If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

collars in cover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

Hahahaha is there no lenght you wont go to , to not be wrong , the fact is lads ye are in the minority its pretty stupid in my eyes and a lot of others im sure to be hunting spaniels in heavy cover with a collar on its pretty needless bht yet epointer you somehow make it necessary for you to do this with all your spaniels because they might get lost but at the same time they are always with you except for this bitch whom you are letting further out for training purposes I can see youe sense for this young bitch but not that this is common and regular practice with you ,, yourself and the good snipe have both stated the years of experience ye have but to me it looks like neither of ye have a clue or your spaniel is not hitting the real heavy stuff because if they were they wouldnt be wearing collars around their necks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

snipe02 wrote: »
    Hahahaha is there no lenght you wont go to , to not be wrong , the fact is lads ye are in the minority its pretty stupid in my eyes and a lot of others im sure to be hunting spaniels in heavy cover with a collar on its pretty needless bht yet epointer you somehow make it necessary for you to do this with all your spaniels because they might get lost but at the same time they are always with you except for this bitch whom you are letting further out for training purposes I can see youe sense for this young bitch but not that this is common and regular practice with you ,, yourself and the good snipe have both stated the years of experience ye have but to me it looks like neither of ye have a clue or your spaniel is not hitting the real heavy stuff because if they were they wouldnt be wearing collars around their necks

It didn't take long for you to lower yourself as usual. Good man.
    But you are right I don't have a clue. I make it up as I go along. :rolleyes:

Lookin like it ,, the bog holes etc are an unavoidable risk when rough shooting its a fact of the life of a dog and its handler why add to the risks by using a collar just doesnt make sense plus ive always been thought by the experienced dog men never to have a collar on a working spaniel and impretty sure its been written in the literature also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Lookin like it ,, the bog holes etc are an unavoidable risk when rough shooting its a fact of the life of a dog and its handler why add to the risks by using a collar just doesnt make sense plus ive always been thought by the experienced dog men never to have a collar on a working spaniel and impretty sure its been written in the literature also

I'm done arguing with ya buddy. I'm not going to comment on the written into literature piece. I wish you & your dogs the best in the field.

Thanks and best of luck to you and yours epointer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

ladies come on now look every one has there views and opinions ,i saw a springer in the field one day belong to a lad with a muzzle on NO LIE! think brazzil has the pic ! he might post it! i think the problem with ye two lads is that e-pointer has the modern method in the form of e collars and cameras and the likes and snipe02 your old school and your methods are old school saying that if ye could share methods i.e snipe02 with the headcam, i think lads on here would be gobsmacked at the level of training your dogs have without the use of a e collar which just shows that it can be done but u are very experienced with dogs in general and have the way with them. saying that i think the e collar was purchased by e -pointer because of a stubborn pointer which i can tell u first hand is no joke !!! lads think that e collars skip the basic training and jump steps which is not the case ,alot of time goes into properly conditioning them to the collar and also training the command still has to be done before putting collar on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Brazzill

charlie10 wrote: »
    knew of a lad that had a collar on a lab and cast him to a blind retrieve into a wood ,couple of mins passed and no return ,when he went in the dog was dead this was a matter of mins. also brazzills springer got tangled in a quarry by the back legs one evening and her head was going under ,she freed herself luckily but if that bitch had got caught by a collar on her she would of drowned or remained there until sufficent help arrived which would of been a nightmare. just on a side note lads if a dog gets into trouble in water and u cant swim or not a very good swimmer please remember the family at home DO NOT TRY AND SAVE IF YOU YOURSELF MIGHT BE IN DANGER!.

