Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Evander "real deal holyfield?

• 04-01-2014 5:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭

Evander the real deal, one of the greatest warriors of them all has just entered the big brother sesspit as he desperately tries to pay off his debts. the man has blwon $350 million, has 11 kids , by 5 women, and is in debt over $10 million .....he is about to have his 109 room mansion taken off him
    His story makes michael acksons life look straight forward

1 of 9 kids born into a poor family, he had over 150 amateur fights, then won olympic bronze.
    he went on to become cruiserwieght world champ....then heayweight world champion, the only man to win it 4 times

he was always a spiritual religious guy whod sing gospels in training......he was in endless wars ....beat larry holmes, buster douglas, george foreman, michael moorer, 3 wars with riddick bowe when a parachutist landed in the ring, beat iron mike tyson twice but lost his ear in the process,

hes had heart problems which stopped him boxing for a while, he then went on to box till hes 50 but developed slurring, possiblke brain damage, his reflexes are slow and hes suspected of using steroids

it seems every one is suing him, his exes , even his daughter is suing him for $372,000?
    he also owes $14 million on his mortgage and owes maintenance all over the place and faces prison if he doesnt pay.
    hes sold all his boxing belts and possessions
    he plans to box again to pay off his debts
    the man clearly didnt have the intell9igent, knowledge, perhaps support and education to survive life outside the ring

I think ultimately this is a tragedy. I winder at what stage the exes will stop chasing him for money too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

I bet he had some craic in the good times though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

stpaddy99 wrote: »
    I think ultimately this is a tragedy.

What's happened to him is a tragedy of sorts for sure, but at least he will get a nice pay packet for doing feck all for however long he stays in there. It's a cake walk and he might enjoy it. Sounds like it might even be a break from the nightmare that has become his life.

At least he isn't reduced to the sorry state that has befallen Riddick Bowe:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭lostdisk

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,696 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

He just sounds stupid beyond belief.

109 room mansion!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭lostdisk

On the plus side its money he does owe. Not money some civil servant lackey laid at his feet.No bail-out for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

How the hell can he lose $350 million?

Same with Tyson he lost $300 million and he is still only in his forties, you'd think when these guys came from poor backrounds that they would be able to put some of the money aside.

It's kinda sad to see a person who had real talent having to go into a BB house with Z listers that nobody had even heard of.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,384 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

He's gotten himself into trouble over homophobic remarks he made yesterday.

Linky
    Luisa: I think it’s really bad that no-one stands up and says it in the sporting industries. I think it’s good to be open about that because it’s normal.

Evander: What would be good about it? That ain’t normal.

Luisa: We shouldn’t have this conversation. No, let’s not have this conversation, it won’t be good.

Evander: The bible lets you know, that’s wrong, that’s right.

Luisa: That’s just the way some people are.

Evander: No, it don’t make no difference. If you were born and your leg were turned this way, what do you do, you go to the doctor and get it fixed back right.
    Luisa: You can’t compare, of course you can’t compare someone that’s gay to someone that’s handicapped, it’s not a choice.

Evander: Yes it is a choice, come on, that ain’t the way nobody is made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

He's gotten himself into trouble over homophobic remarks he made yesterday.

Linky

Yup, he's a christian...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Same with Tyson he lost $300 million and he is still only in his forties, you'd think when these guys came from poor backrounds that they would be able to put some of the money aside.
    Well 300 million bucks on paper. Maybe because of their poor backgrounds they lose the head? Especially in one aspect of American/Western culture where they may feel pressure to show how rich they are? Goes triple for African Americans IMH. The show off the "bling" aspect is a lot higher for them for all sorts of cultural and historical reasons. To prove they've really made it kinda thing.

You see it with rap artists quite a bit. Guy with one hit record under his belt and he's on Pimp my Crib or whatever and it's usually the record companies gaff, but you have to keep up the pretense, with the gold plated bentley and the wristwatch dipped in diamonds and the medallion that "costs" 500,000 dollars a pop. Then they attract hangers on and vultures like files to poo(mixed metaphors ahoy). Gold digging wagons are also throwing themselves at them and a moment of Las Vegas matrimonial madness can be followed with US divorce laws they can easily lose half their stash in one court date. A stash that again may only be on paper, but she'll get the half in reality.

You see a similar kinda trajectory with Elvis. Though a White guy, he was a poor white guy who was closer in culture to his Black neighbours in many ways. Being a lone artist/sportsperson makes it harder too. Elvis was essentially on his own, surrounded by a tornado of crap and yes men and women, whereas groups like the Beatles and Stones at least had a few other dudes at eye level living the same madness ready to chime in with a "cop the fuq on you gobshíte" at moments of madness(plus they were all middle class boys with the exception of Ringo, so better prepared outa the box). Indeed one chronicler of the Beatles history noted that even when alone in interview they all tended to use the word "we" more than "I". That's a damned good defence against going too far.

