Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ruger .243 Licence application.

• 02-01-2014 1:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭

Hi All, was wondering as I just sent off the application to NPWS for a deer hunting Licence, which is suppose to be attached to the Gun Application, and as it is a first time application and it will not be back in time to shoot Deer before the close of the season, can I apply for the Rifle in .243 as a vermin gun ie to shoot Foxes as well, while awaiting the deer Hunting Licence, or must you also attach the Deer Hunting licence to the Firearms application, I hope this makes sence in what I am trying to say.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

If you have applied for the NPWS license it'll be back, assuming no delays, within a week or so. They are very quick withe the processing and quicker when most others already have their license got.

DO NOT apply for the rifle license until you have the deer license back. IT'll only be refused as your reason for having it is for deer.

Getting the license as a vermin gun "while you wait"" may not work. IT is not the reason you want the gun and most class a .243 as a deer only gun and not a vermin gun.

During the off season when lads apply for a deer legal caliber for deer they contact the NPWS and ask for a promissory letter from the NPWS to say they will be granted a license when the new season starts. This always works.

The deer license runs all year. However as the deer season runs from Sept. to Feb. it means the license is effectively pointless for the remainder of the year. However the NPWS usually make people applying from Feb to August wait until the new season rather than grant licenses that will need changing come August.

So again, wait for the deer license to come back, copy and attach a copy to the FCA1.

ONE last thing. DO NOT supply the original deer license. They keep what you send in so send a copy. It even says so on the FCA1 to supply a copy.

Hope that answers your question.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Larry60

When I applied for my first deer hunting licence I applied at the same time for the deer rifle licence and sent a cover note with the firearms application saying I had applied for the deer hunting licence and enclosed a copy of the application and copys of my land permissions.
    The Gardai were ok with that.
    My oldest son applied for his first deer hunting licence this season and did the same thing as I had done just before this season started and again no problem, deer hunting licence in about four weeks and rifle licence in about nine.
    I suggest you give your local Gardai a call and see what they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Thanks very much to both the answers, I will go with what you both said, Ring the Station talk to FO and explain what I am looking to do.

Cheers all.

Thanks.

Not saying Larry60 is wrong or that he did not gain his in the manner he said, but a letter of application is not a promissory note, a granting of a deer license, or the license itself.

It's the same as going to a dealer and asking for the gun because you applied for it. No way would a dealer give you a gun on that basis. Same with An Gardaí. IOW the Garda does not know if the application will be successful, and should he grant a license based on your word that you did in fact send in an application then he is granting a license without good reason. So if the deer license was refused your reason for wanting the gun is no longer valid. That's a lot of if's and maybes but you get the idea.

When i sent in my substitution for my .243s i sent in a copy of my old deer license (it was valid at the time i sent it in), but between the time i sent it in, and the time they processed my substitution the new licenses were issued and they held up the substitution until i sent a copy of the new license in. That's a sub, with issued/current licenses and it was still challenged/checked.

The time proven method (when you don't have the deer license) is to simply contact the NPWS, ask for a promissory note (which they can send via e-mail), and attach this to your application. I only suggest this above other methods as it's as good as a license and shows the NPWS have responded to your application.

At the end of the day do whatever suits you, and if you want to attach the deer application to your FCA1 (as per Larry60's post) and run with it then go for it. Let me know how you get on.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

When you think the npws will have your app. Give them a quick buzz and they will let you know the crack.
    I a contact of a lady in the npws and I found her very helpfull and would do as much as she could to help me out. Pure lady fair play to her.

As cass said. If they issue a license this year even doe the deer season is finished the license is still valid. If you rang the npws they might decide to grant a license for next year but will give you a letter of approval. Attach that to your firearms license and away you go. That's what I done and it worked out fine.
    We're using the same station as we'll

Gave the NPWS a call yesterday, nice lad Joe was very helpful, even though there in Ely place the application has to be sent to the Country to another office to check the land, it may take 3 weeks I was told I will just have to wait for the Licence approval, then take it from there.I also contacted the station our FO has my number to ring me.Thanks all it like waiting on Santa, cant happen quick enough, but just hang in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

That's it tawny it will happen alright. The license is sent out to a local ranger to verity there is deer there and there isn'tt to many hunters on the land already. If I were to have a bet I'd say it will be back before 3 weeks. Mine was 2 and a half weeks in the height of renewals and new applications.

Got my Deer Hunting Licence today, and that was very fast fair play to the NPWS:D,I have now enclosed a copy with all my paperwork and dropped it into the local Garda Station this evening, I kept copy's of everything, now the waiting time starts on this part but so far moving along well, the Rifle & Scope are all paid for and waiting to be collected.:)

Delighted for ya.

Hopefully the gun license will be every bit as quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

Best of luck with it

Got a phone call this morning saying my Gun Licence was processed.I am over the moon.:D:D:D:D