Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

76 Things Banned in Leviticus- how many have you done?

• 05-01-2014 10:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭

Here’s chapter and verse on a more-or-less comprehensive list of things banned in the Leviticus book of the bible. A decent number of them are punishable by death.

1. Burning any yeast or honey in offerings to God (2:11)

2. Failing to include salt in offerings to God (2:13)

3. Eating fat (3:17)

4. Eating blood (3:17)

5. Failing to testify against any wrongdoing you’ve witnessed (5:1)

6. Failing to testify against any wrongdoing you’ve been told about (5:1)

7. Touching an unclean animal (5:2)

8. Carelessly making an oath (5:4)

9. Deceiving a neighbour about something trusted to them (6:2)

10. Finding lost property and lying about it (6:3)

11. Bringing unauthorised fire before God (10:1)

12. Letting your hair become unkempt (10:6)

13. Tearing your clothes (10:6)

14. Drinking alcohol in holy places (bit of a problem for Catholics, this ‘un) (10:9)

15. Eating an animal which doesn’t both chew cud and has a divided hoof (cf: camel, rabbit, pig) (11:4-7)

16. Touching the carcass of any of the above (problems here for rugby) (11:8)

17. Eating – or touching the carcass of – any seafood without fins or scales (11:10-12)

18. Eating – or touching the carcass of - eagle, the vulture, the black vulture, the red kite, any kind of black kite, any kind of raven, the horned owl, the screech owl, the gull, any kind of hawk, the little owl, the cormorant, the great owl, the white owl, the desert owl, the osprey, the stork, any kind of heron, the hoopoe and the bat. (11:13-19)

19. Eating – or touching the carcass of – flying insects with four legs, unless those legs are jointed (11:20-22)

20. Eating any animal which walks on all four and has paws (good news for cats) (11:27)

21. Eating – or touching the carcass of – the weasel, the rat, any kind of great lizard, the gecko, the monitor lizard, the wall lizard, the skink and the chameleon (11:29)

