Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gameweek 21 Transfers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

So are people transferring negredo or lukaku for ade (if fit)??

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,246 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

GiftofGab wrote: »
    So are people transferring negredo or lukaku for made (if fit)??

if you mean Ade, it's certainly a good option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Just used my two free transfers and brought in Ade and Eriksen for Lukaku and Cabaye, save the wildcard until later on in the month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

There seems to be a bit of gun jumping going on regards Adebayor, he's got a long way to go to a rise and there doesn't seem to have been any concrete info on the extent of his injury, he's certainly great value if he's fit and playing every week but people who are bringing him in because they've run out of patience with Lukaku or Negredo should bear in mind that Ade is the ultimate hot and cold player, he might end up being a frustrating acquisition.

Baines in for Danny G until you wildcard in a few weeks? Everton defender and should more than nullify your arch-nemesis Coleman.

It's actually on of the ideas I'm strongly entertaining to be honest. The most likely thing I'm going to do is to actually bring in Coleman short term (this week) and then get in Baines with the wildcard. Coleman should rise 0.4 so I'll also profit. Likewise, most will have Coleman so won't buy Baines so his price will probably stay at £7.4m. I'm going to gamble that Baines will outscore Coleman but don't want to show my cards too early to my league opponents (almost all of them have Coleman).
    I'd upgrade Podolski -- don't think he'll score the goals to justify his price. And with Arsenal sniffing around Berbatov, there'll be even more competition for places for him.

With talk of Rooney carrying a groin injury, Welbeck may be the way to go. Or get in Adebayor, and save some pennies to upgrade the defence. Also worth swapping Ward for Chester so you're not doubling up on Crystal Palace -- Hull rotate home/away with them.

Podolski was a 1-2 week gamble but I am concerned about Berbatov. My taget is Adebayor. I should have taken my own advice and transferred him in a few weeks ago :rolleyes:
    if ade is fit podolski to ade

Yep!
    SantryRed wrote: »
    I know you want to keep Bannan but you could go from him to Eriksen?

I really like Eriksen, but I really don't want to have to choose 7 playes from 8 strong options each week. I did that last year and it was such a pain.
    Dempsey wrote: »
    Your goalkeeper options are quite poor aswell

Yeah you're completely right. However, I'll address that with the wildcard. Liverpool's fixtures are fine for the next few weeks.

Thanks everyone!

So my idea was Coleman in for Santon or Gabbidon (switching to Baines GW23/24) and maybe Podolski out for Adebayor. It's great to see that many concur!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

FutureGuy wrote: »
    if you mean Ade, it's certainly a good option.

Yes but for which one - negredo or lukaku?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Most boring transfer of the week alert!

Harper -> Mannone

Can't think of anything else to do really. Holding off until after Cup games or until he's over 95% to a rise, whichever's first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

GiftofGab wrote: »
    Yes but for which one - negredo or lukaku?

Negredo for the next few weeks anyway.

Really? I'd be wary not having Negredo for the home game v Cardiff, they've been doing massive damage at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Thinking of Rooney to Negredo myself...

Rooney carrying an injury and Moyes's lack of transparency makes me believe maybe its time to back another horse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,219 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Thinking of Rooney to Negredo myself...

Rooney carrying an injury and Moyes's lack of transparency makes me believe maybe its time to back another horse
    With all this said, how many games has Rooney actually missed through injury? He missed the Norwich game but I'm not convinced that he wasn't just rested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

8-10 wrote: »
    Most boring transfer of the week alert!

Harper -> Mannone

Can't think of anything else to do really. Holding off until after Cup games or until he's over 95% to a rise, whichever's first.

I heard the Julio Cesar rumour on the radio again today. I wanted Mannone but will wait until the end of the window now.

It sounds bizarre, but I think Sunderland actually have the best chance of a clean sheet in each of their next 3 fixtures than any other team in their respective 3 games!

Cesar would be brought in for my wildcard then if he signs in time but I can't think of anything else to do this week. Upgrade Milner maybe? 1.3 in the bank but he's my 5th Mid so don't really see the need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

Anyone see any need for a transfer or will I just bank it? .5 in the bank.

