Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russell parts company with Gigginstown Stud?

• 31-12-2013 4:10pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭

The mill, it is a churning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

First I heard of it. Can't understand how Cooper isn't being snapped up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

ft9 wrote: »
    First I heard of it. Can't understand how Cooper isn't being snapped up.

Was mentioned this morning by my old boy, and I rubbished it, sure he had rides for them today. The mill is turning though, and I think he's gone with Coop going to number one jock.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

riding tomorrow for them so doubt it very much,they should give cooper the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭nobody told me

It's been doing the rounds for two years... He doesn't get along with Eddie o Leary and his association with the youghal mafia doesn't help things I'd imagine. He's riding fairly poorly at the mo.

Think this is slightly more substantial, to be honest. We shall see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

All over the tweet machines, apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

If they're moving him on to bring Cooper in, then that's fair enough. As much as I rate Russell, Cooper has just been getting better and better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Just off the phone with a good source assures me cooper number one with a certain Magnier to ride second string

Boards.ie racing forum with the big scoops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

It's just another business decision for O'Leary at the end of the day. Cooper's the best (bar Ruby) so you buy the best to help you be the best. Smart move, if true.

What im after hearing is O Leary didnt renew Russells contract and Cooper isnt getting the number one job townend is in for it im told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Pretty standard move iyam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Huntley

The Bryan Cooper hype train in full flow since he rode a couple of winners at the festival.

Good judge of pace but is still weak enough in a finish. Nowhere near the finished article and not even close to being the best outside of Ruby Walsh. Townend is better, only bad trait is that he messes about too much.

Been confirmed by RacingPost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Can't see Townend leaving Mullins.

Huntley wrote: »
    The Bryan Cooper hype train in full flow since he rode a couple of winners at the festival.

Good judge of pace but is still weak enough in a finish. Nowhere near the finished article and not even close to being the best outside of Ruby Walsh. Townend is better, only bad trait is that he messes about too much.

Townend is the best jockey riding in the country bar Ruby,he will be champion everyyear when Ruby retires.

Doesnt russel have a big say in the bloodstock side of things with gigginstown and also what stable they go to?? not a shock move seen as he hasnt been riding winners but he hardly got any horses beaten that should of winning,O Leary is buying 3m slow maturing horses what kind of success does he expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭STADEdeLUC

STADEdeLUC wrote: »
    Love to see O'Leary give Russell the high road and take in Townsend

Good to see my wise words have been headed by Mr O'Leary time for change, Russell really grinds my gears, delighted to see him ousted, would love Townsend to get the NO1 slot

Yep, O'Leary came on here to check your post before making the decision! :pac:

Russell wasn't going well lately but always came across as a sound fella imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

The brilliance of these young jockeys is a but overstated at times. They can be excellent but they still have to add consistency and strength in the finish. Ruby, Carberry and Geraghty, as well as Russel are still ahead of them. Talented no question though, i'd have Townend slightly ahead of Cooper

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 196 ✭✭Clonsuttonlad

What's the Youghal mafia?

Nice job for Gigginstown, whoever gets ot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Davy comes across as straight talking and genuine. This will be a personal blow for him judging by his interviews on the road to cheltenham series, but no doubt he will bounce back stronger for it. Tough game at times. Lot of up and coming talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Huntley wrote: »
    Ludicrous statement. He's clearly a top, top jockey in the making. You only need to look at the performances on Benefficient to see that. Both Walsh and McCoy got cracks on this one, but it was Cooper who was getting the wins, often at big prices and against quality opposition.

The only ludicrous statements are from those suggesting he is the best outside of Ruby Walsh, etc. Saying he is overhyped doesn't mean I think he isn't a good jockey in the making.

People who have seen him win a race at a big festival lose the run of themselves. Coincidentally, his rides on Benefficient which you are referring to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 michael thomas

Davy will do well even without gigginstown. An excellent jokey and all the best to him!! Agree with the point made about O'Leary buying slow 3m horses who need time to develop and expecting instant success. Davy hasnt lost on any horses that should have won. I think he did great to get some of them to finish 2nd and 3rd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 nevis7

warming the body after a cold day at punchestown. a very close associate of eddie o leary tells me they may not appoint a stable jockey in the short term. he said ruby wants to ride the o leary horses at mullins yard, including sir des champs. I would guess that cooper will ride the hughes o leary horses, and the best available will ride on a race to race basis.

where to for Russell? will still ride for byrnes and martin, outside of those two his opportunities as a free lance will be limited unless the likes of lynch got injured and he then could be a runner for the potts job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

Magnier as no 2 has to be a joke. If they wanted an amateur as no 2 Surely jane mangan deserved that spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

^^ :D I'm in a good mood now to go out on the piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Andalucia

this is was coming with a while, if anyone was watching the RTE racing coverage on the 26th Dec, before the handicap hurdle which Russell won on Sea Light for Byrnes, the two betting afficiandos, Gleeson and Lee were having a private laugh as to why Russell was not riding the Gigginstown horse. All was not well for some time.

