Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

crushing the paleo diet in one post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 tradmav

So many people, with so many opinions.... I actually think the paleo diet is good with a few things thrown in from weston price inspired diets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭dor843088

tradmav wrote: »
    So many people, with so many opinions.... I actually think the paleo diet is good with a few things thrown in from weston price inspired diets

You could not have read the link in that short space of time please do so , its very informative from one of worlds leading experts in the field.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

You have way too much invested in this man. It's not good for cortisol levels.

If you believe in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,712 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRtjvb8W--wSgGgYotbqrQVQnYZE8HOo1HZuTvNjfnNQ29Z0q7i0g

Hanley wrote: »
    You have way too much invested in this man. It's not good for cortisol levels.

If you believe in them.

Not too worried about cortisol my man .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

“'Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit; wisdom is knowing not to put it in a fruit salad.” BOD March 2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Much of it makes sense, but then alot of Paleo makes sense. "Paleo" for me is just a guideline and useful for people with bad eating habits to make them eat more fruit/veg etc. which is never a bad thing. "Militant Paleo" is not a good thing

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Much of it makes sense, but then alot of Paleo makes sense. "Paleo" for me is just a guideline and useful for people with bad eating habits to make them eat more fruit/veg etc. which is never a bad thing. "Militant Paleo" is not a good thing

Exactly. Anything that steers people away from processed grains\sugars and makes them think about what they are eating is going to be beneficial.

naughtb4 wrote: »

Yeah what's up with everyone having to pick sides. It's not a divorce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

I think too many people, including Paleo detractors and defenders, get caught up on trying to either prove or disprove what the diet of cavemen thousands of years ago was like. Quite frankly I don't really care. What I'd really like to know is what food, in association with exercise, suits my body biochemically to be lean and healthy. I've read a lot of contrasting scientific opinions on that so find it hard to know who to believe and draw any conclusions. The only option for me is try something out for myself and see how I get on.

All I know is I've tested numerous diets to try and find what works for me, including vegetarian and a vegan diets, and have yet to see any drastic changes and if anything I've increased body fat, lost muscle and felt sicker.

When I do feel good the common denominator seems to be reducing sugary carbohydrates and processed foods, instead eating more vegetables and a small amount of fruit, which seems pretty sensible. I've also noticed an improvement by cutting down my dairy intake, I suffer a lot less colds and runny noses and generally feel less stuffed up.

Now as I'm not a big grain man, and I mostly eat meat and vegetables, I've decided since the start of the month to give paleo a proper go. I'm not 100 % strict in that if I'm at a friends house and they've cooked a lasagne I'll eat it. If there's cheese on something I'll eat it, but 90% of the time I stick to most of the recommended foods. It's far too early to tell how I'll get on in the long run but for the first week I feel pretty good and have lost weight for the first time in a few months. The real challenge is to see if I can lose some body fat and maintain it, and if I continue to feel healthy. If so then I don't really care if somebody is debunking the Paleo argument, as it's probably working for me.

If Paleo ends up not improving my life drastically then I'll have learned something from the experience and celebrate with a kebab and chips! :D

All I believe is if a certain regime of diet and exercise works for somebody then common sense says to stick with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Zymurgist

I loosely base my diet on the paleo principals but with added cheese, milk and cream for tastiness....

I think too many people, including Paleo detractors and defenders, get caught up on trying to either prove or disprove what the diet of cavemen thousands of years ago was like. Quite frankly I don't really care. What I'd really like to know is what food, in association with exercise, suits my body biochemically to be lean and healthy. I've read a lot of contrasting scientific opinions on that so find it hard to know who to believe and draw any conclusions. The only option for me is try something out for myself and see how I get on.

All I know is I've tested numerous diets to try and find what works for me, including vegetarian and a vegan diets, and have yet to see any drastic changes and if anything I've increased body fat, lost muscle and felt sicker.

When I do feel good the common denominator seems to be reducing sugary carbohydrates and processed foods, instead eating more vegetables and a small amount of fruit, which seems pretty sensible. I've also noticed an improvement by cutting down my dairy intake, I suffer a lot less colds and runny noses and generally feel less stuffed up.

Now as I'm not a big grain man, and I mostly eat meat and vegetables, I've decided since the start of the month to give paleo a proper go. I'm not 100 % strict in that if I'm at a friends house and they've cooked a lasagne I'll eat it. If there's cheese on something I'll eat it, but 90% of the time I stick to most of the recommended foods. It's far too early to tell how I'll get on in the long run but for the first week I feel pretty good and have lost weight for the first time in a few months. The real challenge is to see if I can lose some body fat and maintain it, and if I continue to feel healthy. If so then I don't really care if somebody is debunking the Paleo argument, as it's probably working for me.