66fNT4.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,246 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Negredo to Rodriguez done, see yis on the 11th!

CSF wrote: »
    With all this said, how many games has Rooney actually missed through injury? He missed the Norwich game but I'm not convinced that he wasn't just rested.

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11667/9098218/manchester-united-striker-wayne-rooney-struggling-with-groin-problem-says-david-moyes
    Moyes, when asked if resting Rooney was an option, replied: "If I could, I would.

"He has missed a couple of games with his groin and may well miss some more in the games coming up."

He hasnt missed many so far but going forward I think he could miss a few and Moyes has said as much. The problem is that you are unlikely to get much of a warning when Moyes will take him out of the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11667/9098218/manchester-united-striker-wayne-rooney-struggling-with-groin-problem-says-david-moyes

He hasnt missed many so far but going forward I think he could miss a few and Moyes has said as much. The problem is that you are unlikely to get much of a warning when Moyes will take him out of the team

I'm giving him another week then may well get rid for Negredeo or Rodriguez till wc

I'd imagine you won't see Rooney play in the cup games. Meaning he won't be in action til the Swansea league game, that will certainly leave him ready for that. He'll be needed for the Chelsea game no doubt, but then United have no league game again for another 10 days.

No doubt he is carrying a knock, but at least now he won't be carrying a knock and expected to play every 3 days. Not ideal, but he has been hitting good scores while carrying the injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

I'd imagine you won't see Rooney play in the cup games. Meaning he won't be in action til the Swansea league game, that will certainly leave him ready for that.

Exactly why I'm giving him another week. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭Rosco79

Any opinions on Kolarov? Very good attacking wise but inconsistent starter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭El festino

Morrison dropping again. I really don't want to make a transfer this early but I have nothin in the bank. Is it worth holding onto him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Question. If I dont make a transfer this GW, play the wildcard next GW, will I still have my extra transfer the following week, or will it just be one transfer as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Dearg81

Rosco79 wrote: »
    Any opinions on Kolarov? Very good attacking wise but inconsistent starter?

Yea he's good going forward and seems to be first choice now but will be rotated a lot with Clichy and liable to 1 pointers from the bench. There's safer players at that price like Sagna, Koscielny, Azpil and Evans.

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Question. If I dont make a transfer this GW, play the wildcard next GW, will I still have my extra transfer the following week, or will it just be one transfer as normal.

One as normal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Hype710

Anyone thinking RVP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

Mint Sauce wrote: »

No. You unfortunately lose the saved transfer. FPL b@st@ds :P !
    El festino wrote: »
    Morrison dropping again. I really don't want to make a transfer this early but I have nothin in the bank. Is it worth holding onto him?

Don't know if you'll see this in time but it depends on what your team looks like. Is Morrisson going to be your 5th midfielder for the season? Do you need to save a bit of cash by getting a cheaper alternative than him? In the first case forget about his price. In the second you can choose between Jedinak, Colback, José Cañas, Delph, Parker, Meyler for the replacement. You'll find more info in the WC thread ;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭HighClass

Happy with the starting 11 as it is, so using the transfer to sort out the bench a bit. Bringing in Mutch for El Ahmadi. Might be playing the wildcard after the FA cup games though, see how it all pans out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭unkymo

Hype710 wrote: »
    Anyone thinking RVP?

I'm thinking of selling Rooney and Yaya and getting in RVP and Ramsey. But I won't be doing any transfers until next Thursday or Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

HighClass wrote: »
    Happy with the starting 11 as it is, so using the transfer to sort out the bench a bit. Bringing in Mutch for El Ahmadi. Might be playing the wildcard after the FA cup games though, see how it all pans out.

Just to warn you, Mutch has a potential hamstring injury and is due to have a scan.

Wed Jan 01, 2014 5:46 pm
    @CardiffCityFC: Kerslake: "We need to have the medics assess Jordon Mutch tomorrow to see how long he may be out. It's his hamstring." #ARSCAR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭El festino

iroced wrote: »
    No. You unfortunately lose the saved transfer. FPL b@st@ds :P !