I'd say being a sport star brings even more pressure. It's a very finite career with a (usually) equally finite really minting it timeframe. Certainly compared to a musician or band who reach the top. The latter can go cabaret well into their dotage and keep the shekels coming on. QV the Rolling Stones, who have been a cabaret act pretty much since the 70's. Smarts is also less a given. NOT saying sports types are necessarily thick, but someone can reach the top even if they are thick.

It's kinda sad to see a person who had real talent having to go into a BB house with Z listers that nobody had even heard of.
    +1. though googling on the basic of this thread, yer wan he's handcuffed to? Piccie googled her and Jesus I'd grow extra mickeys to keep up. :eek: Daaaymmnn!

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Y2KBOS86

Wibbs wrote: »

+1. though googling on the basic of this thread, yer wan he's handcuffed to? Piccie googled her and Jesus I'd grow extra mickeys to keep up. :eek: Daaaymmnn!

Name?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Luise somesuch. I think. Just copypasta's her name TBH. I wasn't looking for her genealogy. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Hang on. Here ya go Luisa Zissman apparently :confused:Still.... be the hokey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

That's how to do it when you're rich.

Love the story of Tyson crashing a brand new Ferrari and he says to the cop at the scene, you can have it. Classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭Wurzelbert

he was a great fighter in his prime, one of the best ever maybe…though not very bright or so it seems…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

She was on The Apprentice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭stpaddy99

he actually seems a nice bloke. clearly not great with money and tactless with regards gay rights issues. but theres no malice in him, possibly just a bit ignorant or uneducated. he thinks homosexuality is something you can go and see a doctor for in some cases and get help with. no doubt gay people galore are offended. they neednt be. he clearly knows little about homosexuality. other than that the way he handled his whole career was exemplary. he was a warrior , even when tyson spat his ear out he took it al in his stride , strolled to emergency ward to get plastic surgery and dult forgave tyson later on. hes also given millions to charities and set up his own foundation too.....I do think its harsh though his exes and even his kids suing him for 100s of thousands when hes bankrupt and has health issues too. really the greed fo some people is nauseating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I know the guy is troubled but I'm wondering why you see him as such a victim when he squandered hundreds of millions, including by a house with over 100 rooms. Nobody forced that of him. Could it be that your focus is... the moneygrabbing exes? Given your take on the whole Saatchi thing...?

in both cases I see the men as victims too.....saatchi was robbed a million dollars which was spent on drugs etc here holyfield a man with serious health issues has prison hanging over him and bankruptcy after going to war for 30 years. he was still boxing till he was 50 to try pay his debts. so yes in these 2 cases my sympathy is with the men , partly because society gives the men here zero sympathy. I presume you dont see my point at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Me?

NIMAN wrote: »

109 room mansion!!

Stupid is right. Mansions should have an even number of rooms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

Me? wrote: »
    Stupid is right. Mansions should have an even number of rooms.

it does, there's no room 13.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

in both cases I see the men as victims too.....saatchi was robbed a million dollars which was spent on drugs etc here holyfield a man with serious health issues has prison hanging over him and bankruptcy after going to war for 30 years. he was still boxing till he was 50 to try pay his debts. so yes in these 2 cases my sympathy is with the men , partly because society gives the men here zero sympathy. I presue you dont see my point at all?
    As I thought. I see your point all right. Ignore what the men did themselves and pretend they're completely innocent in order to push your agenda that women are the devil (seen your vitriolic posts) and blame women for what you claim "society" thinks.

If this were a case where the men did no wrong, they'd obviously deserve plenty of sympathy. The way you're pretending Saatchi didn't assault his wife is depressing, and the way you're pretending Evander Holyfield had no role in his own downfall is utterly ludicrous.

Well 300 million bucks on paper. Maybe because of their poor backgrounds they lose the head? Especially in one aspect of American/Western culture where they may feel pressure to show how rich they are? Goes triple for African Americans IMH. The show off the "bling" aspect is a lot higher for them for all sorts of cultural and historical reasons. To prove they've really made it kinda thing.

You see it with rap artists quite a bit. Guy with one hit record under his belt and he's on Pimp my Crib or whatever and it's usually the record companies gaff, but you have to keep up the pretense, with the gold plated bentley and the wristwatch dipped in diamonds and the medallion that "costs" 500,000 dollars a pop. Then they attract hangers on and vultures like files to poo(mixed metaphors ahoy). Gold digging wagons are also throwing themselves at them and a moment of Las Vegas matrimonial madness can be followed with US divorce laws they can easily lose half their stash in one court date. A stash that again may only be on paper, but she'll get the half in reality.