If Paleo ends up not improving my life drastically then I'll have learned something from the experience and celebrate with a kebab and chips! :D

All I believe is if a certain regime of diet and exercise works for somebody then common sense says to stick with it.

And that's a common sense approach, do the research, trail and error, see what works best for you. This what most here want to do is have open discussion and empower people to make their own mind up.

siochain wrote: »
    Exactly. Anything that steers people away from processed grains\sugars and makes them think about what they are eating is going to be beneficial.

The militant paleo thanks a post stating militant paleo is a bad idea . Eat your grains they're good for you.

dor843088 wrote: »
    The militant paleo thanks a post stating militant paleo is a bad idea . Eat your grains they're good for you.

embarrassed for ya at this stage :o

Go and quote exactly were I said paleo was the answer for all. I'm anti over consumption of processed grains\ sugar's and their current impact on peoples health .

embarrassed for ya at this stage :o

Go and quote exactly were I said paleo was the answer for all. I'm anti over consumption of processed grains\ sugar's and their current impact on peoples health .

Im glad your embarrassed my man thats normally how our encounters end up .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭dragonkin

Normally eat paleoish.. ate chocolate 'classic muffin' (€1.65 - Spar) about three hours ago... now feel like ****, why?

dragonkin wrote: »
    Normally eat paleoish.. ate chocolate 'classic muffin' (€1.65 - Spar) about three hours ago... now feel like ****, why?

You're one of those people that if you have a tiny amount of sugar, not only do you become intensely hyperactive, but the entire scope of your existence funnels down to the singular goal of obtaining and ingesting more sugar. Your need for sugar has now become so massive, that it has started to collapse in upon itself and create a vacuum into which even more sugar will be drawn until all the world had been stripped of sweetness.

Sad face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭dragonkin

You're one of those people that if you have a tiny amount of sugar, not only do you become intensely hyperactive, but the entire scope of your existence funnels down to the singular goal of obtaining and ingesting more sugar. Your need for sugar has now become so massive, that it has started to collapse in upon itself and create a vacuum into which even more sugar will be drawn until all the world had been stripped of sweetness.

Sad face.

Wow thanks, that explains alot I probably should look for another muffin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,619 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Im glad your embarrassed my man thats normally how our encounters end up .

Oh he got you good.

Christ who cares about the name? Each loads of vegetables, meat, fish, some fruit, take it handy on carb-heavy grains and the like. That's all it fecking is.

I think we should all chill out and have a nice bowl of strawberry icecream steak

dragonkin wrote: »

Well since your chocolate muffin would have contained a lot of fat it would have digested quite slowly and would not have put you in a hypoglycemic state so my theory is ........ its all in your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭CM24

I used to think I was cool eating sweets, McDonalds and the like with my friends, whilst telling them ''IIFYM, bro''. However, after realising how much better I feel and perform without wheat, sugar and dairy I don't actually want to eat any of the ''unclean'' stuff anymore. A lot of niggly injuries cleared up and I get way less inflammation and bloating. Energy levels went through the roof. Skin, teeth and hair also much improved. I hate counting calories, so the fact that eating Paleo style makes it easy to stay lean without worrying about calories is just a bonus for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Oh lord, well that was unfortunate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

CM24 wrote: »
    I used to think I was cool eating sweets, McDonalds and the like with my friends, whilst telling them ''IIFYM, bro''. However, after realising how much better I feel and perform without wheat, sugar and dairy I don't actually want to eat any of the ''unclean'' stuff anymore. A lot of niggly injuries cleared up and I get way less inflammation and bloating. Energy levels went through the roof. Skin, teeth and hair also much improved. I hate counting calories, so the fact that eating Paleo style makes it easy to stay lean without worrying about calories is just a bonus for me.

Vikings ate a lot of dairy and were badasses. Having dairy cows was a sign of wealth. Rob Wolf doesn't look anyway near a badass like a Viking. So for that reason...

34186708.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭sawfish

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRtjvb8W--wSgGgYotbqrQVQnYZE8HOo1HZuTvNjfnNQ29Z0q7i0g

For the last two hours since I read this I have been nervously protecting my hands thinking somebody is going to smash them with a hammer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭CM24

Vikings ate a lot of dairy and were badasses. Having dairy cows was a sign of wealth. Rob Wolf doesn't look anyway near a badass like a Viking.
    Conor McGregor looks like a viking and he eats Paleo, so...
    BCjQSIC.jpg

BCjQSIC.jpg

That may be why he looks so flat . Hes a tough sob but hasnt got great physique by any stretch.

