. The whole community would be shocked that could happen in their sleepy village :P

Imagine if the plums got damaged... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

gramar wrote: »
    People who play silly mindgames.

I told a person in the office that I had particular film downloaded on a pendrive if she wanted it. I gave it to her and then later to two other people. Then a few days later the resident mindgameplayer asks me if I know where he could download that same film. Coincidence? I think not.

He knows I have the film as one of the people I gave it to told him so I know he knows that I have the film. He knows that I know that he knows. So why the jaysus doesn't he just ask for it straight out instead of playing mindgames? Does he hope I'll say 'no' so later he can hold that against me because I gave it to others and not to him? Knobend.

I fecking hate mindgames, or people who try to hint at something rather than asking straight out.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I got some coconut oil to try combat my eczema recently. So I decided to try it out last night. Grand, applied, skin feels lovely. What's this now, oh it scented.

Today I smell like Bounty Bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Weddings. Boring as hell, lots of small talk and standing around and smiling at people you meet once a decade. Not to mention the expense. Oh we're having the wedding in the country so all our guests will have to pay for staying over too. ffs. Something new to wear. Have to put the baby in kennels. Plus wedding gift. Apparently money is ok as they are going away but how much?? We'll be going as a couple. Ah b*stard this is all far too trivially annoying...

I came across a wedding thing on another thread ( I know, I know) about where, in order to be a part of the "special" day, you can make a donation to the honeymoon fund......

Not too bad if this what is expected for a wedding present, but I think it may be in addition to the present.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

We had a lot of problems with a scumbag family a few years ago, they're still local so they're never really far away as such. Every now and again I get a bit of verbal abuse, it really pisses me off that people can't take responsibility for their own behaviour. They got evicted because of their own actions, not mine.

The other day one of the teenage ones passed me on the street and made some comment about there being a bad smell, I was so tempted to tell her it was the smell of filth and K*acker from her and her family and that she'd never be able to wash it off, but I just ignored it, she's a kid and a moron and she'll probably be knocked up within a couple of years. Still pisses me off though.

I hate people like that. See a lot of them where I live. Usually the place is very quiet when I'm leaving for work, but if you see this place at lunchtime it's a hive of activity. Ah the privileged sponger life. Getting paid for doing nothing, pushing out kids and just existing. Fuuckers.

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    I came across a wedding thing on another thread ( I know, I know) about where, in order to be a part of the "special" day, you can make a donation to the honeymoon fund......

Not too bad if this what is expected for a wedding present, but I think it may be in addition to the present.

The cheek :( A friend of mine went to one a while ago and they had a dedicated website with everything they wanted on it. You could go in and register as a guest and then pick your gift, from a thirty euro towel up. afaik this also included a donation to the honeymoon fund.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

The cheek :( A friend of mine went to one a while ago and they had a dedicated website with everything they wanted on it. You could go in and register as a guest and then pick your gift, from a thirty euro towel up. afaik this also included a donation to the honeymoon fund.

That's a fairly common thing in the U S of A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,497 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

People who get to the top of an escalator and just stop there as they figure out where to go next, especially at the airport.

Ehh hello, there's 50 people behind you with no option to not hit you now numbnuts!

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I got some coconut oil to try combat my eczema recently. So I decided to try it out last night. Grand, applied, skin feels lovely. What's this now, oh it scented.

Today I smell like Bounty Bar.

Dip him in dark chocolate quick! :)

Considering the obsession here with giving 200 euro + , a 30 euro towel sounds like a good deal :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

My lazy manager, who only wants to work three days a week so she can get dole for the other 4. When she's in work she's so busy trying to catch up on work she wasn't there to do, that the rest of us (me and an intern) have to do her job for her. Anyway, yesterday she's saying to me that instead of me having fri off, she'll take Friday off and I can work Thursday. That's grand says I. Yesterday evening she says "you can actually come in on Thursday and take Friday off". No, thanks. I've already got plans made for Thursday. Then I get a big lecture about how I need to be flexible and how I need to help her out while we are understaffed.

This coming from the bitch who can't work Sundays because she has kids, couldn't cover a day off for me for a legit reason cause she had to take her kids to one direction, she had a freak out because I needed two days off together to have a cat scan done on my head and an appointment the following day, she actually called a staff meeting to tell me off and that I couldn't do that with just a weeks notice. I got a date booked off over a month in advance to get my two wisdom teeth removed. Gave her over a months notice, and now yesterday she asked me if I could move my appointment to a different day as she can't give me those days off now.

I hate her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

My lazy manager, who only wants to work three days a week so she can get dole for the other 4. When she's in work she's so busy trying to catch up on work she wasn't there to do, that the rest of us (me and an intern) have to do her job for her. Anyway, yesterday she's saying to me that instead of me having fri off, she'll take Friday off and I can work Thursday. That's grand says I. Yesterday evening she says "you can actually come in on Thursday and take Friday off". No, thanks. I've already got plans made for Thursday. Then I get a big lecture about how I need to be flexible and how I need to help her out while we are understaffed.