You see a similar kinda trajectory with Elvis. Though a White guy, he was a poor white guy who was closer in culture to his Black neighbours in many ways. Being a lone artist/sportsperson makes it harder too. Elvis was essentially on his own, surrounded by a tornado of crap and yes men and women, whereas groups like the Beatles and Stones at least had a few other dudes at eye level living the same madness ready to chime in with a "cop the fuq on you gobshíte" at moments of madness(plus they were all middle class boys with the exception of Ringo, so better prepared outa the box). Indeed one chronicler of the Beatles history noted that even when alone in interview they all tended to use the word "we" more than "I". That's a damned good defence against going too far.

I'd say being a sport star brings even more pressure. It's a very finite career with a (usually) equally finite really minting it timeframe. Certainly compared to a musician or band who reach the top. The latter can go cabaret well into their dotage and keep the shekels coming on. QV the Rolling Stones, who have been a cabaret act pretty much since the 70's. Smarts is also less a given. NOT saying sports types are necessarily thick, but someone can reach the top even if they are thick.

ESPN's 30 for 30 had one documentary about how sports stars go broke in the US. It doesn't quite apply to Holyfield but one thing was paying tax in every state they "worked" which meant fees for several accountants and the like in several states, all being sorted by their manager/agent. Each player needs a lawyer, and accountant, a manager and an agent at least. That's quite a bit of money. Then there's the tax implications all over the place, the expensive houses and everything else. The worst thing is they have to find those 4 people and they have to be able to trust them. In that documentary there was a guy who later found out that the team his dad convinced him to sign for out of college paid his father $1million to do so. This was a white, middle-class family. If ya can't trust your father, how confident would you be of finding 4 people who are necessary who you can trust?

The other thing that applies in America is that for some reason they rarely seem to buy things outright. They love leasing big cars and having several mortgages on one property, whatever their income is. Bear in mind the career duration is going to be around 10 years (I think that show said the average NFL career is under 3 years) and suddenly it's not all that baffling.

It's just sad to think of the kind of people who will have gotten rich from a case like Holyfield's.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Same with Tyson he lost $300 million and he is still only in his forties, you'd think when these guys came from poor backrounds
    that they would be able to put some of the money aside.

Incredibly easily. It's no surprise a lot of boxers are bad with money and have gone broke with it.

Ali had issue's too.

The amount of money they end up paying out on entorage, "trainers," managers and such is insane.

The only man who's made money out of professional boxing is Don King.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

HOLY SHHIITT

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 43 fish_freak

he actually seems a nice bloke. clearly not great with money and tactless with regards gay rights issues. but theres no malice in him, possibly just a bit ignorant or uneducated. he thinks homosexuality is something you can go and see a doctor for in some cases and get help with. no doubt gay people galore are offended. they neednt be. he clearly knows little about homosexuality. other than that the way he handled his whole career was exemplary. he was a warrior , even when tyson spat his ear out he took it al in his stride , strolled to emergency ward to get plastic surgery and dult forgave tyson later on. hes also given millions to charities and set up his own foundation too.....I do think its harsh though his exes and even his kids suing him for 100s of thousands when hes bankrupt and has health issues too. really the greed fo some people is nauseating.

tolerance of homosexuality is incredibly low in the black community globally

fish_freak wrote: »
    tolerance of homosexuality is incredibly low in the black community globally

tolerance of Christianity is pretty low in the gay community too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 145 ✭✭bigblackmug

If you are going to the movies some time soon.
    holyfield appears after the credits in the new DeNiro/Stallone movie Grudge match. Extremely funny but sad that he appears in the movie at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

tolerance of Christianity is pretty low in the gay community too

If someone told me I was going to burn forever I wouldn't have much patience for them anyway. :rolleyes:

who has told you that and why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,658 ✭✭✭ronjo

As I thought. I see your point all right. Ignore what the men did themselves and pretend they're completely innocent in order to push your agenda that women are the devil (seen your vitriolic posts) and blame women for what you claim "society" thinks.

If this were a case where the men did no wrong, they'd obviously deserve plenty of sympathy. The way you're pretending Saatchi didn't assault his wife is depressing, and the way you're pretending Evander Holyfield had no role in his own downfall is utterly ludicrous.

Hardly fair to be jumping on the guy over quotes from another thread.
    I have no idea what he wrote on that one but I didnt read the OP or his other posts as anti-women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

NIMAN wrote: »

109 room mansion!!

My thoughts exactly. If he had two brains he would be twice as thick.

Oh sure I agree and it so takes two to tango, however I would agree with some of what he says, though I'd be clear and not so blinkered to extrapolate that some golddigging divorce type women are all women. They're a tiny subset, but if you're a rich bloke god help you if you're daft enough to get hitched to one of that type.