Don't know if you'll see this in time but it depends on what your team looks like. Is Morrisson going to be your 5th midfielder for the season? Do you need to save a bit of cash by getting a cheaper alternative than him? In the first case forget about his price. In the second you can choose between Jedinak, Colback, José Cañas, Delph, Parker, Meyler for the replacement. You'll find more info in the WC thread ;).
    Thanks mate, i decided to hold off and keep him and make a more infomred decision after the cup games..

Went with Santon to Baines in the end. Baines is going up by about 15% per day so he'll rise by 0.1 before the start of GW21 (and there is a small chance he'll go up by 0.2m). Coleman will rise by 0.2 and I'd only sell him 2-3 weeks later for Baines anyways.

I think I have the perfect differential to all my rivals ahead and slightly behind me. I have been saying that Coleman is boxing waaaay above his weight so far the year in terms of goals scored and that it just cannot continue. So I have to put my money where my mouth is (so to speak).

To be honest, I prefer Baines in the big games anyways.

Went with Santon to Baines in the end. Baines is going up by about 15% per day so he'll rise by 0.1 before the start of GW21 (and there is a small chance he'll go up by 0.2m). Coleman will rise by 0.2 and I'd only sell him 2-3 weeks later for Baines anyways.

I think I have the perfect differential to all my rivals ahead and slightly behind me. I have been saying that Coleman is boxing waaaay above his weight so far the year in terms of goals scored and that it just cannot continue. So I have to put my money where my mouth is (so to speak).

Another convert! The anti-Coleman, pro-Baines campaign is gaining momentum!

unkymo wrote: »
    I'm thinking of selling Rooney and Yaya and getting in RVP and Ramsey. But I won't be doing any transfers until next Thursday or Friday.

With Walcott back Ramsey had slotted much deeper than earlier in the season and assuming Walcott remains fit this is likely to continue when he returns. Ramseys best points of the season may be earned at this stage.

Dearg81 wrote: »
    Yea he's good going forward and seems to be first choice now but will be rotated a lot with Clichy and liable to 1 pointers from the bench. There's safer players at that price like Sagna, Koscielny, Azpil and Evans.

Thanks, safer options alright....

Anyone thinking RVP?
    Yeah and I think he'll do well but he just isn't value anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Hype710

Yeah and I think he'll do well but he just isn't value anymore.

I went Ozil to Lennon last week in order to have the cash to go Negredo to RVP. I'll lose ground unless I use the 4m plus I have sitting there. I want to wait as long as possible due to RVP's injury, but is there a danger of Negredo falling in value?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Devia

That's a bit risky IMO. I would be reluctant to ditch Coleman myself having brought him in for 5.0m!

Would have to assess the Baines situation because in the last two games he hasn't looked great going forward. Plus it looked like Mirallas was on free kicks, on his side at least. Maybe hes still recovering from the broken toe?

Either way I can't see the Coleman train coming to such an abrupt halt. He's returned 8+ points in 6 of his last 10 games, plays 90 mins every week, never gets booked, effectively plays as a winger and links up with Mirallas on the right who I'd rate higher than Pienaar. He looks no closer to dropping off form than any other player in the league at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

I was just coming on to post exactly this! Coleman is a cracking player but I noticed he went up again last night and is now at £6.7m (I can sell for £6.4m). With Baines at £7.4 there's got to be a tipping point for everyone depending on when you bought Coleman, as Baines is without doubt the strongest defender in the game, taking most of Evertons FK's and all their penalties.

Depending on what way the next two weeks go and when I end up using my WC, I'll be bringing Baines in. Despite sitting in 27k, my main rival is still 50 points clear so need to make some clever moves to get back into it.