Ha Ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

Now now mr Epionter as i have said i only use the e collar on a head strong dog. And the bell in wood's.And i do know my spaniel's and would never do anything to put them danger. But u do seem very hung up on this collar. pardon the pun. Or is it just a chance to have a snipe.:) pun again; at Mr bad Snipe.. :rolleyes:

Yes your right never put a collar on a dog when duck shooting.

snipe49 wrote: »

Surely this would apply doing any type of shooting then.... Shot countless birds(pheasants, woodcock etc....)that have landed in flooded rivers, ponds etc....Can't pick where a shot bird lands!

ha:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

No i never shoot if they fly over water. They don't look nice wet. :cool:

So your a polisher???? Won't shoot in the rain???? ;)

very Good. :pac: no not at all was out sunday morning in that storm. I like my dog's am tough.. :p

charlie10 wrote: »
    ladies come on now look every one has there views and opinions ,i saw a springer in the field one day belong to a lad with a muzzle on NO LIE! think brazzil has the pic ! he might post it! i think the problem with ye two lads is that e-pointer has the modern method in the form of e collars and cameras and the likes and snipe02 your old school and your methods are old school saying that if ye could share methods i.e snipe02 with the headcam, i think lads on here would be gobsmacked at the level of training your dogs have without the use of a e collar which just shows that it can be done but u are very experienced with dogs in general and have the way with them. saying that i think the e collar was purchased by e -pointer because of a stubborn pointer which i can tell u first hand is no joke !!! lads think that e collars skip the basic training and jump steps which is not the case ,alot of time goes into properly conditioning them to the collar and also training the command still has to be done before putting collar on.

Had a look and can't find the picture!

very Good. :pac: no not at all was out sunday morning in that storm. I like my dog's am tough.. :p

A ha good man.... Was out myself with Charlie10, in bed since.

Not with Charlie10 i hope.;) Get well soon pal.:)

;) anyway back to the collar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Glenbulldog

Why does it bother you so much if his dog wears a collar or not? If the man is comfortable with the dog wearing it so be it, to say a man has'nt a clue cause he doesn't do things the way you w.t.f? , old methods work for you and well done on that,modern methods work for him well done to him on that every man to his own and all that

Just read a similar thread on another forum and similar consensus no collars while working no mention of deaths losses but some near misses and lucky escapes but most say no collar while at work especially for spaniels

Yes the coller. thank u for the reminder.:D must charge it for tomorrow out with the little cocker. :cool:

Why does it bother you so much if his dog wears a collar or not? If the man is comfortable with the dog wearing it so be it, to say a man has'nt a clue cause he doesn't do things the way you w.t.f? , old methods work for you and well done on that,modern methods work for him well done to him on that every man to his own and all that
    it doesnt bother me but I still dont see the logic in using collars on spaniels in thick cover and we both continued to voice our points I also said snipe49 hasnt a clue but is he not worthy of your defence
    And for the record lads I apologise for said statement wasnt fair or appropriate I know I know feck all myself im only learning as I go along but I change none of my arguement or my opinion that putting collars on spaniels whom hunt thick cover is stupid and risky ,, epointer had a different view doesnt make either of us right and im sure it doesnt bother him that I choose not to use them , or he doesnt need you to defend him

Yes the coller. thank u for the reminder. must charge it for tomorrow out with the little cocker.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Yes the coller. thank u for the reminder.:D must charge it for tomorrow out with the little cocker. :cool:
    He's a 12 volt is he

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Glenbulldog

it doesnt bother me but I still dont see the logic in using collars on spaniels in thick cover and we both continued to voice our points I also said snipe49 hasnt a clue but is he not worthy of your defence
    And for the record lads I apologise for said statement wasnt fair or appropriate I know I know feck all myself im only learning as I go along but I change none of my arguement or my opinion that putting collars on spaniels whom hunt thick cover is stupid and risky ,, epointer had a different view doesnt make either of us right and im sure it doesnt bother him that I choose not to use them , or he doesnt need you to defend him

He does indeed and apologies to him for not mentioning his name it was meant for the minority( as you put it)cause I'm one of them,it's not a case of defending anyone here in particular,you have you're opinion if people don't agree with you they're stupid or whatever???? It doesn't bother you ???but you keep going on about it you made you're opinion clear so leave it at that .