Being wealthy - especially in the US I would argue - will attract the type. Even so the men have a responsibility too. After all if some dollybird shows up that you wouldn't have a hope in hell meeting never mind getting if you worked flipping burgers then have a bit of cop on. It's not your personality and wit that's attracting her. Then again it's not her personality and wit that's attracting you, is it?
    HOLY SHHIITT
    I know, right? She's built for ticking a lot of male boxes alright. Though even the briefest google would suggest she'd be a pain in the arse, so sadly the most important box goes unticked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

That comment reminds me of what Alan Partridge said about the famine: 'If they could afford to emigrate, they could afford to eat at a modest restaurant.'

It's about lack of education and exploitation of talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I've no tolerance for homophobia and it should be challenged whenever it gets brought up, for whatever reason. It is clear Holyfield's views come from his strong religious beliefs and while this isn't acceptable either, it didn't come across as pure hatred or particularly vicious.

At the end of the day there are many people in the world who are passionately religious, and while that may cause them to have sh*t views on some subjects it doesn't necessarily make them bad people or negate any other achievements they may have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

Rodney Smith would point to a more interesting dynamic at work with rappers and bling. Witness:

In the world of Nike trainers and the world of nice suits
    Expensive wrist watch, expensive boots

In the event that I don't earn nothin' (heh)
    I'm bound to sell all of these things
    Sell my bling
    Yes, and rightly so

Now bourgeois hippies want to fight my flow
    I'm wishin' I was a trustafarian
    I wouldn't have to hustle
    And I wouldn't have to swear at 'em

I came from this
    I gotta do better
    My pen is my sword
    My pen is my Beretta

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Indeed.

When in the f'uck have the Catholic church come out with this far right Southern US evangelical type of spiel? From my memory of school they take a more embarrassed approach, a sort of "if we pretend it doesn't exist it doesn't" approach to it. But I certainly never recall any type of specifically anti gay education/ propaganda in religion class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

So many former boxing greats end up in terrible situations.

Some by their own stupidity, some because they got screwed over by those looking after the finances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

FTA69 wrote: »
    I've no tolerance for homophobia and it should be challenged whenever it gets brought up, for whatever reason. It is clear Holyfield's views come from his strong religious beliefs

Hmmm....
    the man has has 11 kids , by 5 women,

What religion is he again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

These fundamentalist types say bollocks like "DEM FAGS GON' BURN IN HELL!" all of the time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

These fundamentalist types say bollocks like "DEM FAGS GON' BURN IN HELL!" all of the time.

In Ireland?

Really? In Ireland? :confused: Back then families hid half of those who had clearly no interest in women by shipping them off to the priesthood. Which as we know turned out fairly disastrously. My mam once told me she never even realised the existence/ heard of the concept of gay people until she was in New York in the late 70's and seen them. Never mind preached against, the idea that they exist and should be campaigned against wasn't even broadcast in Ireland back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Nothing great about the man at all, a religious nutbag with absolutely no intellectual capacity whatsoever who happened to be good at throwing a few jabs, meh, his stupidity reflects the damage he's done to his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Nothing great about the man at all, a religious nutbag with absolutely no intellectual capacity whatsoever who happened to be good at throwing a few jabs, meh, his stupidity reflects the damage he's done to his life.

He was Olympic Champion, World Champion and was involved in some of the best boxing fights of all time. Ya nothing great about him :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

The guy is a homophobic clown. Don't have an ounce of pity for him. A guy round these parts who has that many kids with all those women is classed as a scumbag and I see no reason not to class him in that same light.

Warper wrote: »
    He was Olympic Champion, World Champion and was involved in some of the best boxing fights of all time. Ya nothing great about him :rolleyes:

What's so great about that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

Warper wrote: »

He was never Olympic champion

What's so great about that?

What's great about reaching the pinnacle of one of the hardest sports in the world? Plenty in my eyes.

Sporting excellence is still excellence.

Really? In Ireland? :confused: Back then families hid half of those who had clearly no interest in women by shipping them off to the priesthood. Which as we know turned out fairly disastrously.

Paedophilia and homosexuality are two different things.

FTA69 wrote: »
    What's great about reaching the pinnacle of one of the hardest sports in the world? Plenty in my eyes.

Sporting excellence is still excellence.

Jessica Ennis-Hill is the Olympic heptathlon champion - so according to you and others, we should call her "Great" too...

Is anyone willing to embarrass themselves by calling Jessica Ennis-Hill "Great" or is it only reserved for men?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

Is anyone willing to embarrass themselves by calling Jessica Ennis-Hill "Great" or is it only reserved for men?
    I think she's a very good athlete. On the same scale as Holyfield... arguably not but I wouldn't really be inclined to quibble it

Why? What else does she have to win to be considered 'great'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Luise somesuch. I think. Just copypasta's her name TBH. I wasn't looking for her genealogy. :D

Luise Rainer? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Luise_Rainer You naughty devil Wibbs.