Met him at 2 Cheltenham previews, came across well. He fooled me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭mountai

You seem to take a particular delight in Russells fall from grace. I think you are one sad basterd.!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭kerryguy78

Russell can hold his head high what a great jock and great guy in my opinion

In what sense do you think he was double dealing Nevis? Was he not being genuine in his efforts for Gigginstown?
    Or not being up front with the ring?

Is Russel not reigning champion jock ?

Oh what is Youghal mafia?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

is it only me that thinks Townsend is not that great?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

No disrespect to anyone on the forum (I believe there's someone on here who's friends with him) but how is mark walsh being short listed ???

Re Davy Russell, met him a few times and absolutely lovely chap and has all the time in the world for anyone. I wasn't all that mad about him as a jockey though but that said wish him the world of good in whatever he does.

I dont think he's up to much Townsend, but hasn't had the chance to prove himself either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Andalucia

its Townend

I dont think he's up to much Townsend, but hasn't had the chance to prove himself either

Yeah hes not up to much alright just champion jockey at the age of 20 :rolleyes:

Barry Connell should snap Russell up but hes too loyal to sack mullins,russell would be a hundred times better that Danny who is really awful.

Thanks for that Nevis, really enjoy your contributions on this forum. Great to get the odd professional view on things. I think Russell is a decent jockey, it's a strange dismissal but I'd imagine O'Leary is a hard taskmaster. I've a feeling it's a personal rather than professional reason.

You have to admit theyre not getting a good return on their investment. I'd say Ricci isn't putting in as much, but is getting more winners. McManus is dominating them in quality races aswell.
    I think Eddie O Leary is at fault their clearly buying the wrong horses. Don't think they have many Kings Theatre, or Oscar beasts. And definately not enough French breds. They are buying too many unproven beasts at the sales, and breaking them themselves. And paying too much for these!

There was an occasion where Coffey was a couple of grand in the hole and was told of a few horses to lay is how the alleged tale goes. Russell is his own worst enemy. Much in the same way Carberry stopped himself from getting retained by JP McManus.

I don't think Gigginstown purchase too poorly in the main. Other heavy buyers do far worse.

The first loss making Mafia I've ever heard of.

Perhaps they should take up another Line of work.

Good luck to Davy, I wish him well and I've no doubt he'll be riding plenty more winners.

The state of the runners they had over Christmas. They should concentrate on buying PTP winners and Mullins sourced horses.

Looking at their horses over Christmas. Just one bumper winner. No real Cheltenham contender either. When they've been ignoring Kings Theatre, Oscar and to a lesser extent Milan, - what hope have they got?

I think Russel is a good jockey, must have been a personal issue. On another note do bookmakers not always get information from jockies. Sure Ruby is employed by Powers? And JP owns Ladbrokes. Say the green and yellow is a profitable portfolio for them. Ladbrokes also know when to offer worst price on Coolmore horses. Their 6-1 offer on Declaration of War @ Ascot was very telling. Gave me great confidence for a bet:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭STADEdeLUC

mountai wrote: »
    You seem to take a particular delight in Russells fall from grace. I think you are one sad basterd.!!!!!

I wouldnt say i am a sad case, No denying he is a brilliant jockey and has done very well for himself and will continue to do well for himself. Im just happy to see change in Gigginstown, simple as

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

I
    Must look at the sir des champs run in the Lexus again. I know they said before the race he wasn't fit but by the sounds of the post in this thread they were expecting something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

ste2010 wrote: »
    I
    Must look at the sir des champs run in the Lexus again. I know they said before the race he wasn't fit but by the sounds of the post in this thread they were expecting something

never jumped well enough. beaten by better horses on the day. don't think it would have matter who rode him that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

ste2010 wrote: »
    I

Whatever about SDC, it was, shall we say, 'surprising' to see Bright New Dawn allowed to race so freely. A couple of other rides of his over Christmas raised serious eyebrows too, in my opinion of course :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭mountai

I wouldnt say i am a sad case, No denying he is a brilliant jockey and has done very well for himself and will continue to do well for himself. Im just happy to see change in Gigginstown, simple as

Well if he is a "Brilliant jockey" what is the point in sacking him?. There is not one time that I can recall he lost a race that he should have won. Others have pointed out the weak link in Gigginstown. I know of one trainer who refuses to answer the phone to a certain O"Leary I know another trainer , who to his own shame, admits to being intimidated by the same man and going against his personal professional judgment regarding the running of certain Gigginstown horses. I don't believe for a moment, that Mullins , Byrnes, or Hughes would allow themselves be bullied in similar circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

Russell seems to have a disproportionate number of falls in comparison to the other top jockeys! or do I just imagine this?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

The feeling is that MOL would rather use the stable jockeys with the respective trainers his horses are with. It most likely a business decision as no retainer has to be paid. If that is the case I think it would be a sensible move

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭anuprising

The feeling is that MOL would rather use the stable jockeys with the respective trainers his horses are with. It most likely a business decision as no retainer has to be paid. If that is the case I think it would be a sensible move

what was russells retainer moneywise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

i would not have a clue but cant see it being that big, gigginstown would surely have to cut costs on a major level i would think. Alot of money spent buying horses with no stallion potential.
    I reckon many problems in GGtown and mostly down to money