He looks flat depleted at a weigh in. Staggering.

One would wonder why you have a boards account at all with all this groundbreaking staggering unbelievable info flying about. I thought youd be busy in january delivering all your staggering info?

hater.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 AFridgeTooFar

You gotta only go organic, she is expensive as hell but the females love it.

Strong first post .love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

It depends on how you define the paleo diet. My understanding of it is whole foods - plants and animals - while keeping carbs matched to your activity levels. Increased activity levels can include good quality grains. Wish respect to junk food, if you're eating well 80% of the time and in good health, you can afford to eat how you like for the remaining 20%.

I think that ties in with most views on healthy eating.

ror_74 wrote: »
    It depends on how you define the paleo diet. My understanding of it is whole foods - plants and animals - while keeping carbs matched to your activity levels. Increased activity levels can include good quality grains. Wish respect to junk food, if you're eating well 80% of the time and in good health, you can afford to eat how you like for the remaining 20%.

I think that ties in with most views on healthy eating.

I think your approach is the correct one . However it is not paleo. Paleo bans all grains because grains apparently cause disease (a theory heavily touted on this forum) and even bans tomatoes and certainly does not allow for treats.

No it doesn't.

Nightshades such as tomatoes potatoes and eggplant are prohibited and iv never heard of junkfood being included at any percentage. Maybe you are referring to a looser interpretation of paleo . But if you are it is exactly that.

you said not allowed treats not junk food. Time and again pulling stuff out of context.

Struggle much with the basic comprehension of words and sentence? You might give up the wheat for a while might help clear up the brain fog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I actually read that and laughed at the bottom line.
    Ignoring the rules of fad diets & sticking with foods that fit your personal preference & tolerance.

That pretty much sums up the 'paleo' diet for me. Can't tolerate most grains, and can't be arsed eating the ones I can tolerate. I don't tolerate dairy too well but I want to try raw dairy see if I tolerate that better.

you said not allowed treats not junk food. Time and again pulling stuff out of context.

Struggle much with the basic comprehension of words and sentence? You might give up the wheat for a while might help clear up the brain fog.

Uses bad grammar in a critical post about anothers use of words and sentenceS. I know why your so anti wheat/carbs , its those darn reoccurring yeast infections thats making you so ratty . Dont worry darling theres cream for that sort of thing just remember to wash your hands before you treat yourself to an apple and a spring water.

bodybuiling.com and t-nation forums are over there somewhere =>>>>>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Dor Infracted

remember - attack post, not poster

Lads, lets untwist the knickers

Posts are purposefully getting more personal and troll like

Its like a playground at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 tradmav

its funny really how worked up people get about paleo. look nobodys forcing anyone to eat that way, it works for me and certainly thousands of others. why bash it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

BCjQSIC.jpg

I can't see Thor beating his anvil over him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,526 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

By what definition does he not have a great physique? He is in great shape!

Gintonious wrote: »
    By what definition does he not have a great physique? He is in great shape!

Hes 5'8 and little more than 10 stone he has a justin beiber physique. If you saw a 10 stone 5'8 man in person youd think he was ill .But thats just my opinion.

seams a lot of fighters are using a modified paleo diet 'Dolce' particularly in the lead up to weigh ins.

It allows for some sprouted grain ezekiel bread and natural whole grains with no processed wheat.

Ronda Rousey used it recently and reckoned she felt stronger coming up UFC 178 than any previous fight.
    ap-ufc-157-mixed-martial-arts3.jpg?w=640

Gilbert Melendez

Gilbert-Melendez.jpg

Mike Pyle
    mike_pyle_002.jpg

Frank Mir changed to paleo can stated he came in 'bigger than he's been in several fights – but more importantly, he's leaner'.

tumblr_lnwgj6NqNu1qktcop.jpg

Yes fighters do well on other diets and some improve by switching over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Hes 5'8 and little more than 10 stone he has a justin beiber physique. If you saw a 10 stone 5'8 man in person youd think he was ill .But thats just my opinion.
    post up pics of yourself so dude.

paleo is a food quality approach not an approach to limit carbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,526 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

And about 4% body fat as well, relative to his height he is in savage nick. I would like to know what you would consider to be a good physique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭WrigleysExtra

Unless you have an intolerance to wheat or dairy and the like then I really can't understand why people eliminate these foods from their diets. The amount of fitness pages I read that spew bull**** and basically say not to eat white bread and to stay away from dairy pisses me off. Once you get enough fibre then in the grand scheme of things; where you get the rest of your carbs from is irrelevant.