Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WWE Network Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Watching a 1999 Raw now and it's working grand. I've never had major problems with it tbh. A few seconds of buffering now and then. But I wouldn't be on it every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

I've not gone near it today, because I realised I haven't been watching anything BUT the WWE Network for the last 6 months or so. I'll give Superstars a miss tonight probably as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭rafi bomb

Anyone have problems using the site?

When I try on chrome, ie and Firefox it says I don't have a subscription but it works on the app and xbox

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 26,099 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

The network even the archive stuff has been much better since summerfest it hasn't buffered once.

Loughc wrote: »
    The network even the archive stuff has been much better since summerfest it hasn't buffered once.

Yeah ive had no problems the last few days.

I can finally continue watching Raws and Nitros from 96 back to back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

Are they serious ???

NOC 2012 three times in a row?

FFS.

Are they serious ???

NOC 2012 three times in a row?

FFS.

I never watch the live feed unless its a live ppv.

Same here. But it's a decent avenue for them to attract viewers. There was nothing on TV last night so I just flicked through the schedule and saw this. It's embarrassing. 9 hours of they daily schedule taken up by the same PPV. At least show something like the raw previous, the PPV and then the raw the following night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,197 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Watching judgement day 2000 and Howard finkel spoiled the result and made a mess announcing trips to the ring BEFORE the match and calls triple h the wwf champion. Never noticed that before.

Looks like they are starting to add 98 Nitros now along with 97.

Hopefully the whole thing will be up there one day. They don't remove episodes of it do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Blue_Dabadee

Two random episodes of Smackdown from 2004 have been uploaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

mxph3 wrote: »
    Two random episodes of Smackdown from 2004 have been uploaded.

Any use?

Watching Raws and Nitros from 96 and Nitro is the better show IMO and havent even got to the summer of 96 yet.

Raw is just 3 squash matches each week while Nitro has proper matches like Eddie vs Benoit etc and usually a main event with 2 big names.

The whole look of Nitro just looks better than Raw during this period.

One plus for Raw though is Lawler on commentary. He was brilliant back then. Oh and Sunny!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭Monokne

Watching Raws and Nitros from 96 and Nitro is the better show IMO and havent even got to the summer of 96 yet.

Raw is just 3 squash matches each week while Nitro has proper matches like Eddie vs Benoit etc and usually a main event with 2 big names.

The whole look of Nitro just looks better than Raw during this period.

One plus for Raw though is Lawler on commentary. He was brilliant back then. Oh and Sunny!!

Yeah I grew up as a WWF loyalist and would watch both shows on Friday nights at the time, but watching them again now, sweet baby Jesus I'm surprised I tolerated Raw. I suppose we weren't used to a bunch of competitive matches on free TV then, but some of the shows were terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Monokne wrote: »
    Yeah I grew up as a WWF loyalist and would watch both shows on Friday nights at the time, but watching them again now, sweet baby Jesus I'm surprised I tolerated Raw. I suppose we weren't used to a bunch of competitive matches on free TV then, but some of the shows were terrible.

I was the exact same. I only discovered WCW by mistake one evening by flicking through channels, and seeing Hulk Hogan.

Remember when Raw used to be on at 5pm on a Friday? Nitro would be on later then on TNT, I think 7. I got into Nitro slightly before Scott Hall showed up for the first time. It was never "Must Watch" for me though, while I never missed Raw.

I do remember that yes. I think this was around the same period the Raw shows were a week behind, remember that? Late 1996 for about 4 - 6 months. I remember Survivor Series 1996 being aired on a 9 days tape delay, the Tuesday week after it happened. Then in February 1997 they caught up, which led to this weird weekend where half the programming was a week old and half was current. At that stage they put Raw on later at night.

As much as I think 'the attitude era' is romanticised - there was a lot of garbage on those shows - it was such an exciting time to be a fan, between both shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,021 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Monokne wrote: »
    As much as I think 'the attitude era' is romanticised - there was a lot of garbage on those shows - it was such an exciting time to be a fan, between both shows.

Very much so, the star power of the main event scene was excellent and it glossed over some horrible stuff in parts.

When the network launched this is what I wanted it to be like.

Watching Raw and Nitro from the same period and the build up to each ppv.

Watching it a lot since the buffering issues stopped and really enjoying it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Ageyev

When the network launched this is what I wanted it to be like.

Watching Raw and Nitro from the same period and the build up to each ppv.

Watching it a lot since the buffering issues stopped and really enjoying it.

The nostalgia of watching episodes of Monday Night Raw I watched as a kid wore off after only a few months. I dip in and out now and then but I'm not that arsed anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Ageyev

gerrybbadd wrote: »
    I was the exact same. I only discovered WCW by mistake one evening by flicking through channels, and seeing Hulk Hogan.

Remember when Raw used to be on at 5pm on a Friday? Nitro would be on later then on TNT, I think 7. I got into Nitro slightly before Scott Hall showed up for the first time. It was never "Must Watch" for me though, while I never missed Raw.

In 1996 Cablelink we're testing out some frequencies and they broadcast TNT, Bravo and a few other channels. Being able to watch the first few months of the NWO on Nitro was great.

Cablelink :D There's 23 year olds reading this thread thinking that's probably a primitive broadband company :P

I lived with my mum in Portmarnock when I was a teenager. My Dad lived in Malahide. For some reason, you could get TNT in Malahide but you couldn't get it in Portmarnock. So every Friday night I was off to see the old man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

I used get bravo too watch nitro on the old "black box" that multichannel used use, but our one was taped so we had it free in the flat we lived in, every Friday at 9pm bravo would cut in and take over from (I think) TCC which if I remember was the children's channel, it's actually how I got into wrestling

Channel 27 on the tapped black box :D:D

MrMac84 wrote: »
    I used get bravo too watch nitro on the old "black box" that multichannel used use, but our one was taped so we had it free in the flat we lived in, every Friday at 9pm bravo would cut in and take over from (I think) TCC which if I remember was the children's channel, it's actually how I got into wrestling
    Channel 27 on the tapped black box :D:D

Jaysus the old black box from the cork multichannel. Happy fecking days. I know nothing of this so called tapped box. *cough*

But back on topic. I watched the mania 17 main event for the first time in a long time. My god it was good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭greenman09

Watched sone of wrestlemania 3 last night. Main event of 6. Then watched Montreal screw job. Will watch stone cold tear rikishi apart today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Jaysus the old black box from the cork multichannel. Happy fecking days. I know nothing of this so called tapped box. *cough*

Ha ha happy days indeed! When you went up into the higher numbers after 10 or 11 o clock you wouldn't know what you were liable too come across. WWE superstars on channel 13 (sky 1) on sat evenings as well

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Ha ha happy days indeed! When you went up into the higher numbers after 10 or 11 o clock you wouldn't know what you were liable too come across. WWE superstars on channel 13 (sky 1) on sat evenings as well

I remember channel 16 or 15 having this ear splitting sound and nothing on it.

I never knew that lita was one of the godfathers hos. July 05th 1999 episode of raw.

Probably in the time period after she had signed and before she debuted on the television maybe?