I went Ozil to Lennon last week in order to have the cash to go Negredo to RVP. I'll lose ground unless I use the 4m plus I have sitting there. I want to wait as long as possible due to RVP's injury, but is there a danger of Negredo falling in value?
    If I was to go ahead and do that, I'd just spend half my time thinking about all the things I could do with the 5 million I'd have in my team if I went with Lukaku or someone else good in that price range instead of him. He still might prove himself to be the same player as the last 2 seasons, but I don't think Moyes' style of football lends itself to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭Shedite27

I'd probably go with Baines if I was buying one from scratch now, but I got Coleman at 5.0 so it will cost me 1.6 to trade up.
    Anyone thinking RVP?
    Nah, he'd have to be about 12 before I'd look at him again. Even if he put up a few weeks of Suarez numbers, he's still an awful lot of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

If I were to WC this week I was even thinking of going with both Baines and Coleman for a while. I see Baines as a potential store for Aguero/Falcao/big forward option cash to unleash at the right time.

It's a no brainer for those who don't have Coleman yet, seeing how damn expensive he is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Right folks, my front seven is:

Cabaye Silva Hazard Walcott
    Lukaku Suarez Rooney (now edited lads)

I have a transfer burning a hole in my pocket but I'm unsure if I should ship Lukaku or Cabaye.

Cabaye could be shipped for Eriksen or Lallana.
    Lukaku could be shipped for Ade or Rodriguez

My own gut instinct is to go Lukaku to Ade. Ade was immense for me a couple of years back when he first arrived at Spurs. I think I had him almost the entire season.

What's holding me back though is the good fixtures Southampton have. Plus I have 1.5 million in the bank so I could go Lukaku to Rodriguez and I'd then have the cash to bring in Yaya leaving me with a midfield of:

Silva Yaya Hazard Walcott.

Anyone with any opinions? I still haven't watched the full MoTD from Wednesday so that might help my decision. Will watch it over the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,734 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I went Sterling to Lallana this week.
    My gamble on Pod didn't work last week but he's getting Villa away and then it's over to J Rod.

Really like Sou fixtures and think they'll bounce back with a bang.

That'll bring me to my WC.

Anyone have any idea when Boruc can be expected back? Searched around and found nothing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Lemlin wrote: »

Lukaku Aguero Rooney

I have a transfer burning a hole in my pocket but I'm unsure if I should ship Lukaku or Cabaye.

My own gut instinct is to go Lukaku to Ade. Ade was immense for me a couple of years back when he first arrived at Spurs. I think I had him almost the entire season.

What's holding me back though is the good fixtures Southampton have. Plus I have 1.5 million in the bank so I could go Lukaku to Rodriguez and I'd then have the cash to bring in Yaya leaving me with a midfield of:

Anyone with any opinions? I still haven't watched the full MoTD from Wednesday so that might help my decision. Will watch it over the weekend.

I may have missed you post about it before but............where is Suarez?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Fizman wrote: »

I presume he means Suarez rather than Aguero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,734 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Fizman wrote: »

Pretty sure he spelled Suarez with an A,G,U,E,R & O by mistake :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Att Lemlin, it seems you have turned full circle on Rooney while I have gone the other way, who would have thought it. What is it you've seen lately from him that merits the cost to the rest of your team? He doesn't seem to have been 100% fit for a while now and seems to enjoy dropping deep much more now than he ever did under Fergie, I was a big supporter of his FPL attributes early on and I had him right through his best patch, can't justify the outlay at the moment though despite my massive admiration for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Lemlin wrote: »

Lukaku Aguero Rooney

I had ade over rooney that season you mentioned worked a treat for me. I didnt post on here at the time, used to just read the odd time but ade wasnt flavour of the month something I could never understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Att Lemlin, it seems you have turned full circle on Rooney while I have gone the other way, who would have thought it. What is it you've seen lately from him that merits the cost to the rest of your team? He doesn't seem to have been 100% fit for a while now and seems to enjoy dropping deep much more now than he ever did under Fergie, I was a big supporter of his FPL attributes early on and I had him right through his best patch, can't justify the outlay at the moment though despite my massive admiration for him.

was just thinking the same myself. I dont think rooney is worth the price he is at now as Id never captain him.