22. Eating – or touching the carcass of – any creature which crawls on many legs, or its belly (11:41-42)

23. Going to church within 33 days after giving birth to a boy (12:4)

24. Going to church within 66 days after giving birth to a girl (12:5)

25. Having sex with your mother (18:7)

26. Having sex with your father’s wife (18:8)

27. Having sex with your sister (18:9)

28. Having sex with your granddaughter (18:10)

29. Having sex with your half-sister (18:11)

30. Having sex with your biological aunt (18:12-13)

31. Having sex with your uncle’s wife (18:14)

32. Having sex with your daughter-in-law (18:15)

33. Having sex with your sister-in-law (18:16)

34. Having sex with a woman and also having sex with her daughter or granddaughter (bad news for Alan Clark) (18:17)

35. Marrying your wife’s sister while your wife still lives (18:18)

36. Having sex with a woman during her period (18:19)

37. Having sex with your neighbour’s wife (18:20)

38. Giving your children to be sacrificed to Molek (18:21)

39. Having sex with a man “as one does with a woman” (18:22)

40. Having sex with an animal (18:23)

41. Making idols or “metal gods” (19:4)

42. Reaping to the very edges of a field (19:9)

43. Picking up grapes that have fallen in your vineyard (19:10)

44. Stealing (19:11)

45. Lying (19:11)

46. Swearing falsely on God’s name (19:12)

47. Defrauding your neighbour (19:13)

48. Holding back the wages of an employee overnight (not well observed these days) (19:13)

49. Cursing the deaf or abusing the blind (19:14)

50. Perverting justice, showing partiality to either the poor or the rich (19:15)

51. Spreading slander (19:16)

52. Doing anything to endanger a neighbour’s life (19:16)

53. Seeking revenge or bearing a grudge (19:18)

54. Mixing fabrics in clothing (19:19)

55. Cross-breeding animals (19:19)

56. Planting different seeds in the same field (19:19)

57. Sleeping with another man’s slave (19:20)

58. Eating fruit from a tree within four years of planting it (19:23)

59. Practising divination or seeking omens (tut, tut astrology) (19:26)

60. Trimming your beard (19:27)

61. Cutting your hair at the sides (19:27)

62. Getting tattoos (19:28)

63. Making your daughter prostitute herself (19:29)

64. Turning to mediums or spiritualists (19:31)

65. Not standing in the presence of the elderly (19:32)

66. Mistreating foreigners – “the foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born” (19:33-34)

67. Using dishonest weights and scales (19:35-36)

68. Cursing your father or mother (punishable by death) (20:9)

69. Marrying a prostitute, divorcee or widow if you are a priest (21:7,13)

70. Entering a place where there’s a dead body as a priest (21:11)

71. Slaughtering a cow/sheep and its young on the same day (22:28)

72. Working on the Sabbath (23:3)

73. Blasphemy (punishable by stoning to death) (24:14)

74. Inflicting an injury; killing someone else’s animal; killing a person must be punished in kind (24:17-22)

75. Selling land permanently (25:23)

76. Selling an Israelite as a slave (foreigners are fine) (25:42)

26 including the v bold one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

No. 69

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I've done each and every one of them today whilst boards was down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

I do number 7 most sat nights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I'm not reading all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Thank God for Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Hell of a lot of sex there in the middle order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭AerynSun

I've done each and every one of them today whilst boards was down.

Damn. I still have to find and eat a weasel... but otherwise, I nearly had 'em!

:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Duff wrote: »
    I'm not reading all that.

TL:DR Just Pray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,914 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

efb wrote: »
    Here’s chapter and verse on a more-or-less comprehensive list of things banned in the Leviticus book of the bible. A decent number of them are punishable by death.

12. Letting your hair become unkempt (10:6)

Every fecking day..... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

33, I'm ashamed in myself, I was confident it would be at least half of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Guilty of 24 of them. (but not number 24)
    This is hilarious.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Possibly breaking the ones responding to trolls by pointing out the bible has to be put into the context of a living faith tradition, which holds that moral laws such as Moses commandments are immutable but disciplinary requirements are customs and so can be changed. This has been the case for about 2000 years now.

Manach wrote: »
    Possibly breaking the ones responding to trolls by pointing out the bible has to be put into the context of a living faith tradition, which holds that moral laws such as Moses commandments are immutable but disciplinary requirements are customs and so can be changed. This has been the case for about 2000 years now.

Wha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

36. Having sex with a woman during her period (18:19)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭AerynSun

Ah here, this is AH and not one of the religious forums, so this doesn't count as trolling, surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

No. 12.....Absolutely scarlet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

No. 69

69. Marrying a prostitute, divorcee or widow if you are a priest (21:7,13)

You're a priest?

Some of them were a bit ambiguous but I only got about 18 or 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I was at work earlier today, so ... #72? Depends on what you call the "Sabbath", I suppose. The only Sabbath I recognise is the Black one.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

aint nobody got time to read all that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭rwg

Blood is drank, not eaten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Is number 25 and number 26 not the same thing?

Aidric wrote: »

a bloody mess :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

20. I think my halo is flickering.

but the gay one stays lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

27 - and i'm a woman.

Is number 25 and number 26 not the same thing?

Not for everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

rwg wrote: »

Pudding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

If you follow those rules then you basically can't fart or you are fucked...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

Eh............black pudding

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Pudding

mmm Back pudding :P

Crea wrote: »
    27 - and i'm a woman.

Tell us more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

She was horny, your honour.

mfceiling wrote: »
    If you follow those rules then you basically can't fart or you are fucked...

The religious guy said god can change his mind so don't worry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

They really had to work hard to come up with some of those rules.
    54. Mixing fabrics in clothing (19:19). What could the reasoning be for that?

Aidric wrote: »
    She was horny, your honour.

Woah Bodyform...

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Pudding

You can do what u like with that - no mention of it on the list - we wont judge you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭taytobreath

Crea wrote: »
    27 - and i'm a woman.

You had sex with your sister????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

That's some bucket list really!

