joe stodge wrote: » I've also started to pick up dollars in the post office when ever I'm paying the bills, €30 is $40 dollars, every week for 6 months, there's no way I can spend it here this way short of going to bureu de change.
nibtrix wrote: » Ah yeah, it's usually the typical "sure I'm only having a laugh" type of thing. It's just the slight undertone of jealousy and bitchiness that's annoying. I don't normally get my knickers in a twist over it, just agreeing with the OP that it's frustrating to have to restrain your spending and save so you can go somewhere nice and then have people assume that you must have won money or been given a gift or something!
Kaizersoze81 wrote: » hopefully they dont charge commission or a fee, cos if they do youll end up spending a fortune that way.
joe stodge wrote: » No it's free, great for small ammounts. The rate is usuall $0.01 to $0.005 of what the banks give ya
Kaizersoze81 wrote: » in that case buy as much as you can now. rate is brilliant at the minute 1.33 usd to 1 euro. When i was buying last year it was 1.24 to 1 euro.
Czarcasm wrote: » I know what you mean. The neighbours have done nothing but complain ever since I started parking my Lear jet on the front lawn! I tend to ignore real begrudgers though
keith16 wrote: » "I hate people like you" was the response I got from a former colleague when I told her I paid for my car without getting a loan.
djk1000 wrote: » Draw this out for her 20 cigs a day = €70 a week 8 (cheap) drinks at the weekend = €40 =€110 x 52 weeks of the year = €5,720 There's your Florida holiday and some other stuff paid for. Or, 2 cups of coffee a day @ €2.40 each = €1752 a year. People that are bad with money don't understand how small spends really add up over a year.
Sam Kade wrote: » Why would you be going around telling people how you paid for your car?
Sam Kade wrote: » So how would the op know exactly how much she smokes and drinks?
Paddy Fields wrote: » The worst one was nearly 40, lived with his parents and rode a clapped-out Honda 50.
Mr.David wrote: » Maybe he was asked??? Maybe he asked her???
leggo wrote: » I'll mess with people in work saying dumb stuff like, "Jaysus you're always off on holidays, well for ya!" Now I'm wondering if they think I'm secretly jealous of them. It's literally a case of saying any words that pop into my head for the sake of making conversation. If you think the entire world is jealous of your amazing life, you're probably thinking about them more than they're thinking about you.
joe stodge wrote: » I was talking to one of the girls I work with, she was asking am I planning on going on holiday this year, I told I've booked Florida for myself the wife and our 2kids. Her reply was "you must have won the lotto or gotten a claim". I haven't had either, I'm just cautious with money and don't drink often or smoke, I have a mortgage and a car and save anything extra I have for the holiday which I'm paying off in installments over the months leading up to it. I work in retail and my wife works for the HSE. Since ivd told her where I'm planning on going one a few people I work with have told me she's telling people I must have come into a windfall of cash as there is no way I could be affording it otherwise. She herself drinks all weekend and smokes at least 20 a day, I'm sure if she gave up both she'd could save for the same. Has anyone had similar experiences with people begrudging you for being stupid with money.
nibtrix wrote: » Ah yeah, it's usually the typical "sure I'm only having a laugh" type of thing. It's just the slight undertone of jealousy and bitchiness that's annoying.
hfallada wrote: » Irish people hate other people doing well in life or having a better lifestyle than them. My parents did quite well for themselves through their own hard work. We moved to a nicer area and I went to private schools. Gradually none of their old friends wanted to have nothing to do to them. And were bitter with their success. But Irish people love more when peoples business's fail or when they are broke.
Legs.Eleven wrote: » What a load of absolute poo. If you're Irish I presume you're including yourself in that, yeah? Or are you the special flower among us? I don't know anyone who loves hearing about people failing or being poor. Stupid thing to say tbh.