This coming from the bitch who can't work Sundays because she has kids, couldn't cover a day off for me for a legit reason cause she had to take her kids to one direction, she had a freak out because I needed two days off together to have a cat scan done on my head and an appointment the following day, she actually called a staff meeting to tell me off and that I couldn't do that with just a weeks notice. I got a date booked off over a month in advance to get my two wisdom teeth removed. Gave her over a months notice, and now yesterday she asked me if I could move my appointment to a different day as she can't give me those days off now.

I hate her

bluewolf wrote: »
    Considering the obsession here with giving 200 euro + , a 30 euro towel sounds like a good deal :p

Yup, I'd be looking for the toaster! I dont even know if we can afford to give this, between paying for accommodation and spending money etc. Friend in work said "just put 50 in a card" but that seems stingey :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

What the fcuk is wrong with people!?
    Seriously has nobody got any manners any more. Are people not taught the basic etiquette on public transport/common sense?

Oh you want to get on the bus/luas/dart??? Well sugar how about you step aside and let the passengers get off first!?

Bus full of 20 and 30 somethings comfy on their seats and heavily pregnant woman who looks like she's going to pass out any time soon, you think any of them gave up their seat? Nope. A fella with an injured leg, same thing. Mum holding a boy about 3 years old asleep. If you don't let her sit down at least don't fcuking push her when making your way ya prick. This annoys me to no end. Elderly people get a seat the odd time but Jaysus the fuss.

Oh and you with the buggy that is way too small for your oversized Shakira, if you're too lazy to walk the 3 stops at least have the decency and shut the fcuk up. There's no need to shout into the phone because no one is interested what yer wan said to yer man.

Oh and you arsehole of a bus driver, you can't wait the extra 10 seconds until the old lady who looks like she's about 300 years old and the girl with crutches sit down, no you have to take off like a mad man.

The ball that sits on your neck has a purpose, it's a shell for a thing called brain you twats. You'd swear it hurts them to think! :mad::mad:

Entire fuucking Dublin city centre being dug up, in the mornings when people are trying to get to work! HATE this city. With any luck it will fall into the hole they are digging.

:mad::mad::mad:

Dip him in dark chocolate quick! :)

I guess OldNotWise is a fan of Red Bounty bars :pac:

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I guess OldNotWise is a fan of Red Bounty bars :pac:

They're much nicer than the blue ones! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

czechlin wrote: »
    Seriously has nobody got any manners any more. Are people not taught the basic etiquette on public transport/common sense?

Oh you want to get on the bus/luas/dart??? Well sugar how about you step aside and let the passengers get off first!?

Bus full of 20 and 30 somethings comfy on their seats and heavily pregnant woman who looks like she's going to pass out any time soon, you think any of them gave up their seat? Nope. A fella with an injured leg, same thing. Mum holding a boy about 3 years old asleep. If you don't let her sit down at least don't fcuking push her when making your way ya prick. This annoys me to no end. Elderly people get a seat the odd time but Jaysus the fuss.

Oh and you with the buggy that is way too small for your oversized Shakira, if you're too lazy to walk the 3 stops at least have the decency and shut the fcuk up. There's no need to shout into the phone because no one is interested what yer wan said to yer man.

Oh and you arsehole of a bus driver, you can't wait the extra 10 seconds until the old lady who looks like she's about 300 years old and the girl with crutches sit down, no you have to take off like a mad man.

The ball that sits on your neck has a purpose, it's a shell for a thing called brain you twats. You'd swear it hurts them to think! :mad::mad:

You're not doing yourself any favours with regards to ruling yourself out as a suspect for that burning bus the other day.

They're much nicer than the blue ones! :rolleyes:

I like them equally. I'm an equal rights activist when it comes to Bounty's.

Fuucking livid right now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Wrong thread? :(

You're not doing yourself any favours with regards to ruling yourself out as a suspect for that burning bus the other day.

gramar I thought we were over this! :mad::pac:

You are clearly not :pac::pac:

I am, I swear I am!:D

Now stop bringing it up so I can get away with it...

Fuucking livid right now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Wrong thread? :(

Do go on.........

Neighbours of ours, tight fisted fuucking b*stards.

Do go on.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

Quite a few w*nkers on my commute by Luas today but special mention to the lady beside me who applied a full face of makeup during the journey, making me want to puke as she pulled manky crusted looking brushes from her manky crusty looking makeup bag to apply it and then used her manky looking fingers to make sure she got the makeup into the creases the brushes couldn't reach. And then if that wasn't enough she pulled out a battery operated hair straightners and started to straighten her manky looking hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭BeerSteakBirds

GreeBo wrote: »
    People who get to the top of an escalator and just stop there as they figure out where to go next, especially at the airport.

Ehh hello, there's 50 people behind you with no option to not hit you now numbnuts!

I find it frustrating when in a hurry and I am stuck standing behind young and healthy people who stand perfectly still on a slow moving horizontal walkway at the airport or motionless on an escalator both of which are going so slowly that Hans Moleman would overtake them. Once they reach their destination they spring into action as though they just awakened out of hibernation. These devices are there to help and assist people yet for some reason once somebody young and healthy steps onto one they become feeble and useless until they get off... mind boggling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I have taken to bellowing "EXCUSE ME!" in the faces of people trying to squeeze on to the dart before letting people off. I know this is straight out of the arsenal of a cantankerous old prick but I dont care.