I've done a few, but I'm not telling you! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

parting the Red Sea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

When Christians say the stuff above this always comes to mind

'That's the great thing about Catholicism - it's very vague and no-one knows what its really all about" -Fr Ted.

Yet the the bit about homosexuality is still taken as literal. Religion bends to the will and agenda of the believer.

Muise... wrote: »
    parting the Red Sea?

is there anything in the bible about a lady taking it up the rectal passage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭jantheman91

Did not read/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

28. Thankfully I've never slept with anyone I'm related to or the tally could have been much worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

is there anything in the bible about a lady taking it up the rectal passage?

why are you asking me, holy thread starter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

You eat black pudding though.

Muise... wrote: »
    why are you asking me, holy thread starter?

Well I don't bother reading bits that are N/A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

So, are only men banned from doing things?

You eat black pudding though.

I dont see pudding on the list

Actions prohibited by the Bible

[edit]Gays, women
    Homosexual intercourse, applicable to men, (Leviticus 18:22) applicable to both genders (Romans 1:27)
    For women, speaking in church.(1 Corinthians 14:34-35)
    [edit]Other sexual acts
    All of these merit death.
    Adultery (Leviticus 20:10-12, man and woman)
    Lying about virginity. Applies to girls who are still in their fathers' homes, who lie about their virginity, and are presented to their husband as a virgin. The accused is guilty until proved innocent. (Deuteronomy 22:20-21)
    The daughter of a priest practicing prostitution (death by fire) (Leviticus 21:9)
    Rape of a virgin who is engaged. If she is not engaged you only have to marry her and give her father 50 shekels. No mention is made of the girl’s opinion, and no punishment is specified for raping a single non-virgin female. (Deuteronomy 22:25)
    Being the victim of rape, if one is an engaged female virgin and the rape occurs in a city. If it takes place in a field, the victim is spared because nobody would have heard her screams. (Deuteronomy 22:23-27) Presumably, virgins who scream for help inside a city will always be rescued.
    Men practicing bestiality. (Both man and animal die). (Leviticus 20:15) [1]
    Women practicing bestiality (Both woman and animal die). (Leviticus 20:16) [1]
    Having sex with your father’s wife, as distinct from "your mother", as it was common practice for men at the time to have several wives. (both die) (Leviticus 20:20)
    Having sex with your daughter-in-law. (Leviticus 20:30)
    Incest. (Leviticus 20:17) [2]
    (for men): Sex with a man in the same manner as sex with women. Generally interpreted as male homosexuality. The text omits any mention of and punishment for female homosexuality. (Leviticus 18:22)
    Marrying a woman and her daughter. They are all burnt to death (Leviticus 20:14)
    [edit]Food and Drink
    Consuming blood, blood in meat is not exempt. (Genesis 9:4)
    Eating a cheesburger. (Or anything else that mixes meat and dairy.) (Exodus 23:19)
    Eating fat.(Leviticus 3:17)
    The consumption of pork.(Leviticus 11:7-8)
    Eating a fellowship offering more than three days old.(Leviticus 19:5-8)
    Eating aquatic creatures lacking fins or scales.(Deuteronomy 14:9-10)
    Cross-dressing.(Deuteronomy 22:5)
    Consuming the meat of strangled animals.(Acts 15:28-29)
    [edit]Spiritual life
    Performing any work on the sabbath.(Exodus 20:10)
    Consulting a psychic or spiritualist.(Leviticus 19:31)
    Being a psychic or spiritualist, punishable by death.(Leviticus 20:27)
    [edit]Daily life
    Planting more than one kind of seed in a field.(Leviticus 19:19) How exactly "one field" and "kind" is defined is omitted.
    Wearing clothing woven of more than one kind of cloth.(Leviticus 19:19)
    Cutting the hair on the sides of your head or clipping of the edges of your beard.(Leviticus 19:27)
    Tattoos.(Leviticus 19:28)
    Touching the dead carcass of a pig.(Deuteronomy 14:8)
    If you are a slave, disobedience.(Ephesians 6:5)

Anal with ladies appears ok lads